BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Sunset Rentals, Inc.

Phone: (843) 785-6767 Fax: (843) 785-7094 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 7258, Hilton Head Island, SC 29938 http://www.sunsetrentals.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunset Rentals, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunset Rentals, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunset Rentals, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 16, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated: 12/18/2003 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff West, Director Sales & Marketing
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Rental Vacancy Listing Service


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 7258

    Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 276-8991(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed at a Sunset Rental property (*********** ******) and lost two days in our vacation for a weekly rental after the company changed the dates after the contract was signed. We arrived on Sunday, June 30th and departed on July 6, 2013 after being asked to leave because of new renters coming in for the following week. We originally received a final confirmation stating that we would arrive on 6/30/2013 and depart on 7/7/2013 which was included to **** **** who was supposed to settle this matter. We lost two days of vacation at *** ********* and failed to receive a reimbursement for these two days because of Sunset Rentals failing to follow the signed contract. We never received notification regarding the change in dates after the final confirmation payment contract was signed by both parties along with the deposit and final payment that was sent to Sunset Rentals.

Desired Settlement: $227.05 per night lost x 2 days lost= $454.11

Business Response: Company's response below:

Linda,

I have many times over the last few weeks tried to reach out to ******** ******** but have not been able to reach her. ******** was contacted prior to arriving and we made aware that there was an issue with her reservation and it was accidently put in as a Sunday - Sunday rather than a Saturday - Saturday. She excepted that it would have to be changed and we did not hear anything else. The guest did arrive on Sunday and departed on Saturday, so the total loss would be one day not two. The rental fee for the reservation was $1,045 and taxes were $104.50. The remaining charges were pet fees, admin fee and travel insurance. One seventh of the rental rate and tax would be $164.21. I would be happy to give ******** ******** a credit of $164.21 off her next stay for any confusion she may have had. ***** thank you as always and hope you're doing well.

 

**** ********* *** ********* ********

Sunset Rentals Inc.

******** ****** ****** ****** ************************ **** ************************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:?

 

I was not notified by Sunset Rentals prior to my arrival regarding the change in dates.  The statement made regarding the notification was false!  I do not want a credit to use towards my next vacation.  I will accept a loss of one day (total of $226.85) during our stay which will only be credited back to my credit card account.

 

 

Regards,

******** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We Listed our Vacation Property with Sunset Rentals from September 6, 2012 until July 6, 2013 when we gave notice we were not continuing to rent as per our Contract agreement. Sunset agreed to terminate our contract since we followed all necessary requirements to end our engagement. The termination was accepted by Sunset and we even made arrangements which inconvenienced a Guest in our Villa to have their lock removed from our door by the date that Mr. **** **** insisted it be removed even though we were arriving a few days after the date and asked if he could, as a courtesy, just allow us a few extra days to have a new lock installed. We abided by everything Sunset asked of us. My main complaint is that now, almost 2 months after we have been out of contract, my unit is still showing up and being advertised on their Website. Since we no longer rent our unit, I respectfully asked to have my unit removed from their website, and it was...however, for some reason, they now and put it back on their site. We have asked twice now to have it removed since it reappeared. That was an annoyance, but a bigger annoyance occurred this Morning when a Cleaning Crew from Hallmark Cleaning arrived at our door and said they were sent by Sunset to clean our unit. We have contacted our Former Property Manager at Sunset and reported the problem and we were told that he would handle this, but due to the fact we have had several issues with Sunset during the year we were under contract with them, I felt I was being extremely patient with them and was trying not to give a negative review or complain. I do not feel that I am being unreasonable asking that my unit is not advertised on the internet any longer since it is completely a private residence now. Also, I have no idea why they would be sending a cleaning crew to my unit. We did have the lock changed, so I realize no one has access to our property, but I am not comfortable with Sunset's business practices.

Desired Settlement: The only thing I hope is that Sunset will proceed as though we were never Clients. Remove my Villa from their website and any other website such as Flip Key or Trip Advisor or wherever else they advertised or promoted it and quit sending me emails, Also, I want them to be sure an notify their Cleaning Crew and anyone else that ever had access to my unit that it is no longer on the Rental Market and their services are not necessary for my unit.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9680051, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

********* *******

 

consumer called and stated that issues is resolved. 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1