BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Roof Masters, Inc.

Phone: (904) 713-7663 View Additional Phone Numbers 5991 Chester Ave Ste 110, Jacksonville, FL 32217 http://www.aaaroofmastersinc.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Roof Masters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Roof Masters, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAA Roof Masters, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 16, 2008 Business started: 02/01/2007 in FL Business started locally: 02/01/2007 Business incorporated: 02/08/2007 in FL
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Irvin, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Flat Roof Gutters & Downspouts Roof Cooling Systems


Additional Locations

  • 5991 Chester Ave Ste 110

    Jacksonville, FL 32217

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (904) 786-5607 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cornerstone Restoration, aka RoofMasters, RestoreMasters or AAARoofMasters. Engaged in deceptive sales practices, questionable billing policies and deceptive/non enforceable sales agreements/ work estimates for roof repair. They bid on my roof repair, but when I didn't go with them, they billed me a "cancellation fee" of $1,400 based on a prelim agreement (even though they did no work) and when I didn't pay, sent it to a collection agency. 1) They came to my house after a hail storm and offered a free assessment of my roof (verbally). They climbed on the roof and said I had damage. 2) I scheduled insurnace adjuster. Cornerstone sales guy said he would come back at same time as adjuster. Said I needed to sign a document "allowing them to talk with insurance company," and if the claim was approved, it allowed them to bill insurance co directly. Said if insurnace company declined claim, agreement void. No scope of work or cost estimate was provided in agreement. Verbally sales guy said "doesn't committ you to anything". I foolishly signed3) Insurance co agreed roof needed to be replaced, but due to age of roof/my policy, they would cover pro rated replacement cost only, not full value. Insurance co refused to work with roofer, cut me check instead, told me to bid it out and any cost above check was on me to pay.4) I bid out, asked Cornerstone to bid. Went with another company with a lower bid. 5) Cornerstone bills me $1,400 cancellation fee under the name AAARoofing. They did no work. We never agreed to any scope for a cost. They never scheduled workers or ordered materials (so they incurred no costs) On the back of the prelim agreement I signed, buried in a page of legal disclosure, it says if I canceled they would charge me the $1,400 fee. Despite the sales guy saying no obligation.6) They also then submitted a document for $30k to my insurance company for my address. Document indicates "work completed" and they expected payment when insurance co called them.

Desired Settlement: I want them to void the $1,400 cancellation fee. Call off the collection company. Correct any information they submitted to the credit bureaus on me. I also believe they should remove this cancellation fee clause and prelim agreement from their sales process. It is deceptive. No other roofer I contacted had anything like it. The other roofers gave me a clear, written, no obligation bid. Cornerstone did the same deceptives sales process with my neighbor.

Business Response:

 Owner **** ***** spoke with Customer Mr. ****** and we Voided the Cancelation fee. The collections Mr. ****** spoke of in the complaint was our office. Not a collection agency. I think that this has been resolved. I think it was miss communication as the homeowner signed a contract with us and canceled after the 5 day allotted time..But I feel it has been resolved.
 
***** *******
AAA Roofmasters Inc

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, pending one confirmation.

Yes RoofMasters/RestoreMasters voided the charge in their system, per my conversation with ****, the president.  But it is incorrect to say they didn't send it to a collections agency beforre - they did (I got the calls and letters to prove it). However, I called the collection agency directly myself and confirmed that my "file" was closed/resolved.

The only remaining concern I have is whether RoofMasters/RestoreMasters or the collections agency submitting anything to any of the credit bureaus, in terms of a "late payment".  My concern being that this hasn't been corrected if it occured.  It will be difficult for me to fix this if that is the case.  I am currently trying to pull my credit report directly to see if I can verify it is clean of this issue.  Once I am able to do that, I will be satisfied.

Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had numerous issues with AAA Roof Masters (ARM) in the Jacksonville area. I paid them to replace and paint the hardie board and trim on my chimney and clean my gutters. The original job took over four times the amount of time quoted (over 12 hours) and was not done properly which was later confirmed by ARM. I sent a letter and photos to the owner showing the defective work. they sent the General Manager out to try and improve the work that had been done by the unqualified workers. Due to the weather, he was unable to finish painting and caulking the hardie board and trim. He did not finish cleaning out my gutters which I had also already paid for. I have in writing that they would give me a check within 7 days for all unfinished work and paint and would be back to complete the gutters. I was also told I would be sent my warranty which I have not received. It has now been 2 weeks and the General Manager will not call me back. It is raining and I now have water coming in my chimney which was never an issue before.

Desired Settlement: Within the next two weeks they need to make repairs to ensure water is not coming in my chimney causing additional damage. Finish painting and caulking and clean the gutters or reimburse me to have someone else do it. Give me a copy of my warranty. If the work can not be completed in this timeframe I would like to be fully reimbursed in the amount of $800 to hire a qualified company to properly complete the job.

Business Response: We sent out ****** to the address but the home owner wasn't there. We also tried calling and left a message and never got a call back. We also taped a check in the amount of $115. on the front door for reimbursement along with the warranty on the door. As of today we still haven't heard anything back from the home owner.


-****** ******* (Production Manager)

Consumer Response:

 

I am rejecting this response because:

I called ****** back and left him a voicemail.  I also followed up with an email to him, but I did not here back from him.  I will try and call the company today to talk to ****** who replied to my complaint.

Regards,

* *******

 

 

Business Response: I spoke to Ms. ******* probably about 15mins ago. She told me that she tried to call the repair guy back @ 8:03 pm.  Since it was after hours my guess is that ****** was probably tucking his 3 kids into bed.  She did say that she tried to email him as well. The guys are doing repairs during the day and are on roofs most of the time.  Myself and the manager sent him a text letting him know that she is trying to get a hold of him. Ms. ******* said that she can't get to her phone most of the time because she is busy that it would be better to email her so I got her email address and sent her an email so she could contact me with any problems and I also sent her email to the repair guy.  It looks like she complained again before calling our office for assistance. I am more than happy to help her with her problems and to get a hold of ****** since they are having a hard time reaching each other. She did complain to me about her chimney leaking. Per contract we didn't do anything connected to her roof we fixed the siding on the back side of her chimney which isn't connected to the roof, it runs down the back of the house. We will send ****** back out there but it probably won't be until tomorrow.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roofing contractor installed gutters last summer and the gutters were not installed properly and are not functioning as they should be. Roofer has not resolved this after talking with him over a month ago.

Desired Settlement: Either repair or refund

Business Response: We have spoke to Ms. ***s and let her know a work order has been sent out and is suppose to be taken care of in the order in which it was received. This order has been marked as urgent and will be taken care of.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several leaks have been reported to the business. Numerous attempts at least 3 have been made by the business to fix the leaks. The leaking is getting worse with each attempt, now it's coming thru my pot lights, skylights and sliding glass door threshold from the ceiling leaks and is causing water damage to my electrical, carpeting and drywall. The approximate date range for requests for repair have been made as follows from recent to oldest complaint:1) 7/1/13 @ approximately 2 PM - sliding glass door leak, 2) 6/22/13 @ 1:26 PM- leak thru pot light and 3) March 2013 numerous leak stains noticed. At least two separate handy men have been out to look at the issue on three instances. The owner refuses to return our calls. Only the saleswoman and handymen contact us. The original roof replacement was due to missing shingles, there were no leaks prior to AAA Roofmasters roofing job in August/September of 2012. The workman removed the skylights in error and the problems have centered around that removal and inferior work. I was given the business information from the saleswoman, Business owner's name- ***** ******, address - **** ******* *** *** **** **** ** *****, phone ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the skylights replaced with better quality products like those that worked for 17 years to stop the leaking issues. We would like the roofing and all interior damages corrected, replaced ,repaired and checked for mold at the companies expense to make us whole.

Business Response: We have put out a work order for this address 

**** ***** *** **** 
************* ** *****

I have Spoke to Mr. **** and explained that we are going to take care of the matter and the work order have been turned in and will be taken care of in the order in which it was received. It has been marked as urgent and the repair man has said that he is going to try to make it out there today as he was suppose to yesterday but he isn't able to work when it is storming. We are sorry for the inconvience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Delivery Issues
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1