BBB Accredited Business since

Crystal Pools & Spas of North Florida Inc.

Phone: (904) 272-5676 Fax: (904) 272-9400 20-A Knight Boxx Rd, Orange Park, FL 32065

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crystal Pools & Spas of North Florida Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crystal Pools & Spas of North Florida Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crystal Pools & Spas of North Florida Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/01/1989 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940

Type of Entity


Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ray Easterwood, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Crystal Pools and Spas of North Florida Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 20-A Knight Boxx Rd

    Orange Park, FL 32065


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that our pool finish is defective as it has a splotching non-uniform finish. The pool finish was never right from the start. The pool finish (*** ***** ********** ****l) was applied on June 2nd, 2014 and we noticed issues right away even when Crystal Pool maintained the water chemistry within the first six weeks. After repeated complaints about the non-uniform splotchy finish, Crystal Pools have the pool finish subcontractor , *******, look at the pool finish and on July 9th, 2014 they recommended that the Crystal Pool technician lower the water PH and run the pool pump non-stop for one week. ******* indicated that the water chemistry was not properly maintained by Crystal Pools and this caused the non-uniform splotchy issue. This lowered PH and running the pump for a continuous week temporarily resolved the issue, but the non-uniform splotchy finish returned and this action reduces the life of the pool finish. We complained several times to Crystal Pools, but they indicated that the pool finish need to cure. Crystal Pools then passed off the maintenance to me and I maintained the pool water chemistry and I wire brushed the finish per the instructions provided by Crystal Pools. I have maintained the water chemistry by taking samples to *** ******** and ***** * ***** since the pool maintenance was handed off to me. Normally, the water will need Muratic acid added to the pool, but overall the water chemistry has been very good and I have properly maintained it. After the winter, we looked at our $40K pool and was disgusted by the non-uniform splotchy pool finish. After repeated attempts this year, Crystal Pools will not respond to our calls nor resolve our pool finish issue even though they did apply adhesive in order to correct a single paver stone issue. We have left several messages with both the salesman Dan Tygart and a person named **** who is supposed to be the owner. We have additional dates and times of communications with Crystal Pools about this issue.

Desired Settlement: I believe that the existing pool finish is defective and needs to be removed and a new finish applied. I am not interested in additional acid washing which will reduce the life of my supposed new pool finish.

Business Response: This letter is in response to complaint #10647033 (*******)........ Pool finish not meeting the *******s standards will be replaced within the next 10 to 14 days ( Weather is reason an exact date can not be given )
The *******s have been notified by **** ****** co-owner of Crystal Pools of this action........Crystal Pools

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable