BBB Accredited Business since

SurfSide Pools

Phone: (904) 246-2666 Fax: (904) 247-1842 313 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250 http://www.surfsidepools.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SurfSide Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SurfSide Pools include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SurfSide Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 01/01/1977 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Scott, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Heat Pumps Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Scotfam Inc

Additional Locations

  • 313 Beach Blvd

    Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm disputing a charge for a ***** ******** ********* **** in the amount of 523.59, because it was an unnecessary replacement part, which I did not report to the service department on the initial call for service. The service call was to check clogged line, and the system was not changing from spa mode to pool mode. In addition, what is left out of the invoice #148395, was the system was not going into high speed during regular programming. No reports of connectivity issue with the PDA and the system. The PDA was connecting to the system the day before service came to my home, but after removal of the clog during the first service visit, when I returned home the same evening, and turned on the PDA to check the clog status, the PDA would then not connect with the system. The following day, 2 technicians showed up. One of them was carrying a replacement part, which was a new PDA, I assume. When I checked the system late that day, it still was not working correctly. I called back Surfside, and they came out again, this time they replaced a 2 speed relay, and stated that was the cause. After about 2 weeks, the system failed again with the same original complaint I phoned in.

Desired Settlement: I tried calling ***** in accounting to explain the problem, it just keep going around in circles. She seemed unwilling to work with me, just keep repeating the same reason. I would like my $523.59 returned to me. I needed to pay the outstanding balance, because *****, has stated she will file a lien on my home, and void the warranty on the pool. (Great customer service). I would also like Surfside to perform a full diagnostic on the pool system, free of charge.

Business Response:

 

I should preface my response by the fact that SurfSide Pools is rather shocked at this complaint, as we have made every effort to resolve Mr. *******’s problems with his pool equipment and had prior verbal approval to make the following repairs per his request. And once the repair was disputed in a letter to us, Mr. ******* was contacted immediately and he was offered a detailed explanation for the valid repair and we felt the issue had been resolved.

On April, 8, 2013, Mr. ******* contacted our Service Department stating the following issues with his swimming pool equipment (A copy of our Work Order# ***** is attached):

“The valves were not changing from pool mode to spa mode. He thought there was possible air intrusion in the system because he could not vacuum the pool and the water pressure had dropped. He stated that the pump was supposed to go into high speed first and then switch to low speed but the pump was failing to go into high speed.”

A service call was scheduled and one of our mechanics visited the property and assessed the issues requested by Mr. *******. The skimmer line was clogged with debris which was preventing the pool plumbing from getting enough water pressure to vacuum the pool. The mechanic blew out the skimmer line with a CO2 blast and resolved this issue.

The mechanic tested the Jandy Aqualink (computer operation) of the system. The aqualink would not manually change the system from pool mode to spa mode while in “service mode” or by the PDA (hand held controller). Our mechanic contacted Jandy (manufacturer) Tech Support while on site and was told that they believed the problem was due to a bad PDA J-box (computer board). At that point, no further diagnostics was completed, including addressing the issue with the pool pump not engaging into high speed. Our mechanic consulted our Service Manager to confirm his assessment with Jandy Tech Support. The Service Manager wanted to personally assess the problem and confirm Jandy Tech Support’s diagnostics prior to replacing the PDA J-box. Our Service Manager and our mechanic returned together the next day with a PDA J-box (corrective part). Mr. ******* was at home and our Service Manager communicated to Mr. ******* that the resolution to his valves not changing from pool mode to spa mode was to replace the PDA J-box and the cost of that part was approx. $500.00. Mr. ******* did not ask any further questions nor did he object to us replacing the part. The PDA J-box was replaced and that resolved the issue with the pool not going from pool mode to spa mode. The pump was then checked for the issue of engaging between high and low speeds. Our Service Manager replaced a 2-speed relay later the same day (he did not have this part on his van and had to return to our warehouse to get the part), which resolved this issue. In summary, the PDA J-box was needed to correct the issue with the system not going from pool mode to spa mode and the 2-speed relay was needed so that the pump would engage from high speed to low speed. These two issues are separate and could not have been resolved with only replacing the 2-speed relay.

Mr. ******* was invoiced on 4/16/13 for a total of $674.37 which included the cost to replace the PDA J-box, the 2-speed relay and the labor for one (1) service call. We did not invoice Mr. ******* for any labor for our 2nd service call, as a courtesy. Mr. ******* mailed a check to us in the amount of $154.62, which did not include the cost of the PDA J-box, and included a letter, dated 5/6/13 disputing the PDA J-box as being a correct resolution for his initial complaint. Our Service Manager left 2 voice mail messages for Mr. ******* on 5/10/13 to discuss the dispute and he did not receive a response from Mr. *******. I left a voice mail message on 5/13/13 and Mr. ******* returned my call later that day. I explained to Mr. ******* the repairs completed for each complaint he initially reported. He still did not agree with our Service Manager’s resolution for the repairs but did commit to send a check for the balance due of $519.75 for the PDA J-box. Mr. ******* has failed to pay the balance to date even though he has stated in his complaint with the Better Business Bureau that he has paid and would like his money refunded. We would prefer not to exercise our legal right to file a lien on the property per Florida Statute 713.06 but feel that we have given Mr. ******* every opportunity to pay a valid debt. We consider Mr. ******* a valued customer as we did build his pool and our company is very interested in customer retention and satisfaction. There is no record of Mr. ******* contacting us again after I spoke with him regarding his invoice and his commitment to pay the balance to let us know the system had failed again. 

Mr. ******* is welcomed to discuss this issue further by contacting our Service Manager, Jake Patow or myself. If the balance due of $523.59, which includes the cost of the PDA J-box and accrued finance charges, is paid, we will re-instate all warranties that have been cancelled due to his non-payment. We would be happy to perform a full diagnostics on the pool system free of charge, once this complaint has been resolved. 

Regards,

***** ******

Accounting Manager

cc: **** ****** ***

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: In the response a piece of information was missing. After the PDA J-box was replaced, it did not resolve the issue, since on the same day, I had to contact your service department again, telling you the pool still did not change from the pool mode to spa mode. The PDA J-Box was not needed to correct the issue. According to the response the pool would to change from pool mode to spa mode in the service mode, should indicate that it was something other than what was thought. According to Jandy technical service whom I have been working with, the PDA-Box connects with the remote for communication in the auto mode.

Regards,

 

****** 

 

 

 

 

Business Response: As we have now received payment from Mr. *******, his warranty for parts and labor has been re-instated. Mr. ******* may contact me at ###-###-####, ext. *** to set up an appointment with our Service Manager for his free equipment evaluation and if determined that their is still an existing problem from the previous repairs completed in April, we will be happy to make those repairs at no charge to Mr. *******. 


Regards,
***** ******
Accounting Manager

cc: J*** ** ****** *** (President)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on SurfSide Pools
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)