Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sunrise Modern Classic Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 674-4343 647 Garden Hwy, Yuba City, CA 95991 http://www.sunrisemotors.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunrise Modern Classic Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunrise Modern Classic Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunrise Modern Classic Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 04/12/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 181267.

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 26870.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ezra Boals, General Manager Mr. Larry Boals, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ezra Boals, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Sunrise Group II Sunrise Motors DBA
Products & Services

Sunrise Modern Classic Motors is a used vehicle dealership.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 1321 Bogue Road

    Yuba City, CA 95991 (530) 671-3661

  • 647 Garden Hwy

    Yuba City, CA 95991

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought the truck in may of 2014 the truck started to give me problems in the first 2 months. Since bought it I've had to replace the parts witch neither the warranty nor dealer ship would cover. After I got that repair done the truck would always just come up with new problems. I have taken the truck to the repair shop about 4 times and the warranty didn't cover most of the parts. I have not driven the truck more then 1,000 miles yet and I have gotten numerous problems. When I've tried talking to the dealership they basically laughed at my face saying that they could not do anything about. I've tried to return the truck but they would only give me $10,000 or so witch is only half of what I payed in the same year I bought it . This is my first truck and I was expecting a good reliable truck but instead I ended up with more stress.

Desired Settlement: I would want to return the truck and get my loan amount cleared.

Business Response:

Sunrise Motors does not determine what is covered underneath the aftermarket warranty. The customer needs to contact his aftermarket warranty to discuss the coverage that he purchased. They can be contacted at Interstate National Dealer Services, ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I should not be having to deal with this problems this early into the purchase anyway. My first year is not even over till May of 2015 and this truck  has been a nightmare.

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a truck with a broken rim and all unbalanced tires I took to them and they said It was fine they balanced it and put it back on my truck and told me they will find one for me. then I woke up one day and my tire was flat the rim had finally gave out and leaked air through the rim. so I took the broken rim back to sunrise they told me to get the hell out of here and they were not going to do anything for me. This is after they told me they would look for a matching single and call me as soon as they found one since they put the rim back on my truck, my truck doesn't drive the same it had caused a lot of damage due to the vibration and unbalanced tires it feel they were very unprofessional and everything was brought up within 30 days of the purchase why should I pay for their mistake. You need to make it right. Apologies due for yelling at a costumer so unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Fix it and make it right reimburse me and fix the broken parts caused by your negligence to check the tires on the trucks you sell to customers . Reimburse me the sixty dollars getting them checked at les swabb to ball emcee them before I drove it to your shop.

Business Response: Mr******* 


Sunrise Motors has reviewed your compliant and found that all employees followed company policy with your issue. The 30 day warranty we provide at no charge to are customer unfortunately did not cover this problem. We have a Buyers Due Bill for any work not covered by warranty that would be preformed by Sunrise Motors at no charge. There were no items listed on your due bill to be completed. Sunrise Motors is still committed to helping our customer with repairs after the sale that are not covered under warranty. Per policy you can receive 30% of parts and labor  in our shop for parts and repairs. If you would like to use this service please contact our office. 

Regards 
**** *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: that was not the verbal agreement u made and still doesn't make it right. The way your staff treated me was unexeptable u also said u fixed a leak but it still leaks water in the cab of the truck you made a customer a promice to make the situation right and then told me to go 'screw myself' now u are trying to cover it up I know other customers that told me u will do anything to get someone a vehicle including making fake jobs selling bad Moters oil leaks broken rims false reports and water in Moters one of your own friends ****, said that u would do this to me plzz take in consideration I did not break the rim and just cause it might not be covered in your thirty day it was brought to your attention and you said you will make it right why are u only trying to percentage me out I am an American soilder and disabled veteran I can't believe I am having to do this. This problem should have never happened if u would have checked the rims for for cracks or integrity I shouldn't pay for a dealerships negligence. **** please take more consideration of the problem at hand. 

Business Response: Mr*******. 

Your vehicle was purchased on 1/29/14 and returned to our service department on 02/03/2014 , in which we replaced an egr cooler and a drain plug gasket at $0 charge to you. If you believe there is still a water leak than please contact our service department to have it looked at. There is no mention of this problem in our system on 3 invoices. You have 90 day warranty on any parts that we replaced. In regards to our verbal agreement to "take care of you" that offer still stands. I told you on the phone before you picked up the truck and told you that the rims were rare and we would help you find one at our cost. We did locate one but the office said you had already bought different rims. If you would like me to get a price and find that one please let me know. When I had talked with you I  asked if anything had happened to your truck since you purchased it and your response was "no".   Since that time some information has came to my attention that you vehicle was in an accident after your purchase. 

I have spoken with all staff who you had dealings with you at the dealership and the said company company policy and customer service  were followed. 

Our policy is still the same and Sunrise will extend any work you would like completed at our discounted rate and also located the rim again for you. 

Please advise if you would like us to locate that for you. 
**** *****

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had recently purchased a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado from Sunrise Motors. They told me that the vehicle was in an accident. A minor fender bender to be exact. On the Auto Check, part of Experian. The report is false it says there is no major damage after their check. That was a lie. It has a bent frame, a broken radiator support. Major front end damage that they lied about not being there. The A frames are bent. All of this needs to be replaced, and the truck need to be repainted because it has to different shades of red that they painted over the problem to mask the trouble. They lied, and did not give me the true information about the truck. This is going to be a 5000.00 dollar repair, and I believe that Sunrise Motors should have to pay this bill because of the fact that they did not tell me the truth, and sold me a Lemon. I thought that there was a Lemon Law policy in California. This is very distressing to me because this should not be like this. They were fraudulent on their end of the contract, and they should be help responsible for the repair costs of the vehicle. Thank You...Sincerely, ******* ** *****. I have all of the proof about their lies, and photos of the broken vehicle. Again Thank You.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the 5000.00 dollars for this repair job. Or a full and complete refund of the vehicle if this situation is not resolved.

Business Response:

The customer had contacted us regarding the 05 Chevrolet Silverado we offered to have the vehicle looked at by our shop to inspect the claims that are being made. When this vehicle was purchased we give the customers the Auto Check report; it does state the vehicle was in an accident, the vehicle history report recommends to have the vehicle inspected by a third party prior to purchase. The customer signed off that they inspected the vehicle to their satisfaction and that the vehicle is also purchased as is. Our vehicles go through a 152 point safety inspection before they are to be sold, it passed our inspection and was deemed safe to drive and operate. Just like any Autocheck/Carfax report it does not claim to know the entire history of the vehicle the customer had the opportunity to take the vehicle to be inspected before purchase. The Lemon Law only pertains to new vehicles within the first 18,000 or 18 months of purchase.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have replaced the broken parts I still have the broken parts for the Silverado. I have pictures of the bent frame. That I am having straightened out at my personal expense. If the car dealer would have inspected the vehicle the way that he said. He would have known that the frame was bent, and that there was more damage to the vehicle that was not fully disclosed to me about. I feel that my repairs costing five thousand dollars to the vehicle should be met with a compromise. The dealer knew about this damage, and presented it to look good just to make the sale (this is my view the way that I am being responded back to, it is just a buyer beware scenario), with whomever should purchase said vehicle. I thought that full disclosure was a law. Should I contact the Department of Consumer Affairs? I am confused about the matter.

Sincerely,

******* *****

Business Response: Please refer to our last response. Customer had the chance to have vehicle inspected at outside location. We provided Auto Check report. See attachments with original response, customer signed buyers guide and signed acknowledgement of inspection of the vehicle. We followed company policy with the vehicle purchase. When the customer contacted us as we offered to look at the vehicle and also offer a discount on any parts and repair service.