BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sierra Motors?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sierra Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 916-4334 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1879, Jamestown, CA 95327 http://www.sierramotors.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 02, 2001 Business started: 11/12/2001 Business started locally: 11/12/2001 Business incorporated: 11/01/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 53534.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Alexander, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Alexander, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Jamestown Motor Corporation
Products & Services

Sierra Motors Inc is a new and used car dealership that sales Chevrolet, Cadillac, Buick and GMC vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 18475 5th Ave

    Jamestown, CA 95327 (209) 916-4334 (209) 916-4332

  • PO Box 1879

    Jamestown, CA 95327

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 984-5272(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife took the car to the company. They did an inspection for $800.00. At the time the transmission was repaired and all work was guaranteed. We use the car to drive around town and then we left town for a while. When we came back we drove it some more and the transmission started acting up again like before. There has been less than 1000 miles put on the car since work in May. I called the shop and they stated that they will not look into the problem until I pay another $800. for an inspection.

Desired Settlement: Take care of the transmission with the guarantee free of charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Sierra Motors has contacted Mr. **** in regards to this matter. Sierra Motors and Mr. **** have reached a mutual agreement in the repair of his vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
Consumer called and stated that all repairs have been made and case has been resolved.

Final Business Response
Sierra Motors is repairing Mr. ****'s vehicle under warranty. Sierra Motors had been keeping Mr. **** updated with the repair process. As of 10/14/13, Mr. ****'s vehicle has been repaired under warranty.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misdiagnosed first visit, second visit no invoice & repair didn't work. My wife took her Envoy into the dealership on May 31, 2013 for a oil change & filter. Service writer made commit about back of car's rear suspension being down. Service writer said it looks like your air bag suspension has a leak. Dealership did oil change & when my wife went in to pick up her car, service writer advised her that she needed front brakes & the rear air bag suspension needs to be replaced. Made an appointment for June 6, 2013 to have rear suspension fixed & front brakes. After dropping my wife's car off on 6-6-13, by end of day dealership called to let us know the car was fixed & ready to pick up. On 6-7-13 when my wife was getting ready to go to work, we noticed the rear suspension was down on the ground again. My wife had her car for 2 weeks before I could get it back to the dealership. I called the dealership to let them know that the problem wasn't fixed. They told me to bring it back when I could. I was able to get it in to the dealership on 6-25-13. They inspected the rear suspension & did a driver's door recall. I was told that the car now needs the pump for the air bags. I wasn't happy, since I just spent $450 for the air bags. Made yet another appointment to take the car back for the pump. I contacted General Motors to see if there was anything they could do. General Motors contacted Sierra Motors to see if they could do anything for us. Sierra Motors told General Motors the best they could do is put the part in at no labor & with a discounted price on the part. My appointment was for July 3, 2013. Wife dropped off car to have the pumped replaced. When my wife went into the service center to see the service writer, she gave the keys to the service writer. He didn't write her up, nor have her sign anything, or even give her an invoice for the repair. Around 2:30pm got a call from the service writer telling us the car was ready to be picked up. Got to the dealership around 5:00pm on 7-3-13 picked up car & spent $469.37. This morning when my wife was getting ready to go to work we noticed the rear suspension was down on the ground again. My wife called me after she got to work & said the rear suspension never came up at all. When she got off of work & drove home, again the rear suspension never came up at all. I now have gone in twice for the same problem & have spent $919.37 & it still hasn't fixed the problem.

Desired Settlement: To have the car fixed the right way & have one of the rears refunded.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Steve Lane-Service Mangr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@sierramotors.net In response to case# ********* ***** ******, Mr. ****** brought his 2006 GMC Envoy in for the repair of his rear air bags on June 6, 2013 at 10:10 A.M. The rear air bags were replaced. The vehicle was picked up later that same evening with no signs of a low rear suspension. The parts for the repair were new and in normal operating condition when installed. We cannot foresee every issue that may arise with any given repair. We try to repair the current failed part to mitigate costs of major repairs for the customer. Although in this case, the air compressor failed shortly after the repair because it was continuing to run to try and inflate the deflated air bags. Sierra Motors, in good faith, offered Mr. ****** goodwill on several occasions. Of his air compressor replacement, Sierra Motors discounted the cost of the compressor and saved Mr. ****** $145.54, as well as the cost of labor which totaled $198.00. A goodwill total amount of $343.54. Sierra Motors also goodwill repaired Mr. ******'s air supply lines, a total of $311.94, parts and labor. A total of $655.48 for customer goodwill to Mr. ******. Sierra Motors went above and beyond our responsibility to help Mr. ******. We returned his vehicle to him in the best possible operating condition after the repairs. The vehicle is not currently having rear suspension issues and appears to be completely repaired at this time. Mr. ****** has a 12 month, unlimited mileage warranty on this repair.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We did receive a full refund but no thanks to Sierra Motors or BBB. BBB took the word of a business without checking the problem first. We originally were told by Sierra Motors that we could not get a refund of the money that was owed to us because Sierra Motors had to put the parts on our car. Even though our car was misdiagnosed 4 times before they finally got it right. After contacting BBB & telling BBB what had happened to us, BBB contacted they business & Sierra Motors told BBB that they put the parts on so why do they need to do a refund? BBB didn't follow through with finding out why our car took 4 tries to fix the problem & automatically sided with Sierra Motors. I had to contact B.A.R. to have our problem looked at. After going to the business & actually doing the job that should have been done from the beginning, B.A.R. found that the dealership was in the wrong & that they should have never charged us for 4 misdiagnosing. Thanks to B.A.R. we received our money back. Just because a company has been in business for a long time doesn't mean they are a good company. After Sierra Motors was told by B.A.R. to do a full refund, they told the person from B.A.R. that we aren't aloud to bring our cars back to the dealership. That's sad way to handle customer service. We would never take our cars there again after the way we were treated.

Business' Final Response
In closing response to case #XXXXXXXX, Sierra Motors fully refunded Mr. ****** for the repairs regarding this matter on August 14, 2013, in the amount of $944.87. Sierra Motors considers this case closed.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cosmetic repairs became mechanical repairs I took car into Sierra motors on X-XX-XX for body work and the shop called me to pick up vehicle. When I did it had problem mechanically with the power steering pump although they said pick it up knowing there was a problem. After a bit Subaru had to replace pump under my warranty contacted Sierra motors and would like a refund of my deductible of $500.00.

Desired Settlement: Want a refund of deductible $500.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Sierra Motors takes pride in our reputation of making all business transactions positive one. We at Sierra Motors know as well, not 100% of transactions can go without a problem. When a problem does occur, our goal is to determine cause, then form a plan to resolve with the least amount of inconvenience to the customer as possible. We believe most consumers understand unforeseen problems can happen. We also have experienced appreciation for our direct approach in navigating the issue and resolving it with customer satisfaction being our #1 priority. Mrs. ****** brought her 2011 Subaru into Sierra Motors for an estimate of repairs as a result of a collision. The original estimate included some cosmetic and some mechanical repairs. Upon completion of repairs, Mrs. ****** picked up her vehicle and returned it with a complaint of noise in power steering. We determined there was air trapped in the power steering system causing a slight groan only at idle. We advised Mrs. ****** that the air would likely work its way out while driving car for a day or so. We assured her if noise persisted we would bring the car back in and do whatever was necessary to resolve. On the following day Mrs. ******'s insurance carrier called Sierra Motors with Mrs. ****** on a conference line. Mrs. ****** proceeded to express an extreme high level of frustration verbally. We explained to Mrs. ****** our regret that she was experiencing this level of frustration but if we could get past the verbal part and just get the car back, we would take care of issue. Mrs. ****** stated she did not want to be inconvenienced in any way. We made arrangements with the rental car company to drop a vehicle at Mrs. ******'s work. We picked her Subaru up and returned it to Sierra Motors. We contacted our local Subaru Dealer and talked to the Service Mgr. He advised us this model power steering system was subject to problems. We advised Mrs. ****** we would be taking her car to Subaru for diagnosis and repair. After a couple days we contacted the Subaru Service Manager, he advised us the power steering pump was defective and would be replaced under warranty. Parts would be ordered and would be complete within a week. Sierra Motors in good faith provided the rental to Mrs. ****** at no cost to her during the time her car was at Subaru for the warranty repairs. Mrs. ****** also complained that there were chips in the paint on both rocker panels that she believed happened while in for collision repairs. We examined the photos taken of the car when Mrs. ****** originally came in for estimate. Pictures clearly showed paint chips were in the rockers at time of estimate. In good faith and goodwill, Sierra Motors removed repaired and refinished both rocker moldings at no cost to Mrs. ******. Mrs ****** picked up her vehicle, apologized for her animated frustration, gave us flowers and left. Mrs. ****** then called the owner of Sierra Motors to request he refund her $500 deductible on her collision claim. The $500 deductible is part of the complete estimate of repairs performed on Mrs. ******'s Subaru by Sierra Motors. We fail to see the correlation between the $500 deductible and any further need for compensation to Mrs. ******. Sierra Motors accepted the unrelated rental cost of $280.00 for the Subaru warranty repair as well as $400 unrelated rocker repair and refinish. Sierra Motors regrets any customer not feeling completely satisfied. We would prefer in this situation Mrs. ****** recognize and accept our goodwill investment of $680 as being sufficient. Thank You for your time and effort.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Sierra motors is the cause of the problems I had with my car the power steering pump replacement thru MY warranty on the car that was directly damaged by Sierra motors as far as the rental that was their responsibility also they had me pick up the car knowing there was a problem twice. I had to take the car to them twice to have the hood fixed which was in the estimate. As far as the rocker panel on my car produce the pictures showing that damage was there when I brought my car in and the power streering problem was NOT at an idle how on earth would you know if you had a problem with your steering at an idle as you stated after all after the second attempt at Sierra motors to FIX the problem that was to fix itself. I had to then take my car to Subaru to have it fixed . I would like a refund of cash money paid to you 3 weeks without my car frustration on the two times I was called to say it was ready knowing it had a problem. NO call back all at from the owner ( BAD BUSINESS BY ANY MEANS) . Prove to me what you did right.....

Business' Final Response
Sierra Motors Will gladly reimburse ****** ****** the $500.00 she is asking for. We just need ****** to show us the repairs that were not performed on her car as per estimate to justify reimbursement. Again, there is no acknowledgment of the goodwill investment already accepted by Sierra Motors. Rental car cost while in for Warranty repair unrelated to collision repair. Repair and refinish of both rocker panels from previous unrelated claim damage. In closing of this matter, until ****** demonstrates repairs were not performed to her vehicle as per estimate therefore entitling her to reimbursement, Sierra Motors will consider this matter closed.