Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken Harvey's Tracy Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken Harvey's Tracy Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ken Harvey's Tracy Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2007 Business started: 10/02/2003 Business started locally: 10/02/2003 Business incorporated 10/02/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 62821.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager Ms. Annette Coito, Digital Marketing Dir. Mr. Charles Lunsford, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Tracy Mazda
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of used and new vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ken Harvey's Tracy Mazda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2680 Auto Plaza Drive

    Tracy, CA 95304 (877) 408-0432 (877) 412-7706 (877) 411-7682

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Mazda 6 on 2/14/14 at that time I also purchased the extended warranty with the understanding that it could be cancelled within 30 days and my loan would be credited for the warranty amount with no penalty. I called on 2/17/14 & left a message for ******* in the finance dept that I wanted to cancel the warranty. I received no response so I e-mailed our sales associate on 2/18/14 that we wanted to cancel the warranty. No response from Tracy Mazda. I called again on 2/19 & left a message for ******* in finance as well as e-mailing the dealership & the sales assoc. I finally received a voice message on 2/24 from ******* stating that the warranty would be cancelled. I have called my finance company several times since then but they have not recieved the notice of cancellation nor the refund check. I e-mailed our sales associate several times & never received a response however, my husband did receive an e-mail from our salses assoc that he has let the finance dept & the sales dept know that we wanted the warranty cancelled & we would be receiving a phone call from Lisa with confirmation. I did receive a voice mail from Lisa on 3/10/14 that the cancellation & check were going in the mail that night to my finance company. I called my finance company on 3/24/14 they have received nothing. I left a voice mail for Lisa at the dealership on 3/24 & as of 3/31/14 have had no response. I checked with my finance company again today 3/31/14 & they still have not recied a check or the cancellation.

Desired Settlement: I want the extended warranty cancelled and the refund check sent to my finance company overnight immediately. I want all cancellation information in writing for my records.

Business Response: The check was sent to the finance company as agreed. 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Just an FYI if you would advise your customers that once they have cancelled the warranty it will take 6 weeks to process the refund then maybe you will not have any future complaints regarding this matter.  No one ever advised us of a time frame so we had no idea that it would take that long or we would have never agreed to the warranty in the first place.

Thank you for your assistance.

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A 2005 Mazda 6 excelerating at high speeds on city streets and California high was with my foot off the excelerator pedal. Over the past year my 2005 mazda 6 has excelerated to high speeds on the freeway and city streets. I have take this vehicle to Tracy Mazda several time for this problem. The dealer installed a data recorder which was in the car for 5 months last year and nothing was recorded to explain the problem we are haveing. Just last month the car race down the freeway at high speeds exceeding 90 miles an hour. I tried pushing on the break to stop the car but the break pedal does not stop the car or slow it down. I had to place the car in nutueral and shut the car off just to get the system rebooted. After shutting the car off i drove it to mazda to let them know the problem. As I pulled into the shop with the car acting up again they told me to shut the car off and they have had the car for over a week and the shop cannot get the car to act up. the problem I have with this is that my daughter of 21 years of age is driving this car to college each day at Sac City College and she has had the same problem. I need help or guidance on what else i can do to get this problem solved. I do not want to sell the car then have the same problem happen to someone else. If you have any question please feel free to call me at any time of the day. Thank You ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I need them to either place the cruise controll or replace the throttle body whic hI think it could be. I also think it could be the electronic gas pedal that is installed in the vehicle.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@tracymazda.com Mr. ******'s car has been in our shop several times and we have been unable to duplicate the problem he described. Our service manager ***** ****** drove the car extensively and could not get it to fail. We escalated the complaint to Mazda North American Operations and they installed a recording device that was also unable to detect a problem. Due to the fact that we have been unable to replicate the concern, we have been unable to recommend a remedy at this time. Unfortunately, we are not in a position to be randomly replacing parts on Mr. ******'s vehicle hoping that it will fix a problem that we can't verify. I would be happy to meet with Mr. ****** personally to discuss further options.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I think the dealer needs to take a closer look at the information it is saying. The main problem was defective throttle bodies in those cars do to the distributor getting defective parts and supplying Toyota with those parts. Know they either needs to replace the cruise control or the throttle body in this vehicle. I would not buy another Mazda from that dealer. As I have found them to be unprofessional and not willing to fix or correct this problem. Just cause they cannot get the problem to act up by one of its technicians does not mean there a problem with either the cruise control or the throttle body. Even though no other case have been reported to Mazda this does not mean that other owns have had the same problem and took it some where else to have it fix. In conclusion I have own several Mazda in the past I would not buy another Mazda. As for trading in the car they are only willing to give me $3500 for my car and that is below fair market value of $4800 according to KBB.

Business' Final Response
In response to Mr. ******'s complaint and reference to Toyota unintended acceleration problems it needs to be noted that Toyota's findings showed that the causes were related to either drivers error ie. stepping on the gas pedal instead of, or in addition to stepping on the brake pedal or improperly installed floor mats. We would be happy to verify if the floor mats are properly installed. Due to Mr. ******'s insistence that there is an undiagnosed problem with his car, we would be happy to find a suitable replacement vehicle and take his current vehicle in as a trade-in.