BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

From oil changes and tires to diagnostics and transmission rebuilding. Consider us your one-stop shop for all your vehicle's beeds. Our team of experts skillfully handle all maintenance and repair needs on all makes and models.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C&M Automotive Repair Specialist meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C&M Automotive Repair Specialist include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C&M Automotive Repair Specialist
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 13, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Refugio Martinez, Partner Mr. Juan Pablo Ruelas, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Refugio Martinez, Partner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Refund and Exchange Policy
12 MONTHS/ 12K MILE EXCEPT ON CUSTOMER PROVIDED PARTS.
Products & Services

FLOWMASTER. MAGNAFLOW. HP RACING. CENTER-FORCE. EXEDY. AEM. KYB. GROUND CONTROL. SKUNK. SINISTER. JET. AND MANY MORE QUALITY PERFORMANCE PARTS.


Additional Locations

  • 318 Garden Hwy

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 755-2065

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C&M replaced starter on 4/22/14 and it didn't work so same day they had another one sent over from ******* Auto Parts (first starter from the Yuba City store at *** ****** ** and second starter from the Marysville store) and put in all within a couple of hours. They charged us $86.58 twice for the labor of both starters including the one that didn't work. I've called three times and spoken with I believe he said his name was******* and asked if they could do a labor claim and reimburse us for one amount of $86.58 for the labor of starter that didn't work but I've received no help. I've since contacted ******* Auto Repair in Yuba City and spoke with ****** and asked if they could help with a refund of the labor charge and was told first yes they could work with me but then told they would do their best to help me. They have as of today 5/6/14 said I need to deal directly with C&M Thank you so much for your help- ******

Desired Settlement: The amount of $86.58 refunded back

Business Response:

Ms. *******,

First off, I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience this situation has caused you.  For the record, you are not the individual who brought the vehicle to me, it was your father.  To my understanding, the vehicle had the starter replaced at another facility over a year ago, in which the starter was supplied by ***** ****, the wholesale division of ******** Auto Parts.  According to your father that particular facility ended up replacing the starter twice.  Over a year goes by and this problem resurrects, so your father, which we have worked with in the past, brings it to us to figure out the issue.  Due to the sparse nature of the complaint: hard start, we were unable to duplicate it on the first visit.  Your father brought the vehicle back a second time in which we were able to duplicate the concern and deemed the starter to be the source of the issue or concern.  We then contacted Mr. ******* and explained to him the situation with the starter and advised him that the started carried a life time limited warranty.  We then proceeded to contacting ***** **** in order to get the starter exchanged.  Mr. ******* authorized replacement of the starter for $86.58, knowing that the standard 12 month/ 12,000 mile warranty was no longer valid.  After replacing the starter, we found that it was making an abnormal amount of noise at start-up.  We contacted Mr. ******* and explained to him that the vehicle is starting up but that judging from the amount of noise this starter was defective as well, Mr. ******* then authorized replacement of the starter once again.  The second starter arrived and was replaced with no persisting issues and the vehicle was release.  My customer, Mr. *******, understood the situation and understood why he was being charged twice for the starter.  If we had supplied the starter originally then obviously there wouldn’t have been a second charge for performing the repair twice.  We have a strict policy that there is no warranty, what so ever, on customer supplied parts, in which this was the case because we did not sell Mr. ******* the starter. 

Apparently the situation reemerged and customer’s daughter called back confused about why we charged Mr. ******* twice to replace the starter twice.  Customer’s daughter was told that since we didn’t originally supply the starter we had to charge Mr. ******* twice.  Customer then claimed that her brother, who works at another repair facility down the street, told her that we should have done a labor claim through the original supplier.  I then contacted ******, the manager for the wholesale parts division of ******** and was told that we could only do labor claims within 1 year of original purchase.  O’Reilly was willing to refund the amount for what the original repair facility paid for the starter if customer was willing to upgrade to an OEM or different brand starter. 

I myself spoke to the customer’s daughter regarding what ******** was willing to do for her as far as refunding the amount the original repair facility paid for the starter and obviously customer’s daughter wasn’t happy with that resolution.  I attempted to be helpful to the customer’s daughter but unfortunately was unable to process a labor claim through ********. 

In order to keep the customer’s daughter satisfied I am willing to refund $86.58 to Mr. *******, I will credit the amount back to his credit card as per customer satisfaction.  I hope this will conform to customer’s daughter’s expectations and we are able to continue servicing Mr. *******’s vehicles in the future.  Sorry for the inconvenience Ms. ******* but I hope you understand the situation wasn’t easy trying to deal with several parties while attempting to get this resolved. 

Very Respectfully,

Charly Aguilar

Service Advisor, C & M Automotive Repair Specialist

Consumer Response: My father was not told he would be charged the second time for labor of second starter.... that is a complete lie. Also, i don't  have a brother. It appears I'm not the one who is confused. And if you were helping us to as you claim then why has my father never been contacted by you. Thank you.
*****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: took car in on 8/11/2012 and 1600 dollars later and five days later the car makes the exact same noise and I am told I need complete top end work. invoice number XXXXXXXXXX dates given above 2005 Ford Expedition 80,000 miles Person dealt with; ******* payed with a credit card full amount In August I took my expedition in for a noise and the gave me a 90 dollar diagnosis and diagnosed it as the timing chain and quoted me maximum 1500 dollars, then they called and said the oil pan needed to be dropped and cleaned out for an additional 460 dollars, I said that seemed a little fishy and declined and he then said with the parts and labor for the timing chain is now 1650. I asked what happen to the 1500 and he said there were a few extra parts that needed to be replaced. I then received a call that the car was done yet there is a new noise in the heads and that needs to be done. I explained that was the reason I brought the car in was because of the noise and now there are two noises. I explained that on both cars he got us into it so far we could not say no. This is a scam for I went into the shop on both occasions and he diagnosed it and low balled the price just to get me to leave the car.

Desired Settlement: the noise fixed

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I do not wish to make any changes to my suggestions, or pricing, from the original date. I am still suggesting to drop the engine oil pan to clean all foreign debris and then continue with further inspection for the noise on the right side cylinder head. All of these recommendations were made from the time the vehicle was still at my shop and the customer declined additional repairs against recommendations.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) he can say what he wants the car is not fixed and he is as slick as they come. he low balled the first phone estimate at 800 dollars and then the last estimate to fix the new problem was a verbal 3400 dollars added to the 1600 i gave him it went from 800 to 5000. Can not be justified at all. He is slick and if he is allowed to continue this practice of low balling (i have found another customer he did it too) he will soon become aa crook.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1