Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Corning Ford Mercury Chrysler Dodge Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Corning Ford Mercury Chrysler Dodge Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Corning Ford Mercury Chrysler Dodge Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 1997 Business started: 02/01/1987 in CA Business started locally: 02/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/04/1986 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 130841.

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 21017.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Benny Brown, President Mr. Steve Lowery, Service Manager Mr. Paul Sutfin, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benny Brown, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Lowery, Service Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Corning Ford Inc.
Products & Services

Corning Ford Mercury Chrysler Dodge Jeep sales & service new and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 2280 Short Dr

    Corning, CA 96021 (800) 954-0718

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took a ford pup for engine noise they fixed they say it's good 300 miles later same noise took back they tried to fix but did $10,000 damage . First paid $700 for repair and now paid $1000 to take pickup out.

Desired Settlement: Fix my pickup for the damage they created.

Business Response: Tell us why here...We have already spoke with ***** an agent from the B.A.R. this high millage vehicle was handled correctly, The customer drove this vehicle without an air filter assembly that was noted on the original  repair and after the original repair the customer drove it over 400 miles with no problems then had it towed in and with the customers authorization we tore down the engine to discover that it has a bad piston at that point the customer elected to tow the vehicle out to repair himself. on the original repair we replaced a rocker bolt that had broke and the duel rocker assembly came loose causing a knocking noise. Customer is aware that these are two different concerns. This engine is not fixable and needs replacing customer [****** **** ***] fleet account declined further repairs and had this vehicle towed out of our dealership.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:First we heard a loud popping noise coming from the air cleaner, we opened the air cleaner and found out the sound was coming from the engine actually. The air filter was dirty and needed to be replaced so we left it out and was just going to have it replaced at corning ford, so we had the truck towed into the dealership. we just told brad the service writer to just throw in a new air filter. They said they found a broken exhaust rocker arm bolt and replaced it so we paid for the repair and took the pick up back. Started using the pick up again and 300 miles later the same sound started happening again so we had it towed back to corning ford. They checked it out again and claims they fixed the intake side instead of the exhaust. They started the pick up and test drove it because there was a one mile difference on the odometer. Thats when the exhaust valve broke and damaged the engine, they then lied to us by saying the injector broke and pieces of it is flapping on the piston and they couldn't  fish it out. They called me and asked if we would want it reassembled with the broken pieces left inside, we said get the pieces out and they took the head off and found a broken valve which is the one that damaged the engine and was the same vavle they worked on the first time. They then told us the engine is going to need a rebuild/new engine install we denied it and told them we want the pick up out of the dealership. They deny fault even though what damaged  the engine was the same valve they worked on and fixed the first time.

Business Response: Tell us why here...our story has not changed this vehicle had two different concerns, we do not believe the engine damage is our fault, I have interviewed the technician in front of ***** @ the BAR our story never changed,

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: why were we told the injector  was broken inside which it was not and then not told about the new part that was installed which broke the valve. Thats where you are changing the story.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: took my p.u. into corning ford yo be repaired had a smell of fuel and the engine had a miss in it .received a call the next day from corning ford telling me their was a gasket leeking why their is a fuel smell and the computer had a part going bad i asked if that is why the engine had a miss was told yes. charge 900.00 to do repairs i paid. picked up p.u. went to leave hopped on freway the p.u. imediatly started missing again i phoned corning ford told them had same problem told me to bring back they would fix it. next day they called told me two injectors were going out that will cost aprox. 1400$ again had to get fixed now my little problem has cost me aprox. 2300$ they called next day sayed p.u. is done went to pick up after paying the bill again. said bring pu around to front waited 20 min no pu asked were pu is they said lets go see went in shop my truck has three mechanics looking at it one meckanic says took on 20 mi test drive ran great now it wont turn over. at that time the manager and i saw they had bunch of wires that was a mess was told take a seat they fis asap. then came out 20 min later was told call me in morning . they called in morning was told wireing harness was fried another 2200 now my littli fix is 3500$after doing some reserch with other ford dealers was told their mech. made a common mistake with harnes when he worked on it that caused harness to short out i have never had a issue with electrical at all . this senarial is way to fishy i have spoke to many profesianal about this and i am to believe i am being snookered.

Desired Settlement: i feel i was charged for their miss diagnostic on the first visit witch lead to the whole week of hell. i also feel i should received my money back on the harness has i have done extensive reaserch on this step on performing injector replacment and its blanted obviase this was damaged on their watch. again way to fishy. i should receive payment back of aprox.2700 minas the aprox 400 they gave me on a discount makes the total returnd to of aprox. of 2200 thank you

Business Response:

CUSTOMERS VEHICLE 2004 F-250 WITH A 6.0 DIESEL WITH 175,198 MILES HAS MULTIPAL CONCERNS. AFTER TALKING TO THE CUSTOMER HE FEELS THAT WE DID NOT DO THE CORRECT REPAIR PROCERURE TO HIS VEHICLE, WE HAVE HIS OLD PARTS HERE AND TRIED TO HAVE A CONVERSATION WITH HIM AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR AND SERVICE MANAGE AND SHOP FOREMAN. HE STATED THAT HE HAD SPOKE WITH 2 DIFFARENT FORD DEALERS AND VIEWED REPAIR PROCEDURES ON U-TUBE, WE DO NOT FEEL WE DID ANYTHIG WRONG AND HAVE ALL REQIRED DOCUMANTATION. ALSO AT THE TIME THE CUSTOMER PICKED UP HIS VEHICLE HE GIVEN A $400.00 DISCOUNT TWARDS HIS BILL HE HAD AUTHORIZED 2080.00 DOLLARS AND PAID 1639.79 INCLUDING SALES TAX, HE ALSO WAS GIVEN AT NO-CHARGE A FREE LOANER VEHICLE FROM JULY,24TH THRU JULY 28TH. WE AT CORNING FORD DO NOT WISH TO HAVE ANY UPSET CUSTOMERS AND ALWAYS TRY TO RESOLVE ALL CONCERNS FOR THE BEST OF THE CUSTOMER AND DEALERSHIP..

Consumer Response: after reading corning fords  letter i even stand more firm on my position as they say they have the wiring harness  .i find very odd i requested that harness 7 days after i returned for vacation witch would be 7 days after they burned it i was told it was discarded. they continue to avoid the real problem that they damaged the wiring harness and continue to try and pass the damage on to me. also in reading their story they did not address the issue that is on day one they miss diagnosed my truck and charge me some 900.00 and change . again i took truck in because the engine had a miss and had a smell of fuel. dropped truck of to get fix was called latter that day telling me it had some fuel gasket  issue and the miss was some part in the computer. i question their diagnose about the miss was told that was the problem.  so i am relying on their  expertise. i go pick my  truck up the next day. as i am driving home it still has the same issues.was told to bring it back that they will fix it. and of course they did to the tune of around 1500.00 again. why am i paying for their mistakes . on their report card that i received from them after paying the now! second bill i read on back in the mechanics comment section on vehicle report card he himself states that the truck  has a miss .and that is exactly why i took truck in first place. this report was filled out before i even picked my truck up. again why does corning ford continue to skirt the issues  again i am expecting a refund. yes they did loan me a car and did give me a credit . i believe that those  gestures also lean towards corning ford admitting some fault in this issue . again i truly believe that what  has been written and put on their paperwork  shows to a large degree, corning for needs and should admit fault. thank you     *** *****

Business Response:

I have read the rejection written by Mr. *****, I spoke with service advisor **** ******* about the statement that he had called in and was told the wiring harness was disguarded he dosen't remember that conversation. I did confirm that we indead do have the harness in question, As far as changing our opinion of this being our fault that the wiring harness burned up again at this time we do not feel this is the fault of our technician we stand firm with our original decission.
Thank you,
***** ******

5/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please remove me from your mailing lists. I am NOT interested in buying a new vehicle or an auto loan. I am on your mailing list derived from United States Bankruptcy Court data.

Desired Settlement: Remove me from ALL mailing lists immediately.

Business Response: Hello,

We use some 3rd party vendors who we buy mail from,  On each of those there is an opt out message with the info needed to opt out of all future advertising.  If it is a offer direct from Corning Ford we will go through our database and remove the client.

Thanks

**** ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

There is no "opt-out" information on their mailings.

8/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corning Ford falsely advertised a car as a top of the line model. After we paid the price for that car, we found out it is a lower model. My wife ******* and I, along with my brother-in-law ****, went to Corning Ford to purchase a vehicle in August of 2010. We purchased a used car that day with roughly 30,000 miles for $14,650. ***** *****'s Corning Ford falsely advertised a 2009 Dodge Avenger SXT as a 2009 Dodge Avenger R/T. The base price of the SXT is at least $2,500 lower than that of the R/T. There is a manufacturer's back trunk fin, and "R/T" decal on the car we purchased. This caused my wife and I to believe we were paying for, and receiving a 2009 Dodge Avenger R/T. Not until we recently have experienced car troubles, did we come to find out the car is actually a Dodge Avenger SXT, a step down from the R/T. This has caused much frustration on our part to find the right part, as we had believed we needed parts for an R/T. Not only the frustration of the parts, but the fact that the car was labeled as an R/T, sticker priced as an R/T and sold as an R/T. We feel that we were wrongfully misled into paying more for a car that ended up being less than what we were told and sold on. I drove to Corning Ford today to try and resolve the issue with them. I spoke with Sales Manager ******* ***** After some deliberation, he told me to connect with my wife (who's name is on the title) and to call him back with a figure that seemed fair. I discussed with my wife what we feel is fair - the $2,500 sticker price difference, plus $500 for my part which I had to reorder twice due to thinking we had an R/T, labor, and my time of finally ciphering out what the mistake was on their part. I was promptly told that there was no way we would be paid for that, and that if I wanted to take them to court, then so be it, and that they did not do anything wrong. I will be searching for a lawyer to represent me in this case if this does not get resolved with them beforehand. We are seeking $3,000 from ***** *****'s Corning Ford for the raised price on the misled car that we purchased.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking the difference in the "sticker price" of the car that we purchased, compared to the car we were told we were receiving - which is roughly $2,500, in addition to the parts that I was required to buy and reorder several times due to the lack of misadvertisement, and my time spent trying to fix their mistakes - all things totaling $3,000.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
my name is ******* **** sales mgr at corning ford and responding to complaint made. corning ford would be very willing to resolve complaint if we could understand the issue. the first problem is the person making the complaint is not the buyer. however i did let him show me a decal on the back spoiler of the car and listen to his complaint but once again fail to understand. the car was purchased almost 3 yrs ago and we have no way of knowing who placed the decal. also a r/t and sxt are comletly different models both in equipment and price. the r/t is a 6cyl and has leather interior-the sxt is a 4 cyl and has cloth interior. the car purchased was definetly a sxt and does not say otherwise any where in purchase agreement. would also like to add the pricing of car was near wholesale book-very very fair. again i would be happy to show the facts to the buyer if they want. thanks ******* **** SALES MGR

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response. Again making false claims, ******* **** did understand what I was showing him, and was fully aware of what I was explaining to him. He knew they were in the wrong, as he told me to connect with my wife (the buyer) and to "get back to them with a figure that we think is fair". You would not offer that to someone if you were not wrong. As a car buyer, we were not keenly aware of the differences between an R/T and SXT. We were taking the dealership's word for what the car was saying it was. We would like to pursue this further.

Business' Final Response
consumer: what you are saying is true-i was willing to try to help when you explained to me that you were not trying to get something for free and the car was a misbuild. However the car has the wrong decal(which i see on a daily basis) and is not a misbuild. The price you paid is obviously that of sxt and not of r/t. YOU DID NOT PAY FOR A R/T and therfore CORNING FORD has no monetary liability for a misplaced decal. thanks -