BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Shingle Springs Honda?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Shingle Springs Honda

Phone: (530) 677-5700 Fax: (916) 933-5628 View Additional Phone Numbers 4070 Motherlode Dr., Shingle Springs, CA 95682 http://www.shinglespringshonda.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shingle Springs Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shingle Springs Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shingle Springs Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 18, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1984 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 00110.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary Wardlaw, Owner Ms. Amanda Artero, Sales Manager Mr. David Wardlaw, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Wardlaw, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Shingle Springs Honda is a new and used car dealership.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 4070 Motherlode Dr.

    Shingle Springs, CA 95682 (888) 875-1052

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 875-1052(Phone)
  • (916) 933-1522(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wife wife brought our van in for an oil change and came home with an oil leak and the splash shield not reinstalled properly. On September 16th my wife took our Honda Oddessy into Shingle Springs Honda for an oil change. After Shingle Springs Honda finished the oil change my wife drove home 4 miles. When she got home I notice a noise and looked under our van to see where the noise was coming from. I notice the front part of the splash shield was haggling down but the rear was still attached by both tabs. I took the service receipt out and called the Honda service department a few minutes after and spoke to **** ***** She asked me to bring the van back in so they could take a look at it. I told her the splash guard already looked scratched up and in some places even the plastic was melted. She said if there were any parts needed to make the repair if they didn't have them in stock they would order them and make the repair later. I told her I had a busy week and wouldn't be able to bring the van back until next week but would tape the part up until my wife or i could bring it back to be looked at. On my way home from work september 18th around 2:30 pm i stopped by their shop and asked if the service department could take a quick look but was told there was at least an hour wait maybe longer. I was asked to set an appointment if i didnt want to wait next time. My wife call and set an appointment for september 25th at 1pm. On the 25th she took it back and after waiting more than an hour she was told by the service writer **** **** that the van had been inspected and it was there feelings that the bump on the front right side of our van two years earlier was the cause of the splash shield clips popping apart and that they would not take responsibility for it and recommended she by a new one for $200. They also claimed that now we had an oil leak which was not there just days before. They said that they had used zip ties to hold the part in its place. My wife was so upset that we decided that we would wait a day and call the service manager. On September 26th at 3pm I call back and asked to speak with the the manager *** to discuss the new damage to our van and how it happened. He took my call and I explained what had happened over the past few weeks. *** looked over the service records and read the notes about the cause being from a small bump on our right side bumper that took place years ago and agreed with me that there was not way that could have caused this but went on to say that people come in all the time trying to pull a fast one over on their service department and that he sees splash shields all over town hanging down from all the low driveways and parking lot entrances "like food for less". He went on to say they would not fix it. After our call I contacted who I was told the owner was, "****" but received a return call from a Dave. I told him i was expecting a call from Gray but he said he was never there. He don't give me but a minute to talk and said he spoke with his staff and they would not fix it. I asked that he think about it and get back to me but he assured me there would be no thinking and added one more comment "we don't take the splash shield off on any cars to do an oil change". After our call i spoke with two different shops and both confirmed that he's comments about not removing the shield was not entirely true. They said that some cars you cant get to the filter without removing it and if the tec is under pressure to work quickly its the fastest way to find the oil filter and remove it. With our van both shops i spoke with said they would only remove the front screws or tabs but would reattach them after the filter was replaced. We want for Shingle Springs Honda to step up and do the right thing by ordering a new splash shield and check to see if the new oil leak is caused from our recent service.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the splash shield replace with a new Honda part, the oil leak looked at by third party(we r will to pay for the inspection) to make sure it was not do to the work they did and if it they did cause it that they would fix it too. We would also like for them to pay for our next oil change at a Honda dealer of our choice for our the stress and time this has cost us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Vehicle was brought in 09-16-13 we performed an filter change at customer request.The procedure to perform oil and filter change does not include the removal of splash shield in any way.Also noted on repair order were oil leaks from what appeared to be power steering feed hose and possible power steering pump as well as engine oil leak from behind timing cover(potential severe engine damage could occur left unrepaired and customer declined any further inspection)We are unsure what day Mrs. ******** called with concern of splash shield hanging down(service express advisor Taryn received call-Kylas normal day off was on 09-16-13 she was not working)she was advised to bring vehicle in and we would be happy to inspect it.(as courtesy to our customer).At that time Mrs. ******** advised us she had no time to return to inspect and would return (as indicated by customer lives 4 miles away). Mrs.******** called on 09-25-13 and spoke with service advisor **** and stated her "oil pan was dragging" and asked when she could come in and get it looked at that wont take too long.At that time she also stated her husband may have already ordered one .Service advisor **** replied come on by at your convenience and it sounds like your referring to the splash shield hanging down and it would take a short amount of time to inspect and possibly resecure. Mrs.******** said ok so no appointment needed I'll be in around 1pm.Documented mileage was 633 miles and 10 days later since oil and filter change was performed.(when cause for concern occurred) She was written up and given a $0 estimate to inspect. We then inspected and resecured splash shield as best as possible at no charge as a courtesy to our customer.We at that time gave an estimate for the replacement of splash shield for proper repair and also advised her of the possibilities of how this may have occurred via pulling up to curbs in parking lots,ditches in and out of parking lots or the physical damage seen on front bumper passenger side as well as fender damage and oil leak same side.(fender bender??)We also recommended oil leak inspection to determine cause(oil leaks also noted on customer repair order from 09-16-13 and 06-14-13)Mrs. ******** then accused us of leaving splash shield loose even though oil and filter change does not require removal.Customer left the dealership.(Total time from time of write up 12:59pm and then customer had final copy of repairs and recommendations at 1:36 pm-all of which is docummented on legal forms and available upon request)*** ***** (service manager)received phone call from Mr ******** I believe same day and we reviewed concern. I (***-service manager)explained to customer the procedure and the fact that we do not have to remove splash shield for any reason to perform oil and filter change . *** also advised how this may have occurred either from fender bender,pulling up to curbs till tires hit,pulling out of parking lots(transistion from incline to flat road surfaces)Mr ******** insisted we are the cause and requested replacement for free.No mention of oil leak as indicated on BBB complaint.I(***-service manager) advised customer we are not taking responsibility for splash shield and as a courtesy we reinstalled it at no charge even though physical damage was obvious. Splash shields are a common concern on all vehicles(ford,chevy,honda,toyota etc. )to get caught on the parking lot blocks when pull up to. Mr ******** then called and left message for the owner of dealership . **** ******* (General Manager) immediately called customer back after reviewing customers concern with staff and paperwork he then advised customer Shingle Springs Honda will not take responsibility for the splash shield being loose due to the fact that the splash shield does not need to be removed (it would take more time during service)to complete oil and filter change.Time is money in this business and to perform procedures unrelated and not requested to job is not cost effective and illegal. I (*** Flint-Service Manager) welcome and invite anyone including customer to our shop to lift his vehicle and show procedure to perform oil and filter change. Any time,date,mileage or oil leaks that weren't there are documented prior to last service references can be supported by legal documentation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Shingle Springs Honda is missing the point here. My wife brought our van in for an oil change and the splash guard was secure and in its place or it would have been noted on the service order. 1. When my wife left Shingle Springs Honda the splash guard was dragging on the ground. 2 My wife came straight home (approx 3 miles) and we could both hear a new noise coming from under her van. I went out and looked under the van and found that the two front screws holding the splash shield were missing and the guard was scraped up pretty badly. 3. I called Shingle Springs Honda and spoke with the service dept who said " I'm sorry to hear about what happen but we will get it taken care of for you. Just bring your van back when you have a chance and if we don't have the part in stock we can order one and put it on later. I told her that we had a very busy week and that could secure the part with tape until my wife had time to bring it back. She said that would not be a problem and she would make notes on our account to reflect our conversation, date and time. My request is not unreasonable considering the way this event unfolded. We are asking that the BBB help us restored our van back to the condition it was when we brought it in. I have spoke with two local shops that do oil changes in the area and both said " on our van model it's much easier to drop the front part of the splash guard to get to the oil filter" We are asking that Shingle Springs Honda fix our van by putting a new splash guard on or provide us with the name and number of their insurance company so we can file a claim with them. We will consider this situation settled if the van Is fix or if their insurance company pays us a check in the amount to have it fix through the next closest Honda Dealership. Thanks for your help.

Final Business Response
If splash guard was dragging as customer was leaving then why on earth would you keep driving? ( customers concern sounds like dragging vehicle around with no wheels-scary noise) As stated customer lives 3.3 miles away. 10 days , 633 miles later customer returned and Shingle Springs Honda reinstalled as best as possible using our parts and labor at no cost to customer as courtesy to our customer. Shingle Springs Honda accepts no responsibility for customers accusation. I recommend customer talks to whom regularly services vehicle, perhaps the 2 shops that incorrectly state you have to remove the front part of splash shield to perform oil filter change and ask them to replace splash shield since they remove the front splash shield unnecessarily .Shingle Springs Honda has serviced Mr ********* 2005 Odyssey 3 times in 8 years and 106,000 miles. Service Manager (*** ****** again invites customer and any other shop, friend or family member customer spoke with to come to Shingle Springs Honda to do a mock oil and filter change on customers odyssey so customer and other shops customer indicated better understands how to perform an oil and filter change .If no one wants to be educated on how an oil and filter change are performed properly then I will consider this matter closed.