Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Five Star Auto Repair & Car Wash

Phone: (916) 315-0555 6818 Five Star Blvd, Rocklin, CA 95677 http://www.fivestarrocklin.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Five Star Auto Repair & Car Wash offer automotive repair and car wash services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Five Star Auto Repair & Car Wash meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Auto Repair & Car Wash include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Five Star Auto Repair & Car Wash
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1998 Business started: 09/10/1997 in CA Business incorporated 10/27/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 237121.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Sperlazza, Owner Mr. Trey Pundt, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Trey Pundt, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Jim Sperlazza, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Headlight Restoration Auto Smog Inspection Brake Service Car Wash & Polish Gift Shops Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service

Alternate Business Names
Five Star Auto Care
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 6818 Five Star Blvd

    Rocklin, CA 95677

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was damage done to my truck after Five Star Auto changed oils & air filter. Truck was towed to repair shop that resulted in $3470 of damages. On Fri, Feb 15, 2013 I took our truck to Five Star Auo Repair to have the oil changed & possibly the transmission oil. I was told that while performing the oil change they will look at the transmission oil & would let me know if it needs to be changed. When done, they told me the transmission oil was dark & should be changed soon & that the air filter needed to be changed & should be changed today. I text my husband to see what I should do. He said to have them change both the filter & transmission oil. Once that was done, I paid $268.19 & left. While driving home I noticed a loud & long whistle noise. Something I had never heard before. I thought it may be normal w/ all of the work they did & it would stop soon. When I picked up my daughter from school the truck was still making the same noise. I called Five Star & explained what I was hearing. The guy mentioned that the turbo in the truck makes a whistle noise. I said I knew that, but this whistle is unlike any I have ever heard before. He said that the tech who worked on the truck was standing by him & said that he also heard the loud whistle when he took the truck for a test drive. I told him that the truck was running perfectly, no loud & long whistle, before taking it to their shop. He said to stop by & they would look at it. The same tech came out, looked under the hood & pulled it back into the garage. I could hear him revving it up while sitting in the lobby. I heard the whistle & at one point thought it might be getting better. Then all of the sudden, one of the guys came out & said...bad news. The turbo went out & that is the noise I heard. I asked him what was going to be done to fix it. He told me they don't work on turbos that I'll have to take it to a dealership. I asked him if it was okay to take on our trip that weekend & he said that it should be fine but recommends getting the turbo fixed as soon as we get back. I called my husband & told him what happened. He said that something had to be done to fix it & he wanted to talk to them. Once they got off of the phone the guy stayed in the back office. I called my husband & asked him what was said & what I should do. The guy finally came out front & asked me what I was going to do. I told him my husband was on his way, but would be about an hour & a half. After talking w/ my husband more, we decided to go on our trip & we'd deal with it when we got back. I told him I'd get the pictures they said they took of the filter before changing it, the air filter itself & their write up on what they did. I was told I couldn't have the pictures or the filter that they are keeping them as evidence & I can only have the write up. He allowed me to take pictures of my air filter after I asked to. We didn't take the truck on our trip. We had it towed to a shop where a guy who specializes in diesels & has been in business for 43 years w/ no marks against him repaired it. I contacted the Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR). They had the repair shop go through the repair meticulously. The shop said that when they removed the new filter there were pieces of the old filters edge, that Five Star replaced, still in the box. They didn't take the time to remove those pieces before putting the new filter in. The shop is confident that is what caused the damage as they found those pieces in the after cooler. The turbo & after cooler both had to be replaced. The truck was in the shop for 5 weeks & we paid $3470 in damages. The BAR took our invoice to Five Star on Fri, Mar 29, 2013. They denied responsibility. They lied to the BAR & said they showed me the filter before replacing it & said they told me before leaving the first time that the turbo may have been damaged. SO FALSE!! They never showed me the filter (until I came back) & never mentioned a word to me about the turbo. The turbo wasn't even mentioned in their write up. I called to speak w/ the owner & was told he's rarely there & that my message would be relayed. I haven't heard back.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Five Star Auto Repair pay the $3473.41 in damages. The repair shop is confident that their lack of workmanship caused the damage (see complaint above). The manager and tech at Five Star flat out lied when they told the BAR that they showed me the air filter prior to changing it and that they mentioned possible turbo damage before I left the first time. Neither was done. And, their write up doesn't indicate anything about the turbo either. If they felt possible damage had been done it would have been stated in their write up and they would have mentioned it to me. The fact that the tech stated he heard the same whistle when he took the truck for a test drive and it wasn't relayed to me before leaving is completely unprofessional and mind boggling. And, if he knew there was possible damage to the turbo, why did he take the truck back in the garage and rev it up multiple times after I returned with the noise complaint. That only caused more damage to the truck. He should have said right then and there that there is damage to your turbo and you'll need to take it to a delearship. Even after they came out and said the turbo went out, they told me it would be okay to drive the truck 4 hours out of town that weekend. Had we done that, we would have been stranded on the side of the road and we would have had to replace the entire engine, not just the turbo and after cooler. All of this shows that they really don't know what they are doing. They need to take responsibility for what they did. I took our truck in for maintenance. It shouldn't have left with a blown out turbo. It should have left driving the same, if not better.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@fivestarrocklin.com Response to ****** ******'s complaint: Here at Five Star Auto Care we strive to provide quality service at an affordable price. Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority. We are a relatively small locally owned business and appreciate all of our customers. In the automotive repair industry, very simply put, mistakes can happen. We have had instances in the past in which we have been at fault for damages to vehicles. In these instances we have admitted our fault and promptly taken responsibility for, and resolved these issues. We pride ourselves on our honesty and integrity. In direct response to Mrs. ******'s complaint, we have thoroughly examined all of the facts related to Mrs. ******'s visit to our facility. Upon her arrival to Five Star Auto Care, Mrs. ****** was signed in for an oil change including a courtesy inspection of fluids and filters. The technician working on Mrs. ******'s vehicle inspected the air filter and immediately came into the office to inform management of his findings. The technician found the air filter very dirty, coming apart, and sucked up into the intake ducting. The technician and management took Mrs. ****** out to her vehicle in the shop, showed her the condition of the filter and the service writer advised her that it would be recommended to replace this filter immediately and that the transmission fluid was discolored and should be serviced. Mrs. ****** made a phone call and then approved both the air filter replacement and the transmission service. The air filter was replaced and transmission serviced. The original air filter that was in the vehicle upon arrival was the wrong air filter for this vehicle (confirmed by an agent with the Bureau of Automotive Repair). Mrs. ****** paid her bill and left our facility. Shortly after service Mrs. ****** called in to report a whistle noise she had been hearing while driving after service. Five Star Auto Care manager advised Mrs. ****** to return to the shop for an inspection of her vehicle at no charge to her for customer satisfaction. Mrs. ****** brought the vehicle back to the shop and immediately one of our master certified technicians began to inspect for a whistle. After determining the whistle was coming from the turbo charger, the technician removed the air ducting to visually inspect the turbo. The technician found parts of the turbo impeller were damaged. The technician suspected this was caused by parts of the old air filter entering the turbo charger. The reason that Mrs. ****** would not have been able to hear the whistle made by the turbo charger during acceleration is because the old air filter (which was incorrect) was blocking air flow to the turbo charger and not allowing it to spool up. We informed Mrs. ****** of our findings and advised her to visit a diesel repair shop for further repairs for this issue. Mrs. ****** filed a complaint with the Bureau of Automotive Repair and a program representative investigated all of Mrs. ******'s concerns thoroughly. After the investigation it was determined that Five Star Auto Care was not liable for damages to Mrs. ******'s vehicle. Our master certified technician suspects that the damages to her vehicle were caused by failure to properly service the air filter and installing the incorrect filter (the filter that was in the vehicle upon arrival was incorrect). It is unfortunate that Mrs. ****** has had to repair her vehicle but in no way are her expenses the responsibility of Five Star Auto Care. Mrs. ****** may want to contact whomever installed the incorrect filter in her vehicle originally. Five Star Auto Care wishes Mrs. ****** the best but will not be covering any of the costs accrued repairing her vehicle as none of the damage to her vehicle was in any way the fault of any services performed here at our facility. Pictures and technician statements are available for review upon request by the Better Business Bureau.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let's just say that the air filter in my truck was the incorrect filter when I took it to Five Star and that it was sucked into the duct and falling apart. When they took my truck in for service, they became fully responsiblle for it. When they opened the air filter box, saw that it was dirty, unmaintained and breaking apart, they held that box straight up and took a picture of it. By doing that, they allowed the damaged filter pieces to fall straight down the attached hose into the turbo. It doesn't matter the condition of my air filter when I brought my truck to them. What matters is what they did when they serviced my truck. What they should have done, after holding the air box straight up for their picture, was remove the hose that leads from the air filter box to the turbo. Had they done that, they would have cleaned out all of the old filter pieces from the hose and from the turbo. Instead, they removed the old filter and put the new filter in. On top of that, they didn't take the time to remove the old air filter pieces from the box. They placed the new air filter right on top of those pieces. No matter how you look at it, what they did caused the damage to the turbo. Their lack of workmanship caused this damage, not our "unmaintained" filter. Had they taken a few more minutes to clean things up, this wouldn't be an issue. Since this occurred, ****** and his tech have lied about what took place. ****** may say my points don't matter, but why lie if you have nothing to hide? Here's a list of the lies told: 1. They showed me the filter before replacing it. 2. They told me there was possible turbo damage prior to me leaving their facility the first time. 3. The air filter in my truck was the incorrect filter. 4. The BAR said the air filter in my truck was the incorrect filter. 5. The BAR said they are not liable. I was never shown the filter prior to them changing it. I was never informed that there could be possibe turbo damaage until I came back and they dug deeper. If they had told me that when I left the first time, why would they have me drive across town to check out the whistle noise. They would have told me then to take it to a repair shop or to a delearship. Why did the tech, when I came back, take my truck and rev it up as loud and as fast as he could if he knew possible turbo damage was done? He only caused more damage to it. And, after all of this, another tech at the front desk told me it would be okay for us to take the truck to Fort Bragg for the weekend. Thank God I didn't listen to that as we would have been stranded. That just goest to show that they don't know what they are doing over there. ****** is a liar. Why, I don't know. I'll never understand liars. All of the lies lead me to believe that they are covering something up. There is no other reason for it. I am beyond frustrated that a manager of a company can flat out lie and make their customer look like the fool. I wouldn't be surprised if the owner even knew about this case. None of this sits with me too well. Yes, I contacted the local news stations, the BAR and BBB to help me out with this. I'm trying to avoid this going to court, but if that's the next step, I'll see you and your tech there.

Business' Final Response
Response to ****** ******'s Apr. 9th statement: There are three facts in this case that are not in dispute. First, the filter that was installed in Mrs. ******'s vehicle when it arrived to our facility was incorrect. Second, the air filter was extremely dirty and had not been properly maintained. Third, the cause of the damage to the turbo was pieces of the air filter that was falling apart, getting sucked into the turbo. I think Mrs. ****** would agree that Five Star did not cause the air filter to come apart. Mrs. ****** is making the claim that our facility caused pieces of her old air filter (that had fallen apart due to lack of maintenance) to enter her turbo causing damage. The damage to the turbo was already done when Mrs. ****** arrived at our facility. The proof of that matter would be evident in the picture taken of the air filter prior to being removed from the air box. In the picture, one can clearly see pieces of the air filter seal missing. These missing pieces had already gone through the turbo causing the damage. The reason Mrs. ****** could not hear the whistle from the turbo is simple. The air filter had such little air flow that the turbo could not spool/spin with enough force to cause the whistle to be evident. Mrs. ******'s focus on what and when the issues were brought to her attention is not relevant to the damage caused to her vehicle. The Bureau of Automotive Repair, which is the governing agency for the auto repair industry has conducted an investigation into this issue. With the evidence presented by both sides (including photos of the vehicle prior to the replacement of the air filter) the Bureau was unable to establish liability on our company. The Bureau of Automotive repair has closed the case on this matter. Mrs. ****** is exhausting all resources at her disposal in attempts to have Five Star Auto Care pay for the repairs to her vehicle. The Better Business Bureau is the fourth different avenue that she has pursued. Five Star Auto Care has already discussed this issue with the Bureau of Automotive Repair, KOVR channel 13, KCRA channel 3, and now the BBB. This matter will not be "resolved" for Mrs. ****** until she can find someone that would agree with her that our establishment is responsible for this issue. If she was just looking for resolution one might think that her first three options for resolution in this matter would be sufficient in determining that the damage to her vehicle is not the fault or responsibility of Five Star Auto Care. Honesty and integrity are the main priorities at Five Star Auto Care. When these values are called into question, these matters are investigated and taken very seriously. The Five Star staff acted appropriately in this matter and did what they could for the customer including re-examining the vehicle when the customers concerns were brought to our attention at no charge. If Mrs. ******'s vehicle had been properly maintained prior to her visit to Five Star Auto Care this problem would have never occurred. Five Star Auto Care has been open and honest with all agencies that Mrs. ****** has involved in this issue. Five Star invites the Better Business Bureau to contact management at Five Star to discuss the evidence in this case.

1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Miss leading practice that you get a discount when you give them their coupon. Took my mx5 in for service to have the rear differential fluid changed. They list a price of $49.99 for this service. When I went to pay my bill I had a coupon that I would get $20 back. They turned around and charged me 69.99 for the service. They told me that it cost more for the fluid. Remember my car is a Mazda Miata MX5 which can't possibly cost $20 more and no where have I seen a sign saying that the cost would be more.

Desired Settlement: The 20 dollar overcharge.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Case # XXXXXXXX filed by ****** ****** Mr. ****** ****** came to Five Star Auto Repair on January 10, 2013 and requested a rear differential service and a power steering system service. The service writer (******), wrote up an estimate for Mr. ****** including these services clearly listed and prices shown with the differential service at $69.99 and the power steering service at 74.99. Mr. ****** signed the invoice and approved the work. At the time of sign-up, Mr. ****** did not have or mention any coupon. Mr. ****** made mention that the listing on our menu had the price for a differential service was $49.99 and for his vehicle the charge was $69.99. ****** explained to Mr. ****** that the prices listed were a "starting at" price and that many cars were different, and had different pricing due to the type of fluid they use. When Mr. ****** returned to pick the vehicle up, the price from the original estimate (that Mr. ****** signed) were the same with only tax added. Mr. ****** presented the manager (******) a coupon from our website for a $20.00 discount on his service. The discount was applied to the invoice and the total was then $20.00 less than the original signed estimate copy before tax. Mr. ****** payed his bill, signed his invoice copy of the paperwork, and left Five Star Auto Repair without making any additional mention of his issue with our service. Copies of Mr. ******'s signed estimate copy (prior to performing services) and invoice copy (with discount clearly listed) can be provided upon request. Customer service and honesty are of the utmost importance to us here at Five Star Auto Repair. We are somewhat confused as to the basis for Mr. ******'s complaint due to the fact that he was provided with a copy of his original estimate and signed a copy of the estimate (prior to service), in both copies prices were clearly marked and listed in compliance with California state regulations. If Mr. ****** had any issue with our service or prices and brought those issues to our attention prior to service, we could have either explained the services to him or Mr. ****** could have declined to have us perform the service and elected to go elsewhere. At no time were the charges for sevices changed in any way other than to apply a discount of $20.00 when Mr. ****** picked up his vehicle.