This business is not BBB accredited.

Clift & Company Pools & Spas Inc

Phone: (904) 855-0019 Fax: (904) 855-0698 3842 Deer Chase Pl E, Jacksonville, FL 32224 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Clift & Company Pools & Spas Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Clift & Company Pools & Spas Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clift & Company Pools & Spas Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Clift, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Paving Stones Patio & Deck Builders Screen Enclosures Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3842 Deer Chase Pl E

    Jacksonville, FL 32224

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We started a pool project with this company in April 2014. It was supposed to be 6-8 week process with a completion date of late June or first of July. We are on the 16th week of construction. The pool is not finished. The company will not return phone calls. It has been 4 1/2 weeks since anyone has been out to do anything. I found out today that the company has no more money, will not be finishing the pool and has not paid its subcontractors for the work that has been done on our pool even though we have paid the pool company. We have the pool company $59,750 thus far of $65,000 pool. The enclosure company is due $11,080. I am not sure the amount the paver company is owed because they would not disclose that to us, but they have not been paid either. We have paid for the natural stone, but do not have it. It supposedly has been paid for by the pool company, but again is not in our possession.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the money back that we already paid for the above mentioned subcontractors so that we do not have to pay them twice, or at best we would like those subcontractors to be paid directly from money retrieved so that we don't owe them. We would like the stone that has been ordered and paid for at no additional cost.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** Clift, owner of Clift and Co. Pools, has informed my family that he is unable to finish the pool that we paid him to build. He took over $32,000 from us almost 3 months ago. He started the construction of our pool, but the construction has stopped and his company has made no progress in over a month. He stopped returning our phone calls and has not visited the jobsite in 6 weeks. Before we signed a contract with him he visited my home, met my wife and my children, took our money, and now is "unable" to finish. We found out through our own research that he has other families in Jacksonville in the same situation. He refuses to give us any answers as to why he can't finish our pool. We have asked him to return our money so that we can move forward with another contractor, but he refuses. He is a great salesman and HAD a good reputation in this town - please BEWARE because he is a fraud! I hope to spare other families the heartbreak and aggravation of doing business with someone like **** Clift.

Desired Settlement: Give us back the money that you took from us. $32,000.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Clift and Co. was contracted to redo our pool and pool deck. Aside from the nuisance of having sand leaking into our pool, our deck is collapsing on one side. This is also causing water pipes underneath the deck to break. We have the expense of getting someone here to fix the pipes over and over, not to mention our water bills have increased. Eric Clift has not addressed any of these issues. He was paid promptly and I have to assume this is why he feels no need to address our problem. In addition, his website states that he is a member of the BBB, which he is not.

Desired Settlement: Honor his promise for a quality pool and deck. Fix this horrible, shoddy job. Also take the BBB membership off his website


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Clift & Company Pools & Spas Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)