BBB Accredited Business since

Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (843) 686-6008 Fax: (843) 686-2333 32 Palmetto Bay Road Suite 1B, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928 http://www.hhivacations.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 2003 Business started: 04/12/1958 Business incorporated 02/01/1999 in SC
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christine Damas, President
Business Category

Rental Vacancy Listing Service Resorts Vacation Rentals Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Resort Rentals

Additional Locations

  • 32 Palmetto Bay Road Suite 1B

    Hilton Head Island, SC 29928

  • PO Box 7887

    Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I arrived in ****** **** June 13th, 2015, after two days of driving from ****. The condo we had rented on ***** ****** ***** was across from the ocean and conveniently located in walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and the bike trails. We arrived early Saturday evening, unloaded our luggage and groceries so we headed out to get the food we would need. Upon returning back we unloaded and put away the groceries. We took a walk on the ocean and, once we came back, were all tired and went to bed. I woke up early Sunday and figured I would unpack the suitcases and put clothes away. As I was putting clothes in the dresser, a huge bug crawled out from under the dresser. After trying to kill it with my shoe and realizing it wasn’t dying, I put a glass on top of it to trap it. After waking up my family and doing some research on the Internet, we determined it was a Palmetto bug, otherwise known as the American cockroach. My husband then contacted the on-call number for the condo to let them know what we had found and we were told someone would come and spray. As I went into the kitchen, I found 3 more dead bugs laying face-up on the white tile floor. Shortly after that I found a fourth dead bug on the kitchen sink. Upon further researching on the Internet, we suspected these were the more invasive German cockroaches. When the maintenance man showed up, he confirmed the live insect we had found was a Palmetto bug and the smaller ones were German cockroaches before disposing of all of them. He then proceeded to spray the condo with a residential insect spray that you would find at ***** or **** ***** and assured us we wouldn’t see any more bugs. After he left, my family and I discussed what we were dealing with and agreed that none of us felt comfortable staying in a place that had cockroaches. The Palmetto bug was alive and, although the German cockroaches were dead, we knew from researching that for every dead cockroach you find there are likely many more live ones you don’t see that could come out at night and potentially crawl into our luggage or personal belongings. We called around to other hotels in ****** **** looking for a room we could move to, inquiring from each if they had ever had issues with cockroaches. Although there were no specific reports of cockroaches that any of them were aware of, most of them admitted that the Palmetto bugs were a native inhabitant of ****** **** and they couldn’t guarantee we would not see one of them in our room. While this was quite surprising to us, we weren’t as concerned with the larger Palmetto bugs as we were with the smaller German cockroaches, which are well known to infest homes and businesses and can easily be transported from one location to another inadvertently. We didn’t really know what to do at this point as we were not from the area and didn’t know anyone locally to stay with. We thought maybe we could stay across the street at the ******* ***, so we walked across the street to view the rooms and see if there were any available. While they did have rooms available, they were small rooms with just two full beds and one bathroom. Being a family of five, with two adults and three children, we knew this would not work for us to stay for the week, but we needed to leave the condo so we booked one night until we could figure out what to do. My husband called the condo management to inform them we were leaving the condo because of the cockroaches and the on call person told us he would call us right back after he talked to his manager. In the meantime, we began the tedious process of re-packing our clothes, making sure there were no cockroaches in any of our belongings or luggage. While packing, we talked about how we could best salvage the remainder of our one week vacation that had, so far, been very strained. One option we came up with was to drive to ****** *****, where we had stayed before on vacation and had no issues with the accommodations. Out of desperation, I called the hotel where we had stayed in ****** ***** and learned that there was actually a condo available for the week. At this time, the on-call person from the condo management called us back and let us know that his manager had authorized him to offer us a condo in ***** ***** for the week that was a $1000 upgrade at no additional charge to us. Hopeful that this would be the answer to our problem, we agreed to meet the maintenance person at ***** ***** to show us the condo. However, upon arriving and looking at this condo, we were disappointed to find that both the condition and location of this condo were, in our opinion, a downgrade from what we had originally booked. There was no shopping within walking distance as there was in the condo we had just left and there was even a fairly lengthy walk to even get to the pool. We even saw another German cockroach crawling up the side of the building as we were going up to the room. Seeing as this room was run by the same management company as the first one, we didn’t feel confident at all that we would not run into the same issue with cockroaches in this room. We expressed our concerns to the maintenance person and let him know that, unfortunately, the ***** ***** condo would not be an acceptable option for us. At that time, they had no other units in ****** **** available, so we requested that they just refund our money for the condo and we would find other arrangements. The maintenance person called his manager, **** ****, to let him know our plans and then informed us that he agreed to refund our money, minus the one night we had stayed. It was at this point that we left ****** **** and drove four hours to ****** *****, calling on the way to reserve a condo for the week. The next day was Monday, so my husband contacted **** **** directly at the main office just to verify the terms of the refund we had been promised the day before via his phone conversation with the maintenance person. However, Mr. **** was not very pleasant to deal with and not understanding at all regarding our concerns of cockroaches in his condo unit. He dismissed our complaint as an overreaction over “seeing a few bugs” and informed me he “didn’t buy” our story. He went so far as to accuse us of using this as an excuse to try and get our money back just because we decided we didn’t like ****** **** and wanted to go to ****** ***** instead. He claimed again that the unit in ***** ***** he offered us that was a “$1,000 upgrade” should have been more than enough and that they don’t typically give refunds in “cases like this”. My husband attempted to argue our case but it was clear Mr. **** was not interested in listening. Still, he agreed to present our case to his manager and call us back that day. As promised, he did return our call that afternoon and informed us that his manager had agreed to send us a partial refund of $761.99 and stressed again that they usually do not offer any refunds at all, inferring that we were lucky to be even getting this much. This whole experience was a nightmare for our family! Because of the cockroaches in this condo unit, we lost over a day of our vacation that we had looked forward to for months. In addition to the over 600 dollars that the condo management company refused to refund us, we also lost a down payment on family pictures we had scheduled in ****** **** and over $200 worth of groceries we had to leave behind that we were unable to fit into our car with all our luggage. Not to mention the peace of mind of ever staying in a condo unit again without worrying about it having cockroaches. In my opinion, seeing cockroaches in a unit you are paying to stay at is not acceptable under any circumstances. These are not “just a few bugs”, as Mr. **** tried to say. These insects, if transported in your luggage, could easily infest your home and cost you thousands of dollars to try to eliminate, if you able to eliminate them at all! As for the condo we were offered at ***** *****, we should not have had to settle for something that was not as nice and in a less convenient location than what we had originally paid for. After some quick research, we even found that it was only maybe a 200-300 dollars more than our condo and not the “$1,000” upgrade that we were told. Once we informed the condo company this unit was not to our satisfaction, they should have stood by their word to refund us for the full week, minus one day and not kept half our money and tried to make us feel stupid about leaving a condo with cockroaches. This is not good customer service by any means and I refuse to ever deal with this company again.

Desired Settlement: Refund the remainder of our money.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;                                                                                                             July 17, 2015

 

Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint #********, ***** ** ****, *** ****** ***** ****** – Resort Rentals of ****** **** ******

As Ms. **** mentioned in her letter, her family had a reservation to stay with us at *** ****** ***** ****** from 6/13/2015 to 6/20/2013. We were contacted on Sunday 6/14/2015 by her to report the presence of palmetto bugs in the villa. We immediately dispatched one of our staff members who attempted to treat the unit with over the counter bug spray since the Associations Professional service provider ****** *********** ******* was closed. Our staff member explained to the ****’s that we could have ****’s come back out on Monday when they reopen so they could attempt to treat the villa more thoroughly if they desired. Shortly thereafter, it became clear that they were not going to be satisfied with this course of action so our personnel offered them an alternate upgraded villa from their tropical view unit located across the street from the beach to an oceanfront complex in another area of the ******, which sells for substantially more than what they had contracted for. While our staff member was with them at the ****** ***** ***** he overheard the ****’s family discussing that they would rather go back to ****** ***** where they were more familiar. They agreed to look at the other unit at the ****** Club Complex in the ***** ***** area but it was obvious to my staff member that they had already made up their minds to go elsewhere.

The ****** ***** ****** *********** has routine monthly pest control and in the attachment #1, it outlines their service dates accordingly for you to review. It’s worth mentioning that the ****’s reviewed and signed their rental agreement (attachment #2), which includes the Vacation Rentals Terms and Conditions (attachment #3), which clearly states under the “Resort/Complex Amenities” section of the agreement that “Resort Rentals of Hilton Head does not control, nor is responsible for resort/complex amenities, including but not limited to Pool/Spa Closures, Elevators, Health Facilities, Pest Control etc.”.    In addition, our contract states in the “Cancellation Policy” section of the terms For a refund of monies, cancellation must be in writing and received 91 days prior to arrival date. For cancellations made prior to 91 days of arrival, there will be a cancellation fee assessed of $100. Cancellations made between 90 days and 31 days of arrival will result in a forfeiture of the 40% deposit. Cancellations within 30 days of arrival will result in a forfeiture of full contracted amount. Cancellation Insurance is available for an additional fee. (This insurance is available only to guests who reside in the U.S. and Canada. Third party reservations are also not eligible.) No refunds will be given for early check-outs or no-shows.” Despite the clearly defined terms of the rental agreement and as a good will gesture by us, we refunded more than 50% of their money when we weren’t obligated to do so. The ****’s had this reservation on the books since 2/25/2015 and due to their early departure, there would be no chance for us to recoup any of the money we refunded for this individually owned rental property that we manage for our owner.

In conclusion, we decline to compensate the ****’s further and feel that we were not only responsive to their concerns throughout the process by making an effort to remedy the problems they encountered, offering them alternative accommodations in an upgraded oceanfront complex and ultimately refunding them more than 50% of their money when we had no real obligation to do so. Thank you for taking the time to review this case and if you have any further questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to let us know if we can assist you further.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

Thank you for your response.  However, I don't feel it really never addresses the true reason for our complaint (see attached letter).  We left the ***** ****** ***** condo because of the German cockroaches we found dead in the kitchen, not the Palmetto bugs you refer to in your response (which is, in fact, just another name for the American cockroach).  Once we did the research and found out just how easily these insects can be transported and how quickly they can infest your home we made the decision to move our belongings out of the condo immediately.

We decided not to stay in the ***** ***** condo that was offered to us because, as we stated in our original complaint, we didn't like the condo and it wasn't even in the location we wanted to stay on the ******.  I’m also confused as to how this is being presented as a significant upgrade from the original condo when it appears the pricing between the units is very close (see links below)

****************************************************************

****************************************************************

Despite the allegations in your response, I assure you we didn't decide on a whim to waste an entire day of our family vacation that we had planned for months packing our things, leaving half of the groceries we had just bought, and driving for four hours to ****** ***** because it was “more familiar”.  We made this decision out of desperation to get ourselves out of a situation we were placed in due to the lack of effective pest control in your resort. I guess at $1,500 a week we just assumed we would not have to deal with something like cockroaches.  For a family of 5 this is a lot of money and only being able to recover part of this expense now puts us in a bad position financially.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Thank you for your reply. As we stated previously and as noted in our rental contract, pest control is handled by the Association Management Company and therefore is not within our control regardless of the type of pest involved. In good faith we offered to move your family to another property at no additional charge. The exact dollar amount difference between *** ****** ***** ***** (located across the street from the beach) compared to the **** ****** **** ***** (Ocean View) that was offered is $307.95. Since this was not satisfactory to your family, we agreed to refund $761.99 from your total of $1449.49.  We were not obligated to do so under the terms and conditions of our rental agreement, which Mr. **** read and signed. It’s worth mentioning that no guest prior to your stay or since has mentioned any problems with pest as of today 7/29/2015, 6 weeks after your visit. We believe our efforts to remedy the situation in your case were fair and we are not prepared to offer any further compensation. 

Consumer Response:

It is nice to know you have a guest sign a contract you have no control over anyway.  I guess that is a good way for you to pass on accountability to someone else.  It's also worth mentioning that Mr. **** signed the contract, I did not and do not agree with the way it is being handled.  I will mention your company and condos to anyone visiting ****** **** and how this was handled and what is hidden in your fine print as well as the walls.

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ****