BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Volkswagen of Orange Park meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Volkswagen of Orange Park include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Volkswagen of Orange Park include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Volkswagen of Orange Park
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 07/28/2006 in FL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jack Hanania, President Mr. Rickey Bomar, General Manager Mr. Danny Hines, Executive General Manager Mr. Sean Mickey, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Hanania, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Hanania Automotive Group Hanania VOP, LLP
Industry Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Volkswagen of Orange Park has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7200 Blanding Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32244


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing two vehicles from VW and trading in my car I was unaware of some additional paperwork that I needed to complete. They told me what I did was illegal. I asked why they accepted my car and money without first telling me about the proper way to move forward. When I said this the ******* ******* said "I don't give a **** if you are military I am going to contact your ******* CO." I told him to calm down because I had no issues completing the task. He then threatened me saying "you have 24 hours to get it to me or else". To which I replied "or else what sir?" Not what I expect from a grown man let alone a *******.

Desired Settlement: I would love an apology not only to me but also to the several junior sailors of mine he verbally harassed at my work space on base. As well as compensation for me paying for what he should have taken responsibility for in the first place.

Business Response:

On or about November 10, 2014 ******** came to our dealership and requested that we sell him two automobiles. At that time we worked diligently with the banks to help him with his request.

Approximately 72 hours after we consummated the deal, we discovered that the title he had given us for his vehicle was still in his mother's name and he had already endorsed the back of the title making him the second owner.

We have requested that he get us a ******* title on several occasions. We've ask for him to provide us with a title in a timely fashion and he requested that we take care of this for him. We have explained to him that it is his obligation to go to the DMV and get us a proper title.

At no time was profanity used when discussing the situation all phone calls are recorded at the navy base and here at our dealership.

We are asking for the title for his trade so that we can be finished with the deal


Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The constant unprofessionalism of the ********** continues to be an issue not only to me but to the staff that works over me but also to the staff that works under me. When trading in I let both the ******* and ****** know the situation with my car and they gladly accepted it. At the very minimum I will be expecting a verbal apology from the extremely childish and arrogant ******* ***. 


********* *****

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: For a week I was in contact with VW of Orange Park both by email and by phone. At their request I emailed to them a competitors's ad for a lease which they told me they "could beat that ad." I spelled out my terms and asked if they would do that deal. They agreed on the phone to do so. I asked to see a copy of the agreement. They did not send it. They asked me to fill out the credit application which included ALL my and my spouses personal data including SS numbers. I filled it out and submitted it via email. We have excellent credit. I got a phone call within a few hours. I was told they would could only do a different deal which was not at all what we had discussed. Not even close. I said "no deal" and hung up the phone. I sent a text to say I was reporting them to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the verbal agreement.

Business Response: From: ***** *** ***********************
Date: Mon, Aug 25, 2014 at 4:13 PM
Subject: BBB Complaint #*********
To: "******************* ********************



We believe that complaint #******** regarding Volkswagen of Orange Park should be closed due to unreasonable request.  The customer asked VW of OP to match a deal that they read in another state.  You can see from the correspondence attached and deal information that we have offered to match the deal and still have not gotten anywhere with the customer.  The customer did not read the fine print on the ad that she read.  The customer has only been dealing with our store via phone and email and has not been in the store.  We feel that we have made the customer a very fair offer and she is still unhappy.  Please review the attached information showing the ad that the customer read and our response to her.   Also included is the fine print stating that tax, tag, title was not included in the advertised price. 


If you have any questions or concerns please let me know.


Best Regards,


***** ***

********* *********

******* ********** *****

phone: ***** ********

fax:(**** ********

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: If, as the business states, my request was "unreasonable" that is what they should have replied when I first inquired. Instead, an overly enthusiastic sales person and manager agreed over the phone to "beat that ad" after they saw it for themselves. After I filed my credit application and disclosed personal data including my and my spouse's social security numbers, they phoned to give me the new terms which did not match anything we had previously discussed.

 At this time, the original dealership in ****. is honoring my zero down, 24 month request in spite of "the fine print" that VW of Orange Park bases their argument to dismiss my complaint. Let's face it, bait and switch happens. But, if someone over the phone has a verbal meeting of the minds and promises what they did, it is simply bad business to reneg on the agreement. It is true I did not go to their shop because as they were well aware, I am due in ******* this weekend. We agreed to meet in person on the 31st.


******** *******

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

Volkswagen of Orange Park has tried on multiple occasions to work with the customer to resolve this issue, however, the customer does not want to work with us.  We have explained, to the best of our ability, why terms in deals such as these can fluxtuate.  A base model vehicle is the only vehicle that will fit this profile (*** is not included).  Any other vehicle will have a higher payment depending on the price of the vehicle.  In any deal that we make, by law, we are obligated to collect Tax, Title, and Tag fees.  We are still willing to work with Ms. *******, however, there must be an understanding that the payment will directly correllate with the price/type of vehicle.


Thank you

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: unsatisfactory response due to the many inconsistencies in their explanation from the actual facts of the incomplete transaction. I have found a vehicle elsewhere for the terms and rates I was quoted. I do not wish to pursue this any further. But, I do want the record to stand corrected and not as stated by the dealership which does not take into consideration my experience with this company.


******** *******

7/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was lied to when asked about the history of the car. My sales rep told me that my car had one previous owner with mostly highway miles. When cleaning my car I found that one my back window it said orange park loaner car. I was sold a loaner car that is already having issues with tires,breaks, radio. Everything typical of a loaner car that was driven by hundreds of people. When brought to the attention of the ***** ******* who said he would do anything to make it right, it was quite the opposite. They didn't do anything about the tires except tell me it would be 1000 for new ones. Even the tire company offered to pitch in 50%. Because the wheels had a defect in them. But it passed by Volkswagen vigorous inspection and sold to me as a "new car". This dealership operates in unfaithful manners. I would have bought a car from them that day, but never a loaner car. It's to bad companies do business like this.

Desired Settlement: All I was looking for was an apology from a manager there instead I got the run around, lied to, a wasted day of work while sitting in the lobby for 5 hours. I feel they should have paid for the tires.

Business Response:

***** called the dealership and left a message for the service department (June 6th).  ***** ****** returned his call.  ***** explained that when he bought his car, he was told that he was buying a “1 Owner Car” that is “Certified”.  ***** stated that he later found out that it was a service loaner.  He went on to say that he knows that customers abuse these cars.  I offered that we find the opposite of this.  We inspect each car before and after a customer drives the loaners.  He told me that he didn’t think of it that way.  He told me that the tires were separating at the side wall.  ***** ****** explained that in order for this vehicle to meet certification standards, it would have been inspected by our service department and pass VW Inspection requirements (tires and breaks included).  ***** scheduled an appointment for him at the service department to inspect his tires and explained to him that our service department can inspect them and work with the tire manufacturer.  ***** came in Tuesday June 10th and they spoke again.  Volkswagen of Orange Park provided him with a loaner vehicle and conducted the inspection.  The service department worked with the tire manufacturer and cut him a deal on the replacement tires (approx. $410) to replace all four tires.


Service (***** ******* *******) called ***** and told him what they had worked out with the manufacturer.  **** told me that ***** felt that was not acceptable and that he hoped his tires would blow out so he could sue the dealership.

Volkswagen of Orange Park is continuing to work with the customer to help with the manufacturer defect.     

Consumer Response:

It's funny how one defines "working with the customer"  I gave them a chance to apologize for selling me a loaner without telling me. No matter how they describe it they know what they did.  An apology and a hand shake goes a long way and they never did either. If they want to operate a business that way, go for it.  I picked up my car today and  they cleaned the brakes and added a part that was missing.  I will get my new tires  elsewhere, it was never about $ it was about admitting they  sold me a car in an unfaithful manner and couldn't man up to it.  If they were to call and apologize  I would accept  it and move on.  I would not recommend dealing with that sales team over there. good luck. 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:



Business Response: We helped Mr. ******* trade in the ***** he purchased from Volkwagen of Orange Park for an *****.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** *******


6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Volkswagen of Orange Park posted a 2009 Volkswagen jetta S vin #***************** $10,931.00 when we got to the dealership and drove this car with this vin # we were told that we drove the wrong car that the car listed in the add was for a different car and that our car price was $14,500. Then was told that they would take the cost of the car down to $11,500 and that they would call us the next day to finish up the sale. When they never called the next day we contacted them and they told us that we should of taken the deal the night before.

Desired Settlement: This dealership should NOT be allowed to do this. I think that if they can not keep there advertised deals that they should not be allowed to advertise at all! revoking of their advertising rights

Business Response: Volkswagen of Orange Park has contact ***** ****** regarding the advertising issue.  We explained that there was an error on ************** but we would honor the price that she was given at the dealership.  After working with ***** *** she made the decision to come back and look at vehicles at our **** ** ****** **** dealership because they have several vehicles in her price point to choose from.  She purchased a used Fiat from that location.  

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2007 Chevy Express2500 in June of 2013. When we test drove the vehicle the sales rep and I noticed that the vehicle was not shifting into overdrive and the front windshield had a crack. The sales rep advised me that the windshield and the transmission would not be a problem to repair. So after the sale was complete the sales rep advised me to bring the vehicle back to the dealership and they would make the repairs to the vehicle. The following day I returned to the dealership for the repairs. After sitting and waiting from 9am to 3pm and no one ever moved the vehicle I asked the sales rep to speak with someone in charge. That's when he introduced me to **** which was the secretary of **** *******. **** placed me in a loaner car till my vehicle was repaired. After 4 days at the dealership they called and advised me that the vehicle was ready to be pickup. After picking the vehicle up from the dealership I noticed after driving the vehicle 1 to 2 days it was still not fixed. I called and left several messages for the sales rep to return my call. He never returned one call. I keep driving the vehicle because I use it for business use which we work 24/7. After continuing to drive the vehicle more things started to go wrong with the transmission. I called and spoke with **** which is **** *******'s secretary and she remembers everything that happened and the repairs that should have been completed she advised me that ****** ***** was going to call me back in regards to the issue. After calling again and speaking with **** she sent ****** ***** another message and he finally called me back and discussed the issues with the van. He assured me that he would speak with the repair shop to find out why we where still having the same issue with the transmission. He called me back and advised me to bring the vehicle back to his shop and they would take a look at the vehicle to find out what the problem was with the vehicle. After looking at the vehicle they advised me that the trans. was bad.

Desired Settlement: Since this is a company vehicle that we have wrapped with company lettering I would just like the vehicle to be repaired. and also the company to stand behind the first repair that was not completed. ****** ***** assured me that he would do everything that he could to make this right and after he found out it was the transmission that needed to be replaced he couldn't remember anything about the issue nor why it stayed at the shop for 4 days. ****** ***** waited us to trade the vehicle.

Business Response:

Below is the response submitted from ******* ********** ***** on the ***** ***** Complaint #*******. 

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. and Mrs. *****'s concerns. At the time of purchase, the vehicle was serviced and the necessary repairs were completed.  Twelve thousand miles later, the customer incurred a subsequent failure. We would really like to assist however the extended service agreement was declined at the time of purchase which would have covered the repair. Furthermore, customer also acknowledged that the vehicle was sold as is.  Please see attached documents for further reference.

In light of the foregoing, we respectfully decline participating in the cost of repair. We regret any inconvenience or frustration this customer has experienced.

Please let me know if you need additional information.  Thank you for your assistance with this response.   Below is all of my contact information so please do not hesitate to call me.




***** *********

******* ********** *****

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: When the vehicle was purchased we where advised that all the issues would be taking care of after the purchase of the vehicle. We returned the vehicle back to the dealership for the repairs. They did fix the broken window and replaced some part in the rear-end of the vehicle. When I returned back off vacation I drove the vehicle and immediately advised the sales rep. on his voice mail that the problem was NOT fixed. The sales rep never returned ANY of my calls. So the only option I had was to keep driving the vehicle due to the nature of my business which is 24/7 Locksmith service. The problem with this dealership is they are not standing behind there word on the repairs. There response to the problem was to trade the vehicle out with another vehicle which I have already wrapped the vehicle in company lettering. Since I choose not to do this they advised me that they would not repair the vehicle. All I'm asking for is the dealership to stand behind there word on the purchase. I feel that they should help with the repairs.   



***** *****



7/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues