This business is not BBB accredited.

James Paulk Auto Body and Paint

Phone: (209) 948-2510 Fax: (209) 948-2446 View Additional Phone Numbers 3000 West Ln, Stockton, CA 95204 View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on James Paulk Auto Body and Paint !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for James Paulk Auto Body and Paint include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on James Paulk Auto Body and Paint
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 121114.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James Paulk Sr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Paulk Sr., Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Restoration Truck Painting & Lettering

Products & Services

James Paulk Auto Body and Paint specializes in auto, truck, body repair, restoration, and collision services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

James Paulk Auto Body and Paint has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    3000 West Ln

    Stockton, CA 95204


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle has been in this shop for over a month. It had little body damage to be repaired but needed a radiator and ac condensor replaced. I had rental coverage for 30 days which i informed the owner of the body shop and was told my vehicle would be done by the Friday the rental car was due. I ended up paying out of pocket over 200 dollars for a rental vehicle for five days. When I called to check the status of my car I was told not to call that he would call me, that it should be done by Friday of this week. I stopped by the Friday it was supposed to be done and was treated awful by the owner. He screamed in my face told me not to harrass him, and to get the ---- out of here. He claimed now that he finally put the radiator and condensor on that my car runs like crap and was at his mechanics. Then he slammed a door in my face. Ive never delt with such poor customer service. The car ran fine when it was towed to him I drove it onto the tow truck. Not to mention the car damages according to the owner of the body shop totalled out to be over eight thousand dollars, more than the cars worth. Their are parts such as headlights that were not damaged but were replaced that were 650 a light. Im absolutely appauled by this whole situation.

Desired Settlement: I feel Mr.Paulks service and behavior was awful and don't feel I should have had to pay for the rental car. I would like my car back in a timely manner, which would be any day now since its been over a month already. I honestly dont think he deserves the deductable Im expected to pay him after the way he has treated me and the dishonest work he is doing. Furthermore any mechanical issues should be covered by Mr. Paulk being as the car went to my mechanic first and ran fine.

Business Response:

We at James Paulk Auto Body and paint feel that these claims are not truthful. The Bureau of Automotive Repair did come out to James Paulk Auto Body and Paint, and approve the vehicle and all repairs were done properly according to estimate.

We first received **** *********s vehicle on 09/18/2014, the vehicle was towed in with heavy front end damage the vehicle did not run. The adjuster sent estimate on 09/30/2014, **** ********* delayed repair for five days because she did not sign estimate. DENNIS BYERS loaned her his truck so she had no rental expense. 70% of the delay was caused by **** ********* Appraisal Company and insurance company.

Property Damage Appraisers did not get approval on supplemental from **** *********s insurance company this took over a week we could not proceed without proper approval. Supplement 2 took long to get approval. She herself told us that she was having issues with her insurance company. All repairs have to have prior approval from insurance company or they will not'pay". The repo company came to pick up the vehicle because she is 3 months behind on payments, she got vehicle out of my shop before they came back to pick vehicle up. I will never pay her any money.

Business Response: Company states: The estimate was not signed for the repair order until 5 days delay before she came out and started. The delay was on her. The repo company came by because her car payment was late. The customer took by the car before the repo company. The BAR says this does not make sense. I got a $4,800 throttle body that was related to the car accident but the dealer would not take it back. The repo company said they have legal right to the car. She came that afternoon with her thousand deductible and drove off before the company. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  the owner of this shop is ridiculous.  The car was not on a repo list until i called and asked the bank to go reposess it from Mr. Paulk because he refused to release the car due to an extra 1,000 dollars he said I owed him for mechanical work I never approved him to have done.  The is no delay on my part I have signed nothing but an initail work order authorizing Mr. Paulk to work on my car which I never recieved a copy of.  I have not seen an estimnate or supplememt from Mr. Paulk himself one time, nor did I ever sign one given by Mr. Paulk.  The car was in better condition before he touched it.  I have had to pay for  a rental car for $650 dollars out of my pocket becuase he wouldnt release the vehicle to me.  I have reciepts for all of it.  I have to have the car put into another shop to be tore back down now due to quality of the work preformed by Mr.Paulks shop being questionable.  I have also had the car taken to a mechanic and diagnosed on a diagnostic test machine with the so called "no good throttle body" that Mr.Paulk said caused the vehicle to not run that he put back on my car and its running fine.  The diagnostic came back with no codes.  Mr. Paulk also cashed two checks for repairs on the vehicle that were issued to himself and I and said must have two signatures if over 2,500.00, which each check was, without me ever even seeing these two until emailed a copy by my insurance.  The automotive repair bar has came out to Mr.Paulks shop multiple times in the last two months due to this situation, so hes not telling the truth somewhere here.  Risky business for a man whose liscense was out on probation by the Automoitive BAR this March for the same type of fradulent activity he had been found guilty of in court.  Best luck, even if my complaints rejected other customer need to know not to get scammed by Mr. Paulk.