BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Bonney Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (916) 444-0551 View Additional Phone Numbers 3054 Gold Canal Drive, Rancho Cordova, CA 95670 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bonney.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bonney Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Bonney Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bonney Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 03/22/1994 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Candace Bonney, Owner Mr. Mark Bonney, Owner Ms. Holly Gormsen, Marketing Administra Mr. Bill Horbaly, Heating & Air Conditioning Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Candace Bonney, Owner
Principal: Mr. Mark Bonney, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Alternate Business Names
Bonney Plumbing & Rooter Service Bonney Plumbing, Heating, Air & Rooter Service Bonny Plumbing
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3054 Gold Canal Drive

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (707) 444-0551(Phone)
  • (916) 635-0550(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bonney-Plumbing-Heating-Air-Rooter-Service/221413895101
  • http://twitter.com/mybonney
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/28/2014 Tech **** came out to my house to fix a leaking faucet in the bathtub/shower. It needed a cartridge replacement. I had the parts already. He quoted me $237.00. I asked him how long would this take? He said I do not know. I told him my guess is twenty min. He had told me that he had be a plumber for twenty two years now. I was right, twenty min. and he was done. Twenty two years as a plumber and he could not tell me how long it would take? Really? This is excessive charging and is unfair.

Desired Settlement: I would like 50% of my money back. They would still be making $118.50 for twenty min. of work. That is $5.92 per min. charge. I feel this would be fair.

Consumer Response:

This issue has been resolved with the company.
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bonney plumbing was called out on 3-09-14 to unplug the bathroom sinks which were draining slow. There was a separated charge for the backup in the garage sink and kitchen sink. There employee **** unclogged the kitchen sink per clean out. He then entered the bathroom and was concerned about the p-trap and at first wanted me to sign a release of liability if there was any damage. Said he was not sure a snake would go through the pipes. He went ahead and sent the snake and he said he brought out some hair, but that I needed the entire piping system changed. Now he left the sinks really backed up where they would not drain at all and charged me anyway. He said the current charge for the repair of all piping would be $1,657.00. I called c/s and asked that a special called BAM be reimbursed of $99.00 and the charge for the bathroom sinks be removed and just be charged for full fee for the kitchen sinks. Called twice no return call. On 3/11/14 Called ROOTER-JET INC, *** unclogged the sinks in the bathroom within 30 minutes. I can't believe the first thing I seen was Bonney plumming on your website. Several people i talked to do not like their business.

Desired Settlement: I would like the BAM special which was a charge of $99.00 removed, there will be no need for any future inspections. Take the charge off for the bathroom sinks $135.00 was not resolved and just pay for the charge of $158.82 for the clog in kitchen and garage sinks. I was told by the ROOTER-JET INC. that how can you charge someone if you did not fix the problem. I agree.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

 
I have already spoken to Ms. ***** on ******* way and we have both come to an agreeable solution to the issue.  I have refunded her $234 per her request and removed her from our maintenance program.  At this point, she has indicated to me she is happy with this resolutions.  Please feel free to call me with any questions you may have at this time.
 
Thank You,
 
******* ******
President & Founder

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
The company has reimbursed me the disputed amount of $234.00 by check. Thank you for your help in this matter

Sincerely,

*** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BAM Plan annual service on my AC, tech appears to have left a valve open after testing refrigerant pressure, R410 leaked out BAM plan annual service call 07/13/13 - tech ***** - Everything tested fine - He recommended $900 worth of work (fan motor and contactor) declined service at this time as it was not pressing or urgent - Paid $99 BAM plan to re-enroll About 3 weeks later noticed AC was not able to cool house, it was running all afternoon/evening with cool but not cold air coming out of vents. Called Bonney back out. Service call 8/30/13 - tech ***** - He found the system was low on charge. He said very low - almost completely out. - He pointed out the oil on the refrigerant line on both sides of the test valve and said that oil was present due to leak. He did not make any mention of possible causes, observation that valve was loose or anything else. - He recommended the following possible solutions to the problem -sealant and moisture removal + up to 3 lbs $665 (not guaranteed to work, cross your fingers and hope was his summary) -Leak detection w/ fluorescent dye $580 -Leak repair with evac and 5 lbs refrigerant $985 -2 lbs refrigerant $290 - He also said that I could not run my system until the problem was fixed as I could blow up my compressor due to low pressure. This was very bad news at 3 PM on the Friday before Labor Day. With the outstanding $900 of recommended fixes and also the approximate $1500 of repairs, I asked to talk to a Bonney salesman to see how much a new system was. He also came out and looked at my system and recommended a replacement was about $5-6k. You can see from the above that the cheapest option (one that was not recommended) was $665 on a system that is only 10 years old and never had any problems before. The full solution was over $1,500. I decided to suffer through a hot weekend and get a second opinion. Second Opinion from independent AC company recommended by a coworker 9/4/13 - Her opinion was "leak" is pretty clearly a valve that was left open - She put in about 1 lb of R410 refrigerant - Total cost $110 to fix - System is working fine, no more leaks - She also pointed out that my system has a low pressure sensor so it shuts off automatically if there is danger to the compressor. That is how she know my pressure wasn't super low. 9/4/13 Talked to Clyde at Bonney, he passed along my complaint to ****. He said **** would call me - probably the next day. Today is a week later and no call or any effort from Bonney to make this right. I am astonished that a company of Bonney's size has treated a long time customer so poorly. Your mistake lead to weeks of a non working air conditioner. 1 tech made an honest mistake. 2 other Bonney employees saw the mistake, but neither of them owned up to it and made it right. Both of them simply saw an opportunity to turn the screws and get some more money out of me.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of all money spent with Bonney. Reimbursement for costs of repairing their mistake. Reimbursement for time lost, discomfort caused by their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
After speaking with you on the phone, thank you for giving us the opportunity to come out and make things right. I would like to update this report after we visit your home on September 27.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ****** gave me everything I requested and appeared to be truly sorry for their mistake.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tech said unit was unsafe and should be replaced at a cost of $5000 - $6000. Inspectors from two other companies said unit needed no repairs at all. We have an annual service plan w/ ********** ******** of ******** Ca. When we asked for a furnace inspection, a technician from Bonney came, telling us that Bonney had bought ********** and was servicing their contracts. ******* ********* inspected our furnace, told us was unsafe, turned off the gas line and told us it needed to be replaced. He showed us several options, all of which cost between $5000 and $7000. When we asked for literature on the various models, he said it was proprietary and he couldn't give it to us, instead hand-writing a summary of the two models we were interested in. When I asked him if he worked on commission, he hesitated, then said 'yes.' Subsequently, we called PG&E and *********** ******* and ******* of ******* to inspect the unit. Both found it in perfect working order. ******* ********* used scare tactics to try to convince to install a new furnace - "your unit could blow up and/or discharge carbon monoxide into your home." We asked the tech from Fitzpatrick and the inspector from PG&E what a new furnace would cost and were told $2500 to $3500 installed. Bonney wanted about twice that. It's a scam, pure and simple.

Desired Settlement: Just want to help get the word out about Bonney's slimy business practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******, HVAC OpsMgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@******.com Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent service call. I must apologize that the serious safety issue present in your furnace was not explained to you in a more appropriate way by my technician. Despite his presentation without explicitly demonstrating the safety issue, a serious safety issue is still present. Your furnace has a crack in the heat exchanger bulk head. Pressurized air from the blower assembly passing through a crack in this location can cause flame deviation and flame roll out, a potential fire hazard. This danger will increase as time passes. At Bonney, our intention is to protect our customers first. If we see a potential safety issue through continued use, we will shut down a heating and air system. We cannot guarantee the continued safety of your system due to this crack. If you wish, I will forward you a picture of the crack. I cannot speak for Fitzpatrick's, but the purpose of PG&E's evaluation is to consider the immediate condition of the furnace. PG&E's primary evaluation is in regards to carbon monoxide safety in the present. PG&E does not consider the consequences of expansion of the crack in the future. Frequently, when we have a conflicting diagnosis with PG&E or another contractor, we request the opportunity to clearly demonstrate our conclusions. Bonney technicians are extremely thorough and continually trained. Frequently, other contractors do not provide the thorough technical training that we provide. The lack of thoroughness by other contractors is often the source of the conflict. It is unlikely that the other prices you received for furnace replacement are on similar units with similar warranties and similar installation practices. We also install furnaces in the $2,500 to $3,500 price range, but not the style or efficiencies as quoted by our technician. However, if your overall experience was that our business practices are "slimy" then we have some work to do. We have worked hard over the last 35 years to serve our customers with honesty, reliability and thoroughness. This is why more than 85% of our business is from repeat customers. However, your feedback has caused us to evaluate our communication practices. We have already contacted you via phone and requested the opportunity to have a manager come to your home and provide the thorough explanation about the safety issue that was not properly performed. I am sorry that we missed the mark in this instance and would like to correct our error. But, you have refused. I will be sending you a check to refund the $79 BAM plan that you have purchased as you were not satisfied with the service received. I hope that you will continue to use our plumbing services and perhaps provide a future opportunity for HVAC services. Sincerely, **** ******* HVAC Operations Manager, Bonney Plumbing, Heating Air & Rooter Service

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bonney's repair of our AC resulted in further damage they tried to charge us for. On 4/28/13 I had Derek from Bonney come out and work on our AC. It was found that a leak was in the evaporation coil in the attic and on 5/16 2 repair men came out to repair it. We paid a total of 2784.00 for the repairs and freon needed. After less than 3 hours in the attic the repair men said it was done and they left. About an hour later we realized they never checked the AC before leaving and it was heating up. Our AC had only a leak when they showed up to fix it, after leaving it will not run at all. We called the company and they sent the same repair guy back that afternoon who said "oh I probably just pulled too hard on a wire I will check it out. "About an hour later he came down and said he blew a fuse and needed a new one it again happened again about 10 min later. He then said he can't fix it and called his dispatch to confirm someone will be out by 9 am the next day to fix it. He did leave a monster of a portable ac in our bedroom so it did not get too hot that night. The next morning around 10am my husband called to see where the guy was and Bonney said our ticket was closed they didn't have anyone scheduled to come out but she can have someone out by noon. ***** eventually showed up and said the circuit board is bad and we will have to pay an additional $615 for a new one. He then said the part would be on the truck that day so we will have it the next day (5/17) or the 18th at the latest. I called the manager to ask about the charges because the repair man already admitted to yanking on the wire and shorting fuses I should not be charged to fix something they broke. The manager argued the damage is not correlated and its just coincidence. He said its like I brought my car in for new tires and I'm trying to charge them for a new battery. After giving me a hard time he finally sent ***** the field manager out to check it out. He went up to the attic and came down after only a few minutes and showed us the pictures of the damage where the repair man obviously kneeled down on a wire which shorted the circuit board and said the cost of our board would be covered. On the 21st ***** finally returned with the part and again tried to charge us. When I said no I have already spoken to the manager he argued with me about it and finally went up in the attic and called *****. He then came back down clearly irritated and said well I should be happy because I got the board and his labor for free when I shouldn't have. As he was leaving I asked him to take the portable AC and he said he would send someone else later. It was not until I called again for them to come get it that they showed up at 9:30am on the 28th to get it out of my house. Then later that afternoon they finally called to come pick it up. I stated someone just did that morning and they questioned me on who. Bonney is so unorganized it seems nobody communicates with each other. This simple repair was the biggest headache for my husband and I and we had to miss work and make ourselves available to deal with the situation. The original repair man took responsibility for the issue and if the others I dealt with had of followed suit I wouldn't have an issue but after having to argue so many times and take so much of my time to deal with the situation I feel I should get some sort of compensation.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a partial refund on the labor paid to install the new coil. I figure if less than 3 hrs of work is worth $1275.00 then us having to be available several times over the next week and a half so Bonney could come fix what they broke and pick up their equipment left behind is worth at least half of that back. I also want my BAM canceled. I won't be using Bonney again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me on the phone this morning regarding this issue. Here is a summary of the points we discussed: 1) I agree that you did receive poor service from us in the process of the coil replacement. We made a number of communication errors that caused you significant inconvenience. This is not the level of service that we strive to provide. I am sorry that we made these mistakes and we will be refunding the amount you requested, $637.50. 2) It was not communicated to us by our technician that he had damaged your furnace, but he had apparently told you or your husband. If you or he had let us know that he had caused this damage, we would never have attempted to charge you for the failed control board. Certainly, we would have been able to resolve this issue with much less frustration on your part. Again, I am sorry for our errors in communication. 3) Your feedback is very helpful in assisting me to resolve communication issues we have within our company. We try hard to provide a superior level of service, but we missed the mark this time. Thank you for sharing your experience. 4) Thank you also for taking the time to explain the positive experiences you had previously had with Bonney. You mentioned that you had received exceptional service from ***** in 2011 and ***** earlier this year. That is the goal that we try to achieve and I am glad that you were able to experience this. It is part of our culture at Bonney to admit mistakes when we make them and do what we can to make it right. Our miscommunication prevented us from making it right with you in a timely manner. If you had brought this information to my attention through a phone call or email, I would have responded in the same way. However, considering the circumstances, you probably did not want to talk with me again and looked for a solution at the BBB. I am glad that the BBB provides another avenue of communication for the occasional unhappy customer. We want to correct our errors anytime they may occur. I am glad that you have accepted this recompense and I hope that we may have the opportunity in the future to provide the level of service to you that is the Bonney standard. Again, I am sorry that we missed the mark this time. Sincerely, **** ******* HVAC Operations Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 85 years old widow ***** called a plumber because drains were backed up, toilet wouldn't flush. She wanted drains snaked out. **** came to house and complied a list of needs. **** told ***** if she didn't have all the work done he suggested that she would get black mold. If she did agree to all the she would not get black mold. ***** agreed to all the work she would get her toilet working and out of fear. I feel **** steamrolled ***** for an outrageous amount, when all she needed were her drains opened $6161 for 2 men working about 10 on 2/15 and 2 hour 2/18 is criminal. **** black mold claim made this a deceptive contract.

Desired Settlement: Half the amount billed for the work performed would be generous. As most of the work was unnecessary but padding for the ******.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have discussed this job with the owner ******, she is extremely happy with our work. Moreover we have had a conversation with her adult son who lives in Sacramento as well as her grandaughter regarding the work ****** Plumbing did for ******, they could not be happier. If you ****** notice the day phone number provided for ******, that is a Nevada telephone number for her other son. We have had several conversations with him in an attempt to explain the work needed at his mothers home. Simply stated, ****** had a major plumbing emergency, all drains in the house were plugged, there was not a sewer clean out, the old cast iron piping was leaking sewage below the home and the sewer line ultimately needed to have a section replaced in order to get things flowing. Additionally 90% of the old cast iron pipes below the house were replaced and inspected by the City of Sacramento. I would ask the BBB to call the customer ****** at her home # XXX-XXXX and get her honest input. Sincerely, ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer states: ****** had nothing to say about the dripping faucets. How could I believe that the pipes under my house were dripping after they told me the lie about my faucets. The pictures ****** said they have could have been taken some other place. ****** is trying to make my son (*****) look bad. He is a good, honest man. Works at the post office as Post Master.

Business' Final Response
On 3/20/13 I called ****** to discuss this job. She was upset with me and said that I had not told the truth and she would not discuss this matter with me. At that point I advised her that I wanted to resolve this matter. She said to call her son ***** ******, which I did. He was very adamant that we had ripped his mother off. I assured him that was not the case and that his mother truly had a major plumbing/sewer problem. He agreed that she did have a sewer problem, however the cast iron pipes below the house did not need to be replaced. I stated the drain pipes below the house were leaking sewage and did need to be replaced. What ****** fails to mention in his 3/27/13 response is that I offered as gesture of good ****** and not an admission of any wrongdoing to refund $1099.00, to which he responded that was not enough. The convesation ended with ****** saying that he was going to sue ****** for taking advantage of his mother. What was not conveyed to ****** during our conversation was that our technician took many pictures of the pipes below his mothers house that depict a dreadfuly unsanitary condition which could have caused untold health consequences for his elderly mother. That to me is paramount. And I stand by all facts and recommendations realted to this jobs by our staff.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharge for work done. Errors in math for cost of work done. A revised Invoice was requested to illustrate work done. cost variance and errors I was concerned about the cost and work associated with the installation of a new water heater and associated works. I had a copy of the Invoice for the work done at the residence of ****** **********, a senior citizen. I questioned a ****** Plumbing representative about the work done for ****** **********. the ****** Plumbing representative admitted that there were incorrect task codes assigned to the work undertaken and errors in arithmetic. These errors were in favor of ****** Plumbing and not in favor of the customer. In this case a 93-year-old lady has a leaking and non-functioning water heater and needs a water heater. She is in no position to complain about costs because she has no way to check costs or compare costs. In reality as in this case Ms. ********** was at the mercy of ****** Plumbing's honesty and business ethics. My review of June 2012 Invoice associated costs and supposed 20 percent reduction from Standard cost to Preferred cost were incorrect for 6 out of 7 items, the amount being several hundred dollars in favor of ****** Plumbing. I requested a revised Invoice to accurately show the work done, the cost of each item and a new revised cost for the work done. The new Invoice has the same numbers as the original. During my review of the new revised Invoice, there was a new charge, BAM charge / fee. This fee / charge apparently is now an automatic add on to the Invoice for an annual check up. This fee has all the looks of an easy $99.00 that is added to each Invoice / ******. This fee was not on the original Invoice signed by ****** on June 18, 2012. Therefore, I believe the added BAM fee is an improper add-on and is poor business ethics. This $99.00 charge / fee should be returned to ****** **********. Then there the bad math involved with 2 work items. Work item P-2711 (water heater) standard fee of $1478.00 with a full BAM charge / fee (20 percent discount) should be $1182.00, not the $1271.08 indicated. The difference of $89.00 should be returned to ****** **********. The errors in math favored ****** on both Invoices. Then there is work item T-99 water line and gas line extension and clean up had standard charge of $1041.18 with a BAM charge of $885.00. With the full BAM, (20 percent discount) of the Standard charge should be approximately $830.00, not the $885.00 indicated on the revised Invoice. This error in math put an additional $55.00 in ******'s favor, but should be refunded to ****** **********. In light of the math errors, the addition of the BAM charge / fee of $99.00, the over charge of $89.00 for the water heater installation, the over charge of $55.00 for gas and water line extension, an additional amount totaling at least $243.00 should be returned to ****** **********. This $243.00 is in addition to the refund check for $2,018.27 dated March 18, 2013. It is very clear to me that anyone doing business with ****** Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning should carefully go over the math on the Invoice and understand the meaning of discounts for repeat customers, seniors and discount for more than one task at the same location / address. I have talked to several people about the costs on ****** Plumbing's Invoice No. XXXXXX. All gave a quick responses like: "That lady got ripped off", or "She was taken advantage of"; and "This is a job for Call Kurtis Channel 13 News". I believe that it would be of interest to have someone audit several months of Invoices from this and other ****** technicians to see if there is a pattern of ****** / cost padding for senior citizens during the past year or if this ****** ********** situation was an isolated case? It is very clear to me that anyone doing business with ****** Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning should carefully go over the math on the Invoice and understand the meaning of discounts for repeat customers, seniors and discount for more than one task at the same location / address.

Desired Settlement: In light of the math errors, the addition of the BAM charge / fee of $99.00, the over charge of $89.00 for the water heater installation, the over charge of $55.00 for gas and water line extension, an additional amount totaling at least $243.00 should be returned to ****** ******. This $243.00 is in addition to the refund check for $2,018.27 dated March 18, 2013. Even with the revised cost, ******'s cost for installing a new water heater is way over the cost of $1417.85 on the Invoice of ***** **********. ****** Plumbing should pay for the services of an independent auditor to review several months of Invoices from this and other ****** technicians to see if there is a pattern of ****** / cost padding of seniors during the past year to help determine if this ****** ****** situation is an isolated case. Refunds should be paid to all found to have over paid for any work done.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Here is the letter that I sent to Mr ******. Per our phone conversation on or around March 18, 2013 I had clearly explained the discounts given on the new invoice typed up and mailed to you. In your third paragraph you claim that I told you there was a 10% discount for repeat customers and an added 5% if one is a senior and an additional 5% if more than one task is involved. You have misinterpreted what was said in regards to all of the discounts, the 10% is for seniors and the first additional 5% is for BAM customers. If the customer is a senior and does not elect to purchase the BAM then they ****** only receive the 10% discount (this is also clearly stated in our radio commercials). If the customer elects to purchase the BAM then they are entitled to receive up to a 15% discount (a maximum of $500 for BAM customers and a maximum of $250 for non-BAM customers) off of our standard rates. If the customer has multiple tasks that need to be done then as a BAM customer they can receive up to an additional 5% off providing that they haven't hit the $500 maximum. As you can see by the amount of discounts I have given, Mrs. ****** has received more than the $500 maximum. In the fourth paragraph you have stated that we automatically included the BAM for $99. As you can see by the discounts that were given, Mrs. ****** would have only received a maximum of a $250 discount. By purchasing the BAM she not only received the discounts but also a heater tune up in the Fall and an A/C tune up in the Spring had she called in to schedule the appointments. On top of the tune ups and the discounts the water heater parts warranty have been extended out to a lifetime warranty providing that she renews the BAM each year for $99. Without the BAM the water heater parts warranty is 6 years. This was not an improper add-on nor was it improper business ethics. It was in the best interest of Mrs. ******. You have asked for an additional refund of $243 which we are granting merely for customer satisfaction. This ****** cancel Mrs. ******'s BAM membership and drops her warranty back to 1 year labor and 6 years parts on the water heater. By depositing check number XXXXXX and XXXXXX for a total of $2261.27 you are agreeing that this matter has been satisfactorily closed. You ****** also notify all parties involved that the case has been closed satisfactorily.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish to submit a complaint against ****** Plumbing and Heating. Bonnie is located at **** ****** Court, Sacramento, Ca XXXXX. In our contract with Bonnie we subscribed to their BAM benefits program, which cost us $99.00. After a job performance on our sump pump on 9/30/12, we were disillusioned because the price for doing a sump pump was overly stated. We had to do the pump right away as it had failed. We had no time to gather other price quotes. The installer said it would be a full day to replace our sump pump and the cost was $3500.00. The installer was on the job for (7) hours, which is a labor rate of approximately $357.00 dollars an hour after deducting the cost of the pump at $875.00-1,000,00. I bargained with the owner to reduce the price to $3,000.00, which was agreed upon and the payment was sent to their office via mail. During this repair, the employee informed me that our metal tank was leaking and the wood sidings were weak. The tank would be replaced with plastic as well as the sidings. I asked for a bid and he stated $4500.00, I checked around for other plumbers and received a bid for $2,000, which included a metal tank and concrete sidings. After these incidents, 1 contacted Bonnie Plumbing on 10/27/12 and talked with Diane to cancel my BAM program and refund my $99.00. She asked me why, and I told her I was disappointed with ****** plumbing. I telephoned again on 11/12/12 and spoke to Lisa and she said she would follow.-up on the issue and get back to me. I never heard from either one of them.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hi Mr. ******, Out of a gesture of customer service, we ****** cancel your ****** Automatic Maintenance Plan (BAM) and refund your $99. Just to be clear, by canceling your BAM you ****** no longer have access to BAM member benefits of priority scheduling, limited lifetime warranties, discounted pricing on future services, or the 3 included tune-ups. You authorized work at your home for $3,504 which was a price based on BAM membership. If you were not a BAM member, the price would have been $3,900. You asked for another discount and we reduced the ****** to $3,000. Including the refund of your BAM, your ****** has now been discounted by $999 for which we feel is more than appropriate. We hope this ****** satisfy your concerns and close this case.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** Plumbing sold us a defective hot water heater and then charged us an unconscionable amount to install the replacement heater. In April, 2007, ****** Heating, Inc. sold us a 50 gallon gas water heater (invoice number XXXXX). Five years and three weeks after we bought the heater for $1,345 it began leaking. They came out and told us that it was defective and that the manufacturer would replace it. However, they would charge us $575 to install it. Other quotes to install it were between $250 and $300, but ****** would not let the manufacturer supply the new heater unless ****** installed it. After much discussion they charged us $488.75 which I told them that I would be appealing. This is an unconscionable contract (which I wrote on the invoice) because it was entered into under duress. If we wanted our defective water heater replaced we were forced to pay double the normal and customary rate for installation. I am a senior citizen and cannot shower in cold water. This is also an adhesion or "take it or leave it" contract, because we were forced to agree to it in order to get the replacement heater which we were entitled to receive from the manufacturer. ****** Plumbing received the heater at no charge from the manufacturer and made an unconscionable profit by being our only means of installation. We put this on a credit card but ****** be disputing this amount.

Desired Settlement: We are disputing the installation charge of $488.75. Since the heater was defective we should not have to pay for installation of the replacement. ****** Plumbing should not make a profit for having sold us a defective heater.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On April 16, 2007 we installed a new 50 gallon gas water heater for Mrs. ****** and it has lasted for just over 5 years. When my technician returned on May 14, 2012 he found that the water heater was leaking. My technician used the word "defective" which to him means failed. Had the water heater truly been defective as she claims it would have leaked most likely within the first 6-12 months. The manufacturer gives a 1 year labor warranty and a 6 year parts warranty which has been honored. Mrs. ****** was not forced to sign our contract nor was she obligated in any way to have us replace her water heater. She could have sent my technician on his way and called another company to come out and replace her water heater. Mrs. ****** chose to sign our contract and have ****** Plumbing do the work for the agreed price of $488.75 which is 28% less than our standard rate. Our senior discount as advertised is 10%. All of our pricing comes out of our standardized pricing guide so every customer pays the same price no matter who they are, where they live or no matter which technician shows up to do the work. Mrs. ****** also claims that ****** Plumbing would not let the manufacturer supply a water heater unless we installed it. The manufacturer and the manufacturer's rep determine who ****** or ****** not get a new water heater under warranty, not plumbing contractors. They also do not pay contractors any labor after the first year to replace a water heater that has failed. This is clearly a case of buyers remorse and I ask that the BBB close this case.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We received a very unsatisfactory and factually incorrect response to our complaint from ****** Plumbing. First, the technician himself used the word "defective." After my request for clarification he stated that he meant "defective," and wrote in his own handwriting on the contract "defective." Second, as to not being forced to sign the contract, here were my choices. I could have refused to pay the exorbitant price for installation of a new heater to replace my defective one and gone without hot water. I could have paid someone else to enstall the heater IF ****** Plumbing would have left the heater which I was entitled to, but they refused to do that. Or, I could have bought a new heater from some other company and paid out of my own pocket to replace an admittedly defective heater that ****** Plumbing sold me. None of these are realistic choices. Therefore, as I stated in my original complaint, in order to get the replacement heater which we were due, we were forced to sign an ADHESION CONTRACT which is defined as "a standard-form contract prepared by one party, to be signed by the party in a weaker position, usually the consumer, who has little choice about the terms." As stated above, we had no realistic choice. Third, we never agreed to the price. Assuming that there would be no charge for the installation since we were to receive a free replacement heater for the defective one, we were shocked to hear the outrageous price. My husband immediately called ****** Plumbing. We were told by Kimberly that the Manager ****** Vanderver would return our call when he got out of a meeting. He never called back and refused to take our repeated calls. We were finally told by Kimberly that they would install the heater for $488.75, with no further negotiations. Hence, a "take it or leave it," or adhesion contract, which we were forced to take. We never agreed to the price and wrote on the contract: "fee is unconscionably high and ****** be reported to appropriate agencies." Fourth, as to BUYER'S REMORSE, this does not apply here. Buyer's remorse is defined as "the sense of regret after having made a purchase. It is frequently associated with the purchase of an expensive item such as a car or house. It may stem from fear of making the wrong choice, guilt over extravagance, or a suspicion of having been overly influenced by the seller." No part of this definition is applicable in our situation. We do not regret having bought the water heater. What we are disputing is the unconscionable charge for installation of a replacement for our defective heater, not the purchase. Installation is not an expensive item; it is a necessity. We did not make any wrong choice and do not feel guilty over an extravagance. We were not overly influenced by the seller; we were taken advantage of. We continue to dispute this outrageous installation charge.

Business' Final Response
Mrs. **********-****** has stated that she does not regret purchasing the water heater from us. She has also stated that the price is the only issue. Since the BBB does not handle pricing disputes I ask that you close this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was resolved through BBB Arbitration

6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1