BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 27, 1995 Business started: 07/07/1990 Business started locally: 07/07/1990 Business incorporated: 06/26/1990 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Halvorson, President Mr. John Haley, Service Manager Mr. James Halvorson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Halvorson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 4742 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (877) 813-4483 (866) 650-2151

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 650-2151(Phone)
  • (877) 813-4483(Phone)
  • (209) 575-2564 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Didn't properly diagnose car issue, tried to get me to pay for things that were not needed, treated unfairly because I am a girl Our car was towed in due to check engine light flashing and stalling out. Did a night drop off on 10/30/2013. On 10/31/2013 my wife ***** was told she would have a diagnosis by 2 and didnt, didnt get one until 4:30. She was given a laundry list of things wrong with the car including the intake mainfold seal, mamf sensor, cat converter plugged and both sai air valves in operable and that they didnt know if the o2 sensors were bad. She called her brother who is a master level drive-ability tech for Chevrolet in ohio and gave him what she was told about the repairs needed. He told me it was not possible. He then called teh service writer ***** at American chevy and got all the codes pulled from the car and was given an estimate of how much it would cost to fix everything. He then called back to ***** and ***** changed his story on what was wrong. He then talked to the Service Manager **** and **** told him they are used to working on prestine cars and that this one has a lot of issues. The intake manifold leak needs to be fixed and then the other codes will go away. The leak is triggering the codes incorrectly. Ultimately they were rude to my wife and told us our car was not good enough and had too many issues. They then continued to charge us for the diagnosis which was incorrect. My wife had to pay the $165 which for teh way we were treated and the horrible diagnosis work that was done is not okay. The service manager **** told her brother that "we have to do what we have to do". That is not okay!

Desired Settlement: I would like our 165$ back ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
As I stated on the phone, this complaint has been resolved. The vehicle was towed in with 9 different codes in the computer. Their was a laundry list of repairs that could have been made based on those codes. My service writer did not do a good job in discussing the order these should have been done to eliminate the possibility of not having to do them all because some codes may have cleared up by following the trouble tree. Megan had also contacted the BAR and we reviewed this with them last week and decided the proper thing to do was to refund her the $165.00 she paid for the diagnosis, which was done.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) they refunded the money. thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was miss-ordered three times. I ordered a 2013 Chevrolet 2500 HD LTZ on September 3, 2013. The vehicle was missordered on September 6 (incorrect equipment) again on September 12 (incorrect equipment) and again on September 23 (incorrect equipment). The paperwokr for the apraisel was missing the trade in value was changed from $7000 to $6000 on September 23 when I found out of the third miss-order. I was told on September 4th my factory order did not take priority and was treated very poorly throughout the entire process. I was given the run around for over three weeks and no ordered were placed correctly in this time frame.

Desired Settlement: I want to make sure customers do not have to experence this poor treatment in the future.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have all the paper work. The original order was on 9/5/12. We discovered there was a problem with the order with in a few days and tried to retrieve it from Chevrolet and could not. That process took about a week and the vehicle was re-ordered on 9/18/12. Since we discovered there was a problem early on, we did not cash Mr ******'s check. We thought everything was ok until Mr ****** came in and asked for his check, which we returned to him on 9/23/12. There is no question that we screwed up the order and our salesperson did a poor job in communicating with the customer. However, when we discovered there were problems we took proper steps to try to satisfy the customer. Obviously, in Mr ******'s mind we were not able to repair the relationship and we lost a customer. In the future, if you do not hear back from us with in a couple business days, please call. Thanks ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1