BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 09/26/1988 Business started locally: 09/26/1988 Business incorporated: 05/24/1994 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager Ken Harvey, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Tracy Honda
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of new and used cars vehicles.

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 3450 Auto Plaza Way

    Tracy, CA 95304 (877) 369-7470

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 369-7470(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During negotiations for the purchase of a vehicle, certain things were agreed upon in writing and were not delivered. I purchased a 2010 Honda odyssey from Tracy Honda, with 21 thousand miles and factory warranty with the intent of a hassle free experience. I traded in a vehicle knowing full well I would get much less from a dealer rather than selling it myself. This was done to expedite the car purchase and ensure professionalism throughout the experience. I did not haggle the listed selling price of the car, and simply asked that a tow hitch and brake controller be installed so I could tow my camping trailer. This was agreed upon in writing but was vague in the details. All I cared about was the odyssey be able to safely tow my camper without voiding my factory warranty. Apparently there was a lack of understanding on the dealerships part and the agreement could not be fulfilled. So in short I paid their asking price, and accepted their offer for my trade, and did not get what I was promised. This practice of business in my opinion is of very low moral stature, not to mention fraudulent. I am very unhappy with Tracy Honda as a business.

Desired Settlement: I would like Tracy Honda to pay the cost of having these towing implements installed on my Honda as agreed upon.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Consumer states that the company installed the aftermarket accessories that they had both agreed upon. They did take longer than they had promised but they came through in the end.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used car with high interest rate,manager pressured us to buying extended warranty so lender can lower the interest rate. Bought a 2009 Honda Civic from Tracy Honda(TH) in Sept 26, 2012 for my daughter, ******. I co-signed with her and we have have very good credit(710 and 690, respectively). Before signing, I specifically said we don't need any warranty or gap covergae. TH claimed Honda Finance gave my daughter 12.95% interest rate and offered us extended warranty claiming the bank will lower the rate knowing that the used car will have the said warranty. I said we didn't need it but finance manager, Todd Suender,said he negotiated for the lower rate of 8.24% so we have to buy the warranty or take the 12.95% rate. To begin with, the warranty is for a brand new car not a used one and he fooled us into believing the car is covered for 7 years but failed to say it starts from the first date of sale which was 3 years ago, before we even bought it. So we're actually getting just 4 years out of the 7 for the price of $2195.00. We went back to the store the next day to cancel after reading the fine print. Another finance manager,**** ******, tried persuading us not to cancel and remarked: Honda is not God-made and good lcuk to your daughter driving from Tracy to Pleasanton! Very unprofessional. He then called another finance manaer, **** ****, who gave us a photocopied cancellation form for the warranty and asked us to sign and leave. Adding that we should just wait for our notice in the mail. I said no, fill it out,sign it and give us a copy. **** ****** filled it out with the store info but did not sign. Hopping to get an original copy the next day, we went back only to be told by **** ****: You just have to trust people. We are a reputable dealer and $2000 will not break our bank--along those lines. I felt aggravated. I asked him politely to fill out the form with the refund amount of $2195 and sign it. He did and I asked for the original copy, he said wait for it in the mail, that they have sent it the day before.

Desired Settlement: I want the total amount of the warranty's cost built in to our loan to American Honda Finance, be refunded: $2195.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** General Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@tracyhonda.com The extended warranty has been cancelled and the contract was rewritten minus the extended warranty on October 24,2012. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance. ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: INSULTING CUSTOMER AT THE DEALERSHIP I CAME TO THE TRACY HONDA DEALER SHIP TO BUY A HONDA ODESSY TOURING, I WANTED TO TRADE IN MY OLD HONDA ACCORD HYBRID. THE FLOOR MANAGER WANTED MY KEYS TO THE CAR AND THE CAR REGISTRATION, SO I GAVE HIM WHAT HE REQUESTED FOR TRADE IN VALUE. THE PRICING DID NOT WORK OUT FOR ME, SO ASK FOR MY KEYS TO MY OLD HONDA ACCORD HYBRID. THE FLOOR MANAGER GAVE ME MY CAR KEYS, BUT FAILED TO GIVE ME MY CAR REGISTRATION BACK TO ME. I ASK HIM FOR MY REGISTRATION, AT THAT TIME HE CLAIMED THAT I NEVER GAVE IT TO HIM AND HE RAN OFF TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER, DID NOT SPEND ANYTIME WITH MY PROBLEM, SO I WENT INTO THEIR MANAGERS OFFICE ASK THE SALES PERSON THAT ALSO WAS WORKING WITH THE FLOOR MANGER FOR MY REGISTRATION HE SAID HE DID NOT HAVE MY REGISTRATION. AT THIS TIME I AM GETTING UPSET THAT THEY LOST MY REGISTRATION. I TOLD THEM I GAVE IT TO YOUR FLOOR MANAGER AND THEY SAID SORRY WE DON'T HAVE IT. THEN IN THE BACK GROUND THE HEAD MANAGER (WHOM WAS INDIAN FROM INDIA) IN HIS HAND HE HAD MY REGISTRATION. THE HEAD MANAGER ALL THIS TIME IS NOT SAYING THAT HE HAS MY CAR REGISTRATION, HE IS WAVING MY CAR REGISTRATION IN THE AIR, WITH OUT A WORD OUT OF HIS MOUHT. SO I SEE IT IN HIS HAND AND I SAID GIVE IT TO ME! DO TO I WAS VERY UPSET, FOR HOW I WAS BEING TREATED AT THE DEALERSHIP BY FLOOR MANAGER WHOM JUST LEFT ME DANGLING AND HE RANNING OFF TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER. THER INDIAN MANAGER WAS TAUNTING WITH MY REGISTRATION, HE WANTED ME TO APOLOGIZE. IF I DID NOT SAY SORRY HE WAS NOT GOING TO GIVE MY REGISTRATION BACK. I HAD MY WIFE GO TO GET IT FOR ME. THIS WAS THE WOREST CUSTOMER SERIVE THAT I EVERY GOT IN MY LIFE. THEY TREATED THIS HORRIBLE WAY DO TO I DID DECIDED TO BUY A CAR FROM THEM. I HAVE BOUGHT 3 HONDA IN THE PAST, BUT I WILL NEVER IN MY LIFE SET FOOT IN THIS DEALERSHIP. I SHOULD HAVE CALL THE POLICE AND REPORTED THAT TRACY HONDA HAS UNLAWFUL SIEZED OF MY PROPERTY. TRUST HONDA OF AMERICA WILL ALSO HEAR FROM ME TOO

Desired Settlement: I WANT A FORMAL LETTER OF APOLOGY FROM THE HEAD MANAGER AND THE FLOOR MANGER. THIS HAPPENED ON AUGUST 25, 2012 at 2:30pm.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@tracyhonda.com After discussing this situation with the individuals that were present, it appears to have been an unfortunate situation that could have and should have been avoided. After agreeing on the price of the new vehicle, we were unable to give Mr. ****** the trade-in amount he requested and he became very upset. There were two different salespeople working with Mr. ****** and one the salesperson who had received the registration from Mr. ****** was now helping another customer. The second salesperson had no knowledge of the registration. We should have immediately returned his keys and registration to him but due to confusion regarding the location of the registration, Mr. ******'s dissatisfaction escalated to a point where he was being abusive towards the salesperson and salesmanager on duty. I hereby wish to extend an apology to Mr. ****** for not promptly returning his registration to him and this whole unfortunate event could have been avoided. ****** ****** General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1