This business is not BBB accredited.

Paragon Pools of Lake City, Inc.

Phone: (386) 755-7300 295 NW Commons Loop, Suite 115-343, Lake City, FL 32055


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 10/20/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Paragon Pools of Lake City, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Paragon Pools of Lake City, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paragon Pools of Lake City, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 09, 2008 Business started: 12/01/2007 Business incorporated 12/01/2007 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Handy, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Saltwater Pools - Equipment & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    295 NW Commons Loop, Suite 115-343

    Lake City, FL 32055

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This contractor (***** *****) DBA Paragon Pools, to install a new vinyl liner in our existing pool. The installation was good except that bottom and sides of pool liner has deep dents/ridges through out. These dents make it very difficult to clean the pool whether it's vacuuming or cleaning out leaves or other debris. ***** ***** looked at the problem and said he would come back with his scuba gear and try to straighten out the problem. That was several weeks ago. That was the last we have seen or, heard from him. He has refused to return any phone messages. The previous liner pool liner was completely smooth with absolutely no ripples or ridges. We have talked to the ***** *****. He came out and agreed that there is a problem. He stated that he would be back to see what he could do. That was several weeks ago. He never showed up. We have called him four times; leaving messages each time. He has yet to return our calls. We have paid $4,200 for this job and do not feel it has been completed in a professional manner. Workmanship clause of contract is not being honored. We would like to have this problem resolved to our satisfaction as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: We want the contractor, ***** *****, to do what he has said he would do. That being, smoothing out the dents in the bottom of the pool.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to contact ***** For 2 weeks and have not been able to get in touch with him. I have left him several voicemails with no follow up phone calls. He is supposed to start on my pool sometime in the next week or two and still have not heard from him

Desired Settlement: I just need a return phone call

Business Response: Company's response below:

From: ***** ***** - Paragon Pools ******************************
Date: Wed, Jul 2, 2014 at 10:05 AM
Subject: RE: Fwd: ******* ****** # ********
To: ***** ***** *********************


Hi *****-
 
Thank you for following up and bringing my attention to this.
 
******* ****** was never a customer of Paragon Pools.  In fact, we never even met in person.  
I was first contacted by Mr ****** about the installation of an inground pool.  Over the course of several phone conversations, I realized that the pool kit that he purchased to install would not meet local building code standards. He also told me that he did not plan to pull a building permit.
At that point, I told Mr ****** to look for somebody else to install his pool.
 
 
 
 
Cheers! *****
 
***** *****
Paragon Pools


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Paragon Pools of Lake City, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)