Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Amerikar Auto Shop

Phone: (209) 656-7000 Fax: (209) 656-7199 1219 N Golden State Blvd, Turlock, CA 95380 http://www.amerikarauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amerikar Auto Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amerikar Auto Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 25, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 205482.

Business Management
Sasha Sargoni, Service Manager Mr. Ninous Sargony, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Sasha Sargoni, Service Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

AmeriKar provides auto repair service and specializes in foreign auto repair and carry all genuine European auto parts.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1219 N Golden State Blvd

    Turlock, CA 95380

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The clutch went out in my car and I had it towed to Amerikar auto repair. They quoted me an estimate of $1263.00. After diagnosing it they informed me that the clutch slave cylinder was leaking and recommended replacing it at a cost of $460.00. I gave them the okay. When they informed me that it was done I went to pick it up and paid $438.36. I got in the car to warm it up. I had the clutch disengaged when all of a sudden it began to engage by itself and the clutch pedal stayed on the floor and didn't return. I shut off the car and looked under it and the was a puddle of clutch fluid under the car. I went back in the shop and told **** about it. He had the mechanic to look at it and the mechanic said the clutch resevoir was empty. **** told me to leave the car there and they would fix it. He called later and said they found another leak at the throwout bearing that they missed. He gave me another estimate for $850.00 and told me the throwout bearing, clutch plate, and clutch disc were only available as a complete set. I gave him authorization to replace them (even though the clutch disc and pressure plate were only a year old). He called and said it was ready and I went to pick it up and paid an additional $853.97. He said there was trouble with it going into first gear and that it was due to the synchroze for first gear were wearing out and would last maybe a year. I drove the car home and couldn't shift it into first gear. On the way home the "check engine" light came on. As a note, there was nothing wrong with shifting the car into first gear before I took it to the shop. I was frustrated and wanted the car fixed so I took it to the Chevy dealership in Turlock, CA as I need the car for a work commuter. I told the dealership everything and the said they would look into it. They called and told me that whoever put the clutch in bent the shift linkage. I didn't want to take it to the first shop cause poor quality work. I called them and told them though. It's going to cost $600!

Desired Settlement: I want Amerikar to reimburse me for the damage they caused, the approximately $600 that it's going to cost me to have the dealership replace the bent shift linkage. I feel it is their responsibility since they bent it. Amerikar told me on the phone that if I would have taken it back to them that their insurance would have paid for it. I have already had the car their twice and there were more problems with it than before I took it in there. So I didn't want to take it back. They had two chances

Business Response: Mr. ****** called me this morning 12/30/14 and told me about his problem, I checked with my technician and he said the shift on that car is double cable not shift linkage, we are sorry that Mr. ****** is feeling this bad about our shop how ever originally when Michael picked up his car I told him it was the possibility of first gear syncro, and I would have gladly looked in to the problem, our workman ship is been always in the high standard unfortunately older cars with high miles they will have problems not related to our work, and if dealer can prove to us in wrighting I will submit the claim to my insurance for refund, otherwise I will assume that dealer have no standing in their saying other than belittle small successful shops like us.
best of luck . ****    

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  The initial issue has already been misdiagnosed by the shop twice.  They didn't even testdrive the vehicle after completing the work the first time or they would have found that the repair was faulty.  Again with another misdiagnosis when they claimed that the 1st gear synchroze were why the car wouldn't shift into first gear.  The car is currently at the dealership waiting for the parts that were ordered for it.  When I talked to the service representative on the phone this morning he wanted to know which shop did the work on the clutch.  He then went on to explain that the shop that replaced the clutch bent the linkage in the process.  Since the car is still at the dealership and the conversations I have had thus far have been by phone, when the repair is completed and I have picked up the car, I will ask the service representative to but what he told me on the phone in writing and will submit it to you.  The representative told me the car might be completed by 4:30pm tomorrow.  It depends on when the parts get to the dealership.

Consumer Response: Customer states that the dealer that looked at the shift link was not due to the alleged company but due to the part failing itself.

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in 8/2/13,& was told that the bumper could be painted. After 11 days I pick up my car incompleted & was told my car wasnt starting. I took my car in on 8/2/13, the owner was there said the job was going to be finished by that monday if not latest tuesday. I called in Monday to see the status, they told me they havent even started yet and to pick it up by 5 tomorrow it will be ready. I called in 2 times on Tuesday, someone called me back around 3 saying that the paint wasnt matching and that since the day is already done just get it tomorrow. I went in Wednesday when they said it was finished, and the paint was white, NOT PEARL WHITE. I asked to talk to someone is said "does that match to you" he said no.. so the painter came into the conversation and he said he tried what he could and it wasnt applying correctly. He said he was going to "research" it and see what he could do. I called in Thursday since nobody called me and he was out to lunch and he would call me back. He called me around 4pm saying the car would be ready by Friday, the following day. My husband called in friday and he said that they are still working on it. So now its been 1 week in their hands and nothing correctly has been done to my car. I left a message friday that if the job wasnt goign to be completed soon that I want someone to let me know. Nobody called me back. Monday morning my husband called again, and spoke to a person who said the car doenst look any different so we asked to get the car back to its original condition, which was primered, and we will pick it up. They called me around 1130 for the car to be picked up. I go pick up the car and the painter has my engine prompted up and I get out of the car and ask why he is in my engine. He procceeds to tell me that my car wasnt starting and that steam was coming out of the battery. The "manager" comes out and says well the reason why we didnt call you and tell you because we were just working on the bumper not the engine. I said NOTHING was wrong with this car, I have been here my 3rd visit and you havent mentioned anything wrong with the engine and now that I am picking it up there is something wrong with it. We argued back and forth and I told them if something goes wrong with my car because you guys messed with it they will be hearing from me. So we went and got a battery, which this one was less then 36 months old and I was driving my car home to hear a bunch of gargling and clicking noises. As of now my car is currently in the body shop getting inspected. I know nothing was wrong with my car prior because I just had it fully checked on 5/14/13, and I drove it back and forth to work in Santa Cruz. THere is something wrong with my car due to this companies fraudelent activities provided by this company.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for whatever needs to be fixed that they messed up and the cost of the incorrect primer that this other paint company is going to have to fix since they did it incorrectly and ruined the manufactory primer. If it takes longer then a week to get my car fixed and painted then i will be going after them for cost of a car replacement from the time they stated they would have it ready.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Email: ************@sbcglobal.et I am the owner of Amerikar I promised miss **** I will get it done, but I left to overseas for vacation and could not personally look over the problem I told my employee over an email to accommodate her and if we can not match the paint buy another bumper from dealer and take our losses and move on , but apparently she was not happy with our job, and we never touch engine only to charge an old battery to start the car , it is easy to blame a shop but I have and watch the video from my camera that we tried to help there are times we human make mistakes and we fixed other broken parts without charging and the video is my evidence, how ever I still apologize to miss **** I hope we can move on from this matter and take the goodness of our hearts for our mistake, I have apologized to her husband and he assure me that she was removing this compliant Thanks ****

Consumer's Final Response
As of now the business is coorpating with replacing my bumper but I have no got the total from the company to see the cost of fixing any other damage that has been done. I just wanted to let you know that they are cooporating so far.