Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Chevrolet

Phone: (209) 575-1606 Fax: (209) 491-7825 View Additional Phone Numbers 4742 McHenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95356

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1995 Business started: 07/07/1990 in CA Business started locally: 07/07/1990 Business incorporated 06/26/1990 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 02281.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 154554.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. David Halvorson, President Mr. John Haley, Service Manager Mr. James Halvorson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Halvorson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4742 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (866) 650-2151 (877) 813-4483


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Didn't properly diagnose car issue, tried to get me to pay for things that were not needed, treated unfairly because I am a girl Our car was towed in due to check engine light flashing and stalling out. Did a night drop off on 10/30/2013. On 10/31/2013 my wife ***** was told she would have a diagnosis by 2 and didnt, didnt get one until 4:30. She was given a laundry list of things wrong with the car including the intake mainfold seal, mamf sensor, cat converter plugged and both sai air valves in operable and that they didnt know if the o2 sensors were bad. She called her brother who is a master level drive-ability tech for Chevrolet in ohio and gave him what she was told about the repairs needed. He told me it was not possible. He then called teh service writer ***** at American chevy and got all the codes pulled from the car and was given an estimate of how much it would cost to fix everything. He then called back to ***** and ***** changed his story on what was wrong. He then talked to the Service Manager **** and **** told him they are used to working on prestine cars and that this one has a lot of issues. The intake manifold leak needs to be fixed and then the other codes will go away. The leak is triggering the codes incorrectly. Ultimately they were rude to my wife and told us our car was not good enough and had too many issues. They then continued to charge us for the diagnosis which was incorrect. My wife had to pay the $165 which for teh way we were treated and the horrible diagnosis work that was done is not okay. The service manager **** told her brother that "we have to do what we have to do". That is not okay!

Desired Settlement: I would like our 165$ back ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
As I stated on the phone, this complaint has been resolved. The vehicle was towed in with 9 different codes in the computer. Their was a laundry list of repairs that could have been made based on those codes. My service writer did not do a good job in discussing the order these should have been done to eliminate the possibility of not having to do them all because some codes may have cleared up by following the trouble tree. Megan had also contacted the BAR and we reviewed this with them last week and decided the proper thing to do was to refund her the $165.00 she paid for the diagnosis, which was done.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) they refunded the money. thank you