Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Big Oak Auto & Truck Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 962-6764 Fax: (209) 962-6773 View Additional Phone Numbers 17870 Highway 120, Big Oak Flat, CA 95305


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Oak Auto & Truck Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Oak Auto & Truck Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 169090.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. K. Mike Hamilton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. K. Mike Hamilton, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Road Service - Automotive Towing - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Hi-Way 120 Towing
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17870 Highway 120

    Big Oak Flat, CA 95305 (209) 962-7070 (209) 962-6764

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 205

    Big Oak Flat, CA 95305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was involved in an accident and broke my collar bone. Hi-Way 120 tow dba as Big Oak Auto & Truck Repair towed my motorcycle at the request of the CHP and the CHP officer called AAA for me since I was leaving in an ambulance. I am a AAA premium member and Hi-Way 120 refused the AAA tow rate and then charged $210 an hour for the tow. The total tow charge for a 54 mile round trip tow at 2.5 hours was $525 which almost 3 times the normal rate for a tow. They also charged $45 a day for storage. My total bill I had to paid to get my motorcycle returned was $705.I would like a refund of the difference of their tow charge and a reasonable and customary tow charge of $75 per hour. 2.5 hours at $75 is $187.50. $525 minus 187.50 is $337.50. I would be happy for a settlement of that amount.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the difference of their tow charge and a reasonable and customary tow charge of $75 per hour. 2.5 hours at $75 is $187.50. $525 minus 187.50 is $337.50. I would be happy for a settlement of that amount.

Business Response: CHP called us to start a truck for this accident. CHP informed us they would be calling AAA but they never did. We never received a call number from AAA so he was charged our CHP accident rate of $210.00 per hour. This is our standard CHP rate and has been so for years. When Mr. ****** asked why we did not use AAA we explained that they were not called, we had no membership information and therefore we charged him according to the agency that did call us. We went so far as to contact AAA supervisor as well as our regional manager and both responses were the same; They would not retro pay for the call, Mr. ****** would have to submit for reimbursement. As far as we are aware Mr. ****** did attempt reimbursement but it would cover only $200.00 of the bill. Since AAA had no record of CHP calling on behalf of Mr ****** he was charged our standard CHP Accident recovery rates.