BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Automotion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Automotion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Automotion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 30, 2004 Business started: 12/01/2000 Business started locally: 12/01/2000 Business incorporated: 12/15/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Brewer, Owner Mr. Mike Glasser, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Brewer, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Glasser, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 400 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HELLO MY COMPLAINT IS ABOUT AUTOMOTIVE, THEY SOLD ME CAR IN FEB 2014 AND THE CAR IS A PIECE OF CRAP. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS FROM MY JEEP. RECENTLY MY CAR ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I HAD TO TAKE TO THE AUTO SHOP. AND THE ENGINE LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON.WELL MY JEEP WAS IN THERE 3 WEEKS DUE TO AUTOMOTIVE SOLD ME THE JEEP THAT DIDN'T WORK. THE WHOLE TRANSMISSON HAD TO BE REPLACED. I ONLY HAD THE JEEP 6 MONTHS AND THE WHOLE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REBUILD. THE CAR WAS COVER UNDER WARRANTY HOWEVER THE WARRANTY DID NOT COVER EVERYTHING. THE TOTAL WAS 2000 AND I HAD TO PAY 500.00 OF THAT WHICH I DON'T THINK IS FAIR DUE TO THE FACT THE COMPANY SOLD ME A LEMON CAR. I CALLED OVER TO AUTOMOTIVE SPOKE TO THE MANAGER **** AND HE TOLD ME THE WARRANTY TO SHOULD COVER EVERYTHING I NEEDED BUT IT WAS NOT. SO I ASKED **** WAS AUTOMOTIVE GOING TO PAY THE 500 TO THE AUTO SHOP SINCE THEY SHOULD HAVE CHECK THE CAR OUT BEFORE HE SOLD IT TO ME. **** WAS VERY RUDE. HE DIDNT APOLOGIZE HE HUNG UP IN MY FACE WHEN I AM THE CUSTOMER. ALSO OTHER CUSTOMERS HAVE HAD PROBLEM WITH THEIR CARS AS WELL.

Desired Settlement: I WANT A REFUND FOR EVERYTHING I PAID ON MY CAR. I HAVE THE WRITTEN REPORT FROM THE INSPECTOR WHO CAME OUT AND LOOK AT MY JEEP WHEN IT WAS AT THE SHOP. THIS IS NOT MY ERROR. I AM REQUESTED ALL THE MONEY I PAID TO GET THE CAR FIXED WHEN AUTOMOTIVE ERROR NOT THE CUSTOMER. **** NEED TO TAKE RESPONSIBLE FOR HIS ACTIONS AND LEARN HOW TO TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS A LITTLE BETTER. HE SHOWED NO COMPASSION AND HE DIDNT CARE.

Business Response:

Unfortuntately ******* has skewed some information and/or doesn't understand her situation completely.  Here are the facts:

She bought the car early Feb 2014. 

Automotion sold her the car as/is.

She elected to purchase an extended service contract at the time of sale - her cost was $999 for a 2 year 'powertrain' extended service contract.  This is the company paid the majority of her issue transmission issue she is talking about.  the portion that wasn't paid was probably her $100 deductible and possibly some fluids/filter/other components that were not listed as a covered components on the service contract she purchased.  Furthermore, if the transmission issue was 'pre-exsiting' as in prior to the sale, the extended service contract company would not have paid to cover it.  Unfortunatley, automobiles are complicated and can work one day and fail the next.  When she bought the vehicle, the transmission was in good working condition.

It is unclear to us how many miles she has driven, but she purchased the car with 139,383 miles - this could be important information?

This is the first we have heard from her regarding issues on her vehicle, so if it was truly a 'lemon' we would have expected to hear from her prior to six months after the sale.

With respect to us being rude and/or hanging up on her - both are simply not true.  She was the one that was rude, called us names and continuously yelled 'you are rude' to us which is ironic.  I think she is projecting here and we definitely didn't hang up on her.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a used car from Automotion in Roseville, Ca. from ****, May 21st of this year. The following day while at the car lot we stated that the passenger door does not open from the outside or auto lock, they said to let their mechanic shop know as the car was going to be taken there already for a different repair. On the same day we also advised them the rear window did not roll up. When we picked up the car from the shop those repairs where not completed and the mechanic said the dealer would not approve those repairs, even though they had verbally agreed to do so. I feel if you purchase a car for 14,ooo the basic necessities should work such as the door open and the window roll up. I understand the practice of buying a used car and I am not asking for anything above and beyond basic working items. I have tried to call them and email them with no response.Thank You**** ********

Desired Settlement: For the dealership and sales staff to honor what they said. To fix the door so it opens and the window so it rolls up or compensation for having it fixed on our own.

Business Response:

We are surprised by this complaint and have since been in communication with this customer and some of his facts are skewed.  that said, we spoke with the customer today, 6.5.14, and they indicated they were going to remove the complaint.  please confirm they have done this.

-****

 

Consumer Response: Consumer states that she spoke with the dealership and they have agreed to give her $200 to fix the issue. The complaint is resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 19, 2013 I had purchased a 2004 Chrysler Pacific from Automations in Roseville, CA. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, I had noticed there was knocking in the front passenger in the engine area. Plus, my right back tire had kept on leaking air. So my husband and I had to put air in the tire every three days. It was during this time, I was commuting to Yountville for work which was an hour commute there and back. With this being said, *** ***** had suggested I needed new tires due to the fact that my tires in the front of the vehicle were going bald in the inside due to no alignment. Plus, the tire in the back driver side was about to shred apart. Then I had to get the inner and outer tie rod moog done in the front passenger. Then on September 10, 2013 the water pump had went out in my vehicle. So I am making monthly payments on a vehicle that is not workable. Product_Or_Service: 07/19/2013 Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I just want my vehicle fixed. I am willing to pay for ********** for their work they have done on the vehicle. However, I would want Automotions to pay for the water pump. I have tried contacting them and they are refusing to do any work on my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
****** ******* has given us a down payment check that was returned for insufficient funds on August 16th. We have made multiple calls to ****** and have only spoken to her twice after many unreturned messages. It is ironic that she states we would avoid her calls as she owes us money. It is now October 31st and, after multiple broken promises to pay the remaining balance of $225 from a total of $450 not including bank fees, it remains unpaid. We will be willing to contribute something, but only after the debt she owes is made whole after being overdue for over 70 days.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, I NEVER avoided ANY phone calls when Automotions had called me about the check that had bounced on August 16, 2013. I have explained to Automotions I was recently laid off (September 10, 2013) from my job that I had in Yountville as a Certified Nursing Assistant. I also had told them I would make the payment thinking I would get paid on a particular day, but that did not work out. I have made arrangements with Automotions to have $225.00 be paid in full on October 15, 2013. However, Automotions does not talk or discuss about the vehicle itself. I had to pay *** ****** $1200.00 to put new tires on the vehicle, have a front end alignment, have the passenger inner and outer tire rods done. That does not include the brakes that were only 30% when the vehicle had left the lot. From what I am understanding about the California law, an used auto dealer is not allowed to leave the lot with 30% on the brake pads. It has to be 50%. Furthermore, I just recently had to replace the water pump in my car, the timing belt, tensioner, and coolant as well. That is costing me another additional $710.00 by a professional mechanic. So I don't understand why Automations did not address the issue about the vehicle before it left the lot. I am quite sure they were aware of the cars issues, but chose to turned a blind eye to the situation. Here they go once again, turning a blind eye to the situation trying to put blame onto someone else instead of facing the issue. I am asking for a FULL refund of my monies that I had put into this vehicle. This particular vehicle was not mechanically sound when it had left the lot.

Final Business Response
***********'s service advisors are commissioned sales people. Their pay is directly proportionate to what dollar amounts they upgrade customers. The "BLIND EYE" was when ****** failed to notify us of what *********** stated. ****** failed to give us the opportunity of a second opinion nor any warranty recourse Automotion would have through the service facility that originally inspected the vehicle per the CA vehicle code. If you fail to allow us to participate in the assessment and comparison costs of the repair of the vehicle, then you cannot expect you are not fully responsible when you simply pay for the repairs. This is especially true when at the time of purchase ****** signed an AS IS-NO WARRANTY buyers guide that stated the dealer assumes no responsibility. We are not saying we would not be willing to help. We are stating the She should have never assumed our responsibility without involving us first.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The online price (XXXX) was listed on the 1st contract, signed, then thrown away and then a new contract was filled out w/ wrong amt (XXXX) After discussing car purchase and verbally agreeing to the online advertised price, a contract was filled out with the advertised price. after signing it, he said he made an error on it, crumbled it up, and threw it away. He then filled out new contract and said nothing changed, and was told to sign it. A short while later I noticed the mistake in price and called Automotion. left several messages, with no return calls, sent several emails through their website and still no response. finally talking to the manager he said jokingly "it wasnt done intentionally to go on trip to hawaii" and that he would take it over and get back to me. i never heard back from anyone. The car was purchased june 3, 2012 and 30 days later the transmission went out. it has been nothing but a nightmare purchase of my 1st car. I have been given the run around from the sales guy to the manager to the person who answers the phone. I dont have names because my notes were lost in a fire. I do have contract, and copies of internet advertisement as well as copies of emails sent and I can get phone records of when calls were made to automotion.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the difference in the verbally agreed upon advertised price of $6998, which is $1000 plus the interest

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We apologize for any misunderstanding. If ****** can indeed provide the printed advertised price of the vehicle, Automotion will be glad to credit her lien holder (Credit Acceptance Corp) the $1000 plus interest in question if Automotion has not credited the lien holder already after the initial conversation Ms ****** mentioned in her complaint. She will owe the requested amount less on her balance as the lien holder is entitled to any monies refunded on the vehicle being in the first position.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The "proof" was sent to you a year ago along with the direct contact through your company website. It's very simple you can go to your Craigslist account, go to June 2012 and scroll to xterra and you will have your ORIGINAL posting with the stated advertised price. I was verbally told over the phone in August 2012 that you did "not intentionally overcharge me" and would make it right. I'm just looking for Automotion to make this right.

Business' Final Response
We are confused. Her statement to the BBB states that she has copies of the advertisement. Now, she is stating that she does not. Unfortunately, She has bought the vehicle over a year ago and over 900 vehicles since her vehicle was in our inventory. We post over 40 posts of various vehicles a day and it is not as simply as finding a craiglist post as the memory capacity does not allow this. We requested this advertised proof when Ms ************ contacted ******* ****** initially. This is the reason we have waited to take action. Simply put, we need her to provide proof as she has stated she could to not only Automotion but in her statement to the BBB.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2003 chrysler PT Cruiser in Jan. of this year. I have had nothing but problems with it since then. It keeps leaking oil, and I have found it is missing several parts. I have now taken it to the shop twice. I have an extended warranty for the car, and now they won't approve anymore repairs for Crysler.

Desired Settlement: I would either like for the warranty to cover every part under the warranty and the dealership needs to cover the rest that is not covered by the warranty. This shouldn't be happening only months after my purchase!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response This vehicle in question is nine years old and has over 91,000 miles with a performance turbo charged motor. When they purchase the vehicle, it was explained in no uncertain terms that the dealership would assume no responsibility for the vehicle as we do not have a Bureau of Automotive Repair license or service facility. To imply repair or guarantee would be a violation of California Vehicle Code section XXXXX. We have multiple documents signed by the customer stating as such. The customer has a service contract that they have claimed over $2023 in coverage on the vehicle. Now as to the repairs in question, the two parts are not covered however their total is less than a $400 cost. When one owns a vehicle, there are always repairs, maintenance, flat tires etc that come with vehicle ownership. A vast majority of the repairs needed have been covered under their service contract. The customer needs to review their paperwork and see the signed documents spelling out that the service contract and the purchaser are soley responsible after the sale. We have copies readily available for the customer and/or the BBB. One other fact is the service contract is still in full effect. It is untrue that they will not cover anymore repairs. The contract clearly states they will cover up to the Actual Cash Value of the vehicle for each claim. They simply are not covering two parts in this case. The customer still has any listed part of the service contract under coverage.

Consumer's Final Response I am extremely dissatisfied with this response from Automotion. First I dont know what two parts the dealership is talking of. The vehical that I purchased from them has several nonfunctional parts. I have documentation available for the dalership as well as the better business bureau from chrysler stating what parts are defective and hindering the use of the vehical due to safty issues as well as issues that can cause further damage to the vehical. As far as the warrenty company goes they have refused to fix multiple parts on two different occasions. I have paper work from the warrenty company via Chrysler of what was not approved for repair ready for automotion and the better business bureau. The vehical code XXXXX states; "XXXXX.1. Every dealer who displays or offers one or more used vehicles for sale at retail shall post a notice not less than 8 inches high and 10 inches wide, in a place conspicuous to the public, which states the following: "The prospective purchaser of a vehicle may, at his or her own expense and with the approval of the dealer, have the vehicle inspected by an independent third party either on or off these premises.' " Has nothing to do with there inability to repair and fix the vehical for resale to the public. It just gives me the offer to have another mechanic look at the vehical before purchase. The california civil code section 1793.22 (b) does state that after a resonable amount of repair attempts and still the vehical is not able to be driven due to safty and futher damage issues the lemon law is then in effect. I also advise the dealership to refrence California civil code section 1794 and 1793.2 aa well as the lemon law information articles availible through the department of motor vehicals. I am fully aware of normal repairs and repair costs of owning a vehical like a flat tire but, having main components in a vehical not functional is not a normal repair expense for the owner to have to pay for only after a few months of purchasing the vehical from a dealership

Business' Final Response We advise the customer to contact the Burreau of Automotive Repair in reference to why a dealership without a service facility or BAR license can imply or perform service to a vehicle. We can not. We explained this to her at the time of purchase in documentation. All repairs are between her and the service contract company.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

4/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues