BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of JAW's Gear & Axle, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JAW's Gear & Axle, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JAW's Gear & Axle, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JAW's Gear & Axle, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 14, 2005 Business started: 10/01/2003 in CA Business started locally: 10/01/2003 Business incorporated: 01/02/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 253687.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Wilson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Wilson, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New Differentials - Automobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Axles Drive Shafts

Products & Services

JAW's Gear & Axle, Inc. specializes in new & used gear, axle, differential, auto parts and supplies.


Additional Locations

  • 5630 Roseville Rd Ste D

    Sacramento, CA 95842

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/19/14 I called Jaws Gear of Sacramento Ca. ( ************) to order a ***** ** *** Fabricated rear end housing for my 1972 ******** ******. I had found their website (Jawsgear.com) online showing that they were specialists in that field. I spoke to **** ****** the owner,he asked for the width needed,the location of the leaf spring mounts and asked if the pinion would be centered.I gave him the measurements and said the pinion assembly was centered. The pinion assembly is what connects the drive shaft to the drive axles in an automobile.He then asked what type of car it would be for and I told him a 1972 ******** ******,and gave me the order # *****.He seemed to be in a hurry as I think it took more time to get my Debit card information than it did to discuss my order. I received the new rear end housing on 9/2/14 from ***** ***********. ***** is a company that Jaws Gear uses to fabricate that type of rear end automotive housing for them after they get all the specifications needed. When I compared it to the one I was replacing I found two major differences that would make it unusable for my car.The leaf spring mounts appeared to be welded at the wrong angle and the faceplate where the pinion assembly mounts was offset over an inch. I immediately called **** ****** at Jawsgear to advise him of the problems. In a wise ass tone he said " How am I suppose to know what you're doing on your project in NEW YORK?" I said "Isn't it your job to ask whatever information is needed to make sure your customer gets what he looking for? You advertize that rear ends are one of your specialties" He then had me do some measurements,it turned out the mount for the Pinion assembly was off over an inch. He then proceeded to tell me that it would be offset because I ordered a centered pinion. I replied my old housing isn't like that and he said that it must be an offset pinion and when he initially took my order he meant the pinion GEAR would be centered in the housing, NOT the pinion assembly,which would make it offset like I needed. That was the first time he ever said it was the actual pinion gear that would be centered in the housing instead of the Pinion assembly that I believed he was referring to during that initial conversation.He then stated my car runs a slight offset which centers the pinion assembly so the axles would be equal lengths and the housing he ordered for me wouldn't work. Mr. ****** of Jaws Gear knew ******** ******s ran an offset pinion gear as all *****,******** and ******** cars do from that period, but for reasons I can't understand..NEVER MENTIONED THAT WHEN HE WAS TAKING MY ORDER!. I called them thinking they were experts in the field and he never said anything about the those cars running an offset pinion gear until after I complained about the issue. I then stated that the leaf spring mounts appear to be welded at the wrong angle. He laughed and said " You never told me what angle you wanted" I said again" Aren't you as a professional suppose to ask all the pertinent questions so I could actually get the proper housing? He said "Don't try to throw the blame my way,that's what you ordered." I sent him an email on 9/8/14 @ 1:18pm est showing him an image of how the rear end set on the leaf springs. He said he'd look for it, but I've never received a response. He said he would check with the manufacturer (*****) to see if it they could alter the housing so it could be used. He said he would call me back and let me know. I never heard back from him. I took it upon myself to contact ***** *********** about the issues. I emailed **** ******* in their tech department and he said the way the rear end was ordered would make the drive shaft run at an angle instead of straight on as it would be 1.1875 inches off center. That isn't something you'd want to do. I then spoke to **** in *****'s fabrication shop and he said the rear end housing could not be altered to what I was trying to get in the first place. So at this point I have $690.00 invested into a new rear end housing that I can't use. I didn't claim to have a vast knowledge of automotive rear end assemblies when I placed my order.That's why I called Mr. ******'s company Jaws Gear. They advertize that rear ends are one of their specialties. I was expecting a knowledgeable, professional person that would assist me through the ordering process to get the appropriate rear end housing I needed. If Mr. ****** had simply taken the time and asked a couple more questions,we wouldn't be in this situation now. He is suppose to be an expert with this type of service,you would think he'd have a check list or some sort of protocol to make sure the fabricator ( *****) got all the appropriate information needed. If he'd asked what length axles I was using and what drive angle I wanted on the Pinion assembly this whole incident could have been avoided. I know now that those were two mandatory questions that should have been asked. The fact is he didn't, and he ordered a centered pinion gear rear end housing for a car he knew used the opposite! Why would a person do that? He knew what style rear housing that brand of car uses,but didn't get technical and explain things to me until after I received the housing I couldn't use. How someone could have such an "Oh well" type of attitude after steering a paying customer in the wrong direction just baffles me.The fact that he never called me back or answered my email shows his lack of concern.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or replacement ***** *** Fabricated housing with the correct offset pinion mount for my 1972 ******** ******.

Business Response: Mr. ********* has filed a charge back with his bank of which we were notified last week and responded to. I have attached the letter that was submitted in response. If in fact Mr. ********* would have followed up with me prior to just doing a charge back I feel the results could have been a different outcome then where we are at currently. As instructed by the bank, I will not be issuing a refund due to the fact he filed a charge back and is pending their investigation. As for the issues Mr. ********* is having with the housing he supplied information and measurements for, the offset is EXACTLY what he ordered. If the angle does come out to be a problem, ***** ***********(Manufacture of Housing) has agreed to alter the angle IF necessary, but as per conversations and emails(attached) there should not be a problem once he has the vehicle weight on the suspension and the car is on the ground. If there are additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call me at ************ **.

**** @ Jaw's Gear & Axle

Business Response: It is a fact that the customer was asked if the pinion was to be
centered(F & G measurement). We don't have the offsets of every
single vehicle ever made which is the reason we ask if the pinion is
centered or offset, and this question was asked prior to the order being
placed. The comment about the fact I am not there to build the project
is being played on and is way out of context. The customer stated after
he identified he gave wrong information when ordering, that I should
know all the specs about his car and the modifications he made to his
car. It is not my responsibility to measure and figure out what he is
doing with his project. It is my job to ask the appropriate questions
and document specifically what the customer asks for, which I did. As
far as the chargeback, I have seen nothing specifying the chargeback has
been dropped. I know there was $690.00 taken from our account and I am
out the funds for something the customer specified the details on.

On
top of this info, the customer has failed to mention that ***** has
already sent a call tag for the housing to verify the pinion angle, sent
a replacement set of perches loose for the customer to weld on himself
and shipped back to the customer at no charge. I find this information
interesting being the customer has never mentioned this in phone, email,
chargeback or BBB complaint. Might I also note that the customer never
mentioned to ***** at that time that the centered pinion was an issue.
***** is sending an email specifically outlining the details directly
with the customer for our records.

At this time if the customer
chooses to send the housing back and purchase a replacement housing, we
would offer a 50% credit of $302.50 on the housing only(NOT shipping)
towards a new housing but customer will be responsible for all
measurements written down and faxed to us using the form attached
previously for custom axles and housings. Customer must ship housing
back to Jaw's Gear & Axle at **** ********* **** ** ********** **
*****, with prepaid return shipping charges and will be responsible for
shipping cost of replacement housing as well. The request must be made
via email and emailed to me directly at ********************. This is
our one and only offer. This offer expires as of Friday night 5pm PST on
October 24th, which gives the customer a week and a half to decide.

****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I also would like to say I never wrote I wanted Mr. ****** to "build" my car. I merely expected some guidance when it came to ordering a custom rear end housing. Having more information to work with is usually a good thing. I had already spoken to **** at ***** ************s fabrication shop about the centered pinion issue over a month ago. He said it couldn't be altered,and that was stated in my original complaint.

                    ****

2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to Jaws Gear & Axle from a mechanic who said that my rear differential likely needed replacement when I could hear a loud whining noise while driving. On 9/18/2013, I took the vehicle to Jaws and spoke to owner **** ******. He took my truck and determined that the rear differential needed replacing. I authorized him to replace the parts at an estimate of nearly $1700. After less than 24 hours after picking up the truck, I could hear a loud knocking noise coming from the rear axle area that had not been there before the work was done to the vehicle. I took the vehicle back to Jaws and they kept it overnight and called me the following day saying there was nothing wrong with it and it was not making any noise. I picked up the vehicle and within hours, I could hear the noise again. I called the shop and they stated that this was a normal "chatter" for the "aggressive" differential that they put in the vehicle. They assured me it was fine. I drove the truck for a few weeks and the "chatter" became so loud that people would stop and look at my truck when I was driving through a parking lot. It also caused the truck to jerk and shake at times during slow speeds, turning and backing up. I consulted several people I personally knew who worked on cars and they all stated that this was clearly not normal and that I should return the truck to have it fixed. On 12/05/2013 I took the vehicle back to Jaws. A mechanic, I believe named ***, who was working the front desk, told me to go with him to test drive it. He got in the truck in the drivers seat and put the truck into reverse. The truck moved about five feet and he stopped suddenly and said something to the effect that he was not even going to drive it based on the loud noise it was making. He clearly knew something was wrong and did not risk even driving the vehicle once he heard the noise. The next day **** ****** called me and said that he opened the rear up again and checked it and that it was not in need of any repairs. He said that it was common in this unit that this type of noise would be heard. He could not state if the noise would ever go away but assured me it was safe to drive. he added oil and said the noise was not heard at that time. Within 2 hours of taking the truck, I heard the noise so loudly that I parked the truck and did not drive it for several weeks. When I did return to drive it again, the noise was so loud that I video taped the noise with my cell phone. I returned to Jaws and played the video for the mechanic "***" and he said he could hear the truck when I came around the corner of the parking lot from inside the shop. He would have **** contact me when he came in. The following day. 2/3/14, **** called me to tell me that the truck was fine, there was no need to repair the truck as the noise was standard in this unit. He told me to research it online and said that the Auburn differential was very "aggressive" and that the mechanics that I had spoken with did not know what they were talking about and that he does rear differentials for a living and he did not care what they had to say. I asked **** why he put in an "aggressive" unit instead of the stock Ford differential or one similar to the one that he took out. **** had never discussed what differential he was putting in and because I am unfamiliar with motor vehicle parts and repair, did not ask him if there was a different type. He said that this was a "better" unit than the one I had and the other one was only good for about $40,000 miles. I told **** that the truck belonged to a youth non profit organization that I run and that the organization put up a lot of money to have this fixed. I explained the loud noises and jerking of the truck was not what we paid for. **** said the only thing he could do was to charge us $550 for the differential that should have been put in the truck in the first place, and that he would not charge us for labor. He would return the "aggressive" unit (that I never ordered or agreed to) and IF the company refunded the money, he would refund us but he would not guarantee it. I asked **** how in the world he thought it was ok to charge us another $550 for a unit that he should have put in originally. He said that was the best he could do. I picked up the truck later that day and met with **** at the counter of the shop. **** wrote up an invoice stating what he offered. I asked **** if the unit he put in the truck was more expensive than the standard unit that he took out of the truck and he said that it was approximately $125 more expensive. When I asked **** why he thought it was ok to put in a more "aggressive" unit on a vehicle that is a basic, standard truck (no 4WD, no heavy hauling etc.) at a cost of $125 more than what I should have paid, he got defensive and said he makes more money on the unit he did not put in the vehicle and put this one in because it was a better unit, even though he charged me more money for it. I asked ****, hypothetically, if someone were to come into his shop and pay $1700 to have a rear differential replaced, the noise that now constantly comes from my truck should be what that person would expect for their money. He said, "yes, with an aggressive unit, that is what they should expect." I left at that time. I have been driving a motor vehicle for 30 years. I have owned numerous vehicles both 2 wheel drive and 4 wheel drive and drove a police patrol car as a police officer for nearly 15 years. I have never heard a noise like the one that this truck now makes, thanks to **** and his "aggressive" unit. A noise that was so loud and obvious that his own mechanic was fearful of driving the truck on a test drive. A noise so loud that people stop and look at me as if the rear of the truck is going to fall off in the parking lot. It is utterly ridiculous that Jaws Gear & Axle and the

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Mr. ***** brought his truck to us stating he had a whining noise coming from his differential. After inspection of the differential we found that there were bad bearings and pitted spider gears in his factory supplied positraction. The 2007 Ford F150 had 104,318 miles on it at the time it was dropped off. We offered Mr. ***** an upgraded positraction as they are stronger and more durable than the factory units that come with the vehicle to gain more strength and longevity from the rear-end, he approved the $1697.81 repair and we did the work. Mr. ***** brought the vehicle back concerned about a clunking noise. We told him we would inspect it but it appears to be posi chatter from the new positraction as indicated on the Differential Care, Warranty & Break-In Information form he signed.

We explained the clunking he war hearing is called posi chatter and it is normal for this type of aftermarket unit. As the truck gets driven more it will eventually subside over time. In December Mr. ***** brought his truck by stating it is still making the chatter noise. A mechanic went to go for a test drive and upon backing it up heard the posi chatter which Mr. ***** was complaining of, he determined there was no need to drive any further, not because he was "scared" as Mr. ***** stated but because it is the same noise as the last time he was here. We took the vehicle in and did an inspection with another fluid change and added more positraction additive to help the clutches slip more so there would be less chatter.

Once again in February Mr. ***** brought his truck back stating he cannot drive the vehicle because it is a charity truck and other people are scared to drive it because of the chatter noise even though we have assured him many times there is absolutely no danger of driving the vehicle. He also stated that he had let the vehicle sit for several weeks. I might note that if you let a differential sit without driving it that all the oil goes to the bottom of the pan, therefore allowing to the clutches to have no lubrication which in return will make the chatter more excessive. Mr. ***** was still not happy, I offered to remove the aftermarket unit at no charge labor and install the weaker OEM Ford unit. All he would have to do is pay the initial charge of the OEM Ford Unit of $550.00 and then I would be willing to send the aftermarket unit to the manufacturer as a warranty return. If we are refunded for the aftermarket we would give Mr. ***** a refund of $675.00 which is what he paid for the aftermarket unit with no restock or shipping charges. Mr. ***** stated that he had taken his vehicle to several other shops and they told him the noise is not normal and there was a problem. I asked who and got no names.

I then proceeded to tell Mr. ***** that this is not uncommon for aftermarket units and that is why we have this type of noise indicated on the Warranty form he signed. Mr. ***** decided to take his truck and has not contacted me since. My offered still stands if he chooses.

**** ******

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Its pretty amazing that Mr. ****** of Jaws Gear & Axle, with his lack of integrity and inability to tell the truth, is still in business. First of all, Mr. ****** never "offered" an upgraded differential. He told me the price to replace the differential in the truck and I agreed. He never even discussed the types of parts he would put in nor would I ever agree to pay more for an upgraded part. The truck is a standard truck that does not do anything that would require an "upgraded" differential. We simply wanted the part that was taken out to be replaced. He put in an "upgraded" model that makes so much noise constantly people stop to look at the truck when I drive by. HE then charged me extra and is accusing me of not understanding that this is normal. Anybody reading this, please check the attached You Tube link and tell me if this is "normal" to you and if you would be satisfied with paying $1700 for this kind of work. He also said that the noise may or may not subside and that he could not guarantee that it would. This conversation was held after it was installed and making the loud noises that it continues to make. The problem is getting worse,  not better. He then states that his mechanic that test drove the truck simply did not drive it because it was making the same noise as before, which is normal to Mr. ******. This mechanic, who seems to have been an honest guy when he on two different occasions noted that the truck was making a very loud noise that he could hear inside his shop and also while backing up five feet, clearly did not want to drive it because he knew something was wrong. Why would they have not just told me then and there that the noise was normal and it was fine. Why open it back up and check  it overnight if this mechanic thought it was totally normal. That statement by Mr. ****** really shows his lack of character. I'm sure this mechanic is fearful of losing his job and I don't blame him based on his boss's arrogance, but we will have to see if he tells the truth under oath in small claims court in front of judge. That will be really telling.  Mr. ******'s offer to replace the faulty differential with the one he should have put in in the first place, charge me for it again, and then send it off to the factory to see if they will refund it without a guarantee that this part will be refunded, is ludicrous and offensive. He should have replaced it and sent it back at his expense, since he's the guy that put it in without authorization. His narrative about how clutches and differentials and parts on a car work is a smoke screen to hide the truth that the work he did, or the part he put in, is not what we paid for. Once again, I direct you to the You Tube video below and if anybody out there can tell me that they would be satisfied with this result after paying $1700, I will certainly listen. I seriously doubt, other than Mr. Jaws & Gears, that anybody would be satisfied with this noise being "normal" on a $1700 job. Lastly, Mr. ****** claiming that I told him that I had taken the vehicle to several shops and that they said the noise was not normal and that he asked for their names and I refused to give him the names is also a distortion of the truth. I told him that I took the vehicle to several people that I know that have knowledge of vehicle repair and that they all said  the noise was not normal. He never asked me who they were, implying that I am lying to him about this.  In fact, his response to me telling him this was a defensive rant stating that he did not care who said the noise was not normal, that he did this for a living and that they were wrong and he was right. Did you want to know who these people are, Mr. ******, or do you not care? I'm confused. Your misleading statements more and more are showing your true colors. Also, one thing that I have not even complained about yet is the fact that the interior of the truck smells strongly of grease. Like the inside of the gear shop. I thought maybe this was temporary but the smell has never gone away, several months later. Im not sure if that is also "NORMAL," but I will find out. Bottom line, Mr. ****** put in a part that was not authorized (note the initial invoice, estimate has no part info on it yet the invoice I signed when I picked up the vehicle has part numbers and descriptions in the overall work description). He did not discuss this with me and he now looks me in the eye and states that the noises and jerking of the truck is normal for the part that he should not have put in in the first place. He is now going to drag his mechanic in to court and likely make him lie and it is really a shame that he is this type of person. I have filed a complaint with the State of Calif. Bureau of Automotive repair and an investigation is under way. My next course of action will be to file a claim in small claims court for a full refund and I will then begin to hit up social media to warn others of what has happened to us and to stay clear of Jaws Gears & Axle and Mr. ****** who obviously is not willing to live up to his warranty and his work. Many people will take the route to let things go, but I don't like being taken advantage of and then treated as if it is my fault. That is a bully tactic and it is a shame Mr. ****** has resorted to this. I encourage you once again, to check out the You Tube video which I will make public very soon. If an independent mechanic wants to check this out and tell me that this is perfectly normal and what I should have expected when I took my 2007 F150 Ford truck to have a whining noise fixed, I would love to hear from you. I will also start documenting all of the noises that it continuously makes and make sure that the compilation of "Jaw's Normal Noises" video makes its way to those people I have contact with.  I will be taking the truck into Ford soon and see what they have to say.  

 
***********************************************************************************************************************************

Sincerely,

*********** *****

Business Response:

As I read through all the negative slander from Mr. ***** I am extremely surprised at how my character and business are attacked. I make no excuses for anything I or more employees have said or done. We did things by the book. The writing is in black and white. Mr. ***** knew he was getting an aftermarket positraction, he knew that these banging and clunking was normal for locking differentials. He was told verbally and signed a copy of his paperwork where it was clearly identified and discussed. The BAR has come by my shop already to investigate Mr. *****'s complaint. My parts as an employee, and business owner is to inform in writing and verbally, which I have done. What Mr. *****'s video does not show is the whole truck only making noise while turning and/or backing up while turning which is a NORMAL characteristic of a positraction/locker. It was not upgraded for aggressiveness as Mr. ***** is trying to state, but was upgraded for strength and longevity over the factory positraction that came in the vehicle from the factory.

I have proposed one of two options to ***** ********* from BAR; 1)Mr. ***** can have someone else swap the unit out and bring me the Auburn posi we installed and I will refund him $675.00 plus tax he paid for the unit(assuming there is NO damage to it upon returning). 2)Mr. ***** can bring his truck to us and I will swap the Auburn Positraction out for a Ford OEM unit at no charge, straight across for all parts and labor included. If Mr. ***** has anyone else work on the differential his warranty with Jaw's Gear is voided and we will no longer cover any aspect of the repair as someone else has touched our work. If we exchange the unit straight across with no monies exchanged the warranty will stand as is from original work order **** dated 09/12/13. His option, I believe this is more than fair. This is my final offer to Mr. *****.

**** ******

Jaw's Gear & Axle

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I guess we are just in a pissing contest now. Slander is an UNTRUE statement. I will stick by my statements. But, I did try to pull the statement back after hearing from the BAR investigator with your offer as to not enflame the situation. Unfortunately, the BBB had sent it out already. So, in an effort to deescalate this, I will accept the offer to have your shop replace the  differential with the ford factory parts and to end the suffering of all those that must listen to the racket the trucks makes. We can call it even. This is all I asked for from the beginning. Thank you for the offer and let me know how I should go about getting the truck back to you for this service (date, time etc.) I will call the BAR and let them know that this is how we will proceed.


Sincerely,

*********** *****

2/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September X XXXX Jaws Gear and Axle repaired the differential on 2002 GMC Yukon. It failed on September 10. Want refund for parts and labor. On September X XXXX I took my 2002 Yukon, GMC to Jaws Gear and Axle on 5630 Roseville Rd. Sacramento,CA XXXXX. Met Mr. ****** ****** who said my rear differential would need to be replaced. Total bill for parts and labor were $1792 paid in full with a credit card. On September 10, 2012 on my return to Texas I noticed an oil leak while I was in Flagstaff, AZ and took it to a garage. The mechanic in Flagstaff told me the front seal of the differential was leaking and the differential smelled of burnt oil. The mechanic opened up the differential and told me it was burnt and would need to be replaced. A used axle was installed at a cost of $1467.15. I had this repair performed as the car was not drivealbe and we were returning home from our vacation in California. Prir to performing the repair I called Mr. ****** and notified him of my predicament. He assumed no responsibility. I explained I had followed his very detailed "break in procedure" including having the oil changed at 500 miles per his specifications. I even used the oil he recommended even though this is not the oil recommended by GMC, by the mechanic at the oil shop, the mechanic in Flagstaff, Az or my mechanic here in CC, Tx. However, since it was what he specified, that is the oil I had put in the differential. GMC and the mechanics mentioned recommend a synthetic oil while Mr. ****** specified a different non-synthetic oil. His response to me was that the mechanic who did the oil change must have used the wrong oil. Yet Mr. ****** has not seen or tested this oil to arrive at this conclusion. I have contacted Mr. ****** numerous times via phone, e-mail and mail. My attorney has sent him a letter requesting a full refund for parts and labor. He has not had the courtesy to respond to our latest correspondence. The only offer he has made is that he will refund the cost of the positraction which he installed. The price of the part is $595. In order to receive this refund for this part, I must have it removed and mailed to him at my cost. The estimate for these expenditures is $120. He is willing to do this because he thinks the positraction did not get damaged and he will be able to send this part backto his supplier. This offer is not acceptable. I have all the paperwork for parts, labor and warranty. I am not disputing that he did the work he said he did, nor do I have any problems with the parts used or the cost of the parts. I do not beleive Mr. ****** has honored his warranty as explicitly cited on his work order and his verbal warranty to me when I picked up the vehicle. When I picked up the car I statded it would be hard for me to have him do warranty work as he was in California and I would be in Texas and he assured me verbally he would stand by his work. He has not. It is interesting also that both the mechanic in Flagstaff and my mechanic in Corpus Christi do not understand the "break in procedure" required by Jaws Gear and Axle. As my mechanic said, when you buy a new car do they give you break in instructions for the differential and have you change the oil at 500 miles. The answer is no.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of $1792. I am not requesting any additional costs for the two days we spent in Flagstaff, Az while the repair was performed. I had costs for housing and per diem. I am also not requesting any attorney fees at this time. But if I don't receive adequate compensation I will pursue litigation and that time I will seek addtional fees to include but not be limited to expenses in Arizona, attorney fees in Texas and California, any court fees and expenses associated with the legal action. It would behoove Mr. ****** to make an acceptable offer at this time.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states that the customer has agreed to return the product and the company will refund $595 plus tax as previously agreed.