BBB Accredited Business since

Home Finder Realty Corp Of Jax

Phone: (904) 241-5501 Fax: (904) 249-0670 View Additional Phone Numbers 2292 Mayport Rd., Ste.1, Atlantic Beach, FL 32233 http://www.hfrjax.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Home Finder Realty Corp Of Jax meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Home Finder Realty Corp Of Jax include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Home Finder Realty Corp Of Jax
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1996 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 05/01/1996 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Nelson, President
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management Real Estate Rental Service


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Home Finder Realty Corp Of Jax has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2292 Mayport Rd., Ste.1

    Atlantic Beach, FL 32233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to lack of responsiveness on behalf of this company, despite several calls and written requests to fix my dishwasher (that NEVER worked properly, even upon move-in), and an exterior door lock, I chose to break my lease early. I knew I was responsible for the rent until they rented it again, but they quickly found someone who agreed to move in on 2/1, which was the first availability date we set together, given time for inspection,repairs, etc. I had respectfully requested consideration for not having had use of all appliances during the time I was a tenant, in the form of not charging me a reletting fee of $150. That was denied. They also (mistakenly?) wrote the new lease to begin on 2/5 vice 2/1, charging me $206.90 for 4 days rent, which I would have not been responsible for if they had wrote the lease on the agreed upon date (which the new renter also agreed on--until they presented him a lease with the new date, and a lot of other mistakes to correct). Further details: My move-in inspection was provided to **** **** on 7/22 (scanned and emailed), with an emailed addendum of items on 7/27. Email sent to person identified as responsible for maintenance on 7/22--******, at which I identified problems. Specifically, "**Dishwasher--soap dispenser is broken--the clip/latch keeps it from closing and thus releasing soap at the proper time (thus probably not cleaning the dishes properly).", and "I note the back door lock is difficult to operate." With no response, I followed up via email again on 7/29, and again 8/5, again 8/7, again 8/24. The appliance repair technician was finally sent/arrived on 8/26 to replace the soap dispenser and provide 2 doses of cleaning agent for the dishwasher. Via a phone message, I identified to ****** that the dishes were still not being cleaned. In conjunction with an email for another issue, on 9/21, I identified via email to *** that the dishwasher was still not functional. Specifically: "The appliance guy did finally come--on my birthday--Aug 26th, repaired the microwave, fridge, and replaced the part in the dishwasher, and gave me cleaner to remove the scale buildup in the dishwasher. The dishwasher is still effectively useless and does not clean dishes at all. I ended up handwashing the last load that went through (back in August), and have continued to handwash since. BTW--when I put dishes in the dishwasher, I do rinse them first fairly well...so..for them to still not come out clean...is a problem." The fact is, the dishes were actually coming out dirtier than when I put them in. This should not be the case immediately after following the procedures for the cleaning solution---I fully understand build-up over time, but this is not the case. Further, I was not contacted by any repair person regarding the repair of the sliding door lock (other than ****** promising he was sending someone) until AFTER I notified your company that I desired to move out. When I made an appointment within a window set by the contractor, I called at the tail end when they hadn't showed, and they realized they screwed up and could not make it in the time, and could not show any earlier than 4 additional hours later---or reschedule for Saturday. I advised they call Saturday morning to nail down a time. When *I had to call THEM* on Saturday morning, they said nevermind, since I was moving out, they would arrange with ******." They then called again weeks later, trying again to arrange a time with me. I consider my time valuable, and I had to make a concerted effort to be at the house at the appointed time, and they didn't show. I have also had several instances with **** **** where she was extremely rude and unprofessional. I will provide details upon request, but honestly, it is best for your company that she is no longer with it. The most recent, unforgivable thing for me is that we agreed that if I moved out by January 15th, that the place could be available for rent on February 1st, and I verified in the *** that it was listed as available February 1st, and I requested via email MULTIPLE times to let me know if I need to plan on moving out any earlier in order for them to rent out by 1 February, with no feedback. Incidentally, the incoming renter, after putting in his application was interested in typical utility bills and called *** to get that information. They did not redact my information, so he had my name, found me in the government directory and contacted me, asking about your company. His take was that **** was..."flaky", or some language along those lines. I inserted my opinion, but asked him to not judge the entire company based on her. I did NOT bring up the unaddressed/ignored dishwasher issues. At that time, he confirmed he was committed to a February 1st move-in date. When I found out from **** that she set the date for 5 Feb, I contacted the new renter and asked him. He said that **** presented the contract that way--he did not request it-- and there were so many errors in the contract that needed addressed, that he let the date go. This ultimately seems to make me responsible for the interim $50/day rent....which I feel is completely unfair, based on the circumstances. I would also add that the first 2 days after my move-in date, I had to pay to stay in a hotel (despite also paying $50/day rent) because the AC was not working properly. I was impressed with the prompt response ****** had to addressing the situation, though; it just took 2 different techs to diagnose the true problem(s). So, all this given, would you please offer me consideration for what I have had to **** with with your company; the fact I left the place in excellent condition--better than I found it with some minor repairs, and definitely cleaner--and please refund my full deposit amount.

Desired Settlement: Please refund me the remainder of the deposit of $356.90.

Business Response:

First, I must apologize for the poor customer service this tenant received.  This is not the way we usually conduct business.  The agent handling the rerental of the unit had been with the company over 20 years, but had become a bit of a problem, and is no longer with us.

Unfortunately, there will be no full refund of the security deposit.  The tenant voluntarily broke the lease and as such, is responsible for the entire amount of the rent until lease end. or until the property is occupied by another tenant.  The new tenant was placed in the property 5 days after the current tenant had surrendered the property, thus owing only 4 days of prorated rent, which was charged on the Claim on Deposit.  The tenant is also responsible for any other monies the ***** would have been responsible for had the lease not been broken, in this case, the reletting fee, which was also charged on the Claim on Deposit.

In summary, the tenant was not charged for anything that was not his/her responsibility.  The ***** paid for all necessary repairs to the unit during the pass through period, whether it would have been the tenant's responsibliity or not.  The tenant was sent a letter explaining the dispute procedure, along with contact informaition for the *****.  At this point, the dispute is between the tenant and *****, Home Finder Realty only acting as agent for the *****.  Any further dispute will have to be between tenant and *****.

Regarding the dishwasher, the new tenant, having lived in the property for the last 3 months, has not mentioned the dishwasher at all and has no complaints regarding its operation.

 

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The company acknowledged the realtor I had to deal with was a problem.  She (**** ****) worked for them at the time, therefore they, as a business, should be held accountable for her actions while she worked for them, which included changing the reletting date of the new lease from 2/1 to 2/4 (and the new tenant had also originally agreed to 2/1; however, he relayed to me, due to many many other mistakes in the lease that needed to be fixed, he let this one go.  By the time it was readdressed, he had already made his moving arrangements to support 2/4.  However, I should not be held accountable for this additional rent from 2/1-2/4.  The response said “The new tenant was placed in the property 5 days after the current tenant had surrendered the property, thus owing only 4 days of prorated rent, which was charged on the Claim on Deposit.”  This is not true.  I had surrendered the property on 1/14, a day prior to the agreed-upon date of 1/15.  This provided many more days than the 5 that they are claiming, and they had agreed the 1/15 move-out date would support the new tenant move-in date of 2/1.

Had my experience with the company been more positive, I would have not broken the lease early.  I was tired of waiting to get things fixed—with no response—while following up multiple times with both phone calls and emails, that I chose to move out.  I should have to pay—in-full—for a rental that does not have all amenities as advertised (dishwasher), nor could arrange to have a lock fixed, which was both a safety and security risk. 

I would also like to note that I left the place much cleaner than I received it.  They had a list of things they would check upon move-out inspection, and I addressed those upon move-in, finding many of those things had not been done, while I ENSURED I did all them upon move-out.  Hence, I was (appropriately) not charged anything for any cleaning or repairs. 

I do not agree that the dispute is between me and the *****, unless Home Finder Realty is able to provide documentation that it was the ***** who chose not to make the repairs to the dishwasher and lock, and to move the move-in date of the new tenant by 4 days.  Home Finder Realty was the property MANAGER. 

Maybe the new tenant has not complained about the dishwasher.  Have they perhaps not used it?  As mentioned, I would rinse all dishes before I put them in the dishwasher, and they would come out dirtier than when I put them in.  This included the first wash after they “fixed it” and cleaned it.  My subsequent requests to address the issued were completely ignored for MONTHS.

It does not seem unreasonable to be compensated for this inconvenience by a refund of the $150 reletting fee (considering I did have to deal with this during an over 6-month duration), and to not be charged the additional 4 days of rent in February—and have that refunded.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

I'm sorry that we can't resolve this dispute between tenant and management company. If I could return her money, I would, but Home Finder Realty does not have her money. That was legally claimed on the Claim on Deposit and given to the *****.  The lease was between tenant and ***** and as such, the tenant's dispute is with the *****, not Home Finder Realty.  If Home Finder Realty could give her the money she's asking for, I would galdly refund it.  It's not my call, and any further dispute must be between the tanant and ***** of the property. Contact information for each party to contact the other was sent in response to the tenants Dispute of Claim. I wish I could do more, but my management agreement is with the *****, not the tenant, and I owe my fiduciary responsibility to the *****.

In closing, I admit that there were a lot of things that could have been handled better, and I apologize for that.  However, the fact still remains that the tenant voluntarily broke the lease and would have been responsible for rent for the entire lease period had the property not rented when it did.

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I wholeheartedly disagree that Home Finder Realty shouldn't be held responsible for monies paid to me.  They were the property management company, and my lease was through them.  It was due to their lack of inaction that I chose to break the lease, as I was fed up with the living conditions for the amount of money I was paying, seeing as I expected to have certain repairs done, as it was part of the agreement.  Also, their company's poor management practices resulted in me paying extra day's rent that I should not have paid--and they confirmed the one central person related to this issue--**** ****, had been a problem for a while and is no longer with the company. 

Home Finder Realty is completely culpable in this situation, and it shouldn't be up to the home***** to settle with me.  I had had ZERO contact with the ***** for this entire process, from beginning to end.  Again, unless they are able to provide documentation to me that the home***** was ultimately responsible for the decisions to not make repairs, and to shift next tenant move-in dates contrary to what I agreed upon with Home Finder Realty, as the property manager, the responsibility lies squarely on Home Finder Realty's shoulders.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: This will be my final response regarding this complaint.  I have already acknowledged and addressed the tenant's concerns, to no avail.  I have explained in detail that Home Finder Realty DOES NOT HAVE HER MONEY, it was given to the ***** as a result of the broken lease and the Claim on Deposit.  Any further aciton on her part must be between the tenant and *****. She has the information necessary to contact the ***** to continue the dispute. Please let me explain again that Home Finder Realty is not the injured party because of the broken lease, Home Finder Reatly has no monetary interest in the property, it was the ***** that suffered because the tenant breached the lease, and as such, the tenant must now seek remuneration from the *****. 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I raised these concerns with Home Finder Realty multiple times PRIOR to them providing the deposit they retained back to the home*****.  Once again, they are culpable and should be held fully accountable.  My decision to move out was based on THEIR lack of responsiveness to repair things for MONTHS.

Regards,

******* *******

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property management company fraudulently kept our deposit after we had done what we was told by the company representative. The owner of the property had predamage the property yard. They still have yet to follow state law and show documents on fertilized yard for year 2014. company should not be allowed to be a property management company if they can not have each and every employee telling customers the correct information. They lied about everything they verbally had previously told us. Very upset at how this company handles good paying clients.

Desired Settlement: Total refund for deposit of 1,195.00

Business Response:

BBB of Northeast *******

Complaint #********

 

 

Dear BBB,

     It appears this former tenant is accusing us of fraudulently keeping the Security Deposit that secured the property at *** ********* **** ************* *** ***** during the time the tenant was in occupancy.  This is not true.  The tenant moved out of the property on 31 July 2014 and a condition inspection of the property was performed and discrepancies attributable to the tenant were noted.  These discrepancies were deemed the tenants’ responsibility and a Claim on Security Deposit was sent to the tenant in accordance with applicable ******* Statutes.  The tenant replied as required and the dispute was duly noted.

     After reviewing the tenants’ reply, the Security Deposit was disbursed to the owner as per ******* Statute and a letter of explanation was sent to the tenant as to next steps to be taken if further action was desired on the tenants’ part.

     The tenants’ Security Deposit was $1,195.00 and the total damages came to $1,555.00.  The tenant was charged $400 for cleaning/washing the walls in lieu of painting, which would have cost much more (damage done by tenants’ children drawing and marking on the walls); $200 for the cleaning of the carpets (tenant failed to provide a copy of a carpet cleaning receipt as required by the lease); $120 for yard service (mow, edge, trim, prune, blow as required by the lease); and $835 for the replacement of dead sod (3 pallets) which was caused by the tenant turning off the irrigation system controller.  The utility company was contacted and water usage records were pulled to confirm the lack of watering of the yard which caused the sod to die.

     In closing, Home Finder Realty acts only as agent for the owner and has no interest in the tenants’ money.  We do not benefit in any way from properly executing our duty to the owner as regards the tenants’ security deposit.  The claims process was handled in accordance with applicable ******* Statutes and as far as Home Finder Realty is concerned, this complaint should be closed.

Respectfully,

***** ** ******

******

Home Finder Realty

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Im rejecting because ***** ****** has been dishonest. We still have yet to get the paper work showing the yard has been fertilize likes stating in lease. Homefinders fraudulently gave our hard earned money without following ******* state law. his agent from the office not only lied but they called their own client dirty and nasty and filthy people. I will not stop until this is brought out into the public. I want a news conference with homefinders Realty and the owners in the public to be to witness. What home finders is doing to clients is wrong. I'm reporting them to the state and will not stop till either they or the homeowners give us our money they fraudulently stole. 

 

Thank you 

***** **** 


 Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: Dear BBB,

***** ****** and Home Finder Realty have not been dishonest.  The lease clearly states tenant and owner responsibilities as regards lawn care.  Paragraph 10D. Lawns and Landscaping is quoted in its entirety.
 "AGENT DOES NOT WARRANT OR GUARANTEE, AND IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CONDITION OR APPEARANCE OF LAWNS AND LANDSCAPED AREAS.  TENANT is to keep all lawns and landscaped areas clean and neat in appearance and is responsible for watering, mowing, trimming, pruning, and removal of weeds in these areas.  OWNER/AGENT is responsible for insect treatment and fertiliaztion.  If TENANT suspects insect infestation (chinch bugs/mole crickets), AGENT MUST BE NOTIFIED IMMEDIATELY!"
The follow-on paragraph states "If TENANT at anytime during the duration of this lease fails to pay for any maintenance/repair deemed to be his/her responsibility in accordance with the provisions of this paragraph, the cost of said maintenance/repair will be deducted from TENANT'S security/damage deposit upon TENANT vacating the premises."
Yes, the owner is responsible for fertilization, but is not reqired to fertilize.  That is his choice, and in this case chose not to fertilize.  On the other hand, the tenant is responsible for all lawn maintenance, including watering.  The lawn will survive without fertilizer, but will not from lack of watering, which happened in this case.  The tenant was charged accordingly.
Respectfully,
***** ** ******
******
Home Finder Realty

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not going to continue to argue. The lease  clearly states that homefinders and or homeowner is responsible for fertilization.  yes it is fraud. You can not charge a tenetfor something the owners had caused. By law you have to show us the documents that requested showing the yard was fertilized per your lease. your agent told us to not to clean the carpets that they would be replaced. Honestly you would think that running a business you would respect your good paying tenants. We had planned on using your company for the purchase of our new home in April 2015. Due to this dishonest and fraud from Hone finders we will be going with a different company and **** ****** *****. I have scheduled a meeting with the **** ****** ********** board with all my document. people need to know that you are doing fraud and to not use your company. 

Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Home Finder Realty Corp Of Jax
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart