BBB Accredited Business since

San Marco Properties Inc

Phone: (904) 396-1324 1611 Mayfair Rd Ste 101, Jacksonville, FL 32207 http://sanmarcoproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Marco Properties Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for San Marco Properties Inc include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for San Marco Properties Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on San Marco Properties Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1979 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 04/13/1983 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Beth Griffin, Property Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark J Kredell, DP
Business Category

Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Rental Vacancy Listing Service Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Alternate Business Names
San Marco Properties

Additional Locations

  • 1611 Mayfair Rd Ste 101

    Jacksonville, FL 32207

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is in regards to the product / services, unethical business practices, unfair and deceptive trade practice, Failure to honor refund polices of deposit and misleading advertisements of listed property of San Marco Properties, Inc. by withholding a security deposit on a home that is not ready to be rented to the general public due to it not being habitable structure per Florida Statutes 83.51 (1) (a) (b). I contacted San Marco Properties, Inc. regarding a home posted on the Jacksonville Craig’s list for rent. I inspected the home and found a list of items that I requested to be repaired. I emailed them for a week through their web site to schedule a walkthrough of the property – no response. I finally called and was told that I had to come in and leave a deposit for the key to review the home. I did this on a Sunday. I went back to the property management office a day later and returned the key and dropped off the Tenant / credit application and paid fee. I emailed items of concerns January 14th 15. I was told that a deposit was required in order to hold the property while my rental application was being processed. I brought them a $600.00 money order on the 15th of January for the property, additional fees were added which increased the rent to $773, a trash fee of $13.00. I pointed out that Clay County no longer has such fee that this is now included in the home owners property tax and signed a document showing intent to rent listed rental property. During the visit I asked if my deposit was refundable should the property owner not fix the items on my concern list and I was told “YES” by ******. She said that if the owner does not agree to the contingency items of most concern that the money order would be given back to me. I was advised by ****** to leave the money order blank. I signed a document that I was told that I could not have a copy of for my records. During this time I received an email and I asked several questions regarding their terminology. I was advised WO were things they would be addressing, TL means noted on lease and check out was that their maintenance man would check out to see what we would need to done to repair. There is an email pertaining to this and pictures of concerns that I sent to the office via email. I was advised that I would Owe $ 196.13 for the prorated rent from January 25th to February 1st so I brought up the Craig’s listing for the rental advertisement of half of the first month’s rent (I have a copy of this listing) and was advised that no they would not being honoring it. I was then explain that they only hold for 10 days and I was not moved in by then paid prorated rent that I would forfeit my deposit. I explained that I had contingencies and she said that she would get the manager to approve the delay until the first. January 22nd 15, I received an email requesting vet records for my animals. I responded with pictures and asked for an update on my concerns for items listed as “WO” & “Check Out”. No response was received, I emailed again on January 28th, 15, enclosing vet records, stating I would see them Friday January 30th with first month’s rent and again asked about concerns, listed the fence issue. Half an hour later I received an email requesting that I call their office. I called the office and spoke with Liz who stated that the items listed as “WO” were complete and so I asked about the items marked as ”Check out” and was advised that they were reviewed and nothing was to be done. This I got upset over and asked for the office manager whom I did not get a name for. She and I spoke regarding the fence since that was one of my main concerns (advertised as partially fence yard). I was informed that nothing would be done to any of the “check outs” due to cost of them being repaired that it was not in the home owner’s interest to repair and if I repaired I would not be compensated if I did have them repaired. I bought up the fence and the advertisement stating that the house came with a partially fenced yard, she in turn said it is. I stated that the fence was broken on the privacy side along with the chain link fence. I was informed that I MISUNDERSTOOD HER ADVERTISMENT for the rental that the broken fencing is partially fenced. I asked if the work order items would be completed prior to move in on the 2nd and was advised that the maintenance man who had been there 22 years was working on them. I was rude at this point and said that they better be done but then retracted and apologized. I was advised that this was not starting out on good footing at the beginning of a lease and that if I did not move in by the first that I forfeit my deposit. I brought up the fact her staff stated that if contingencies were not met since I had not signed a lease that I would be given back my deposit – she said no, I said well then I have no choice do I, I cannot afford to lose $600.00 and would be moving in. 2/2 I received a call from ***** wanting to know if I was moving in I said Yes and asked for status of work orders. Front door and screens for porch had been fixed others were being worked on. I asked for an extension to move in on the 15th and was told no and that I was losing my deposit. I feel that the business practices being practice at San Marco Properties are unethical as a property management company based on false advertisement, misleading staff, misrepresentation of properties advertised, including illegal provisions and excessive charges outlined in the lease. The sample lease which was emailed to me out lines home owner responsibilities that the tenant would be responsible for per the lease, appliance, plumbing, electrical fuses, circuit breakers, maintenance of screens, broken windows and any maintenance fee from their approved vendor. Should a maintenance work order be initiated after move I would have been responsible for during the term of the lease. Their lease states “As is” but do not provide history records of all items listed in their lease for the new tenant to be shown that San Marco Properties, Inc. has maintained the property for the homeowner and expect the new tenant to take on someone else’s responsibilities by bullying them into a lease for a home that has already been reported with safety concerns, health concerns and faulty prior to even signing a lease. I mentioned unethical practices and in my opinion there has been quite a few. I bring up the subject of my money order. I was notified today that it was cashed on 1/22/15. I would like to know who signed it. I was advised to leave it blank by ***** stating that it would be returned should contingencies not be agreed upon. I still have the receipt for it and would like to know why it was cashed prior to all the issues with the contingencies, the work order statuses, and move in date conversation on 2/2/15.

Desired Settlement: I would like the return of the $600.00 deposit that I made as an obligation of good faith as a future tenant.

Business Response:

I would like to apologize for the delay in addressing this issue - I have been off work *** *** ***** ******* ** ******** ***.  I returned to work part-time yesterday.  I wanted to clarify a couple of items that were addressed in her statement.  Ms. ***** did submit a list of repairs and upgrades to the property.  Some of the items - 8 of the 14 items were already in process of  being done and/or approved to do (plumbing, windows, doors, screens, ch&a service).   2 of the items were to be checked out for consideration (repair or replace fence) and the last 4 items were marked to the lease as either not doing (installing garbage disposal, replacing chipped tile) or tenants responsibility (replacing a/c filters monthly).

The items that Ms. ***** requested would have greatly increased the value of the rent, however, at this time the owner choose to leave cosmetic items alone and keep the rent lower.  Ms. ***** submitted an estimate for replacement of the fence costing between $1,727. up to $3,287.    If the owner had invested these funds into the home, he would have expected the rent to be increased to cover the improvements of appx. $100. per month.  The fence was important to her because she has two dogs.  

Ms. ***** also questioned the $13. garbage fee.  Actually that is the fee for Duval County trash collection, per home - per month.  Clay County collection fee averages $19. per home - per month, however, the owner pays it yearly.  

The ********** ad did state that the home had a move in special, in error, and it was changed.  With that being said, I would have agreed to honor that had she moved in.  Ms. ***** was advised of the error at the time and decided to move forward, however, I would have approved that special to her had I been available.  We would have made that correction for her on her next month rent.

When Ms. ***** originally applied she requested an extension to hold the property for 7 additional days til February 1st.  At this point, the office manager spoke to Ms. ***** and she was going to move in on February 1st with the understanding that Ms. ***** was going to repair the fence herself.  On the 1st Ms. ***** did not come in to sign her lease.  She was contacted on the 2nd and Ms. ***** then wanted to extend her move in date again to February 15th.  They explained to her that she needed to move in as agreed or she would forfeit her holding fee.   The home had been held off the market for Ms. ***** since January 15th and holding until February 15th for her to move in would have equated to a full month's rent lost.

Although according to the holding fee agreement Ms. ***** signed, she agreed that if she did not move in by February 1st, she would forfeit the $600. in full.  We wish that Ms. ***** would have explained that she couldn't afford to move in and we could have possibly worked something out.   We will apply $300. of the holding fee towards lost rent and return $300. to Ms. *****.    We are sorry that Ms. ***** decided not to move in and we hope she found a suitable place.  If Ms. ***** hasn't found a new home and she wants to rent a home owned by the same owner then we are able to offer her $300. off her first month rent.


   

Business Response:

Thank you for the well wishes, however, I was re-admitted back to the hospital with complications the day I responded.  Since we have not been able to promptly return messages, please be aware that we had written a check to you on 2/28/15, returning the full amount, $600. 

Sorry for the delays.

Sincerely,

**** ** *******

San Marco Properties, Inc.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


Regards,

******* *****

 

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: San Marcos Properties has not been upfront with any of their policies. My daughter will be attending UNF this fall and found a guest house for rent (all inclusive/furnished) which was ideal for an older grad student. She completed the application with check and talked to the owner of the property and felt comfortable and a deposit for $900. San Marcos called and said she did not qualify and would need a co-signer and need a check for $60 not $30 for ap fee. The ap was completed and sent with check. Later the office called and said they would not accept a personal check or even a cashiers check for the ap fee or deposit. Since we are in North Port, FL 5 hours away this all seemed a little difficult. We have no apartment or house and because of their lack of upfront information we are scrambling to find a residence. The staff of this company and they deem to be the largest needs to have all this type of information on their application in a BIG BOLD FONT.... Needless to say, I would give this company and F+ not an A+ on your website. Read some of the dissatisfied customers who have dealt with corporation - it isn't pretty.

Desired Settlement: Want my all checks returned.

Business Response:

I reviewed this situation with the staff to see what happened, where the confusion came in and what could we do to improve.   This home was shown by appointment with the owner, which is not typical - we usually show through our office but this is on a private gated estate so the owner met with them.   Typically a prospective tenant comes in to our office and we review the paperwork with them and answer questions.  We would have explained to the prospects the terms - which include the amount of credit application fees which are $40. for the 1st applicant and $20. for the 2nd applicant and that they are cash.   The cost of the credit application is on the front of the application that they filed out and returned to our office. 

Typically a holding fee agreement is filled out, reviewed and signed in our office.  At this time we would have explained that if there is a co-signer, you would be required to pay the last month rent in escrow.  Typically I am in the office or in town, however, I was out of town and the office staff could not reach me to get approval to deviate from the typical procedures.  Once I reviewed the process I noticed that nothing was handled the typical way, which does cause confusion. 

I left a message for both applicants to personally give me a call.  I would like the opportunity to apologize and try to help them get settled.   I am mailing them back their check for the credit application fee.  I would like to further extend to them that I  will be glad to waive the credit application fees for them, if they would re-consider.

I apologize for the confusion.

Sincerely,

**** ** ******** ******** ******* *** ***** *********** **** **** ******* *** ************* ** *****

 

 

 

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a lease and there is a real bad dog odor in the patio home. Its causeing my son allegies to flare up and it is hard to bare the smell. I do believe this is a health code violation.

Desired Settlement: Either agree to replace carpet and padding or refund me my money back.

Business Response:

I encouraged her not to move in if the smell was a problem prior to signing her lease.  This was a concern of hers prior to moving in but I think she was hoping the smell would go away.    We had the carpet cleaned and had the ch&a cleaned and serviced.   The carpet was new prior to her moving in but the home had been sitting vacant for a long time.    If she wants to move she certainly can - she will need to leave the home clean and free of damage and not owe any rent.  

Business Response:

We will refund your security deposit in full as long as you leave the home clean and free of damage and have paid rent through the time you turn in the keys.   You will not have a judgement against you nor will you be charged through the remaining term of your lease.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service