BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mazda of Stockton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mazda of Stockton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mazda of Stockton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 08, 2002 Business started: 06/11/1983 Business started locally: 06/11/1983 Business incorporated: 03/25/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Kim, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Kim, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

Mazda of Stockton specializes in new & used vehicle sales and service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 3158 Auto Center Circle Suite C

    Stockton, CA 95212 (209) 242-0400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 477-2084 (Fax)
  • (209) 956-1537 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought car from mazda 2/9/14 paint started pealing off car took back to may 2nd 2014 was told to take into dodge for warranty repair. Dodge denied saying there factory does not peal. Have bring to mazda have car fax no accident I don't know what to do need help

Desired Settlement: Just paint the car under warranty or mazda pay for it.

Business Response: Our Sales Manager Mike spoke to ********* **** this morning regarding the paint on the rear bumper of the vehicle.  

 
We have agreed to repaint the rear bumper for ********* ****.
 
 
***** ***
General Manager
Mazda of Stockton

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quoted price on 2013 Mazda 3, tried to sell me a 2012 Mazda 3 Note: The address of the dealership is now noted as being 2188 East Hammer Lane, Stockton, CA. I believe this is the same dealership as the one noted in the BBB listing as being on Auto Center Circle, Stockton CA. Negotiation was by Email: 09/28/12: ******* ********* quoted $18,718 for a 2012 auto transmission iTouring Mazda 3. I stated I wanted a 2013 not a 2012. 09/29/12: ******* stated she'd conferred with her sales manager and yes they could hold that price for a 2013 model. Quoting from her 9/29/12 email to me "i talked to my manager and we can do the same price for a 2013". I confirmed more than once that they were quoting a 2013 model. Each time she confirmed that yes it was for a 2013 model. 10/2/12 ******* arrives in the car I am to buy at my house (I live in Tracy, CA) to take me to the dealership in Stockton to sign paperwork and pick up the car. A minute into the drive I notice that I can't see the 'start/stop push button' ignition - all I see is a key in the ignition. I know that the 'start/stop push button' is new in the 2013 models. I ask "where is the start/stop push button ignition". She says "oh you get that in the Grand Touring model, not in this basic iTouring model". I say "that's true of the 2012 models, but it's standard equipment in the 2012 iTouring model". She says "there's been trouble finding the 2013 model you wanted, it's not at the holding yard, I had to go to Mazda of Dublin to get this model". I said "the price we agreed is for the 2013 model. If this is not a 2013 model then the deal is off and you need to drop me back home right now". She did that. If I had not known to look for that detail to distinguish 2012 and 2013 models I don't know when or IF I would have been told the car I was buying was not what Mazda had represented. Later ******* called back and offered $300 off the out the door price for the 2012. But by that time trust had been breached and I no longer felt comfortable doing business with Mazda of Stockton at any price.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mazda USA to provide me with a 2013 iTouring automatic transmission Mazda 3 in Indigo Lights Mica with the Dune interior at the agreed price of $18,718 plus applicable fees and sales tax. I would like in person acknowledgement from a regional dealership Mazda manager that the Mazda staff behavior described in this complaint is transparently unethical, and how he or she plans to train their staff to avoid such transgressions in the future. I recognize car sales is a high pressure business - but all the more reason for senior management to take steps to ensure that that pressure does not act as an incentive for unethical practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** P. ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@yahoo.com This is in response to your letter dated October 9, 2012 on the above reference case. We have since completed a vehicle sales transaction on a 2013 Mazda 3 with Mr. ****** on October 6, 2012. The dealership has received several positive email responses by Mr. ****** in regards to the sale of the vehicle and the overall performance of the Mazda 3. Included in his last email he also stated that "he would be more than happy to rescind the complaint to the BBB once an opportunity arises". Please contact Mr. ****** so he can execute a recession to the complaint. Should you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to call me at XXX XXX-XXXX ext # 1100. Sincerely, ******** P. ****** Finance Director

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved