This business is not BBB accredited.

Auburn Honda

Phone: (866) 625-2089 Fax: (530) 823-7234 View Additional Phone Numbers 1801 Grass Valley Hwy, Auburn, CA 95603 http://www.auburnhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auburn Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auburn Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 1990 Business started: 07/11/2012 in CA Business started locally: 07/11/2012 Business incorporated 07/11/2012 in TN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 81731.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 269829.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Cappo, Owner Mr. Jim Hitchcock, Customer Service Mr. David Jones, Controller Mr. Jeff Kozele, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Jones, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Auburn Honda offers the following product(s): Company offers new and used cars.

Alternate Business Names
Cappo Management X11, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1801 Grass Valley Hwy

    Auburn, CA 95603 (866) 625-2089

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I viewed a used vehicle for sale on Auburn Honda's website on Thurs., 5/14, Fri., 5/15 and Sat., 5/16 priced at $5842. Saturday, 5/16, I went to Auburn to see the car and test drive it. Following the test drive I told the salesman what I would offer for the car. When the salesman came back with the sales managers counter, the sales price of the car on the document was $6995. When I questioned this, the salesman again went to the manager and came back with the story that they had not really had time to look the car over before pricing it. I expressed how disappointed I was with Auburn Honda and that I would not be doing business with them any longer. I have been an Auburn Honda customer for years and have never experienced this type of tactic before.

Desired Settlement: I posted a complaint yesterday and forgot to add that I requested a copy of the sales counter offer and was told that document was for internal use only.

Business Response: The vehicle was mispriced on our site.  Explained that to the customer and honored the price listed but then she offered to buy the vehicle for $4000 plus wanted us to spend another $1000 to do a timing belt that was not needed to be done so we passed on her offer.  Didn't really matter what the car was priced at because she didn't have the money to buy the vehicle for the $5842 listed on our site anyhow. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 2013 I visited Auburn Honda and worked with *** Tavelli with hopes of purchasing a new Honda, however purchasing a new Civic at the time was out of my budget so both *** and the GM at the time ***** convinced me that Leasing was the way to go and everyone at the dealership leased their cars. I mentioned to both of them that I drove way over the 12,000 miles that were allotted in a Lease and that is why Subaru had turned me away when I had inquired there previously. They both assured me that Hondas resale value would not matter in the amount of miles put on their vehicle as long as I lease another Honda in 2 to 3 years and do not just drop the vehicle off at the end of the Lease. I received an e-mail on 9/30/14 while my car was getting serviced at Auburn Honda letting me know that I should contact ***** ***** the new GM regarding my milage. I did so that day and he said that with that kind of milage he would need to get me out of my lease. I let him know my car was at the lot if he wanted to take a look at it.10-14 *** called meto goover my options on getting out of my lease, he said that I could purchase the car I currently had for 5 1/2 years at 310.00 a month or get a new Civic for 390.00 a month for 6 years. I called *** the next day and we had a heated discussion when I asked him why I could not just keep my car until the end of my lease and trade it in like I was told when I originally signed the lease. He said that I went way over in miles, I let him know that I had the same address and same job and he knew how many miles I would be putting on the car. He said that ***** no longer worked there for reasons like this and I let *** know he lied to me also just to make the original sale. And now he was going back on the deal and I am stuck.My original conract was also missing out of my glove box. I went to see ***** he was getting me into a new civic,now there was 5308.31 being added on from the 2013 civic to the 2014 civic that I was being forced into purchasing because *** lied to me

Desired Settlement: I was lied to by *** ******* and the last GM ***** just to make the original sale. I also feel that ***** ***** was also not honest with me and he never disclosed that he was going to tack on those fees to the new loan until I was in signing the papers. I was stuck in a position that I would have never been in if there was honesty from the beginning. I would like to have the 5308.00 from the lease removed from the new contract to be made whole. I am paying 25,000 with 3% int. for a 18,000 car

Business Response:

The customer making this official complaint reached out to me regarding the over-mileage on her vehicle.  She had received a system generated e-mail through our service department, as a result of the high mileage on her lease, at that time.  When we spoke, I informed her that with the mileage on her vehicle, she had 3 options - 1) Continue to drive her current vehicle 2) Buyout her current vehicle and finance the balance to avoid over-mileage fees from Honda, at the end of the lease 3) Trade her current lease vehicle and purchase a new one.  After discussing all her options, in depth, and talking through the different payment scenarios, ***** believed that the lease of a new car would be her best option.  I let her know that I was willing to give her the above the “Fair Market Value” for her trade, which would unfortunately still result in over $5000 in negative equity.  She understood that she was driving three times the allotted amount on her current lease and that this had resulted in a significant depreciation on her current vehicle.  She expressed concern regarding how the lease was initially presented to her.  I let her know that if she had only been a few thousand miles over she would have been fine, but she was on pace to drive almost 85,000 miles and exceed the allotted miles by almost 50,000.  Common sense says that 50,000 miles on a car will substantially effect the value of any vehicle, even a Honda.  As I was not present for the initial sale of her vehicle 14 to 16 months ago, I promised her a great deal on the new vehicle that she was leasing.  I discounted the new car we sold ***** by more than $2,000 and gave her a great deal.  I leased her the vehicle at a sales cost below my factory invoice.  As a store, all of our interaction with the customer was honest and forthright.  She understood the negative equity that was being rolled into her new lease.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
This is not about "Common Sense" This is about being lied to from *** ******* and the previous GM of Auburn Honda. I expressed the amount of miles that I drove when I signed the lease. I was put into a corner and was told that if I continued the lease I would be out of pocket 4 or 5,000 at the end of my lease. I am not satisfied with *****'s explanation and feel that he did NOT explain that within 1 year that there was ALREADY 5,000 in negative equity. This is a "JOKE" and I will continue to spread what a "HORRIBLE" place Auburn Honda is to do business with. I have grown up in Nevada County and I believe that over 5,000 you should make things right!

Business Response: As I was not present for the discussion between *****, the aforementioned sales person and the previous manager, 18 months ago, I can not comment on what was said.  I informed the customer that under my management, we inform all customers of the many benefits and risks of leasing a vehicle.  Honda vehicles lease better than any other car because of their strong residual value, but large amounts of excess miles will affect the current value of any car.  I did accurately disclose to the customer the fair market value of her car and let her know that I was giving her almost $1500 more that that Blue Book value.  I also informed *****, that as a result of her dissatisfaction, I was discounting the new car she was purchasing by $2000.  This was a net discount of almost $3500.  The sale of the car was providing the store with little to no profit.  I was just trying to help her get out of her current situation.  ***** was happy with the price and the monthly payment provided.  I was open and fair with the customer.  She might have an issue with someone she dealt with 18 months ago, but I did everything in my power to make her happy and rectify the situation.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Canceled contract under false terms. 11/10/13 They took my '03 Sequoia as a trade in that I was currently paying off. I signed over release of liability. We signed contracts for 2013 Honda Insight. 10 days later 11/20/13 I receive a phone call from ***** finance manager. Stating tht he could not process the loan b/c they were "unaware of the amount owed on my car at the time of signing of contracts." That was a lie b/c the amount that was owed on the vehicle was on contract at the time of signing. He tells me I need to find a co signer who has a higher credit score than me. At the time of signing the contract they told me, that my mom who had a lower credit score than me qualified as a co signer. So she co signed for me. I Had the car for 13 days and now had to hand the Honda back in and deal with a late car payment on the Sequoia. The Sequoia was released to them and I now look like the one who was late on the payment. This whole thing has been so upsetting and stressful. They said it was a done deal when I got the Honda and it was a living nightmare.

Desired Settlement: When we signed that contract there was a "no cooling off period" for me. Basically, if I thought I made a mistake and couldnt afford the payments that would be my problem not theirs. They made a mistake they said and they get to go back on their word and take the car back and make me late on a car payment on my Sequoia. This has been very stressful and emotionally damaging.

Business Response: We have been in contact with our customer and are still working on resolving the issue. Auburn Honda is commmitted to customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response: I am responding to your letter sent in regards to my former complaint. As of Dec. 27th 2013 I have never recived any type of correspondence.
I have not gotten anything in writing explaining auburn honda's reason for what they did to me and my family. I would of at least expected a letter of apology but never even recived that.
I feel they should honor their contract and pay off what I have left owed on my car and place me in the new car that they had promised me and had even let me drive it off the lot.

Business Response:

In response to Ms. *****’s Complaint:

We would like to apologize for the delay in response. We have attempted to reach out to Ms. ***** but the number we have on file is not working. We get an automated message that says her voice mail is not set up yet and it disconnects. We have sent Ms. ***** an email in hopes that she will respond. Auburn Honda would like to issue a sincere apology to Ms. *****. We had a miscommunication with the bank and it is our mistake that Ms. ***** was late on her car payment. We did everything within our power to get her into a new car, unfortunately that did not happen. Due to this event we have completely changed our policies and practices when dealing with lenders in order to prevent this situation from occurring again. We hope Ms. ***** will respond to our email as we would like to contact her lender and explain the circumstance as to why the payment for her previous vehicle was late in hopes of having the late mark removed from her record and we would like to pay or reimburse her for any late fees incurred. 

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New owners failed to honor Tires for Life contract. No notification was given when dealership changed hands in August 2012. When I purchased a brand new 2006 Honda Civic from Auburn Honda, I also purchased a Tires for Life contract which entitled me to replacement tires as needed as long as I owned the car and performed regular maintenance at the dealership. This was a good option for me as a teacher and single mother of two. I never have extra money for tires, but could pay the added periodic expense of dealership services. When I had service completed June 1, 2013, ****** the service writer, informed me that the dealership had changed hands and was unwilling to honor the original contract. He offered me the original $99 toward a new set of tires through them, but refused to tell me what the other customers had received. *****, the general manager, has never returned our phone calls and remains unavailable. ****, the service dept. manager, said to "Go ahead and call a lawyer." It's a simple thing to take care of customer relations in a competent and fair way. Auburn Honda is not proactive in this matter. Auburn Honda is now owned by Victory Automotive, based in Michigan. They are owned by ******* ***** of Cappa Management, X11. E-mails to J****** Cappa also remain unanswered. Auburn Honda's lack of ability to resolve this issue shows their lack of concern for maintaining positive customer service.

Desired Settlement: No notification was given at the time of change in ownership to those customers still on the Tires for Life contracts. As far as I knew, they were still honoring the Tires for Life contracts. I expect Auburn Honda to honor my Tires for Life contract for the remainder of the time I own the car and adhere to the terms of the original contract regarding regular maintenance. The car has 144,000 miles. The cost to them is negligible considering what they charge for regular maintenance.

Business Response: Auburn Honda would first like to apologize for the delay in response. We have looked into Mrs. ******’ complaint and would like to apologize that Mrs. ****** was not notified that the new owners of Auburn Honda, Victory Automotive Group, were unable to honor the Tires for Life contract. When Victory Automotive Group purchased the dealership that included all assets, but no liabilities. Unfortunately, the Tire for Life Contract is considered a liability and falls on Auburn Associates, the former owners of Auburn Honda. Mrs. ****** followed the recommended maintenance guidelines set under the Tires for Life program and has received 6 sets of new tires during that time. During her visit in June 2013 she was informed that the new owners would not be honoring the contract and as a courtesy a refund of the original purchase price of the Tire for Life contract, a $99.00 value, was offered. At that time Mrs. ****** refused the refund. The contract that Mrs. ****** signed does explicitly state that “Auburn Honda reserves the right to discontinue this program any time without notice”. We have attached a copy of the document for review. We understand and sympathize with Mrs. ****** frustration and the refund of $99.00 for the Tires for Life contract still stands if Mrs. ****** would like it. 

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It's like they screwed me over and don't even care that they did. So I bought a 07 Nissan murano from them and they told me they did there how ever many point inspection changed all the fluids put new tires and that it was a great running car. By the time we got the deal done it was way past closing so the only person there was the salesman we were dealing with. So we start up the car and start heading home my wife and new born son we only get 3 stop light away when the check engine light comes on so I call the dealership but since they were closed he told me to bring it back the next day. On my way down the following day I noticed it shook real bad from 50-60 mph so I get down there tell them what was wrong they put me in a loaner car and said they would fix it so after a few days they called me back and said it was fixed so I go to pick it up and they told me the coil and a sparkplug was real bad so I drove home and the shake was still there around 50-60 mph as I was entering my community there are several speed bumps as I went over them I started hearing like a metal on metal clanking and I knew what it could be because I just fixed my Honda that was doing the same thing it was either the shocks/struts or the control arm bushings. So I call them up and tell them and they tell me to come back down so the next available day I go down they tell me they will balance my tires and check for the problem they tell me they can't find anything wrong to come get the car and that they balanced the tires so I grab it and head home which is in grass valley 30-40 min drive and it still shakes bad and still making the metal clanking noise. I call them up and tell them nothing is fixed so I go to a friend of mine who works for les Schwab and asked him to find the problem so I could have the knowledge of what is actually wrong and only has for 10 mins or less when he tells me what I already knew that the shocks/struts are shot and the same with the control arm bushings. I get ahold of auburn Honda to let them know I know for sure what is wrong and try to take the route of saying that any other mechanic will tell me that to just make money for there shop and I let them know it wasn't the shop it was good friend who works for les Schwab that checked it out. So I have to take it back down again 6-7 time now and they tell me yea the passenger side shock is **** so they replace it and tell me to come and get the car when I arrive the mechanic comes out and tells me that the shock was horrible so they replaced it so I asked if that one was that bad don't you think the rest are bad also he says yes but he only had authority to replace one. I was told by my buddy at les Schwab that those should always be changed as a pair. So I'm driving home and the clanking noise is still there but now worse any time I hit the brakes you heard it and it still shakes. I have to call them again and the manager says there mechanic of 25 years couldn't find anything else wrong so he has to trust him. But I can come back down and the mechanic can take a ride with me to see what's wrong so I come back down again the mechanic gets in so I drive forward in the parking lot of the facility and hit the brakes and he hears the noise so I jump out and show him what it is then take a drive to show him the shake we head back and the manager says ok but we can't do anything today so just go home and we will call you. I head back home they call me and say that the mechanic said all he heard was probably the brake pad shifting so they don't have to fix anything so I get all mad and do some yelling and they tell me they will call me back in a second so I wait and then they call me back and say they can pay up to 400 bucks for what evers wrong after they said nothing was wrong I say no and demand the manager to take a ride with me so I go back down have the manager ride with me and do the same thing I did for the mechanic and the manager was like oh my god why didn't it do that yesterday and I was like it did your mechanic said the same thing.....

Desired Settlement: Ran out of space above... So after I showed the manager he said alright pull in we will check this out so after 20-30 min he comes back out and says yea its your control arm bushings there shot. I was like duuuh that's what I been saying the whole time so they get it fixed but it still vibrates so I ask for different new tires they said the ones they put on can't be fixed or something but since there's nothing wrong warranty wise they don't have to do anything in screwed pretty much and after all that I'm going home after picking it up the check engine light comes back on both catalytic converter's are broken its gutless so they told me since they already had it pass smog they are required to fix it... So I am screwed again those are 1000 each... I either want a new car or fix this one totally

Consumer Response: They haven't contacted me at all but the Nissan is getting worse by the day.... So bad my wife dosnt want to drive it...

Business Response:

In response to Mr. *****’s complaint:

Auburn Honda would like to apologize for the delayed response. We have looked into Mr. *****’s complaint and we have already addressed several of the issues Mr. ***** has brought up. The day after Mr. ***** took delivery of the vehicle he brought it into our service department with the check engine light on and a vibration concern. The code that was read by the computer was that an engine cylinder was misfiring and we replaced the engine coil which corrected the misfire. This was not covered under the 90 day or 3,000 mile limited warranty all of our used vehicles have. Please see the attached warranty information. We were “goodwilling” the work done to address the original delivery concern. We were trying to diagnosis what was causing the vehicle to shake and in an attempt to correct that issue we resurfaced his front rotors. Unfortunately, that did not correct the problem. Mr. ***** was in again for the shaking concern and this time we replaced the right front strut and balanced the front tires. We also filled up Mr. *****’s gas tank as courtesy since he had been in several times. A few weeks later Mr. ***** was still concerned about a noise it was making and brought it in for service. We then replaced both control arm assemblies to correct the problem. We also gave Mr. ***** a loaner vehicle and again topped off this fuel tank. All of these repairs were done, at no charge to Mr. *****, in order to address the original delivery concerns. After the original delivery problems were corrected Mr. ***** came in due to the check engine light coming on again. We diagnosed the problem at no charge to Mr. ***** and found that the catalytic converters needed to be replaced. Unfortunately this item is not covered under the warranty and was not part of the original delivery concern. Mr. ***** declined the work to be done. When we inspected the vehicle for sale it passed smog and there were no problems noted about the catalytic converters. We sympathize with Mr. ***** and understand that having your vehicle in the shop can be very stressful which is why we did not charge Mr. ***** the $1,416.00 to diagnosis and fix his vehicle, we provided free loaner vehicles and filled his gas tank since he had to make multiple visits to our service department. I apologize that Mr. ***** had to come back several times to correct the original concern with his vehicle. 

7/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our vehicle purchase agreement included an extended warranty and tires for life. Though Auburn Honda honored the warranty portion they will not honor the tires for life. Given the cost of a few hundred dollars for tires for a dealer and that service for this vehicle have been done at Auburn Honda, what is the cost of goodwill? We have owned five (5) Honda's and will likely buy another I have contacted this company at all levels.

Desired Settlement: The tires replaced with a comparable set of tires As the have done previously.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have explained to Mr. ******** multiple times what he needs to do in order to get funding for his tires for life. Mr. ******** purchased a vehicle from Auburn Honda in 2006 when the dealership was owned by Auburn Associates DBA Auburn Honda. On August 1, 2012 Cappo Management XII purchased the dealership from ****** *********** We purchased the Assets but did not assume the liabilities. Therefore like many of the other claims ****** ********** is liable to repay the claim. It's not that Mr. ******** isn't entitled to his tires, but it's the wrong business he's pursuing. Which I've told Mr. ******** this many, many times. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like the current ownership of Auburn Honda produce the paperwork that shows that they did not assume the liabilities as they state. If I am to bring my complaint to ****** ********** as suggested by **** **********, that paperwork would be something that would support my claim. Mr. Coppo has never responded to any communication from me, e-mail, USPS or phone calls.

5/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Offers to purchase privately owned cars for resale are mis-leading and not honored when doing the deal. Auburn Honda contacted me to purchase my 2007 Honda Element from me as a used vehicle for resale. After agreeing to get an appraisal (which required taking my vehicle to their dealership 25 miles away), I was given a quote of $14000 to puchase my vehicle. Within 60 days of that estimate, while arranging for the purchase of another vehicle from a separate dealer, I called Auburn Honda to find out if they would still honor thir offer. They stated that baring any significant change to the condition of the vehicle, they would , but that the appraisal would need to be repeated. I immedately returned to their dealership with my vehicle for the appraisal. With no significant change to the vehicle's condition, their 'firm' offer of $14000 was dropped to $13117, with no other reason given than that time had passed. While I was still trying to consider if I would sell it for that lower price, they dropped the offer again, to $12,000. The appraisal process was the same. All the same information was considered, and yet they were unwilling to honor their 'firm' offer. In short, their offer to buy my car for a set price was a fraudulant offer, not one made in good faith, or honored when it came time to make the deal, regardless of the fact that is was their dealership who originally contacted us! Be ware of dealing with purchase offers made by this dealer!

Desired Settlement: Auburn Honda should honor the original deal plus compensation for the time, stress and miles they cost us in trying to make this deal.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Case Number: 65027301 Kyle Stabell In response to case number 65027301, Mr. Stabell came in to us looking to sell his Element and purchase a new vehicle. During our original interaction we offered him $14,000 for his trade in and he would purchase one of our used vehicles. However he did not take the deal and left because he had a specific used vehicle he was interested in and didn't feel he wanted ours. Weeks later he returned and said that he had purchased a vehicle elsewhere but still wanted $14,000 for his vehicle for us just to purchase. I explained that the $14,000 was contingent on him buying our vehicle as well and that since the valuation is in real time the book on his vehicle had dropped to $13,117 and due to the accident on his car fax the valuation was now $12,000. Mr. Stabell got all flustered calling me a liar, told me to "**** off" proceeded to say "**** you" on his way out and slammed the door. I do not feel at this time given the customers behavior that he is owed or deserves a further assistance from our dealership. We expect the mutual respect we give our customer in return and do not wish to conduct business with those who cannot return that respect. Please let me know if you have any further questions. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The $14,000 offer originally given did not have the condition that I trade in for something on their lot, in fact, in the original encounter they said they would take it for the amount stated, even if I went to another dealer for a replacement. Also, the accident mentioned was a pre-existing condition that was present when the original offer was given. I do not deny my own behavior in the matter but it is hardly relevant sense the behavior in question is a direct result of the dealership's fraudulent claims which where later denied. They claim to exhibit mutual respect, and yet their lack of honesty indicates that they never truly respected me or my position to begin with. Speaking of respect (or the lack there of), I find it interesting to note that the business received two notices and allowed the case to close as "unanswered", only sending their response over five months later, almost a half year delay. And, if I remember correctly, after "slamming" the door on the way out, as I'm ready to drive away one of the salesmen I was dealing with tried to get my business back with an even lower offer than was already given (though I don't remember the amount). Should hypocrisy be added to the list of offenses? The key points of my complaint being: * Not honoring the original quoted price of $14,000 with the allowance for time to search for a replacement vehicle, also noting the accident report history mentioned existed at this time. * Offering their "adjusted" $13,117 for the time difference between the original visit and the incident in question (it should be noted that I had checked Kelly Blue Book after the fact and the worth of my vehicle fell from $14,000 to at most $13,800). * Again adjusting the offer price from $13,117 to $12,000 after pressuring me into begrudgingly accept their adjusted offer, citing the same accident reports that existed when they gave me the original $14,000 offer. It should be again noted they were the ones who originally contacted me about selling my vehicle to them. The vehicle in question has sense been traded in through a different dealership which, for the record, honored the $14,000 offer. As a result I have little reason to continue relations with this business in any capacity. My experience has been as such that, as a result of the terrible reception that I got from their sales people, I will advise those wishing to buy to take the time to go down to Roseville to purchase their Honda from the dealership located in the automall, and suggest the same to those who need service, echoing my experiences there.

Business' Final Response
Case Number: 65027301 Kyle Stabell In response to case number 65027301, Mr. Stabell came in to us looking to sell his Element and purchase a new vehicle. During our original interaction we offered him $14,000 for his trade in and he would purchase one of our used vehicles. However he did not take the deal and left because he had a specific used vehicle he was interested in and didn't feel he wanted ours. Weeks later he returned and said that he had purchased a vehicle elsewhere but still wanted $14,000 for his vehicle for us just to purchase. I explained that the $14,000 was contingent on him buying our vehicle as well and that since the valuation is in real time the book on his vehicle had dropped to $13,117 and due to the accident on his car fax the valuation was now $12,000. Mr. Stabell got all flustered calling me a liar, told me to "**** off" proceeded to say "**** you" on his way out and slammed the door. I do not feel at this time given the customers behavior that he is owed or deserves a further assistance from our dealership. We expect the mutual respect we give our customer in return and do not wish to conduct business with those who cannot return that respect. Please let me know if you have any further questions. Thank you.

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dishonest sales people, aggressive personnel, dishonest treatment of our trade in they approved me for a loan, they took my trade in and did unauthorized work on it( they did not have my title), they approved my loan then 2 days later said i did not have a loan. they returned my trade in with unauthorized work and incomplete service... all of their staff was rude. They "shredded" my down payment check of $5500 without verification. I had to stop payment at my bank which cost me $. They did not reinburse me for $73.00 of gasoline. They did not return my vehicle in the condition I left it. All floor mats and other auto accessories were not reinstalled.

Desired Settlement: Gasoline reinbursement, return the auto to it's pre trade in condition.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Case Number: XXXXXXXX In response to case number XXXXXXXX, we were unable to secure a loan for Mrs. ****** in the manner in which she wanted. Because the bank would not approve her at the given terms she wanted we were not able to put the deal together. We did indeed recondition her vehicle and actually did $850 worth of maintenance which she had not done on her vehicle. Furthermore we did offer to reimburse here for the stop payment on the check as well as I would be happy to reimburse her for the gasoline she used if she is willing to provide me with documentation for the charges. I'm unclear however in the issue with returning her vehicle to "pre-trade condition" as to we actually improved her vehicle by getting her to current maintenance requirements in which we would expect for a vehicle we would retail. To my knowledge everything in her trade was returned, we even detailed the vehicle for her. I'm more than happy to accommodate them if they feel they have been wronged and can provide documentation. Please contact me with any further questions. Thank you.