BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Marcite, Inc.

Phone: (904) 448-4150 Fax: (904) 448-9914 5956 Richard Lane W., Jacksonville, FL 32216 http://www.classicmarcite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Complete Inground Swimming Pool Renovations, Repairs / Commercial & Residential


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Marcite, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Marcite, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Classic Marcite, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2010 Business started: 01/30/1989 in FL Business incorporated 01/30/1989 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles C Starling Jr., GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles C Starling Jr., GM
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Service & Repair Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures


Additional Locations

  • 5956 Richard Lane W.

    Jacksonville, FL 32216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Classic Marcite by referral in March to resurface our pool, install new equipment, and new tile in March. 4/15/2014 we went under contract and provided a deposit. Per the contract work was to commence ASAP and completion date would be 10-14 days. Well the process has been nothing short of a nightmare. They have done poor work, it took 4 months to finally finish after 3 attempts, and it still looks unacceptable. No one is returning our phone calls, we are starting to feel like they were not qualified to do the job and now they are walking away and leaving us. As a customer we only ask to be informed and receive what was agreed upon in the contract. The 1st pool attempt started 5/13 and was finished 6/13. Equipment was not hooked up, plaster did not look right and tile was a mess. On 6/14 ******* showed up to receive payment however, the pool was not completed to contract. On 6/16 we informed the office the pool had a leak. Finally 6/26 the leak was fixed and per the leak detector it was the worst leak he had ever seen it was leaking 50 gallons per hour and had been leaking for 10 days. After multiple attempts to fix the 1st plaster job finally on 7/12 they said they could not fix it. When the plaster was done it started raining so the crew had to finish up as quickly as possible but it had to be redone and they would come back in Oct to fix.7/22 we received a text from ******* that stated they would start Monday and would be complete in 4-5 days. 7/28 pool was re-drained. Then no one showed up until 8/5 and per ******* Jax crew was headed to our house and pool would be filling by the EOD. 8/5 receive a text from ******* that they lost the pool. Unclear about what that meant and when I got home it was like a war zone, garbage in the pool and on the deck and the plaster looked terrible. At 4:45 I asked ******* to meet us out here to discuss. He informed us we were the 2nd shot of the day and they didnt get there until 3pm and they put too much calcium in the mixture so it set up too fast and they couldnt save the pool. Now for a company that has already had customer service as well as work issues this was very disappointing. He assured me it would be fixed and he and Scott would be at the next job. So the entire job had to be redone. 8/25 the crew shows up to do the pool for the 3rd time. ******* nor Scott showed up. I asked the guys if they were worried about the rain for the day and a worker tells me I dont care we didnt get paid for the last job. To be disrespected in my own home by a company that was hired to do a job and has yet to fulfill their contract is unacceptable. Especially when both managers were supposed to be there to supervise the work to ensure it was done properly. After a call to ******* ******* showed up and sat out front in his truck. 8am they started prep work, 9:30 ******* shows up, 10:30 they then removed the plastic which was covering the tile and immediately I went out front and informed *******. He advised me that it was not a problem they would not get any plaster on the tile. 11:30 the work was done and much to my disappointment the plaster was all over the glass tile and grout. ******* said they would clean it and it would be perfect, well it is far from that. He stood around as someone used a wire brush and scraped the tile until I t was 60-80% scratched. So now we are here almost 7 months later and the work is still not acceptable. It has been a long, grueling process and the company is in breach of their contract. The pool has been drained and filled two times, our deck has been left with multiple stains, plaster marks and acid footprints. No one is returning our phone calls. We just want the Classic Marcite to make the work right. Please help.

Desired Settlement: We want the tile to be replaced as it was promised due to the damage it incurred and the grout to be redone. All work to be done in an acceptable and professional manner. We also want them to provide a solution for the damage to the concrete deck.

Business Response: Classic Marcite has continued to reach for improvement on this job, as with all others, and will be contacting Homeowner to arrange new tile installation. We understand when a job seems to "Go South!" and work diligently to provide corrective actions as quickly as possible, as witnessed by the 3 pool interiors and soon to be 3 tile installations to this customers pool. We again apologize for any inconveniences to our client, and will continue to reach for customer satisfaction on this pool...