BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Made in America/Made in Japan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Made in America/Made in Japan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Made in America/Made in Japan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 02, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Bailey, President Mrs. Leslie Bailey, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Bailey, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Exclusively Made in Japan/Made in America
Products & Services

Made In America/Made in Japan specializes in American built cars and light trucks car care, brakes, general , under car, heating, cooling, electrical,transmission,electronic, internal engine, heavy-duty services.


Additional Locations

  • 2668 Sunrise Blvd.

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 442-7193(Phone)
  • (916) 486-8400(Phone)
  • (916) 773-0769(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/21/2012 I had a valve cover gasket replaced at 'Made in Japan'and eight days later on vacation & 44 miles later and got to a mechanic on Hwy 1 Invoice XXXXX Made in Japan AHXXXXXX Invoice XXXXX ****************** Inc. ARDXXXXXX On 8/21/2012 I had a valve cover gasket replaced at 'Made in Japan' in Rancho Cordova, CA I brought my own part that was purchased from O'Reillys ****** ********* (Service Consultant)did not tell me that he couldn't guarentee the repair because I brought in my own part. Eight days later on 8/29/2012 I had to have the valve cover gasket replaced again at '*************************'because on my way home from vacation the car started cutting in and out,check engine light kept flashing for 44 miles. There are few mechanics on Hwy 1. I spent another 3 hours waiting for a valve cover gasket to be replaced due to breaking a seal and oil in one of the cylinders. "technician error" at Made in Japan, Rancho Cordova, CA. I flat out asked Mr. *** from '*************************' if 'Made in Japan' was at fault and in a round about way he said it happens. My invoice from ****************** even states "replace valve cover gasket" and "also misplaced seal on number two cylinder"~ $210.00 for labor, $47.04 for the gasket. Also why didn't ****** ********* from 'Made in Japan' ask me if they could change the spark plugs since they had that valve cover gasket off. Were they trying to get more labor from me at a later date? They added that to their '49 Point Visual Courtesy Inspection' that they were sure to give to me. I had no idea at the time that was where the spark plugs were until '*************************' told me exactly what happen and why. Napa Auto Care sent me a check dated 09/05/2012 in the amount of $81.05 #XXXXXX to pay ONLY for the labor at 'Made in Japan'. I haven't cashed it. My point is: Why should I pay for these repairs again? If it were fixed properly it wouldn't have happened according to Mr. *** from '*************************' and also I phoned my mechanic 'Honest Engine' in Roseville, Ca who agrees. The total cost for a Valve Cover Gasket cost me a great deal more besides panic on Hwy 1. That is a pretty lonely stretch of Hwy during the week. Both shops are a part of Napa Auto Care; shouldn't they understand this situation? Invoice XXXXX Made in Japan AHXXXXXX 8/21/2012 Valve Cover Gasket $81.05 Gasket Cleaner $ 3.95 Invoice XXXXX ****************** Inc. ARDXXXXXX 8/29/2012 Valve Cover Gasket Set $47.05 Spark PlugsREDACT362012 36REDACT $58.28 Replace Galve Cover Gasket REDACT362012 362012 362012 36REDACT $210.00 Sincerely yours, ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I feel that if it would have been done properly the first time at Made In Japan there wouldn't have been any problems at all. I would really only like to receive the monies that I had to pay a second time listed below. Invoice XXXXX ****** Inc. ARDXXXXXX 8/29/2012 Valve Cover Gasket Set $47.05 Replace Galve Cover Gasket $210.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To whome it may concern: We are pleased to report that an agreement/resolution has been reached witch is satisfactory to both the customer and me. We agreed to issue a check payalbe to Ms. ****** in the sume of one-hundred twenty-four dollars($124.00) which she has confirmed will resolve this mater. As you will recall, the customer already recieved reimbursement from Napa Auto Care. Both Ms. ****** and I have compromised our respective positions to settle this rather minor (financially speaking) dispute. I do not at all minimize the stress of locating a repair shop especially during someone's vacation. And in response to Ms. ******'s question/comment, I do understand her situation, That said, I do fell compelled to respond to certain aspects of Ms. ******'s complaint. It Is impossible to determine the extent of damage caused by driving a vehicle forty-foer(44) miles with the check engine light flashing. I'm surprised by the complaint that she was not up-sold spark plugs and can assure Ms. ****** that we would certainly rather a customer obtain necessary repairs sooner rather than later. In fact, Ms ******"s 49-point courtesy inspection was reviewed with her which included the spark pplugs and she declined spark plugs and other recommended service. I would certainly not be in business, nor at this shop personally for the last twenty(20) years, were it my practice or that of my employees' to delay repaies hoping they become more costly, Not only is this not in the customer's best interest but it's not in the business' best interest for multiple reasons. As I am routinely put in the position that Mr. ****** was in, I am familiar with vague comments given to customers when they are asking that I place blame on another shop. When not certain sa to the cause of the part needing tobe condemned, it is not uncommon far a technician to respond, "it happens" Again,I appreciate Ms. ******'s comments and the opportunity to respond (for the record) despite our having reached an agreement. In closing, this letter canfirms that any future correspondence to me will be by letter or telephone. Very truly yours, ****** J.******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1