BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that San Marco Properties Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Marco Properties Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on San Marco Properties Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 30, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1979 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 04/13/1983 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark J Kredell, DP
Business Category

Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Rental Vacancy Listing Service Apartment Finding & Rental Service

Alternate Business Names
San Marco Properties

Additional Locations

  • 1611 Mayfair Rd Ste 101

    Jacksonville, FL 32207

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: San Marcos Properties has not been upfront with any of their policies. My daughter will be attending UNF this fall and found a guest house for rent (all inclusive/furnished) which was ideal for an older grad student. She completed the application with check and talked to the owner of the property and felt comfortable and a deposit for $900. San Marcos called and said she did not qualify and would need a co-signer and need a check for $60 not $30 for ap fee. The ap was completed and sent with check. Later the office called and said they would not accept a personal check or even a cashiers check for the ap fee or deposit. Since we are in North Port, FL 5 hours away this all seemed a little difficult. We have no apartment or house and because of their lack of upfront information we are scrambling to find a residence. The staff of this company and they deem to be the largest needs to have all this type of information on their application in a BIG BOLD FONT.... Needless to say, I would give this company and F+ not an A+ on your website. Read some of the dissatisfied customers who have dealt with corporation - it isn't pretty.

Desired Settlement: Want my all checks returned.

Business Response:

I reviewed this situation with the staff to see what happened, where the confusion came in and what could we do to improve.   This home was shown by appointment with the owner, which is not typical - we usually show through our office but this is on a private gated estate so the owner met with them.   Typically a prospective tenant comes in to our office and we review the paperwork with them and answer questions.  We would have explained to the prospects the terms - which include the amount of credit application fees which are $40. for the 1st applicant and $20. for the 2nd applicant and that they are cash.   The cost of the credit application is on the front of the application that they filed out and returned to our office. 

Typically a holding fee agreement is filled out, reviewed and signed in our office.  At this time we would have explained that if there is a co-signer, you would be required to pay the last month rent in escrow.  Typically I am in the office or in town, however, I was out of town and the office staff could not reach me to get approval to deviate from the typical procedures.  Once I reviewed the process I noticed that nothing was handled the typical way, which does cause confusion. 

I left a message for both applicants to personally give me a call.  I would like the opportunity to apologize and try to help them get settled.   I am mailing them back their check for the credit application fee.  I would like to further extend to them that I  will be glad to waive the credit application fees for them, if they would re-consider.

I apologize for the confusion.

Sincerely,

**** ** ******** ******** ******* *** ***** *********** **** **** ******* *** ************* ** *****

 

 

 

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a lease and there is a real bad dog odor in the patio home. Its causeing my son allegies to flare up and it is hard to bare the smell. I do believe this is a health code violation.

Desired Settlement: Either agree to replace carpet and padding or refund me my money back.

Business Response:

I encouraged her not to move in if the smell was a problem prior to signing her lease.  This was a concern of hers prior to moving in but I think she was hoping the smell would go away.    We had the carpet cleaned and had the ch&a cleaned and serviced.   The carpet was new prior to her moving in but the home had been sitting vacant for a long time.    If she wants to move she certainly can - she will need to leave the home clean and free of damage and not owe any rent.  

Business Response:

We will refund your security deposit in full as long as you leave the home clean and free of damage and have paid rent through the time you turn in the keys.   You will not have a judgement against you nor will you be charged through the remaining term of your lease.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

 

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service