BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Aamco Transmission?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AAMCO TRANSMISSION'S IS AN ACCREDITED BUSINESS THAT SERVICES THE FOLLOWING LOCATIONS:

2257 ARDEN WAY
SACRAMENTO, CA 95825

6441 FRANKLIN BLVD
SACRAMENTO, CA 95823

5015 N GATES AVE
FRESNO, CA 93722

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aamco Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aamco Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aamco Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 28, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated: 02/07/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 268136.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 268137.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Curtis, Owner Mr. David Curtis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Curtis, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
CF Enterprises LP
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 2257 Arden Way

    Sacramento, CA 95825

  • 6441 Franklin Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95823 (916) 424-3618 (916) 257-9036

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to the AAMCO Transmission located on Franklin Blvd, but before I took it I called in. I told them about the problem I was having with my car and that I was trying to get it diagnosed and that I was looking on the internet and found possible solutions. The man on the phone said that he defer clients away from the internet and just to bring it in. I then scheduled to bring it in the following day (10-24-14). When I got to the AAMCO location I went in and told the man I was trying to get it diagnosed because something is wrong with my transmission and he said they can do that. So when they told me my car was ready they only gave me a whole bunch of MAYBE(S). I didnt pay them for for them to give me a whole bunch of maybe(s) I told them I was paying for them to diagnose it and the cold part about it is that those are the same MAYBE(S) I got off of the internet. All they said was my fluid was burnt but it was not because I had just refilled it so there must have been a small amount of old fluid on the bottom of the pan. I didnt pay them for them to tell me my fluid was burt (which it wasnt) so I feel I got charged for nothing and would like a refund. I've called up there multiple time and they said they would give me a call back and never did. I had to keep calling up there just to hear back from them. Its been two weeks and I called back today and spoke with a guy named **** who was very hostile, who said he was the manager and that he would look into it and give me a call back which he didn't also. So I had to call back because they were giving me a run-a-round and don't want to refund my money. Its only $39.95 its not like im asking for a rebuilt transmission refund of like $1,300 or something. If the guy would not have mislead me saying they would diagnose it we would not be in this situation. I am not satisfied with their service. Thats not what I paid for. It was not right for him to mislead me into bring my vehicle there saying it would get diagnosed and that was not the outcome.

Desired Settlement: I would just like a refund for the poor services and false information.

Business Response: As far as deferring customers from online forums, yes, we recommend customers bring their vehicles in to properly have them checked. Although these forums may refer to similar problems customers may experience, there are several things that can cause drive ability concerns and each recommendation for repair may differ. To prevent customers from spending unnecessary amounts of money throwing parts at their vehicle to attempt to repair it, we always recommend a thorough check to be completed.


We provide a Multi Point Check that includes a detailed check externally of the vehicles mechanical system, a road test to verify the customers concern and a diagnostic scan of the vehicles computer system for any codes for $39.95. After reviewing your paperwork a thorough Multi point check was completed. The purpose of the check is to determine if there is something that is able to be fixed with a minor repair or adjustment or if there is something more serious to where the transmission needs to be rebuilt. In this case it was confirmed that you have an internal issue and the transmission needs to be rebuilt. As far as being able to tell you exactly what caused the failure, the next step would be to remove the transmission from the vehicle, take it apart and thoroughly inspect all the internal components for wear or damage. In any given transmission there are anywhere from 200-300 different working components that are installed inside of a completely sealed case. The only way to determine the exact cost for the repair as well as the cause of failure, it would be necessary for us to proceed to the next step which would be the internal inspection. If you decide you want to move forward with the next step of this process then we are more than willing to apply the $39.95 towards the repair itself. 


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:They said they would be able to tell me what was wrong with my vehicle and did not. They only gave me a lot of maybe(s) which are the same ones I had got off of the internet. I feel my $39.95 was not well spent because I am a dissatisfied customer. He should not have told be they would diagnose it. So I was lied to and misguided. I just want a refund because I did not get the service I requested and was informed about. The shop is asking for more money from me which is not right. It seems as if the shop only cares about making money instead of customer satisfaction. I do not want to have my transmission removed from them because I am a dissatisfied with them.     

Business Response: The service that you authorized for $39.95 is an external check. The initial check in form that you received a copy of and signed for clearly states what our check consists of. After our check was completed it was confirmed that you have an internal transmission problem and it needs to be rebuilt. There was no maybe involved with our check. Unfortunately we are not able to see the extent of damage done to a transmission without removing and inspecting it and that is why the removal and inspection was recommended as the next step in the repair process. Removing a transmission to inspect it for cause of failure entails many hours and is not completed for $39.95. We are here to provide a thorough service for each customer and expect compensation for the time our technicians put in on each customers vehicle. We are very concerned with complete customer satisfaction and not just customers money and are more than willing to apply the $39.95 towards completion of repairs or additional inspection time that is required. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I called in before I came in and asked if they can find out what is the problem with my vehicle and they said yes. The next day when I took my vehicle in I asked again if they would be able to tell me what's wrong with my vehicle and they said yes. They should not have said that if that's not what they were going to do. I was lied to and coursed into bring my vehicle in just for money. I specifically asked if they could find the problem and he stated yes. When I called in and spoke to a man who said his name was ****; he said he don't know why the employee said that.  And I feel since it was the business/employee fault for telling me that I don't feel its right for me to pay for a service I was told I was getting and did not. That false information should fall on the business not the customer. That is what he advertised to me. I'm not asking for something I did not pay. My problem is still there with no help from AAMCO. I did not expect for my transmission to be removed for $39.95; I expected a diagnosis. They are automatically suggesting to remove the transmission because that would get the business more money. It might just be a bad sensor or clogged filter that's causing my loss of power which neither requires for a transmission removal. If the company REALLY cares about customer satisfaction like they stated then I want my refund. It feels like a hassle to get $39.95 back after being dissatisfied/lied to. I am dissatisfied because I was given false/wrong information from one on THEIR employees. I would like my $39.95 back so I can put it towards ACTUALLY FINDING my problem with another business. I do not want my transmission removed from AAMCO. I do not like the service or the rudeness I have received from the AAMCO Transmission shop on Franklin BLVD.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received diagnostic - 9/17/14 - paid $110 w/ **** the new manager. **** gave me invoice and said its the torc convertor, i said to him that i will bring back the ****, and if the $110 went on the price of the work when i bring it back, because my grandson had apt in 30 min. I said if it goes over $300, get full, half if under $100. Monday, same day - 9/17/14 - when i got on the off ramp my **** lost power, i had to coast most of the way. I got off the 15th off ramp and **** stopped. It wouldn't go on drive so i revered it a little, then tried again on drive, went slowly and barely parked in another parking space by my apt, i had help moving it out of the way. Had to take my grandson to his appointment walking fast and takes a while to to get there. When i got to appointment i called amco. I don't know who i spoke to but i told him the problem and he said he would send a tow truck to bring it in. waiting to call in until i got home so i i can be there when the tow driver gets there since ii have the keys. When i spoke to ***** on 9/19/14, i called ****, said he didn't know know that ***** was at a meeting in L.A. **** said did ***** call you, he said he was going to but never did, thought **** should take care of my questions he's the manager. ***** was going to call monday anyways to let me know the cost and the problem. Monday 9/22/14 ***** told the price by phone. i paid the deposit and that day i gave them the ok to start. I said to ***** they already did it and they have the parts"what if i didn't want them to work on my ****". thought thats why they needed the deposit. I told ***** they can take there time because parking is bad in midtown, and said that so i can come up with the rest of the money on my october income. So i will be broke for a whole month or more. So i ask both **** and ***** if the amount of money that was quoted to me was written on stone, they both said yes because i said i don't like surprises since I'm on s.s. and thats all i can scrape up by the first part of october. 9/25/14 my caregiver called amco spoke with ****, told him my condition when i went to the hospital that morning w/ heart problems, will take care of the matters on monday, being discharged on saturday if no other issues, ask my caregiver to call to let them know whats going on, and ill definitely be there monday with the balance, or tuesday if my check comes early. I ask **** to save me all parts since i agreed by phone and paying almost $3,000 i should be able to see old parts, the torc convertor wasn't there, **** said they returned the old part to get a deposit back. *** said - 9/22/14 Took the light rail and walked there to get my **** out tot there. I paid the money - $1,029.58. Noticed there was a guy helping him with the computer. I asked **** who he is, he said general manager, thought that was unprofessional. when i walked in, i was ready to check out and i brought in there $3,000, enough to pay everyones paycheck for the 2 weeks - 10/3/14, on this same day and time i paid **** the balance - $1,029.58. He took a long time to finish up i asked why, he said because there were 3 different transactions, the computer would have to balance and all you do is enter the last payment which was $1.029.58. then enter and come out to no balance and print. Its been 3 weeks since he worked there he should have trained before you put him on the floor, and tattoo guy need to be friendly. There both in the wrong line of work. i would not recommend anyone to that amco, and i wouldn't go back even if there was a problem with my ****, which there is, as soon as i left i noticed the engine light goes on. i stopped at the corner gas station, called **** and **** said to bring back in, we will do a diagnostic to see whats wrong with it. "hell no not again"(to myself), thats why i took my car there in the first place and costed me $3,000. i know he wouldn't wave the diagnostic since he and ***** wouldn't give me a break the time i came to pay the balance and the credit card didn't go through because surprisingly my bill was $200 more. i didn't have to money, had to pay him 3 different transactions. was short of $200. "if they could wave it then i can finally get out and be done(to myself), he said no. then had to come back another day, this whole thing coaxed me a heart attack, had to put in a stent and had to recovery from the the stress that they put me through. there supposed to be caring and honest, "(far from it)". so no i will not bring back my ****. my engine light is on, my trans, when i put it in reverse it kicks hard. it didn't do that before: ("if they fixed it right"). so I'm taking this to my family attorney, if i don't get part of my money to fix it with c/c dispute, so someone else can fix it to me right! i will let the attorneys handle for my pain and suffering. my hospital bills, not able make important decisions, and them not giving me choices and advice, just wanting the money for the ****, and the time back in forth for my condition. and they started working on the **** before my ok, so i had no choice but to let them finish, but still not properly done right if my c/c doesn't go through the dispute to return some of the money my attorney will handle it all.

Desired Settlement: Need to gave back my C/C amount and My **** debit card amount They can keep My cash for the amount of 510.00 for the Mechanic! for his time. Thank you ******

Business Response:

On 9/17/14 at 11:19 am ****** brought in her 2000 **** ******** and authorized AAMCO to perform a diagnostic on her vehicle for her Check Engine light being on. Our check revealed the following information:

 

Transmission fluid level ok, condition of transmission fluid Varnished. A diagnostic scan of the vehicles computer system revealed the following code: P0740 - Torque converter clutch solenoid "C" fault. On a road test technician found torque converter to be slipping and a whine noise coming internally from the transmission. Throttle Valve cable frayed. Further inspection of p0740 trouble code revealed that the solenoid is responding as designed. Clutch debris found in transmission pan when pan was removed to test solenoid. The following service was recommended: Internal Transmission Service and replace Throttle Valve Cable.

 

Customer declined repair and picked the vehicle up on 9/17/14. That afternoon ****** contacted our location and spoke with ***, an AAMCO Franchise Support Manager, stating that she was driving and the vehicle lost movement. *** said that we would tow the vehicle back in for her however she was unable to have the vehicle towed in that afternoon and requested the vehicle to be towed in the next morning. 

 

On 9/18/14 ****** contacted **** requesting the vehicle to be towed in. ***** towing arrived at her house at 9:00 am and in route to AAMCO at 9:10 am. Vehicle arrived at our location and **** contacted ****** at 9:35 am for authorization to perform a Multi point check. Our check revealed the same information as the day before however the vehicle not able to be road tested. Throttle Valve cable frayed and is not releasing all the way causing the transmission to have high pressure applied all the time. The following service is recommended: Internal Transmission Service and Replace Throttle Valve Cable. 

 

*****, our general manager, spoke to ****** on 9/18/14 @ 4:07 pm explaining all the information to her from our findings. ***** informed ****** that the next step would be to remove the transmission from the vehicle, disassemble and internally inspect the transmission. ****** asked ***** what the most this repair would cost her and ***** responded by saying, "Absolute worst case is that this transmission cannot be repaired and has to be replaced. Assuming the worst, replacement of this transmission with parts and labor, including a 12 month / 12,000 mile nation wide warranty would be $3,400 plus tax and plus the Throttle Valve Cable". ****** gave ***** the verbal authorization at that time to start the process of the internal inspection. ***** informed ****** that the process of the dis assembly and inspection would not be completed until Monday 9/22/14 and ***** would call her with the findings of the inspection and the total price for the repair. ****** agreed. 

 

9/19/14  ****** called **** about 7:50 am asking what the status was on her vehicle. **** explained to her the information that ***** went over with her the prior day and ****** only remembered certain parts of the conversation between her and *****. At the end of the conversation ****** told **** to continue the process of inspection of the transmission. 

 

9/22/14 at 2:35 pm ***** called ****** with the results from the internal transmission inspection. The price for the transmission rebuild and throttle valve cable was $2,739.58 including tax which included crediting the $110.00 diagnostic charge per RO#****** as originally agreed upon and also included an additional $100.00 of coupon for a transmission rebuild. ****** authorized the work to be completed and told ***** that she had $1,500 available now and it was going to take a little extra time to come up with the balance because she was on a fixed income. ***** said to ****** to avoid any storage fee's we needed a deposit then once the work is completed we could hold onto the vehicle for her until she has the balance and would not charge any storage fee's. 

 

9/23/14 ****** called ***** and used 2 different credit cards to leave a deposit. The first card she used was a **** in the amount of $800.00 and the second used was a **** card for $400.00. AAMCO continued the process of repairing her vehicle. 

 

9/25/14 **** received a phone call from a man stating he was ******'s friend and that she was in the hospital and if the vehicle was going to be done by the end of the week she would not be able to pick it up until the following week. 

 

9/26/14 Repairs were completed, vehicle final road tested, leak checked and computer was scanned for trouble codes. All system checks good and vehicle ready for delivery.

 

10/2/14 ****** arrived to pick her vehicle up. When attempting to make a payment ******'s card was declined. ****** asked **** if he could discount the repairs $200.00 additional and **** explained to her we were not able to satisfy the request for an additional $200 discount. ****** did not dispute the total repair charges and left saying she would return the next day. 

 

10/3/14 ****** returned to pick the vehicle up and pay the final balance. 

 

As of today ****** has not been in contact with us to inform us of any problems that she may be having. If there is a check engine light that is on or if she is experiencing any transmission shifting concerns we would be more than willing to honor our warranty. ****** was thoroughly informed each step of the way as to what the concern, cause and correction would be for repairing her vehicle. ****** asked to see her old parts and our technician brought all her old parts to show. To our knowledge ******'s concerns have been addressed and corrected. The repair price did not exceed the amount she authorized for repair and we have not declined to perform any possible repairs on her vehicle under warranty if in fact there is one. We are not willing to refund ****** any money for there is no law or guideline that has been broken. Again, if ****** is experiencing a problem with her vehicle we are more than willing to correct any issue that is covered under her warranty.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:most was B.S.
since i paid all the money and has worrenty some other transmisston place needs to fix it or see it at thete cost, and there need to pay back some money, going to despute the cc amount cause job was not done right....

Consumer Response: Cant send photos and more info!

4/18/2014 Delivery Issues
3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 18, 2014Greetings,I took my car to AAMCO (at the above address) on (2/12/14) February 12th at 10:00 a.m. because my 'check engine' light was on my 2004 Kia Amanti. I left the car with them to run & diagnose the codes so they could advise as to the necessary repairs if any. Later, the same day between 2 and 4 p.m. I called back to check the status and was told by **** **** (manager) that they needed more time. I didn't/don't hear from AAMCO again until I call them 2/14/14 for a status update, I was on hold so long that I had to hang-up, but no follow-up call from AAMCO. I went back to the location on Saturday, 2/15/14 to find them already closed for the day. No status update from the company now, SINCE DELIVERY, 2/12/14! I called them Monday, 2/17/14 to be told that they were just now working on my vehicle, test driving, etc. I finally received a call back from AAMCO management saying that their rep **** **** tried calling me ONCE at ###-###-#### which is NOT the # printed on their work order, so he didn't try again. Needless to say they DID NOT find the problem, but they did find hundreds of dollars in non and possibly related services. I was offered NO compensation for the inconvenience, there are parts missing from my vehicle like my 'engine cover'.I sure hope that there is a governing body for automotive services, because I'm sure that this is not an isolated incident. AAMCO customer service is so poor and unreliable that I'll never take my car to them again. AAMCO could have called to say they 'were very busy and hadn't had time to look at it' or they could have just said 'we don't know what the problem is' but after six (6) days (five (5) working days) Im expecting some answers, to which I have received none. Please help me with this issue, I'm a working single mother who pays her way but this is blatant and poor customer service and total disregard for anyone else's consideration and time. I took my car directly from AAMCO to Elk Grove Kia. Since AAMCO cleared the codes, it's costing me another $120 service/diagnosis charge, all over again and my car is still in the shop with only a tentative way to work! I thank you in advance for your attention to this matter. Have a nice day!

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated/reimbursed for the time/days that they had my vehicle at the per hour service rate for the inconvenience that they charge their customers as well as the missing items from my vehicle returned. (engine cover etc.) Businesses like these need to understand that the customers time is valuable also and that they cannot do this without some form of notification. AAMCOs staff namely **** **** rude & unprofessional and was so condescending that their apology doesnt and wont hold water. ***** (general manager) was not much help either. Thanks in advance and for your attention to this matter. Have a nice day!

Business Response: Miss *******,

 
At AAMCO we are constantly working with our service managers to ensure full customer satisfaction to each and every customer that brings their vehicle to our shops. The situation with **** not contacting you while your vehicle was in the shop is inexcusable and the proper steps have been taken to ensure this issue does not continue. 
 
In response to your repair concerns, you spoke with ***** on Monday February 17th and he explained the steps that were needed to repair and retest your vehicle. Your vehicle had multiple issues including motor oil leaks, torn driver side axle boot, trouble codes relating to random / multiple engine cylinder misfires, system too lean trouble codes, and ets ecu malfunction trouble codes that were related to the fuel system and or possibly mass air flow sensor. You decided you didn't want to perform the repairs and came to pick the vehicle up at the end of that day. For customer satisfaction we waived the $110 diagnostic fee that was originally authorized by you for inspecting your vehicle. 
 
Wednesday February 19th you contacted ***** explaining that the engine cover was left off the vehicle and the engine was smoking. ***** left our other location immediately to meet you at the Franklin location to look at the vehicle with you. ***** went under the vehicle with you and your boyfriend to show you that the reason your vehicle was smoking was because the oil leak from the rear of the valve cover gasket, that was originally explained, was leaking down onto the exhaust causing the vehicle to smoke. ***** again explained the repair process to you and your boyfriend stating that there were several issues and after certain confirmed repairs were completed, we would have to retest to make sure there were no additional issues. You chose to leave the vehicle at our shop to have the initial repairs completed. Upon repairs technician found that the spark plugs that you supposedly had replaced by the dealer less than a year ago were the wrong spark plugs for the vehicle, the oil leaking from the valve cover gaskets were also leaking through the tube seals contaminating the spark plugs and ignition wires causing the cylinder misfire trouble codes. The mass air flow sensor was cleaned for the ets ecu malfunction and system too lean codes. The repairs were completed and the vehicle was picked up that Saturday.
 
Monday February 24th the vehicle was brought back in for the check engine light returning and still experiencing engine related concerns. Upon scan of the computer system the only code that returned was the ETS ETU malfunction trouble code. Further inspection revealed that the fuel pressure regulator valve was stuck not allowing proper fuel delivery. That part was special ordered, taking 2 business days to get and installed at no charge to you for further testing. After that was installed technician further inspected the vehicle to find the fuel pressure was still low and the fuel pump was bad. We installed the fuel pump on your vehicle with no charge for parts or labor to you for customer satisfaction. Final check revealed fuel pressure was now where it needed to be and the problem has not returned. 
 
In conclusion, all repairs performed on your vehicle were justified repairs and repairs that needed to be completed to check additional items that work with those components to make your engine runs correctly. Valve cover gaskets leaking engine oil onto exhaust and into cylinders contaminating spark plugs and ignition wires would cause the smoking while driving and the engine misfire codes. System too lean codes caused by lack of fuel pressure due to fuel pressure regulator and faulty fuel pump. For compensation AAMCO originally waived the $110 diagnostic charge due to no communication from the customer service manager. You brought the vehicle back and decided to leave it for the repairs to be completed after the fact of **** not contacting you. When you decided to bring the vehicle back to have the repairs completed, for the additional time and other such issues, AAMCO installed a fuel pressure regulator valve ($75) and a fuel pump ($400) at no additional cost to you. Including labor those services would generally cost over $700. That repair cost was waived to compensate/reimburse you for the inconvenience. Again, we do apologize for unsatisfactory experience you received at our location. 
 
Sincerely,
*****

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a diagnostic to be completed on my transmission and this was not done. brought my car to Aamco on 4/29/13 with the concern of my car not shifting correctly. The sales guy ***** advised they would do a diagnostic on the car and when doing so ***** advised the car needed a new sensor and transmission flud,filter and gaskit and the charge would be $553.00. Paid in full on 4/30/13 and when driving my car home I was having the same issue. Drive my car to work the following day and called Aamco to advise i was still having the same issue ***** advised to bring the car in. Took the car back on Thursday 5/2/13. ***** then said the transmission needs to be repaired. I advised this should have been found in the diagnostic that was done and that I would like my money back from the sensor. Aamco Manager Vince then said the sensor had to be replaced in order to get a clear diagnostic reading. This info was not relayed to me from ***** he adivsed the problem was the sensor and the car was ready for pick up and addressed no other concerns with my car. I am very unhappy customer and would never refer or take any vehicle back to Aamco they are very dishonest company.

Desired Settlement: I want my $553.00 back from Aamco as I would never have paid this amount if my transmission needed to be replaced to begin with. I am unable to still drive my car after paying them $553.00 to fix it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Diagnostic codes and repair recommendations they generate can be non-linear. The codes tell you to fix one thing, you do that, then other codes pop up that didn't before. That is the imperfect state of electronics in auto repair. However, we did fix some of this customer's problems but didn't fix others, so we refunded her the entire amount of her initial repair order, $553.00. We can't always know which way repair codes will take us but we definitely do not want unhappy customers. This customer signed off saying she accepted this settlement and was happy with the outcome.

5/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They will not honor their lifetime warranty. Sometime around 2002, I took my car to AAMCO dealership in Sacramento, California to be serviced. They sold me a lifetime guaranty on the transmission for about $2800. I sent my paperwork with the car to North Little Rock AAMCO to be serviced on March 25, 2013. I made a phone call this afternoon to check on my car. They informed me that my transmission has been removed from the car, awaiting authorization from the dealership in California who did my original repairs. Since the time of my original repair, the AAMCO dealership in California is under new management and will not authorize repairs for my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle repaired with the lifetime warranty validated. If this is not possible, I would like a refund on the $2800 I spent on the lifetime warranty.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are the original Sacramento AAMCO dealer location, under new ownership. We did not hear about this situation until approximately April 17. At that time it was our understanding that the vehicle owner did not have his original paperwork, but that the AAMCO Corporate office would verify the lifetime warranty, which they did the next day. Upon receiving this proof we authorized the repair with the Arkansas AAMCO where the vehicle is being repaired. There is no refusal to honor the warranty, and no dragging of feet. We authorized the repair within a day and stand by the warranty as purchased.

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 1996 olds has been in this shop for over 25 days on and off for the past 4 month..It has been in the shop for 7 days for a chanel plate. see above..been in there shop for 7 days after they said it would be done in a day and a half..I do beleave that they are fixing other cars first because my car is under warenty..Been in there shop for 7 days now to replace a chanel plate..

Desired Settlement: JUST FIX THE D** THING NOW..

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This customer's car has been repaired and delivered back to him as of yesterday. Unfortunately, this vehicle repair was the result of work performed and warranted from another AAMCO dealership, and there are certain steps we need to take to honor that warranty. Replacement parts that the other dealer ordered for this repair were not the correct items, so we had to get them through our own suppliers. This caused a delay in finishing repairs. Our goal was to insure that the repairs made by our dealership were thorough and correct so that the customer would not have to endure any more down-time, consequently this final repair on work done elsewhere may have taken an extra day or two longer than it should have, and for that we must apologize to the customer. We did not repair other vehicles ahead of this one; we had parts issues and delivery delays. It would not benefit us to postpone repair on this car due to warranty issues, because we get reimbursed for warranty repairs from the original dealership, and that would therefore delay our getting paid. We again are sorry if this customer felt this was the case here, but it was not. Our goal is to repair every vehicle that comes in as quickly as possible with high-quality workmanship. We will not jeopardize our reputation with quick but shoddy repairs.

Consumer's Final Response
YES, Only if they start the 12,000 miles guarantee as of the mileage when I last picked my car up..Just want to be sure it will not go out again, so far since Oakland picked it up it seems to be all right..But with my experience with both shops want to be sure..If Sacramento agrees with this I will accept there offer of 500.00 In my hands by May 1st, 2013 Please let me know be for I file a claim with the court.. Anthony Carlozzi

Business' Final Response
The original warranty was issued by the Oakland AAMCO. We cannot extend it. In the spirit of accommodation we offered the $500.00 on warranty work that was not ours to begin with. The Oakland store offers nothing. If our offer is not accepted as is, with written confirmation from the customer releasing AAMCO Sacramento from all future negative comments and claims, by May 1, 2013, we will rescind the offer. We have done everything we possibly can.

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAMCO damaged my drive shaft during instalation of U-Joints and tgried to charge me to correct the problem they caused. On July 31st 2012, AAMCO changed my U-Joints and after they did, the car vibrated badly. They had damaged my driveshaft and wanted to charge me to repair it. When I took it back, they told me that the old U-joint had caused the driveshaft to "remember" an out of round condition and that it would need to be balanced to get it back into round. Everyone else I have talked to about this tells me that is impossible. AAMCO had me wait for over 3 hours while they were waiting for a driveshaft balancing company to pick up my driveshaft and take it for balancing. They never told me that it would not be ready the same day. The driveshaft company never showed up. I took the car to an independent garage and they showed me that the driveshaft had been damaged and that AAMCO had tried to fix the damage by welding it. It appeared that the U-joints they installed were the wrong size and that is why they broke the flange. One side had a retaining clip in place and the U-Joint cap was recessed enough to for the retaining clip. On the other side, there was no retaining clip and the U-joint cap was flush with the outer edge of the flange. As a result, the U-joint was off center in the flange. That is why it vibrated. The independent also pointed out that they had beat on the cap in the center in an effort to make it go in. He said that a professional should have used a special tool to press the cap in without the risk of damaging it by beating on it. He said that some shops do in fact beat on the cap to get it in place, but they use a tool that puts the impact at the outer edge of the cap rather than in the center of the cap. I took it back to AAMCO and they denied breaking it and said that off center is not important. They stuck to their story that my old U-joint had made the driveshaft go out of round. They still wanted to charge me for balancing the drive shaft and estimated that at $300.00 In order to fix the damage AAMCO caused, I had to have my dad send me a used driveshaft with new U-joints and then I paid a shop to install it. I asked AAMCO for a refund of the charges for the U-Joint install. They had charged me about $145 to replace the U-joints. It cost me about $235 to replace the driveshaft and pay for shipping and installation. They offered me $35. I contacted AAMCO's home office and they said they would contact the local owner. The owner offered $35 "final offer" When I told them I was going to file a complaint with the BBB, they basically said "who cares?" They are not BBB accredited and they don't care what BBB says about them. Also, he pointed out that if they even offered $1.00, they had made an attempt to settle and BBB would not hold it against them. I think AAMCO should pay me $235.00 which is my cost to repair the damage AAMCO caused.

Desired Settlement: AAMCO should pay me $235 which is the cost of repairing the damage they caused.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** / V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@cfeaamco.com AAMCO did not damage this customer's drive shaft, and did not weld it in any way. We have no welding equipment in our shop. The problem arose because the U-Joints were damaged, which led to failure of the drive shaft. We correctly replaced the U-Joints, and did not fail to install any retaining clips. Again, prior damage to the drive shaft caused vibration which loosened the clip. When the customer came in with this problem, we advised him that the repair would likely take a day or day and a half to finish. Why he decided to wait for three hours is unknown to us. We maintain the problems this customer experienced were not caused by any work done by AAMCO. Subsequent assessments and repairs made by unknown shops or relatives cannot be considered professional diagnosis or repairs. Our people never made any statements regarding not caring about BBB complaints; we simply stated that was his prerogative. Our reputation with the BBB and all agencies involved in auto repair is vitally important to us, and our reputation is all we have. In that spirit, we offered to reimburse the customer for the parts that subsequently failed, since we had installed them. Since the drive shaft was damaged prior to our ever starting work on the vehicle, we do not feel its replacement is our responsibility. In order to fully resolve our portion of this matter, we are willing to offer to reimburse for the replacement of the damaged U-Joint and labor which was $68.72 plus $2.77 tax totaling $71.49. We feel this is more than fair considering the condition of the vehicle when it came in and the fact that we did not have the opportunity to fully repair it.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello ****** ******, Thank you very much for your response and offer. I am having trouble understanding the offer. You said you would reimburse me for the cost of the U-Joints, but the cost on the bill was 137.44 plus tax. Does this mean you will only reimburse one U-Joint? I do see your side of this, but if you see my side, I had to replace the drive shaft and both U-Joints. Will you split the difference with me on the second U-Joint and settle this for $107.23? It cost us a lot more than that, but I will be satisfied with that settlement. Thank you again for opening a dialogue and please do consider my counteroffer. Sincerely, ****** ******

Business' Final Response
Check #21308 for $107.23 sent to Benjamin Pearlman on November 14, 2012.

5/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service