BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 59 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

59 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 29
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 59

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1899 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1899 Business incorporated: 01/05/2009 in GA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William Faust , Project Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. William Faust , Project Manager
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Scholarships & Financial Aid

Alternate Business Names
EDMC Online Higher Education Education Management Corporation South College South University Online
Industry Tips
Grants

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Penn Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2200 E Germann Rd

    Chandler, AZ 85286

  • 709 Mall Blvd

    Savannah, GA 31406

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 629-2901(Phone)
  • (888) 444-3404(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: College is holding a pell grant even though I am not enrolled. This is preventing me fromgoing to another college. ******** ******, the ********* **** ******* has lied to me several times, telling me it is released and it isnt. This has been going on since latter part of July. I was supposed to stat School on Sept. 4 2013 and could not. As of today they are still holding this grant and I need them to release it.

Desired Settlement: Release my Pell Grant so I can go to another college. It is being held up personally by ******** ****** because I threatened them with filing a BBB Complaint.

Business Response:
Company's response below and attached.


Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.  We have resolved the issue with Mr. ******** back in October.  Attached is the formal resolution letter.  Sorry that this was delayed.  If you have any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

*******
******* *****
******* ********** **********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1