BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Rising Sun Engines, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 660-4664 3150 Highway 32 Ste K, Chico, CA 95973 http://www.risingsunengines.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rising Sun Engines, Inc. include:

  • 102 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 89 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • 23 serious complaints filed against business
  • Overall complaint history with BBB
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

102 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 95
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 102

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints contain a pattern in which consumers fail to receive paid-for used auto parts ordered from Rising Sun Engines. In some cases, consumers allege receiving incorrect or defective auto parts. Complainants claim that when attempting to contact the company to request a refund, exchange or delivery of paid-for products, the company is difficult to reach.

Most complaints remain unanswered, although the company does respond to consumers in some cases by delivering the product or a refund.

On May 9, 2013, BBB contacted Rising Sun Engines regarding this pattern of complaints. To date, BBB has not received a response from the company.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rising Sun Engines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 27, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated: 03/09/2006 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Keplinger, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Keplinger, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt Internet Shopping

Additional Information

The Federal Trade Commission's Mail Order Rule, applying to orders made via telephone, allows the seller 30 days to ship ordered products to the buyer unless otherwise specified at the time of purchase. If the seller cannot ship within the 30 day period, they are required to notify the buyer in writing of the delay, and give the option of waiting, or having their money returned within 7 days.

Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2339 W Hammer Ln Ste C # 232

    Stockton, CA 95209 (530) 592-6568

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3150 Highway 32 Ste K

    Chico, CA 95973 (800) 660-4664

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2013, I sent 995.00 to this company for an engine. I never received an engine, and never received my money back. This company cashed my check, and never came through with an engine, or a refund. They did not answer my calls after the first one, and hung up on me repeatedly.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back with interest.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/7/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an engine online, paid in full and never received the engine. Phone calls and emails never returned. On 5/6/13 my brother, ****** ******* ordered a 2002 Honda Accord engine invoice: 2863 at a cost of $1110.00. We were to use a pre-paid self addressed UPS shipping label for payment. On 5/14/13 I used that label and sent a check in the amount of $1110.00 payable to Rising Sun Engines and sent it to 2339 West Hammer Lane Suite C #232 Stockton Ca XXXXX-XXXX. My check was cashed on 5/20/13 through Bank of America. Since that date numerous emails and phone calls have not been answered and NO engine has ever arrived.So after a little research, I've found that I'm not alone, unfortunately. This should be of note, I have called the numbers from different phones and have received call backs as recently as 2 weeks ago with ***** saying " replying to your call about an engine, give us a call back and we can give you a quote over the phone" so he is still at this scam.. I want my money back. On 6/19/13 I filed a complaint with the Pennsylvania States Attorneys Office, Bureau of Consumer Protection. On 8/14/13 I received a letter that the complaint was turned over to the California Attorney General Generals Office Public Inquiry Unit. I have no real hope of restitution but this guy needs to be stopped. He has scammed/stolen from a lot of people and truly belongs in jail..

Desired Settlement: I want my check in the amount of $1110.00 refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a used motor for my vehicle over two months ago. The check was cashed but no motor delivered. I have been unable to contact anyone since. I needed a motor for my 1999 Nissan Altima and found Rising Sun Engines listed online. They appeared to be a legitimate business and had a good price on the motor I needed. I first contacted them in early April. I called the phone number listed on the website but did not get an answer. I didn't leave a message and just hung up. I received a call back in less than five minutes. At the time I was very impressed with the customer service. Now I assume they use the answering machine to screen calls and only return calls to people whom they haven't already duped into sending a check. I emailed the company several times over the next few weeks and sent them a check in June. The check was drawn on my ******* **** ******* Credit Union savings account and was a certified check as requested by Rising Sun. The check was check number XXXXXXXXXX and was in the amount of $1205. I shipped it UPS ground on the shipping label provided by Rising Sun with tracking number 1z241tXXXXXXXXXXXX. The check was delivered June 7 and signed for by AJD. My invoice number is ***** I knew it would take several weeks for the engine to be ready so I did not attempt to contact Rising Sun until early July. My call was not answered and my message did not get a response. Since then I've called and emailed repeatedly with absolutely no response. It now seems apparent that Rising Sun is not an actual legitimate company but is just a false front used to defraud consumers.

Desired Settlement: At this point I have absolutely no faith in Rising Sun Engines and assume any engine actually delivered would be as untrustworthy and unreliable as them. I would like to get a full refund of my $1205.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not deliver product when paid the agreed upon price. They basically stole my money. On or about 7-6-2013 I contacted the company to inquire about an engine. The engine inquired about was a 1.6 liter 4AFE for a 1991 Toyota Corolla. The next day I received a quoted price. I was on vacation for a week and upon returning I asked them how to complete the order. They sent a UPS 2 day air sticker with an invoice. I was to enclose both the invoice and payment in a UPS 2 day letter and send it. That was the last I heard from them. I made repeated attempts to get them to verify receipt of payment. Growingly concerned I contacted my financial institution to find they had cashed the check. It was at that point I did an on-line review of the business including BBB. Stupid I know. I now have no confidence that they intend to make good on the transaction nor would I trust what they sent me if they did. It appears there are numerous unresolved complaints against this company. Why on earth are they not in jail? I'll see what I can do to make that happen. The invoice number for this transaction is 2924, dated 7-5-2013.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my money back. Having reviewed all the complaints against this company I'm sure I don't trust them or want to do business with them. I wouldn't trust what they sent me even if they suddenly/unexpectedly emerged to complete the transaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a scam, and someone at the bank is helping them.. I purchase a 2005 Spectra 5 used engine from them. My invoice # was **** for the amount of $900.00 shipping include. I sent them a check in the amount of $900.00, which they cash on June 21, 2013 under the company name Rising Sun Engines. The check number was ***** and Bank of America cash the check under account #XXXXXXXXXX which was stamp on the back of the check. I notice a problem on the 22 of June when they wouldn't return or answer my calls for shipping details.

Desired Settlement: I just won't my money return, and the company shut down.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product was not delivered. Company will not return repeated phone calls and e-mails. Purchased Item: 2004 Toyota Tacoma 2WD 15"W.4L, Used Transmission Sales rep: ***** Purchased June 10, 2013, Invoice ****** Paid by personal check ***** in the amount of $500.00. Check cashed 6/14/13.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund because the transmission was never delivered.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Transmission ordered on 5/16/2013, still not delivered over a month later. They're not answering the phone or returning messages. Invoice Number: 2876 Invoice Date: 5/16/13 Transmission amount: 395.00 Shipping: 145.00 Product Description: 1999 Toyota Camry 3.0L Auto Transmission, Used Ck# **** dated 5/16/13, cashed 5/21/13 Shipping Address (mechanic): **** Hwy **** ****** ** XXXXX Shipping phone number: XXX-XXX-XXXX I ordered a transmission for my 1999 Toyota Camry 3.0L automatic on 5/16/13. I received the order confirmation via email and information on how to send in my payment. I sent the payment using the provided UPS label and my check was cashed a few days later. It is now 6/19/13 and the transmission still hasn't arrived at my mechanic's address in order for him to do the work on my car to replace the transmission. I have left over 10 messages for the company to call me back with the status and tracking number. The one time I reached them, they said that they'd call me back with the tracking number and it still hasn't been provided and the transmission still isn't delivered.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a full refund of the $540.00 that I paid them which includes the transmission and the shipping.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 17 th payed for an engine that has not been delivered, and the company will not answer the telephone. today is june 15th On april 17th I sent payment for a 1994 protege engine with a new water pump, and timing belt. since the payment was sent, I have not been able to contact the company , and they have not returned any calls. therefore giving me no indication of a delivery date or time. I even warned them ( on their answering machine) that I would contact the BBB if they did not at least call me and let me know that they even had my engine. I told them three days, but I didn't actually contact the BBB for a week and half, still no reply. I know other people that have had dealings with Rising Sun engines with good results in the past. So I hope for their sake this is just a glitch in their transactions . The 1994 Protege engine needs to be sent to **** ************** **** **** street **** ***** XXXXX .The invoice # is **** , The invoice date is 4/8/13 . 1040$ payed by check, tracking #: ** *** TXX XX XXXX XXXX . FOR 1 1994 Mazda Protege 1.8L SOHC Used Long Block plus Upgrades-timing belt, water pump, seals. Engine $745, Upgrades $150 shipping $145, TOTAL $1040

Desired Settlement: Pretty simple really , I would like the engine that we agreed on. If that is not available, then I would be ok with a refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/10/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered engine from this company and never received the product. I ordered a used engine for a 1995 Toyota Corolla on May 17th, 2013. Submitted payment of $840 to the business which was cashed on May29th. Payment was for Invoice # ***** Company had been very responsive to calls and emails until AFTER they received payment. Now they will NOT answer phone or emails. The have ended all contact and I am assuming that I will not receive the product for which I paid.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the business either send me the product (Engine) that I paid for or provide me with a full refund of the fees that I have already submitted.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April X XXXX.Purchased a z24 nissan long block I mailed my money order in as instructed it has been cashed and as of today no response given. On April 4TH 2013 I **** ***** orderd a 1985 Nissan Pick Up 2.4l 2WD,Z24 Rebuilt Long Block Invoice ***** Grand Total $1395.Via E-mail instructing me to mail my payment in using the pre-paid self addressed UPS ground tracking# ** *** TXX XX XXXX XXXX. CA 952 0-02 I purchased a money order on April 19, 2013 from ***** ***** **** branch in **** ******* *** in the amount of $1395.00 To the order of Rising Sun Engines. Money order was sent per instructions it was received and cashed on April 26th 2013. On May 1st 2013 I **** ***** called (855) 660-4664 spoke with a man who stated that the long block was is the final stages before then it would be crated up and ship via Motor frt truck also he stated that I would receive e-mail with a tracking# stating the Motor Freight Carrier. I have placed a least a dozen calls since May 1st to (530) 592-6568 also (855)660-4664 left many messages stating to please respond. On May 10th 2013 I E-MAILED info@risingsunengines.com stating the same above events no response has been given as of today 6-1-2013. I want my money back at this point.

Desired Settlement: I **** ***** want my money back $1395.00

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid 1530 to install new water pump timing belt and timing also to deliver to a mechanic and they never delivered after 3 weeks Ive been calling daily invoice **** purchased 5/1/13 for a Chevy 2000 Priszm Motor paid 1530 by check

Desired Settlement: I would like the engine now or contact me on when the engine will be here with a warranty but within 3 days I would like my money back

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/10/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rising Sun Engines, lnc. and Mr. ***** ********* refuse to respond to my phone calls and emails about sending the Subaru EJ 251 Engine. March 19, 2013, I (********** ****) over the computer responded the Website of Rising Sun Engines, lnc.. March 20, 2013, Rising Sun Engines, lnc. Responded as following: "Re: 2001 Subaru Forester Show Details From Rising Sun Engines To *************@yahoo.com At 06:23 PM 3/20/2013, you wrote: Name ****, ********** Entail *************@yahoo.com Model Forester State TX Fuel Injected Phone

Desired Settlement: I (********** ****) request Better Business Bureau investigate, prohibit and punish Rising Sun Engines, lnc. and Mr. ***** ********* for doing the deceitful business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a rebuilt 22R Toyota engine. Sent a certified check for 1295.00 dollars via UPS on 4/18/3013. Have not been able to reach them by phone. Paid for 22R rebuilt Toyota engine and have not recieved it.

Desired Settlement: Want my money back in full.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid $1090. for an engine for my 1994 Toyota Tercel which was never delivered. They never returned my repeated calls asking for a refund On 11/27/12 I placed an order for my son's (Invoice Number ****) 1994 Toyota Tercel 1.5L, 3EE Rebuilt Long Block engine for $995.00 plus $95.00 shipping for a Grand Total of $1090.00. On XX-XX-XX I purchased a cashier's check (XXXXXXXXXX) as requested for $1,090.00 from my bank the Santa Cruz Community Credit Union. Using a UPS Ground (bar coded) shipping label they provided the check was shipped to: OFFICE XXX XXX-XXXX RSE 232 and was immediately deposited into their bank account. I called the office to ask for a estimated delivery date. I called numerous times throughout the week, and always left a message to please respond to my request on the answering machine. That never happened. There was one instance where someone did pick up the phone, and yet as soon as I revealed who I was they hung up on me. I called one last time the following week, and all phones had been dis-connected. I drove to the business location in Stockton, Ca which they had listed only to find an extremely wealthy gated community where I was of course denied entry. I have fully researched J. Kepling, and the dozen plus related and non-related residents of the home. I actually have a wealth of information on Mr. Kepling. Please help me resolve this issue.I will if necessary shadow and confront this gentleman directly to demand back the $1090.00 that he knowingly stole from me. I will have the police present so THIS IS NOT A THREAT.

Desired Settlement: I am simply requesting a refund of $1090.00 at this time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of looking for a used engine for my automobile. I went to the phone book, I came across Rising Sun Engines. I dialed a gentlemen answered, I told him what year of model and type of engine I was looking for and then he would call me back in thirty minutes. When he called back he said he had found three motors with different mileage and requested that I choose from the three so I said I wanted the engine with the less mileage. He then told me I would receive forms to fill out and to send the money orders so I did. I send two money orders.

Desired Settlement: Request for full amount to be returned to me as possible.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Customer states that he received the motor.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer states that they placed an order for engine for a Toyota 4 Runner in January 2012. Paid $1495.00 in money orders to the company. In February customer sent another $750.00. Customer continued to call and are not able to get a live person until April 12, 2012. After that no one returned the calls.

Desired Settlement: Customer wants money back

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Customer states that the company contacted him and offered a refund. Says he paid $750, but only got $500 refunded. Says that he guess he was charged a 25% restocking fee, but isn't warranted since the only thing that ever changed hands was his money.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product delivered was damaged,incorrect,not even close to what business was selling. I purchased a used automobile transmission from rising sun engines in Chico,Ca on ,3/28/2013.I was told that all transmissions were used BUT,all transmissions were thoroughly inspected from the drain pan to the exterior and in working condition,and carried a 6 month warranty with a 5 day money back return.After sending a check to his second address (****** ******)@rising sun engines in Stockton,Ca,Waited 5 days to send me the transmission.(waiting for check to clear)After many phone calls I received the transmission which was blatantly damaged and clearly not inspected as advertised,product had a hole the size of a silver dollar in the main case,(not shipping damage)****** ****** of Rising Sun Engines has not returned any of my phone calls since 5 minutes after delivery of product.This is not the first complaint against this business in fact it is probably close to the 136th.I paid $450.00 for a piece of scrap metal.This man should be looked into for fraud.I am not a uninformed consumer.I have worked in the repair business for 20 years.This business is 100 percent a scam.There is multiple people that have reported this business to your orginization.Thank you for your time and I look forward to resolving this issue with your investigation.

Desired Settlement: refund of $445.00 for goods delivered that were salvage parts,not anywhere close to working condition let alone inspected.I have had my original transmission rebuilt.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received the Honda passport engine and when I call now, it goes straight to voice mail. I ordered a 1998 honda passport used engine 3.2L mileage 93k 190 compression 55 oil pressure. It was ordered 3/26/13 and check was sent 3/26/13 UPS air mail 3 day select tracking #1Z 241 TXX XX XXXX XXXX. The check amount was $1,100. Invoice # 2805 and invoice date 3/26/13. Sales said his name was ******. Now I call and send e-mails and I get no response. I check on line on line and found out others have been scammed by tis company. The check I sent has been cleared at bank of america in Stockton Ca with the rising sun engines stamp with the numbers XXXXXXXXX in an account. I just want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking 5000 dollars if my 1100 dollars is not returned within 4/22/13

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have tryed for 3 weeks to contract thru phone and email.No response letting up know what is going on. Paid deposit. Took our toyota engine to rising suns engine to be rebuilt on January 12,2013. First email was for the deposit. We did talk a few times on the phone let us know they got the engine. Before I went on vacation I emailed them on January 31,2013 wondering when the engine would be ready. On February 1,2013 I received an email letting me know the engine was out to the machine shop, new parts were in and should be ready that week. I have emailed them at least 5 times asking about the engine and I call 3-4 times a day with no respones. Would like our engine back as they are hard to come by.

Desired Settlement: would like our engine back plus our deposit of $650.00

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Customer states that she received the engine.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: fraud, Once my casheir's check was cashed Steve severed all contact. I ordered a remanufactured engine from rising sun on 2/27/13 for $1,270.00. Over the phone he said, "it would be 1 to 2 weeks." On 3/8/13 I Sent the check and got ahold of Steve telling him The check is on its way. He told me then one week and it will be shipped. Shipping to me was 4-5 days. The last communication with R.S.E was on 3/12/13 when he received the check signed by A.J.D @ 10:51a.m. Over the phone he told me that the check was received and would be shipped out later that week. The check was cashed on 3/13/13. I have called everyday since to make a slight shipping change. All lines go straight to voice mail, and no response on e-mails. The office phone number on the check tracking number in Stockton, CA is a fake. It goes straight to a pre recorded Home mortgage advertisement with no voicemail or answering machine. When I purchased the engine Steve led me to believe that his shop was in Chico, CA. Come to find out by the Butte County Sheriff's Department. That Rising Sun Engines had moved to Stockton over a year ago. They have had hundred of complaints over the last year. Everything about them has been so shady. I feel so stupid I didn't check him out with the BBB site first. This would of saved me a lot of pain and agony. Plus a lot of vacation time just to deal with this, because of where I live. I make minimum wage and it's tough to just come up with that much money. How is this guy able to continually scam, and rip people off? I just want my money back.

Desired Settlement: At first I just wanted the engine they advertised for. Now I just want my money back, and for anything to happen to them. So this doesn't happen to someone else. His scam has gone on long enough

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for a rebuilt engine. Never received update status or shipment of engine. On 03-02-2013, I made an inquiry online to Rising Sun Engines of a rebuilt long block engine for my 1988 Nissan Pulsar NX. Engine size E-1.6. Requested price and shipping cost. Rising Sun Engines responded immediately with a price of $1095.00. I called Rising Sun Engines and spoke with ******. ****** explained their policy and stated they had the engine in stock. Stated that it would take two weeks after receiving the money to complete the rebuild and ship the engine. I agreed to take his word and state the process.On March 4th, we mailed ****** (the owner) a check in the amount of $1390.00, Check #****, *******, *******, with a promise of two weeks delivery. The check was cashed on March 11, 2013. Due to several phone calls and emails we finally received an email titled Status. It stated an engine update of invoice # ****, Item: 1988 Nissan Pulsar 1.6L, Rebuilt Long Block, Date: 3/20, Materials in house, Inspection Good, Testing, Pending, Build in process, final qc pending. It also noted "Thanks for the payment. Engine build in process". From this point on we have emailed numerous times, called numerous times with no response from anyone. I was given a number by "******" of X-XXX-XXX-XXXX which only sends to voice mail, the office # X-XXX-XXX-XXXX states they are working in the shop and will return your call. Rising Sun Engines or ****** are not returning any calls or emails to me and I have delivered via AAA wrecker, the car to Vega Brothers, in ******* which is where the engine is suppose to be delivered. I trusted this company, trusted them to be legitimate and now at age 71, disabled veteran, feel I have been swindled out of my hard earned money. I am requesting help to either have my money returned or the rebuilt engine with guaranteed, delivered as promised immediately. Also, this company should be removed from the Internet and ****** should be monitored by the Federal Trade Commission and the California Attorney Generals Office.

Desired Settlement: It is very simple, I want the engine promised rebuilt, guaranteed as stated,delivered immediately or a full refund of $1,390.00 immediately.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a rebuilt engine for my vehicle and paid with a check that has cleared. Business did not deliver order or respond to inquiries. Invoice 2764 Dated 2-21-13 Product Description One 1987 Suzuki Samurai 1.3 l rebuilt long block. Amount is $995 Shipping is $350 Total $1,345 On February 21, 2013, I placed a phone order for the above-described product. Per ******, I should receive delivery within 2 weeks. I mailed payment via check. Check cleared my bank on 2.25.13. I have made several attempts to contact this business without success.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of the $1,345.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for an engine from Rising Sun Engines Inc.This company failed to send engine.I requested a refund. Company refuses to send refund. On Nov. 5, 2012 I ordered and paid for a remanufactured engine,with cashier's check #XXXXXX,from Rising Sun Engines Inc. The amount of the check was 1,190.00. The cashier's check was sent through UPS, using the shipping label with tracking number and other instructions, that I received from ****** ******, owner of Rising Sun Engines Inc. The tracking# is 1z241tXXXXXXXXXXXX. The invoice # for the purchase is 2654 and the invoice date is 10/26/2012. I have attempted to contact ****** ****** several times, but all my efforts failed. I have even contacted authorities still ****** Kepliger ****** not respond to authorities. i just want a full refund of my money.

Desired Settlement: I am presently seeking a full refund from Rising Sun Engines Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rising sun engines stopped responding after my $1590 check was cashed, and no engine was sent to me on the 10th of january i sent RSE a check for 1590 dollars it was sent priority mail and cashed on the 15th since the check cleared i have not recieved a call back, i have left 40+ messages and a few emails and have not heard back from them, i ordered a 22re engine, i called from a friends phone and they called right back but as soon as i told them my name they hung up on me and refuse to call back or answer any of my emails,

Desired Settlement: All i want back is the money i paid them for the engine so i can take my buisness else where and get my vehicle back on the road

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They said take two to three weeks already cashed my deposit check and I haven't heard anything back from them yet. I tried contacting them. No answer I had set up an arrangement with the company to send them 600 dollars, half of the total cost for the motor I ordered and they would build it. Also said it would be done in three to four weeks. I sent the check to them December 19. They cashed my check I sent them I've heard nothing from them and they fail to pick up their phone or call back. I got ahold of them once and they said that they got the parts and had been out for a week for holidays and that they would get rolling on it. And like I said. Still nothing. I tried to have my girlfriend call and she left a message and they also haven't called her back. Also will not reply to emails.

Desired Settlement: I sent them the check in December like I said above and I want my money back. ASAP. I haven't seen or heard of any progress from the money I sent them and now all I want is my money.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $720.00 for a used transmission on 12/12/12 and never recieved it. The company is not reachable by phone or email. They had me UPS my check! On 12/12/12, I ordered a used transmission after getting a price quote via email from their website.A nice man gave me detailed instructions and downloads on paying with check $595.00+$125.00 delivery fee strictly to be sent via ups olny.I thought it was strange but was happy to get this item anyway.He said it was being cleaned up and readied for shipment by truck to a terminal here in nearby Eugene,OR and gave me an address of 3500 w.first ave.(reddaway freight). They never recieved it and looked into it for me suggesting it was a scam as they appear to be out of buisness.I wanted to pick it up will-call anyway.My check for $720.00 was posted on my account a couple days later.They still won`t answer the phone or email me.All they have is voice mail.I`ve been had!! It`s been a month, it should have been here by now.

Desired Settlement: Either send the transmission or give me back my $720.00.Justice needs to be carried out with them/him.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for a 1999 Mazda Miata engine to be shipped to Vista, CA for installation in my sister's car. To this date, the engine has not been shipped. During the month of December 2012, I was online trying to find the above mentioned engine for my sister's car. Using Google, I searched for "1999 Mazda Miata engine" and Rising Sun Engines came up near the top of the list. I went to the website printed out some information to share with my husband and he called Rising Sun and spoke with ******. ****** assured us that they did in fact have the engine we needed and quoted my husband a price of $1895.00 for the engine and $115 to get the engine shipped to the auto repair shop in Vista, CA. I called Rising Sun the week prior to Christmas to see if ****** still had an engine available. ****** informed me that he did and that he would email me over a shipping label to send the money and also an email with an invoice/receipt for the purchase of the engine along with installation instructions and the warranty information. ****** also informed me that his guys would get the engine prepped so that it could ship out to Vista, CA on December 31, 2012. On December 23, 2012, the cashier's check in the amount of $2010.00 was shipped UPS to Rising Sun Engines to the address in Stockton, CA. UPS office advised me that the package would not go out until either Wednesday or Thursday after Christmas because of all the holiday mailings. On Thursday, December 27, 2012, I was on my computer and remembered I needed to call Rising Sun Engines to let ****** know that the check was in route and to make sure we were on track for the engine to be shipped out on the 31st. I went online and googled this time, "Rising Sun Engines" and a numerous complaints popped up on the screen. So I began reading and it appeared that 90% of the complaints I read stated how person after person sent money to Rising Sun Engines for an engine and never received it. How they had to chase ****** once he received the money and how they would leave messages and he would never return their calls. After reading all of this the first thing I did was call UPS to see if I could retrieve my package because it had not been delivered yet. The lady I spoke with at UPS advised me that I could not retrieve it because it did not have my return address on it. The label ****** sent did in fact have our return address on it, but when it printed out, the label printed without our address. I next explained in detail to the UPS person what was going on, what was in the envelope and asked was there anyway to stop the delivery and I was told "no". Rising Sun Engines received delivery on Friday, December 28, 2012 at 10:54 a.m. On Monday, December 31, 2012 the day the engine was due to be shipped to Vista, CA, I called Rising Sun Engines and ****** answered the phone. I told him who I was and that I was calling to check on the status of the 1999 Mazda Miata engine we purchased. ****** advised me that he needed to check with his guys to see what the status was with the engine and he would call me right back and that is the last I heard from him.

Desired Settlement: It is obvious to us that there is no engine and we are seeking a full refund in the amount of $2010.00. We were trying to help my sister and did not have this money sitting around and just out of the blue one day, we decided to give to the Fraudulent Charity of Rising Sun Engines. We demand a refund so that we can find a legitimate company to get an engine from so my sister can get her car fix.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an engine from Rising Sun Engines in August of 2012 and have not received the engine or any communication from Rising Sun after I paid. I purchased an engine from Rising Sun Engines in August of 2012 and have not received the engine or any communication from Rising Sun after I paid to date. The only communication came from me when I contacted them a few weeks after the check cleared to get a status update. I was told over the phone that my engine was being rebuilt and I would be contacted as soon as it was completed. I have heard nothing since that initial conversation the second week of Sept 2012. The past few months i've been vigorously trying to get in contact with Rising Sun and they will not return my phone calls or emails. Rising Sun communicated fine before I sent payment, once payment was validated (accepted/received) all communication from Rising Sun stopped. At this point all I want is my hard earned money back. They can keep their engine and business practices. Please advise and thank you in advance for your assistance.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want my money back. I do not want to do business with a company who practices business in this manner.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

1/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** at Rising Sun stop answering phone- will not call back after he cashed payment check that I had sent on 12-02-12. Engine not received yet. ****** stop answering phone after he cased my payment check $1400 for re-built engine. I sent payment in full and was cashed 12-04-12. Have not received engine as of 12-11-12. I called everyday -left message -no answer. He called me back before to answer questions before I sent the money for payment. I got scammed.

Desired Settlement: Refund my payment money in full.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/31/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: invoice number **** wrong engine shipped invoice number **** engine not shipped On 10/16/12 I ordered an engine for a 1994 Honda Civic/ del sol, invoice# **** for 1,065.00 paid for with personal check. The engine was shipped to me and was recieved on 10/26/12. It was the wrong engine. I called them and was told they would pick up the engine and that since they did not have the correct engine they would take this engine back and rebuild the original engine from the car. So they were sending a truck to pick up these two engines. In the meantime I ordered another engine on 11/6/12 for another car a 1990 Honda Accord invoice #**** I paid 965.00 personal check for this engine. At this time they were to ship me the Accord engine and pick up the other two engines previously stated. I waited for a week or so and the engines where not delivered or picked up. Then I called them and reached their answering machine and left a message to call me, between then and now I have left several messages to contact me and my calls haven't been answered in weeks.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to complete my transactions or refund my money in full

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order and paid for an engine. Never received the engine. I want my money returned - $2222.00. I called several times in an attempt to resolve this issue and was only about to connect to an answering machine.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: paid for item and no delivery of item. I ordered an engine for my CRX.Rising Sun said they have what I need I stock, I sent them a check for $1095.00. The check went through our bank on 9/27/2012. In August they called to verify where to send the engine. We confirmed where to have the engine delivered in Kent, Wa. After no delivery of the engine I called and was told that they would call me back with the location of the engine, that it had been shipped. I called back the next day no answer. They are using caller ID, I have used different phones and still it went to voice mail. I have called for days and now the number is disconnected, I have sent daily emails messages no responce. I called the transport company and they have no record of the shipment and phone number. I want my ^%$@* engine

Desired Settlement: Asking that they refund payment of $1090.00

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/26/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for a remanufactured engine from Rising Sun Engines, Inc. When I ordered the engine I was informed that it would take two to three weeks for the engine to ship after Rising Sun received payment.It has been four weeks and longer. I have tried several times to contact Rising Sun Engines but all I get is a busy phone line or a voicemail telling me to leave my phone number and someone ****** contact me. However, no one ever does. Therefore, I am filing a complaint. Product_Or_Service: Remanufactured Engine

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) send the remanufactured engine or refund my money.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/10/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 1 rebuilt Geo Metro Engine on 9/7/12. They haven't delivered anything since & no calls have ever been answered. Disconnected as of 10/12/12. I ordered an engine from Rising Sun Motors on 9/7/12; specifically a 1991 Geo Metro 1.0L, G10 Rebuilt Long Block for $895.00 plus $250.00 Shipping, invoice number 2607. I sent them a Cashier's Check for $1145.00 a few days later through UPS, tracking number 1Z TXX XX XXXX XXXX. I have heard nothing of substance from them since then. I have repeatedly called (209) XXX-XXXX & X-XXX-XXX-XXXX in an attempt to contact them weekly from October forward, and have recieved absolutely NO answer or reply since. As of 11/12/12, the phone number given for Rising Sun Engines is no being completed as dialed and no attempt to communicate via E-mail (*****@risingsunengines.com) has worked. Attempts to find further info or contacts on/through their webpage (http://www.risingsunengines.com/) have yielded nothing. It appears they have taken my hard-earned money and given nothing in return. This has been especially **** me and my family as we need our car to be able to conduct our daily lives and the apparently being robbed of this much needed funds deprives me of my ability to find an obtain an engine from a reputable business.

Desired Settlement: I am seekeing a complete refund of the $1145.00 I paid out for the Engine and the cost of Shipping. I have waited long enough for completion of services without so much as a word from this business, and I no longer believe they are capable of delivering what services they have advertised. It appears they have taken my hard-earned money and given nothing in return. This has been especially **** me and my family as we need our car to be able to conduct our daily lives and being robbed of this much deeply needed funds deprives me of my ability to find and obtain an engine from a reputable business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/3/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engine ordered, has not shipped, no response. This is the same complaint that I have now filed with the other agencies noted below: I ordered a used (tested and warrantied) engine for a 1994 Toyota Celica, and sent a check for $1,285 on 9/15, which was withdrawn from my account on 9/18. The engine was supposed to ship in one week. After multiple phone calls and emails, I finally received an email on 10/1 that it was supposed to ship on 10/8. It did not ship then either. I have left messages stating that I expect to receive the engine that I paid for, or a refund of the money that I paid, and if not, that I will file claims with this office, the Attorney General of PA, the Attorney General of CA, and if possible the FCC (for internet fraud). If I must, I'll hire an attorney and file a law suit. They will not answer the phone, return phone calls or answer emails. It has now been more than 6 weeks since they cashed the check, and I still have no engine. In the meantime, I have spent the last month driving 100 miles a day and spending 2 1/2 hours per day just getting myself and my son to and from work. This may not seem like a lot of money to some, but it's a sizeable amount to me, and these people have basically stolen it.

Desired Settlement: I expect a full refund of the money that they have taken.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/26/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While I was stationed in Afghanistan in August, I purchased an engine from Rising Sun Engines in Chico, CA. The check was sent, it cleared. No engine. My name is Lt. Col. ****** ******. While stationed in Afghanistan, I asked my brother (******* ******) to purchase an engine from a company I found online (Rsining Sun Engines). The company verified that they had an engine for my 2002 Infiniti I35. My brother sent the inquiry and received the invoice that offered me a $100 military discount. When our $2,120 check cleared their account, we never hear another word from them. They had our phone numbers digitally recognized and automatically directed to voice messaging. They have not responded to email or regular mail that was "return receipt" and signed by ***** ********** on October 5, 2012. The last personal contact was with "******" on or about September when he said I would get an email with tracking information when the engine was shipped. I reimbursed my brother. I want my money back. Now that I see the number of complaints about this company, how are they able to stay in business with these patterned and illegal practices. Like others, I am inclined to think the matters are broader than just this company. Can you help me get my money back?

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a full refund of $2,120.00. I would also like to see this company fined and then put out of business. Well, if not put out of business, they should receive a stiff penalty. This may be beyond your settlement authority?

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
We have not heard from the company. I did send a return-receipt letter to the company that included a copy of my canceled check that was made payable to them. Although I have the signatured receipt from Rising Sun Engines, they have not made any communication with us. Would it be helpful for you to have a copy of the signatured receipt? Thank you. ****** ****** for Lt. Col. ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/16/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for an engine and the check was cashed on October 5th. The engine has not been delivered and company will not answer phone calls. My father contacted the company for a quote on a 1985 Nissan Pickup 2.4L, Z24 Rebuilt Long Block, in late August and spoke with "Steve." In late September my father sent me the invoice, #2599, and a UPS mailing label, tracking #1Z241T411297132175, so I could purchase the engine. I sent the check with a copy of the invoice, via UPS 3 Day Select. UPS shows delivery and signature for the package on 10/4/12 @ 1121am. The check was cashed on October 5th. The check was stamped "Pay to the order of Bank America Stockton, CA 95207-6405 For Deposit Only Rising Sun Engines Inc 1139472947." The check was for $1160.00. Since October 5th my father and I have both tried calling this company to find out the shipping status. we leave message, email and get no response. Yesterday (10/22/2012) I called Rising Sun Engines, 800-660-4664 (# listed on website/invoice) from my work desk and recieved the voicemail and left no message. Sixteen minutes later I recieved a phone call from the Rising Sun Engines phone number, 530-592-6568. The gentlemen (same man I have spoke with numerous times before check was sent)stated that he was returning a call he just recieved for a quote on a Japanese engine. I asked who I was speaking with and he informed me this was Masco engines. I siad that I thought I had called Rising Sun Engines to which the man told me "no, this is Masco Engines and I have to go." The man hung up. I have called and left messages that if I did not recieve an update on the engine status I would be taking action to include notification to BBB and seeking dispute assistance from my banking institution. Additionally, I will be filing a police report for the record.

Desired Settlement: Seeking settlement from the business seems to be a bridge to far at this point. I have put negative reviews on Yelp and Mechanic Advisor. Additionally, I have contacted my bank, USAA, to begin proceedings on a dispute. The bank will begin their investigation and requested that I file a ploice report and provide them a copy of the report. It appears that going this on my own is my only option based on all the reviews I have read to include on BBB website. If possible I will seek legal action.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/16/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for a motor I have not recieved. No contact has been made since check was cashed. I sent Rising Sun Engines two money gram money orders(One for $155 #R204163844930 for shipping of the motor, and one for $995 #R204163844929 for the motor)to purchase one 1992 subaru loyale 1.8L, EA82 rebuilt long block, Invoice #2606 dated 9/6/12, to be sent to Clearwater Auto 3112 Montana 83, Seeley Lake, MT. 59868. The checks were cashed on 9/20/12. I have not recieved a motor nor have I been able to talk to anyone about this issue. I have called numerous times and have left emails as well. I have not got any calls back and have not had anyone answer the buisness phone.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my money returned or a fresh rebuilt long block 1.8L EA82 subaru loyale motor sent to the buisness I requested right away.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/17/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never recevied the product (car engine)that I paid over $1800.00 for. On 08/02/2012 I ordered an engine for a Kia Rio5 from Rising Sun Engines. Invoice #2571 totaling $1840.00. This company no longer accepts credit cards so I paid for it by check, check #125. On 08/09/2012 I received an email containg a shipping address to a facility near me that accomadates large items. I was asked to respond to let them know if this address was acceptable. I called and emailed numerous times with no further response from Rising Sun Engines. On 08/22/2012 I called Rising Sun Engines and again no answer then I called right back with another phone from an out of state number and he answered immediatley. Once he know he was talking to me, he stated he was sorry for the delay but there was an issue with the timing belt and the engine would be shipped out on 08/24/2012 and he would send us an email to let us know it was enroute. I never received an email or a call, so I called, left messages and sent an email with no response. (But he did email my daughter back when she inquired about an engine for her caron the same day) And here we are at 09/01/2012 with no engine and $1840.00 less in my bank account.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back with no future promises or excuses.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/2/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Evergreen Sales and Lease, Inc ordered an engine to rebuilt and paid for the engine. The company has never delivered it. We, Evergreen Sales and Lease Inc ordered a rebuild for a 2003 Nissan Altima engine. Rising Sun sent a truck to pick up the engine and rebuilt it for us. They called and said the rebuild was complete and on 7/25/2012 I sent them a check for $1495.00. The check went through our bank on 7/27/2012. In August they called to verify where to send the engine. We informed them of the shop where they were to have it delivered. On 09/10/2012, I called and was told that they would call me back with the location of the engine, that it had been shipped. I called back the next day and was told there had been a goof up and the engine was on its way. I have called for 3 days now and left messages stating I needed to know the transport company name and phone number. No one answers the company phone. Thinking that they may have caller ID, I used my personal cell phone and still it went to voice mail. I emailed them but have not received an answer. I want my engine.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the shipping charges refunded.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
customer states: We finally got our engine. Of course, they had the wrong address on it and we had to have it left at will-call in another city and pick it up ourselves because the shipping company could not get their approval to change the drop off location. The way we got a response from them was to have someone call and leave a message that they needed to order a couple of engines. Surprise, they called right back. The engine had shipped that morning and they were able to give us a tracking number and the shipper's name.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/2/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an engine and mailed a personal check which they cashed, they didn't deliver the engine and won't reply to messages or phone calls. Ordered and Paid for 2005Toyota Sequoia engine. Paid $1595. Plus $95 shipping. Paid with personal Chase check #9993 it was cashed on August 16,2012.i've called numerous times and left messages, the won't return my calls .They e-mailed invoice on 8/3/12. Invoice # 2573. I was instructed to send my payment through UPS, which I did, but never received engine. The invoice is from Chino, but payment was mailed to Stockton branch. My husband and son have tried to contact them at different times during the day, but have been unsuccessful. Please help.....I have no transportation for work.

Desired Settlement: After researching and reading the complaints, I want a full refund,

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have not received my money back after cancelling order, on July 26, 2012 through e-mail and phone calls. On July 12, 2012 received invoice #2753 for 1995 Honda Civic 1.6L D16 used long block engine from Steve. I mailed a Cashier's check for $940.00 from Tucson Federal Credit Union check #3117164. On July 26, 2012 I e-mailed them asking to cancel my order after I found out they have an F rating on their business and asked them to send me a my money back. I also have left messages. To this day, I have not received the refund nor have heard from them. Check was cashed at Bank of America in Stockton, CA 95207-6403 for deposit only. R&T #322174986 account #801600 sequence #41127137 draft#3117164 posted date7-24-2012.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive my $940.00 back and I do not want the engine.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/31/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to order of engine and sent rising sun check on 7/13/12. Rising sun has not shipped engine nor answered emails or phone calls. I ordered 1994 subaru 2.2l motor from rising sun engines on 7/13/12. Invoice number 2750. I sent check for $1420 via UPS to Stocton address via preprinted UPS label from rising sun. I phoned rising sun on 7 23 and ask when my engine would be ready. He said it was on the bench being worked on now and would be soon. I phoned again on 7/26-no answer. I have phone and emailed 7/26 thru today 8/2 and only receive answering message. I then did more research on google and found numerous complaints regarding rising sun.

Desired Settlement: I have no trust in rising sun-do they really build engines? I want my money $1420 dollars returned.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
I contacted Butte County Sheriff's office this am and they were aware of numerous complaints re Rising Sun Engines and directed me to the DA's office. The DA's office recorded my complaint and said they are presently looking into filing charges and would notify me of the case if and when it moves forward as there are numerous complaintents.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/20/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rising Sun Engine cashed my check of 1,640.00 in April 2012, I have received nothing in return engine or return call. I ordered a engine for our Geo tracker in April 2012 they(Riseing Sun Engines)cashed my check of 1640.00 on 17 April 12. I have not had any responce to calls or engine. When I was able to get thru they talked around how it shipped out a month ago and said they would call me back on it never get a call back, now they wont answer my call or messages. I want my money back or the engine that I have ordered.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the money that I had paid $1,640.00, or have the engine that they promised shipped with the waranty that was purchased.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/14/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engine ordered from Rising Sun Engines 14 june 2012. Have not recieved engine and company will not return phone calls or e-mail. On 11 June 2012 ********** ******* Inc. submitted an e-mail to Rising sun engines to obtain price and availability to purchase a 2.5 liter used motor. Recieved corrosponding e-mail 13 June 2012 stating price and that they did have one in stock. 13 June 2012 we called to order engine. At that time we were told that they no longer take credit cards and we would have to pay via personal/bank check. I stated that would be fine and was assured they would start the process of getting engine ready to ship and not having check would not hold up sending motor. 14 June 2012 recieved e-mail from Rising Sun Engines thanking us for our order with attached invoice for sale of motor including freight charge. Also to check that shipping address was correct. Shipping address was incorrect. 14 June 2012 recieved e-mail from Rising Sun Engines with self addressed shipping label for us to send payment. 15 June 2012 payment sent to Rising Sun Engines. 15 June 2012 e-mail sent to Rising Sun Engines with corrected address. At this time engine is ordered and no worries as we did not expect motor to arrive for 3 to 4 weeks. 2 July 2012 called Rising Sun Motors and a person by the name of ****** stated that the engine just got on the barge to head our way. At this time I asked him to get a tracking number so i can track it's progress to Fairbanks. He stated that he would get a tracking number for me and call me back. I gave him a couple day's before calling back. Since 4 july I have left messages on Rising Sun Engines voice mail every day and some days multiple times with no return calls or e-mails from this company. The bank check that we sent in the amount of $2,890.00 cleared our bank 20 June 2012. At this point we have a very unhappy customer and no engine in sight. Any assistance in getting either our money back or the engine that we paid for to get to us in a timely manner would greatly be appreciated. Sincerely, ****** ****** ********** ******* Inc. ************** Fairbanks, Ak XXXXX (907) XXX-XXXX Ph (907) XXX-XXXX Fax (907) XXX-XXXX Cell

Desired Settlement: An immediate refund In the amount of $2,890.00 paid to this company by Goldpanner Service Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase a Honda Passport Engine online wrong engine delivered and was returned.paid @1205.00 no refund received as promised On may 11,2012 ****** ******* Mgr of Risisng Sun Engine of Chico Ca deliverd a Toyota engine instead of a Honda Passport ordered and received check payment of $1205.00.Engine was returned on 6/29/2012.Until now no refund was receied.We kept calling several times and leaving messages but they never returned our calls.

Desired Settlement: We would like for them to refund us for the full amount of $1205.00 due to the fact that we did not order a Toyota engine.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/13/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not recieve engine I paid for.No response from company when trying to reach them for resolution. On about 5/20/12 I found Rising Sun Engines on-line,while searching for an engine to purchase for my 1988 Nissan pickup.Requested a quote on a remanufactured 2.4 liter ,four cylinder Nissan engine.Within two hours recieved a phone call from someone named "Steve" from Rising Sun Engines Inc..He verified what I was looking for and gave me a quote of $1,140 ,which was to include the remanufactured 2.4 Nissan engine and shipping.I told him I needed to get the money together,and would call him back at that time to find out payment instructions.He replied that he would E-mail me an invoice,with the quoted price and description of the engine,for me to approve.I recieved the E-mail on 5/21/12,it included the invoice with an attachment that included payment instructions.The quote was the lowest I had recieved and I had heard of Rising Sun Engines when I lived in California back in the 80's.I assumed Rising Sun Engines was reputable since they were still in buisness all these years later. On 5/25/12 I called "Steve" to give the go ahead on the order and arrange shipping and payment details.He instructed me to print out the invoice,make any necessary changes,ie.shipping address,sign the invoice and mail it with the payment to the address on the UPS shipping label that was included in the E-mail and that he would get started on my engine.I inquired as to when to expect shippment he stated "approximately one week".I was agreeable and purchased money order(s) totalling $1140.00,printed out the invoice, changed the shipping address to the wearhouse where I work,signed the invoice and mailed it and the money order(s) using the UPS shipping label he provided(the address on the label 2339 West Hammer Ln.Suite C#232 Stockton CA 95209-2368).I called Rising Sun Engines or"Steve" (one in the same)to make sure they would take note of the new shipping address,he replied they would.After a week and a half passed,and I had not recieved my engine,I started trying to contact Rising Sun Engines to find out what was up.Over the next three days I called the two contact phone numbers I had at least once a day.No one ever answered my calls or returned my calls as I requested in the voice messages I left.Tried to contact the company by E-mail...No response.By this time two weeks had passed.Starting to get suspicious that I was getting scamed,I tried calling from a phone # different from mine,and requested a quote for an engine.With in an hour I recieved a call back,(to the different phone# I had called from),from someone who sounded like "Steve",but claimed that they were not,when I asked.Just glad I was actually talking to some one from Rising Sun,I inquired as to why no one had returned my voice messages or E-mails,and as to why I had not recieved my engine.I was told"they were really busy and people had been on vacation,but they were almost done with my engine and expected to ship it to me by the end of the week."I expressed my concern as to not being able to reach any one there ,and that my messages to call me back had been ignored.The person I was talking to,(who never did identify themselves), apologized and gave me another phone #,which turned out to be one of the two I already had,but did'nt notice untill I had hung up.So here it is two months later I still have not recieved my engine.Have not been able to get anyone to answer my calls or return my messages,in which I have requested delivery of the engine or the return of my money.As to date I have not been contacted by Rising Sun Inc.,nor have I recieved my engine or my money back.

Desired Settlement: At this point I just want $1140.00 returned to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/8/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid $1500.00 for a used/rebuilt subaru engine, and it was never delivered. This company will not return my phone calls or emails. On June 16, 2012, I had seen on the Rising Sun Engine Inc. website they had a Subaru EJ25D engine used/rebuilt they sell. I called to confirm on 6/17/12, and ****** ****** assured me they had one they would sell me. I ordered the engine through ****** ******, we agreed on a price of $1500.00 and he sent me an email with the invoice #2728 and said once I sent him the $1500.00 in the form of a check, he would ship the engine to my mechanics address so that he could install it. On 6/20/12 I received a UPS Call Tag via email from (****** ******/Rising Sun Engines), so that he could verify that the funds were sent and on the way to him, and they would send the engine. I sent the check on 6/20/12 via UPS, with his call tag. He received the check on 6/22/12, and deposited the check in the Rising Sun Engines Inc. bank account that same day. On 6/22/12 I called him to see if the engine was shipping out that day, he said yes. As of 6/25/12, still no sign of the engine being delivered. I called ****** ****** on 6/25/12 and asked him if he shipped the engine, he said he would have to check his shipping log book to see. That's the last time ****** ****** would ever talk to me. On 6/26/12 in the morning I received an email stating that the engine was tested, inspected, and was on it's way. Since then I've received no shipping tracking number, he will not answer or return my many phone calls or emails, and as of 7/03/12 I'm still without the engine and the $1500.00 Please note that the addresses for this business, the one in Chico and in Stockton are both for this one business. The check I sent went to the address in Chico. I have copies of the emails, the UPS call tag, the invoice and the check I sent if you need them.

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel my order with Rising Sun Engines Inc. and ****** ******, And I want them to refund my $1500.00 imediatley.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/30/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i mailed a check to this company for an engine.they cashed the check and i havent recieved the engine. on april27,2012 i requested a quote for a 1993 mitsubishi montero 3.0 rebuilt long block engine..on may 4,2012 we spoke to a sales rep. from that company that called us..the quote was for 1495.00 plus 125.00 for shipping.the total was 1620.00.we recieved a invioce (****) after the call was made with instructions on were and how to send the money.on may11,2012 the check was sent as per instructions and my wife called them and confirmed it was on the way.the person she talked to told her that they had started on the rebuild and it would be completed in three weeks.on may15,2012 the check was deposited into a bank of america account.june4,2012 i called again and was told they would send me a email on the status of the engine.no email was sent.my wife and i have made numerus efforts to get in contact with these people.but no answer..we have been keeping track of all comunication attemps.there has been no contact with this company since june4,2012.

Desired Settlement: i would like a full refund for the product that i ordered.i do not want the engine from these people.i cant trust a engine thats for my kids car with this type of actions performed be these people.i do believe that they scam people out of there money.i also feel crimnal charges should be brought up on this company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/30/2012 Delivery Issues
7/25/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: failed to deliver cylinder head for car late two weeks after promised date and no call failed to deliver cylinder head for car late two weeks after promised date and no call or email after calling them many times and getting no response

Desired Settlement: either deliver the cylinder head or refund my money in full so i can buy it elsewhere

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Consumer states: "i finally received the part i ordered from this company july XX XXXX i wish to withdraw the complaint".

Business' Final Response
Consumer states: "i finally received the part i ordered from this company july 25 2012 i wish to withdraw the complaint".

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/23/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an engine and paid for it so they could buy parts and build the engine. they cashed the check and never delivered the engine I sent in a request for an engine they sent me a quote / invoice #**** for a sum of $995 and $140 shipping. I sent them the check on X-XX-XXXX and they cashed it on 6-1-2012. Then sent me an e-mail stating the parts were on order. Then no more contact, I called and e-mailed with no responce

Desired Settlement: a refund of my money

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/9/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer states: My complaint is because the company stole from me. I bought a motor for my car (Honda) and made a payment to them using a money order in the amount of $990. The instant they cashed the money order, they stopped all connections with me. My motor was never shipped to me as promised. I still have a copy of the invoice and a copy of the money order where I sent the original payment.

Desired Settlement: Refund

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/9/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer states that they have not received engine from the company. Customer paid $1695 and the check cleared on May 10, 2012. Engine was for a remanufacturered engine for a Toyota 3.0.

Desired Settlement: Customer wants a full refund in the amount of $1695.00

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/26/2012 Delivery Issues
6/26/2012 Delivery Issues
6/18/2012 Delivery Issues
6/18/2012 Delivery Issues
6/12/2012 Delivery Issues
5/31/2012 Delivery Issues
5/30/2012 Delivery Issues
5/8/2012 Delivery Issues
4/23/2012 Delivery Issues
4/23/2012 Delivery Issues
4/9/2012 Delivery Issues
4/3/2012 Delivery Issues
4/2/2012 Delivery Issues
3/27/2012 Delivery Issues
3/20/2012 Delivery Issues
3/19/2012 Delivery Issues
3/16/2012 Delivery Issues
3/12/2012 Delivery Issues
2/29/2012 Delivery Issues
2/27/2012 Delivery Issues
2/27/2012 Delivery Issues
2/21/2012 Delivery Issues
2/21/2012 Delivery Issues
2/21/2012 Delivery Issues
2/10/2012 Delivery Issues
2/10/2012 Delivery Issues
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Delivery Issues
1/24/2012 Delivery Issues
1/17/2012 Delivery Issues
12/16/2011 Delivery Issues
12/16/2011 Delivery Issues
12/9/2011 Delivery Issues
12/9/2011 Delivery Issues
12/9/2011 Delivery Issues
12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Delivery Issues
12/1/2011 Delivery Issues
11/15/2011 Delivery Issues
11/8/2011 Delivery Issues
11/8/2011 Delivery Issues
10/24/2011 Delivery Issues
9/26/2011 Delivery Issues
9/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2011 Delivery Issues
9/1/2011 Delivery Issues
8/16/2011 Delivery Issues
8/15/2011 Delivery Issues
1