BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Paramount Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paramount Appliance Repair include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paramount Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 31, 2010 Business started: 05/16/2008 Business started locally: 05/16/2008
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Kyle Petee, Owner Mr. John Petee, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Petee, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair


Additional Locations

  • 5150 Fair Oaks Blvd Ste 101-128

    Carmichael, CA 95608

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Side by Side GE refrigerator was not working. Ive opened the main control board compartment, and felt a bad smell from the board. The control board seemed to be burned out. I have immediately contacted the Paramount Appliance Repair local repair shop and scheduled an appointment for the next morning. Next day a technician came in and confirmed the main board issue. He gave me an estimate with the cost of the part of $271.41. The technician reassured me that this was in fact a competitive price offer totally marked to market. Since I had little choice (the fridge was full of food about to go bad), I told him to go ahead and install the new board. He installed the board and cleaned up inside of the refrigerator with my vacuum. Fridge started work fine. I did some research and found out that GEs on-line price for this part is $128.00 plus s/h $10. Needless to say this was a surprising 110% markup quite inconsistent with technicians reassurance. Next day I contacted Paramounts Spare Parts Dept. and found out that they are selling this board for $178.40. Being charged an extra $100 (additional 52%) by the technician appears to be an ill business practice. Just to put things in prospective, the expedited nature of service was a separate charge. The 110% markup presented as fair price is totally unacceptable. I strongly believe that Paramount Appliance Repair took full advantage of my situation. Their technicians and ways to do business are not to be trusted.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have at least $100 back for unreasonable markup on the part.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that he has reviewed the response made by the business in reference to his concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to him.

Business Response: We will be refunding Mrs. Iliya the $100 Dollars as per her request.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: installed the wrong compressor and did not install it correctly. March 19, 2013 **** with Paramount Applicance Repair came to my home, to install a new compressor for my refrigerator. ********* he did not include the part number on the inv# I retrieved this # off the compressor itself (FFI12HBX). My refrigerator came with part #90HLP, the part **** installed is a bigger compressor. **** and another gentelman, installed the compressor, they did not vacuum down the system and when asked about it, he said we don't vacuum them down we bleed it out the highside. To do that I understand you have to change the filter dyer and/or receiver dryer, which was not changed. He left my house and did not even get down the street maybe 10, 15 min max, the refrigerator stopped working, we called them and they made a excuse it's doing such and such. It will be fine??? 40 mintues later I called back again and said it's still not coming on, he said he would be right back. **** shows up and said we need the starter motor (he took the new starter motor off our new compressor and put our old one back on) and the other gentleman he came with was on his way to San Fransico with the part he took off and couldn't get back until the next day. Since this compress is larger our old starter would not kick it on. I do not know why he would put our old starter on and take the new one off beings we paid for a new one??? The following monday another gentleman came out and put a new starter on the compressor. When I got home that evening it seamed very loud, so I pulled the refrigerator out and noticed the compress was not even bolted in with the 4 screws and the start was just laying in there. I did bolt it down and attach the starter thinking that was the cause of the loud noise. Still not happy with the work I called another applicance place to come and check this guys work because things just did not sit well with me. The second applicane place said this compressor is extermly HOT and it was not vacuumed down, because you need to change the dyer filter do to that and the compressor being larger, the refigerator fan can not keep it cool, plus the thermal switch was not even hooked up and if it was it would cycle off because it's too large of a compressor for this refrigerator and it runs too HOT!

Desired Settlement: I would like to take this compressor/starter off and refund my money. I will choose another repair place to do it correctly. I would preferr not to have Paramount Appliance in my home.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We would be more than happy to come back out and install a new filter dryer at no charge. All of our work comes with a one year warranty.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Yes, I have the part off the refrigerator. Mr. ******** with Consumer Affair will be meeting with Paramount Appliance on August 28, 2013 at that time, he (Mr. ******** will bring the part and pick-up the refund,in the form of a money order or cashiers check, payable to *** ****. Thank you-

Business' Final Response
If Mr. **** has part still we would like to set a time and date with him to retrieve our part and issue a refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with washer 10/12 called Paramount Prior to this I had a fully functioning washer. I was first told there was a problem with washer lid, paid 195.00 for repair. Two months later told I needed a timer after experiencing the same problem. 1/4/13 new timer is installed charged 45 for service,290 for timer, reordered. 2/13/13 told timer on back order. 3/18/13 told order was lost and needed to reorder. No one ever called me. I had to always call them, told their computer crashed. 4/15/13 told timer ok motor needed replacing and is no longer available.

Desired Settlement: I feel I have been over charged for services and parts that may have not been needed. Company failed to return calls left on their voice mail, claim they lost my number although I gave it to them on several occasions.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Paramount appliance repair would like to offer mrs. ****** a refund int the amount of $150 to off set the repair cost to her washer, however all the repairs were needed,we are sorry.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fridge was not working properly was ice in freezer compartment and fridge was not cold. So I called ****** owner of Paramount Appliance Repair He said he will come by to see fridge and diagnose fee would be $45 dollars. I told him go ahead. He diagnosed condensation motor not working I told him go ahead order it. I got price for part somewhere $100 dollars I decided to check motor It was working fine so I called him I told him its working fine after that I tried call him again after few minutes I got owner his phone number no longer good. So I started calling around to get information finally figure out my freezer temp was high so lower temp because o ice fridge side vents clogged up with ice. So I melt ice after tower temp freezer side my fridge working fine without changing any parts

Desired Settlement: Company should give me back money

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We will issue the customer his 45.00 dollars back for the service call.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1