BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lauer Real Estate Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lauer Real Estate Group include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Lauer Real Estate Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lauer Real Estate Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2004 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Casey Lauer, Owner Ms. Brittany Lauer, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Casey Lauer, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Services Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Lauer Real Estate Group, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 539 E Park Ave

    Tallahassee, FL 32301

  • PO Box 14859

    Tallahassee, FL 32317 (850) 942-2980


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Currently I am a tenant at *** ** *** **** at this address we've had many issues with getting things repaired . The AC unit ,the water tank ,the plumbing ,and no follow up or response from the management company themselves .At this time the property management company has replaced the water tank and plumbing ,but the AC unit continues to drive the utility bill up. The previous history of the utilities at this current address for no more than 200 a month we have records from the past two years of utility's . Currently the AC is still broken and running up the utilities we are seeking the property management company to stand behind their property and assist us with utilities for the previous month and current month due to the faulty equipment and neglect to the property . This current property management company has failure to respond verbally or in writing to the current tenants. The current tenants have previously called multiple times and came into the office multiple times and have written letters regarding to these issues. Yet the property management company has yet to respond in any type of way .

Desired Settlement: We are seeking from the property management company for either reimbursement on the utilities or adjustment on the rent to come to equal the amount the tenant has had to spend due to the faulty equipment.

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filled out a application with this cimpact for an apartment. I paid an application fee of $50. I got approved for the apartment but the girl who processes the applications told me that the tenant decided to renew the lease. She also told me that if I couldn't find amother property of their to rent that she would refund my application fee. Well I didn't and I started looking else where. I found someone where else to stay so I informed her of that and asked for my application fee back. She she that they were not going to give it back anymore. Why, I do not know. clearly she said if I didn't find a property with then that they would return it. I left a message with her boss to contact because I want what was promised and it was a inconvenience to advertise an apartment and then it's not available. I have not heard anything from anyone from thus company.

Desired Settlement: I would like what was promised which is a refund for my application fee.

Business Response:

I am responding to the Complaint # ********. When Ms. ****** applied for the property she was approved with a Double Security Deposit. She stated that she did not get paid until that Friday and she could have the money by then. The next day, I contacted her stating that the tenant was probably going to renew the lease and since she could not have the money in before the tenant resigned then it would be a waste of her time. She could have rented the property but she stated she did not have the security deposit readily available.
    The same day I contacted her stating that the tenant had officially changed his mind and did not want to renew so the property was still available. At this point in time she said she had found another place. Our offer still stands in the matter if she would like to apply for one of our other properties we would approve her without another fee but with the same security deposit stipulations. 
    On her application, it clearly states "Once this application has been processed and and deposit money has been collected you forfeit your deposit in the event you do not sign a lease." I do apologize for the misunderstanding this has caused, but we are more than willing to apply her application fee to any other property that we have that's available.  Please contact me if you have any questions. Thanks

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This company is partially telling the truth. They offer to give me my application fee back if I decided not to go with a different property. It does not matter what anything states when you offered to give my money back.  I would have never started looking for another place to stay. I will never rent from this company or occupy any locations that they have. I will take this matter as far as I need to.


******** ******

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint seeks the return of my security deposit for the total of $338.00 from Lauer Real Estate Group.On July 24th, 2013 I received my security depost from a rental house with $338.00 removed for "Cleaning", "Steam" and "Lawn". I objected formally in writing and the notice was received by Lauer on July 31st, 2013, by certified mail. Receipt in hand. I requested the sum be returned within 30 days of July 31st, 2013 and have not gotten any information back.Upon vacating the premises I cleaned the house thoroughly including all carpets. One day prior to lease ending the lawn was mowed and general care was taken to the grounds. Any claims against the security deposit therefore seem to be in addressing ordinary wear and depreciation which is not allowed by the lease agreement and Florida law. I made an effort to be available for a move-out inspection but the landlord was not interested.

Desired Settlement: Return the remaining security deposit totaling $338.00.

Business Response: Please let this email serve as my response to complaint # *******
submitted by ** ****** **** Upon ** *** moving out of the home we did an
inspection of the home located at **** *********. Although it did appear that
** *** attempted to clean it was not clean enough to our standards to allow
another tenant to occupy the dwelling. Therefore, we charged him for a clean of
$120. Throughout ** ***'s tenancy we had many complaints from the HOA and
the City of Tallahassee for them failing to maintain the yard and
once they vacated the home they did cut the yard but here again it was not
edged and it looked very poor and I could not turn the property over to another
occupant in that condition so I charged him $150. Regarding the steaming of the
carpet, ** *** did not attempt to do this so I had to get this service
performed and it was $68. Honestly I am very frustrated about these claims
because I was very lenient with ** *** in my deductions because they
were decent tenants. They did other damages to the home that I did not charge
them for but legally could have. Out of his $1175 deposit I did
justifiably keep $338 and returned $837 to ** ***. As stated before, these
claims are ridiculous and I expect this to be the last I hear regarding this
matter from ** ***. Thank you for your time.  

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable