Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Henderson Brothers Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 369-3671 Fax: (209) 368-9026 PO Box 259, Lodi, CA 95241 http://www.hendersonslodi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Henderson Brothers Company specializes in comprehensive heating and air services as well as plumbing services for residential, commercial, and industrial customers.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Henderson Brothers Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Henderson Brothers Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1896 Business started locally: 01/01/1896 Business incorporated 02/03/1906 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 7319.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James McConnell, President Mr. Steve Garrison, Vice President Ms. Mary Ellen McConnell, Sec./Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James McConnell, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Contractors - Sheet Metal Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    217 S Sacramento St

    Lodi, CA 95240

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 259

    Lodi, CA 95241 (209) 369-3671

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are charged without fair explanation or agreement to charge nowhere in website or statement does it state travel time will be charged. Work was started before estimate was given, which the website states should be done before work begins. It was verbally given after work was almost completed to be around $200 but not more than $220. No invoice, no contract, no paperwork of any kind was given or signed during or after service. Bill received in mail the next day charging for work plus additional hour of time. I called to question this. I was told it was policy to charge for portal to portal. I asked to see the policy and was told it's not in writing, just policy. Then she threatened to have their collections lawyer call me if I don't pay it. I asked again to see policy in writing and she said she could type it out for me on a new bill. I asked to speak with someone who could better help me, she said she'd have them call me back. No call has been received. It has been since 11:09am yesterday, May 29th and it is now 12:48pm May 30. I don't dispute the work or the fair price, but adding $80 for an hour of travel time from Lodi to Stockton roundtrip does not seem fair. Especially when we were not aware of this charge other than after the fact. When I called for the appointment and gave them our address they did not mention that we would pay $80 an hour for their travel time.

Desired Settlement: I want the travel time valued @ $80.00 to be withdrawn from my bill

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Henderson Bros. was sent out to fix leak in the main water service. When we got out to the job the customer asked how much would the job cost. The tech told them a round about price. the price was in the range that the tech gave them. when Henderson Bros. talk to them on the phone we told them that a service call is based on time and material but they asked for a price when we got there and the tech gave them one. Henderson Bros. does not charge ticket time, we charge portal time.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response is simply not true. Please see case description for actual account of events.

Business' Final Response
When I asked my tech about this job he told me before he started that the customer asked how much it would be to do the job, he gave her the price and she was ok with it. The price he gave her included the drive time and the cost to do the job.