BBB Accredited Business since

St. Augustine Pools, Inc.

Phone: (904) 829-2605 Fax: (904) 829-2607 View Additional Phone Numbers 170 Nix Boatyard Road , Saint Augustine, FL 32084 http://www.staugustinepools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that St. Augustine Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for St. Augustine Pools, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on St. Augustine Pools, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 01/01/1972 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip Ethridge, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design


Additional Locations

  • 170 Nix Boatyard Road

    Saint Augustine, FL 32084

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Notwithstanding the unreasonable 4-month delay from contract signing to today, caused by a seemingly endless series of construction flaws that had to be corrected including shoddy tile and grout work, sloppy concrete decking work, and problematic electrical issues (more detail below), all of which were the direct result of a complete lack of oversight by the pool construction company owner, my complaint today is about the pool construction company owner’s refusal to pay a $190 invoice from the electrician he hired to complete the electrical work for my new pool, which is in direct violation of our construction contract that states simply that electrical work is included in the price (i.e., no limitation as to inherent issues or those created by the new pool’s use of electricity). It should be noted that we have already paid the pool contract price in full. It should also be noted that we negotiated with the electrician to keep him from filing a mechanic’s lien on our property and paid the settlement agreement amount in full as well -- $150. Thus, it is the reimbursement of our $150 that we are demanding to resolve our complaint here. The pool construction company owner’s claimed basis for refusing to pay is that the cost to correct the problem created in my breaker box, caused by the running of the pool equipment, is not his problem. Specifically, the arc fault breakers in my box kept tripping when the pool was running (but only when the pool was running). He claims that my original breakers that had to be replaced to correct the issue were faulty because GE (the manufacturer of the breakers) agreed to replace the breakers at no cost with new ones. He claims they would not have done that unless the breakers were faulty. In fact, the breakers were not faulty and worked just fine prior to the installation and running of the pool equipment. They were never a problem, not one time. And as noted above, they also never exhibited the problem when the pool was not running. The issue was clearly and directly created by his pool construction. His electrician wired the pool equipment into my existing box (i.e., he did not install a separate box for the pool but instead entered into my existing box). Therefore, it is my position that he should be responsible for paying the $190 invoice (now a reimbursement to me for the $150 I paid to settle the matter with the electrician). That expense was incurred to correct an issue created by the running of the pool equipment he installed, which expense was not in any way limited or held out as the homeowner’s responsibility in our contract.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of $150.00

Business Response:

We the owners are very surprised to get this complaint of our companies work ethic and the owners responsibility to workmanship, customers and as an owner. We try our best in the heat, cold and rain to make each customers project of their pool experience to run smoothly. If there is anything that the customer is not happy with we fix if possible to do so. With the construction of your pool you were given a bigger spa with no extra charge to you. As a small family owed and operated business since 1972 we can  do such things like  that for our customers. As for your construction time, when a customer signs our contract and pays the down payment that customers name goes on the board of a list of customers pool to start. You did sign and pay your deposit on 8-10-15. After that we have to prepare all the paper work needed to apply for a pool permit to be approved by the county which it can take 2 to 3 weeks in doing so. When we do get a call our email from the building that your permit is ready to be picked that we try to get your pool started as soon as we can . On your file I have a note with start date of 9-30-15 in which we tried to start your pool but due to the everyday rain we experienced  in our county that month all construction dates had to be moved, due to the rain. Your pool would have been started earlier but due to the we could not due so. In which the owner related to you for the hold up was due to the rain. We began again at your home to dig your pool on 10-7 -15. So from start date of 10-7-15 to 11-17-15 end date when your swimming pool was filled water. The owner always over sees every project and is in constant communication with his foreman. In the middle of the construction time period of your pool the owner was taken to Emergency Room had to undergo a triple bypass surgery that put out of the office and construction sites for a few weeks. But when he was well enough to return back to work your pool inspected and corrected. We hope you and your family have many happy times in your beautiful swimming pool. As for the labor cost that the electrician  charged you for the breakers in your home of 190.00. The owner talked with the electrician to charge St. Augustine Pools for his labor cost along with the electric charge for installing all of your pool equipment. That charge was not listed on the invoice when we received it.  We will send you a reimbursement  check for 150.00 to cover that charge to you. Sorry for the confusion

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on St. Augustine Pools, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)