Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brakes, Tires and More

Phone: (530) 673-2000 View Additional Phone Numbers 1492 Bridge St, Yuba City, CA 95993 http://www.brakestiresandmore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brakes, Tires and More meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brakes, Tires and More include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brakes, Tires and More
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 279545.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Juan Pablo Ruelas, Owner Mr. Refugio Martinez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Juan Pablo Ruelas, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Brakes, Tires, and More, Inc.
Products & Services

Brakes, Tires and More is an auto repair shop specializing in brakes and tires.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 1492 Bridge St

    Yuba City, CA 95993 (530) 673-2000 (530) 821-5880

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: gave false information about needed repair's on 02/20/2013 took my car in to have powerstreeing pump and rear rotor's repaired, then they said i needed to replace timing belt that it was in very bad condition and it was very critical that I had it repaired as soon as possible and if not it could cause the car to up and quit on me and destroy piston's etc. and told me then I might as well buy a new engine they gave me an estimate for the amount of 678.17 plus tax this was for labor and a timing belt kit. so I went for a second opinion at aamco in yuba city and they said my timing belt did not need replacement it was in good condition and they also showed it to me, their was no sign of wear and tear on the timing belt like tires brakes and more said there was. I was out $49.00 to have this second opinion, it's not much money but it highly upsets me that I had to be out of the 49.00 this was all uncalled for, because they wanted to rip me off saying I needed repair's that was not needed.

Desired Settlement: I Just want people to be aware of brakes tires and more, trying to rip people off. They caused me a hardship by having to take off work to go get a second opinion and out 49.00, when the repair's they told me I needed was all a scam.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: LUIS/ SERVICE WRITER Contact Email: *****@att.net After reviewing our records, we found the timing belt was recommend while the vehicle was taken apart for repairs requested by the customer himself, this was recommended strictly as preventative maintenance (this part was emphasized to the customer); due to the high vehicle mileage. Both the customer's father and mother where escorted into the shop and physically shown the visibly poor condition of the timing belt. Parents were concerned with condition of vehicle, since customer makes his living delivering pizzas. Customer was NEVER charged for inspection of timing belt; this was done per customer satisfaction and as part of our complementary under hood inspection. We here at Brakes Tires and More pride ourselves in in the great quality of our work. We are an honest repair shop and always like to advise our customers on any obvious visible repairs so that they may be aware of, and fix any preventative maintenance issues that may arise. It also shows in our records, the customer returned at a later date and made no mention of this to us. He seemed happy with the quality of the work performed and made no indications that he had other concerns.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off...I am not trying to get a refund, they did a really great job on the job I had them do on my car. The thing is that they told my parents about the timing belt, mom and step dad WAS NOT shown the timing belt whatsoever. I really can't stand liars to be honest. I never wanted things to go this way, just wanted people to know that they are not as honest as they claim. I did open a case against another company because they did mess up my car, now my reverse is all jacked up, I don't have the money to have my tranny broke down just to see, when I know that before I went to that shop (Not Brakes, Tires, and More), my tranny was totally fine. As I have said before, I am NOT trying to get a refund, just wanted people to know that Brakes, Tires, and More are complete liars and out for your money is all. Really nice people there, just don't trust them after my issue with them. I would love someone from the BBB or the BAR to get in touch with me, and my parents to find out the truth of this matter. I will not give up until the truth has been told.

Business' Final Response
Mr. ******'s comment that we are a "rip off to get his money" is completely false. When he returned a second time with a complaint of his power steering fluid leaking, we ended up waiving the inspection fee that he was entitled for, after informing him there was no power steering fluid leak and showing him the level of the power steering fluid. The fluid leak he was referring to was/is was various miscellaneous oil leaks that his engine has. Customer then asked if the source of the leak was his valve cover gasket that he stated had been replaced at a different shop. Mr. ****** also had a representative call us in regards to ANOTHER open case he had opened against a different shop, he asked whether or not the valve cover gasket was leaking. I informed them both that vehicle was brought in for a power steering leak inspection and NOT an engine oil leak. Customer was informed that if he would like; we would perform oil leak inspection; which consist of degreasing engine and adding u.v dye to engine crank case in order to trace exact origin(s) of leak. Mr. ****** declined this service citing financial difficulties (hence his power steering inspection fee was waived). We are not aware of the possible number of cases Mr. ****** has opened on different shops, or if he has some type of plan to extort money from local auto repair businesses that are simply trying to make an honest living. Moving on to Mr. ******'s and his Mothers claim that we did not VISABLY show them the timing belt is either a severe oversight on their part or a blatant flat out lie. I would like to inform both of them that for safety and insurance purposes we have multiple cameras in our shop area; and if they would like, I would be more than happy to show them the footage of when they were both being showed the poor condition of the timing belt. The timing belt was never referred to as being "chewed up" like Mrs. ******** (Customers Mom) put it, the timing belt had/has visible weather cracks normally caused from normal wear/mileage and age of belt. This was recommended strictly as a preventative maintenance item. Lastly; I would like to sincerely apologize for mentioning the customer's line of work/profession. Please know had I known that this would cause the embarrassment that it did; I would have refrained from doing so in the first place. the only reason it was mentioned, was to remind moment we