Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Exclusively Made In Japan/Made In America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Exclusively Made In Japan/Made In America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Exclusively Made In Japan/Made In America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1990 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 09/01/2004 in NV
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 235466.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 265442.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Houseman, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Houseman, CEO
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD, AMERICAN EXPRESS, ATM/DEBIT, DISCOVER, CHECKS, CASH, CAR CARE ONE
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 1516 Howe Ave.

    Sacramento, CA 95825

  • 701 Riverside Ave Ste 5

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 773-0769

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ahead to explain my issues and to see if I could bring it in and I brought it down there on a Monday evening for them to run a diagnostic check. They did the check and then the next day they said they needed to run a second diagnostic check which was twice as expensive as the first one to find the problem in the EVAP system. I agreed since I wanted to fix the problem, but they then called me later saying that their technician had spent too long on my car without finding the problem and that they were going to have to stop working on it so they could take care of other cars.Anyway, they never called me back and I had to call them. I was promised repeated call backs that were never followed up on over the next 2 days. After the second diagnostic they didn't call me back to tell me what the problem was because they couldn't find one and I had to follow up with them early on Thursday afternoon, at which point they told me that in addition to the two diagnostic fees, I would need to pay an additional $975.00 for 2 replacement EVAP canisters, a valve and a filter and that they would have to order it from LA, in order to fix the EVAP leak. At this point I agreed because I felt like this was the only option. However, what they didn't tell me was that approximately $600 in parts was Preventative Maintenance when they quoted me the price of repairs on the phone. They led me to believe that the full repairs required all of these parts and I didn't even find that out until I read the owner comment to my 1 star review on Yelp. They "only" charged me $819 for the parts in the end, but I checked online and at local dealerships for comparable parts and they were half as expensive. when I asked why they shrugged and said that they had to pay for their overhead. Finally, the EVAP system still leaks because they "found" another problem the day I was supposed to pick up my car. This was after I had expressed that I really needed to have my car back.

Desired Settlement: I think that they do not deserve an A+ rating due to the service that I received. Their business practices were extremely shady and they led me to believe the the most expensive parts were required for my repairs when they were not. It was only preventative maintenance, something I was made aware of only after the fact. Their parts were marked up more than 100%, I believe to help cover their company costs for spending a long time on my vehicle.

Business Response: This vehicle came to us with 2 problems. The transmission was in "fail safe" mode and stored a P0760 code and the PCM had a P0455 Evap system leak code stored. Now each code and system has it's own diagnostic strategy and series of test associated with it. We charged one diagnostic charge $122 for initial diagnosis. Even though there were 2 different issues. We first got the trans code cleared and out of test mode. After testing, the trans was working properly and did not indicate further repair was needed at that time. Then we started the testing for the Evap leak. Now, Evap leaks can be very difficult to isolate in the system because the technician has to find a vacuum leak as small as 40 thousands of an inch. So, not only is it difficult to find, it's even harder to explain to a client. The additional "diag" labor was actually the labor required to remove the fuel tank to gain access to the rest of the Evap system. Our technician was able to isolate the main leak was internal to the Evap ORVR and vent valve assemblies. These components are attached to the canisters and located above the fuel tank against the bottom of the car. The canisters have a very high fail rate for this vehicle and tend to fail once they get disturbed. It is very common to save client money in labor and replace these canisters at the same time because they will fail. Total time the tech actually spent on the car was over 8.5 hours. We did not charge by the hour or our lost labor. We charged by the job. So that's what we stuck too. This should show honesty by itself. Yes, we have many obligations to multiple clients everyday. At some point, our tech did need to take a break from this vehicle to address our other clients who also needed there car back. Given the complexity of this issue, it was a very reasonable choice. It also took some time to get the parts here. The parts involved were special ordered from out of town. So it took several days to be shipped to the shop. This is out of our control. Sometimes it's the nature of auto repair. There wasn't a need to call the client back each day because He was already calling us each day, sometimes multiple times which probably added to his frustration. Look,it took a long time to find the problem and then even longer to get the parts here. We understood that he needed his car back ASAP but we can't risk rushing the job and making mistakes. We work hard and as efficiently as possible to do the job right. After finally getting the part and installed we were able to verify that the largest leak was repaired but found an additional smaller leak in the fuel filler neck assembly upstream. You can't always find a small leak when there was a larger leak present. That should make logical sense. The client chose to not complete the filler neck repair and picked up his vehicle. The repair order we provided to the client was very detailed in the scope of what testing was performed, what was found, what was recommended, and why. It explains all of the details not mentioned here. As for the pricing of the parts, all companies buy parts for resale to the end user. It doesn't matter if we're talking car parts that we sell or building materials that you pay the contractor to build your house with. The cost to the consumer is relative to the company's cost of goods sold and the cost of the company's ability to perform the service. It's basic economics. Anyone who would say different is either not operating a business or is flatly not telling the truth. Now, I really don't know what the client can purchase his parts on line for. I'm sure that, in most cases, you will always find a cheaper price somewhere online or in a parts department some where. I can also buy my lean cut steak at Raley's for $5 but I can not take my $5 steak to Scott's Seafood and expect them cook it for me. You know that steak didn't cost Scott's $30 to buy it. They, like all honest businesses, had to be profitable on that steak or they wouldn't be in business very long. In closing, We followed auto repair industry standards and testing procedures. The testing and repair was performed by a Master, L1 ASE certified technician with well over 20 years experience. We have been in business for over 25 years and have over 200 5 star reviews through out the web. Our reputation and experience is not consistent with ***'s perception of us. I am very sorry that *** is disappointed in his car and this situation. This is a very complicated situation with his car and would be very hard for anyone to grasp with out extensive technical training. I would be very happy to go over the repair order and details of the work that we performed. Ultimately we always want a happy client.

Business Response: This is going nowhere. -I am offering to help resolve this issue with *** through education, explanation, and conversation. I am available to discuss the issue in person or on the phone. But *** would rather continue with his assumptions and accusations without reasoning. -We did not assume or guess on our diagnosis and we definitely do not "make things up". The technician's notes are very detailed and explain clearly what was found and recommended. These notes are detailed on the printed work order given to ***. As far as ***** and ***'s phone conversation, I wasn't there. I do know, and confirmed with *****, that he reads the tech notes verbatim as stated by the technician which included which parts were PM and which ones are a REC. It is a complicated subject and it is possible that *** could have only interpreted portions of the conversation. -We did not deny *** the opportunity to show him his old parts. Why would we? I have them sitting here in my office. -We did not do anything out of the ordinary to manipulate or "inflate" our prices to get a "larger profit" or to "make up for anything". Continuing to be accused of this is insulting. -No, *** is right on this one, we did not admit fault or that we did something wrong. That is because we didn't do anything wrong. -The bottom line is: We strive to provide an honest service for our clients. We didn't build the car. We didn't break the car. We don't get to choose the situations or conditions that vehicles come to us in. We manage each issue or case as the situation presents it's self. We are here to solve problems and that's what we've always done. -We've been in business for over 25years. Over 3000 clients trust and rely on us every year. There is a reason that we are a BBB A+ rated shop. One unreasonable client should not be a reason to loose what 3000 happy clients rated us for. -In closing, I've offered to have a conversation with *** to help him understand the situation better. Apparently, he only wants to batter back and forth here and on Yelp with his one sided beliefs. I can't help someone who doesn't want to be helped. -I would like to request this case to be closed as I fear any further discussion on this matter will just continue to run in circles. It's not productive for either party and definitely not an efficient use of either one's time. -If *** is willing to put his emotions aside and look at this objectively and logically, I would still be more than happy to speak with him in person. Otherwise, we will just have to agree to disagree and leave it at that.

Consumer Response: **** and I are in the process of resolving this issue. We are close to coming to a resolution. I am requesting that this case remain open until such a time that we complete the resolution.

Sincerely,

*** ********