Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Del Johnson Air Conditioning & Heating Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Del Johnson Air Conditioning & Heating Inc.

Phone: (530) 877-4564 1147 Wagstaff Rd., Paradise, CA 95969


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Del Johnson Air Conditioning & Heating Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Del Johnson Air Conditioning & Heating Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Del Johnson Air Conditioning & Heating Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1979 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 07/07/1978 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 373198.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Sheet Metal Work Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted company to propose a natural gas heater to replace wood stove. Owner **** ******* came to my home, examined the space for the heater and proposed installation of the ******** 65,000btu fireplace hearth heater. Wood stove was removed and ******** heater was installed. The entire time the stove was in operation it continuously made unusually loud banging noises. The company came several times to fix the noise, but nothing quieted it. The company then proposed the same heater but with 50,000btu. I reluctantly agreed. It was installed and the new heater also made loud banging noise with one louder startling bang soon after cooling. I called the office to talk to the owner and he wasnt available. I told the staff person the heater would need to be removed. I asked to have owner call me. He didnt. 2 staff came to remove the stove. I thanked them for coming and actually apologized for not being able to live with the defective stove. Stove and piping were removed and a gaping hole was left in the ceiling. One worker then thrust a bill for $626.82 at me. My 78 yr old mom and I had no heat for over a week. I have since learned that the problem was not with the ******** stoves at all but with the improper installation. A ******** technical support representative told me via e-mail that with improper installation, the gases from the unit may not be venting out correctly and could cause a spillage of CO into the home. The unit does come equipped with a vent limit switch to shut the unit down if this should occur, as a safety reset. However, I definitely recommend the venting be spec per the installation manual (need to have 2 foot clearance before you put any offsets), as that guideline is how the furnace was tested for proper functioning and operation of the furnace. The space where the heater was installed did not have room for a 2 foot clearance so a 90 degree elbow was attached to the back of the heaters first. I was informed that improper installation could cause damage to the heater.

Desired Settlement: The ******** heater should not have been proposed and could not properly be installed in the space provided. In addition to the aggravation and frustration caused by the noise these heaters made, and more importantly, my family was placed in possible danger. I have had to pay a professional heating company for another heating unit and the full installation. It doesnt make sense to pay an additional $626.86 for an improper installation that should have never taken place.

Business Response: When Del Johnson AC & Heating heard of the problem, we attempted to see what the home owner wanted to do,we  went to her house several times to check the Furnace, while we were there it did not make the noise, eventually we heard the noise, we asked what she wanted to do,she could not decide weather she wanted a new furnace or a new fireplace. She was going to get a different fireplace through another Company, we were to install it,she then changed her mind. We attempted to go to her house many times but we had to wait for her time frame.  She finally decided what she wanted to do so we came to pull out the unit that was making the noise. We left the furnace in her house for three months until she decided so they would have heat, they were in no danger what so ever, we would have never left the Furnace in if there were.Basically she received three months of heat for free including install and labor. We then came to pull out the Furnace and she became very nasty with saying she was not going to pay 626. and some change, we sent her a letter explaining the bill was just for the labor to pull out the furnace, we never charged her for the install of the Furnace or the Furnace that we put in. We will waive the fees, we were never under any impression that she was upset about any of this until we received a nasty letter from her. If she would have came to us and talked to us we would have taken the loss of the time our guys spent on the job, which we already did with the install. We would never put anyone of our customers in harms way, but we are a business and we do need to pay our employees for the work they have completed. This job is a total loss and more, we spent many many visits at her home to make things right. Thank you for letting us know about this complaint we appreciate what the BBB does for our Business. Del Johnson AC & Heating.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would like to point out that the response from the business was untruthful. I was never unpleasant.  The banging noises were heard immediately upon the installation both by the owner and the workers. The reason the heater was left for 3 months was because the business was trying to find a way to fix the problem. It was actually very miserable living with the noise from the heater for the 3 months. The letter (attached) was factual as was the e-mail from the manufacturer (also attached) of the heater.  I gave the owner the chance to resolve this issue before I filed the complaint. I never got a response either by telephone or mail.