Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Auto World Auto Service

Phone: (209) 575-2886 Fax: (209) 523-1871 1312 La Loma Ave, Modesto, CA 95354

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto World Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto World Auto Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto World Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 2000 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 184438.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Alex Sargisian, Co-owner Mr. John Sargisian, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Sargisian, Co-owner
Customer Contact: Mr. John Sargisian, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Smog Inspection Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

Auto World Auto Services is a full service auto repair shop specializing in transmissions and brakes. It also is a licensed smog station.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 6th I dropped off my **** F250 pickup truck to have the heater core replaced (part purchased by customer). I received a call on January 8th telling me the truck was finished and I could come pick it up. I inquired on the phone if there were any problems and was told there were no problems and it was ready to go. I drove my truck off the premises and then noticed a large crack on the dash cover directly in front of me. I went directly back to the repair shop and showed this to the mechanic and the shop owner. They stated that there had been a small crack when the mechanic was working on it, but I can testify there was no crack on the dash when I dropped off the truck to them. They refused to let me ask the mechanic directly about the crack and would not answer my question about why I was never called about this issue when they noticed it. The owner, **** stated they would order the part and repair it an no charge to me. During the week of January 12th, 3 calls were made to the shop to inquire about the status of the part order by my wife, *****. She spoke to 3 different people who promised to have the shop owner or manager call her back, but nobody ever returned her calls. On Monday, January 19th I made a call to the shop and spoke with ******* who stated the part had not yet been ordered but they would take care of it right away. I was very angry at being treated this way and had my wife call to speak to them. She called and spoke with ******* who refused to acknowledge any mistakes were made and that they would order the part. ******* then called me back and stated they have ordered the part, but I would have to pay $118.00 for the part to have them install it, stating the original conversation with the shop owner did not take place about fixing this issue at no charge to us.

Desired Settlement: The company should honor their original statement that they will order and replace the dash cover at no charge to me.

Business Response: Customer brought in vehicle for heater core replacement. Customer brought in his own parts. Since the work was all labor, customer got some discount as well. Labor for the heater core on 1998 **** F-250 calls for 7.00 hours which adds up to $595 ($85/hr labor rate). Customer was charged $500 for the work performed which gives customer a savings of $95. To work on the heater core the dash of the vehicle needs to be removed. According to the mechanic the dash had a small crack that got worse. Customer was informed that if he paid for the part the labor would be done for free. The customer declined and later posted slander online for the car lot business that we own (Auto World Auto Sales) with bad language used in the comment section (which was later deleted by us). The car lot had nothing to do with this business yet this customer decided to post a negative review about us. Since the customer did that and also called and used foul language we refused his business and took the offer off the table to do the labor for free and informed the customer to take his vehicle somewhere else.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: #1 this not about the original cost of the service and #2 I was never informed of the "small" crack in the dash or given the opportunity to see for myself if I wanted them to continue with the work. As stated in my original complaint, when I requested to speak to the mechanic my request was denied. #3 the internet concerns happened after the final phone call where they refused to honor the original statement that they would order and replace the dash cover at no charge to me. Per their own words the internet comment was removed right after it was posted. After a week of phone calls never returned as promised and after being called a liar, I feel they should honor their original statement.

Business Response: In response of the rejection:

#1 the orignial cost was brought into the equation because everything needs to be covered when discussing a matter. 

#2 when vehicle was dropped off customer signed estimate invoice informing them "NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR LOSS OR DAMAGE TO CARS OR ARTICLES LEFT IN CARS IN CASE OF FIRE, THEFT OR ANY OTHER CAUSE", also the request to speak to a mechanic is always denied because if anything needs to be discussed it is discussed with the office manager or owner in the office.  If owner wants to involve any mechanic it is his right to do so, not the customer.

#3 as explained about the refusal, after phone calls with bad language we refuse the right to accept the offer of replacing the part at no labor and customer paying for part.  The internet concerns were only removed due to foul language yet the bad review stands on the facebook page for the car lot which did not have anything to do with this deal. 

The customer was informed that the part was ordered but as stated before we refuse to work on this vehicle due to bad response and bad review with foul language throughout the conversations and internet postings. The part was later canceled/returned.