BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cost Less Auto, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cost Less Auto, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cost Less Auto, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 25, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2006 Business started locally: 03/01/2006 Business incorporated: 05/23/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bobby Scott, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bobby Scott, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Cost Less Auto Inc is a used car dealership.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 5485 Pacific St Ste A

    Rocklin, CA 95677

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday April 19, 2014 at approx. 4:30 PM the following occurred.My husband (who is disabled) and I went into Mr. *****, office (Mr. ***** is the dealer that sold us the Buick)and told him that after reading the contract we felt he made us pay $495.00 extra for Gap Insurance that we did not need for the Buick and wanted a refund. Mr. *****, became outraged/hostile and shouted at us" fuck no you signed the contract and that's the fuck in way it is. I don't fuck in believe you, you must have a low IQ" My husband and I looked at each other in shock and could not believe this type of language and insults was coming from a business man. The men in the office ( Mr. *****, co-workers)even came out of their offices when they heard Mr. *****, shouting at us, I was also afraid Mr. *****, was going to his 2 dogs attack us. My husband told me "lets get out of here" and we were able to leave Mr. *****, office without further incident. I feel Mr. *****, owes us a written apology for his violent actions and $495.00 for the Gap Insurance, because he either lied or made a mistake telling us we had to buy Gap Insurance in order to get the car loan. We already have auto insurance and don't need to spend an extra $495.00 for nothing.Please see attached auto contract.

Desired Settlement: Mr. *****, should refund the $495.00 for Gap Insurance.

Business Response: This dispute is difficult to respond to because the customers claims are completely false.  The last conversation from any employee or associate of Cost Less Auto to ******* or ******** ******i was on Friday April 18th.  On this date the ******** came to the dealership with mis-information that they could return, cancel the contract, and receive a full refund over 3 weeks after purchasing the vehicle.  We had explained to them that the vehicle was financed with a bank and all paperwork had been submitted.  The customers response was that the bank had told them they could cancel the contract.  This information is false and we called the bank on speakerphone on behalf of the customer so they could have the correct information.  The bank informed us and the customer that there is no way to cancel a contract.  If they would like, they could trade in the vehicle for something else or sell the vehicle on their own and pay the loan off. 
The customers then left saying they would think about selling the car or keeping it.  There were no violent outbursts or attack dogs.  We are a pet friendly business and dogs are welcome here, but at no point were there dogs threatening customers.  Our facility is under constant video recording surveillance showing that the threatening story told to be what it is, completely false.  Also at no point was there a discussion about cancelling a GAP policy.  After I received this BBB claim, I phoned the ******is and asked why would they submit an untrue story online and do they really want to cancel their GAP policy.  The GAP policy is through their financial institution and I instructed them of who to call if they wanted to cancel the policy.  Turns out, they never cancelled the GAP policy.  I care a great deal about our reputation and we have a solid customer base that is happy to shop with us again and again.  However I can not resolve claims that are false. 

10/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the dealer to revoke authorization to all lenders my information was circulated to. This was at 3 pm 9/3/12. I don't feel this was done. Multiple inquiries took place on my credit file when I was under the impression that the car lot would pull my report and circulate it to potential lenders for their offers. I would assume once I did accept their offer an actual report would be pulled by the lender as a contingency of the offer. This was not what happened and I contacted the car lot (****) to revoke my authorization to them and for them to revoke it to anyone they distributed my information to. **** was rude, upset I wasn't getting the car, took a tone with me, repeatedly hung up on me. When I contacted the lot there were 4 credit companies that had requested my information and some didn't even seem to be ligitimate businesses as I ran their names and addresses on Google nothing came up.

Desired Settlement: I need all of the requests for my credit information that took place as a result of their actions starting on 9/3/12 and on to be formally removed from my credit files at all 3 reporting agencies (Experienc, Equifax and Trans Union) as it was done without my clear understanding of what was going to take place based on my conversation with ****.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We apologize but we can not move inquiry requests on your credit report. If that was possible, we would. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant experience with us. The credit application you had submitted to us had the box check marked allowing us to share your apllication with financial institutions to obtain financing on the vehicle you wished to purchase. The day we were informed that you were no longer interested in this vehicle, is the day we stopped all actions to obtain financing for you. Once again we apologize for any misunderstandings.

Consumer's Final Response
I was not told by the person who took my information and pulled my credit report in house that it would then be pulled by multiple businesses. Some that I am still in the process of researching since they have addresses that don't appear to be an actual business in any google search I have done. I'm upset that I was mislead and now have multiple inquiries when that was not what *** and I talked about on the phone when she called me after having pulled my report. She jumped the gun and started circulating it all over before I even viewed the vehicle!