BBB Accredited Business since

Rooter Express LLC

Phone: (912) 265-0800 Fax: (912) 265-8505 View Additional Phone Numbers 4741 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31520 http://www.rooterexpress.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential & Commercial, Plumbing & Drain Cleaning, Leak Detection, Hot Water Heaters, Garbage Disposals, Plumbing Fixtures, Water & Gas Lines, Water Filteration Systems. Water Jetting, Video Inspection, Root removal, Sanitary, Storm & Septic, PM Programs Drain Field Restoration. 24/7, Warranty Vendor, No Extra Charge for Nights, Holidays or Weekends.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rooter Express LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rooter Express LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rooter Express LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ken Bryson, Partner Ms. Lisa Jones, Office Manager Mr. Philip Venema, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Bryson, Partner
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Jones, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Sewer Cleaning Equipment & Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, Mastercard, Discover, Amex, Visa

Additional Locations

  • 4741 New Jesup Hwy

    Brunswick, GA 31520 (912) 265-0800 (912) 634-5150

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec 30, 2013, Rooter Express, LLC was contacted to have my septic system drain field jetted and video inspected per their web advertisement. The quote was $465 for the jetting of the drain field. On Jan 20, 2014, Mr. ******* (GA License #M*******) returned to conduct the jetting. He stated he gave his video camera to another plumber, but caled to have a system delivered. Upon inspection, the tank was filled and his next step was to jet the system. He returned to his truck, pulled an airline off the side, started a compressor, snaked a line about six feet and said, Thats not a good sign. At no time did Mr. ******* hook up a water line to the jetting system or place the jet into the actual drain field; a water hose remained spooled on its reel and no other source of water was observed. Mr. ******* said the septic system failed and stopped work. He loaded his truck and handed me an invoice for $465.00, which included jetting of the line to the field. When questioned why the charge for jetting, he quickly replied, You saw me jet the line! I discussed the failed system with the health dept and learned the jetting of this type of drain field is ineffective because of the large size of the chambers. Any honest tradesman should recognize when a process is futile and not try to perform unnecessary labor just to generate an invoice. On Jan 27, 2014, Rooter Express was phoned for an explanation. On Jan 28, 2014, **** called and claimed the jetting occurred and added the reason the camera inspection was not conducted was due to our specific drain field; Infiltrator chambers were never to be video inspected. **** was unable to explain why this wasnt mentioned during the quote, why Mr. ******* arrived at the job stating he was having a video camera delivered, or why jet a system which could not be inspected because of size. He added the jetting occurred because there was a water source on the truck and the line was inserted into the outlet of the tank. We offered to pay the fee for a service call, but **** stated no refund would occur. My complaints are several against this plumber and company; I have no issues with paying an appropriate fee for work conducted, but this felt like a bait and switch operation where the video inspection was not conducted and the quoted work was never completed. In addition, I feel Rooter Express and Mr. ******* have a professional responsibility to conduct business in an ethical manner.

Desired Settlement: A partial refund is due since the work quoted was never completed. The drain field was not jetted as promised and a video camera inspection was not conducted per their Internet advertisement. The purpose of the jetting was to clear out any potential drain field debris in an effor to restore system performance. This was not conducted yet Rooter Express billed for these services.

Business Response:

  1. ROOTER EXPRESS RECEIVED EMAIL FROM ******* ****, INTERESTED IN INQUIRING ABOUT JETTING DRAIN FIELD & CHEMICALS AS ALTERNATE FOR INSTALLING NEW DRAIN FIELD (EMAIL ATTACHED) ****** CALLED CUSTOMER AND SET UP JOB FOR 1-2-14 TO CHECK DRAIN FIELDS
  2. 1-2-14 CUSTOMER (******) CALLED WONDERING IF DUE TO WEATHER JOB SHOULD BE POSTPONED; HOWEVER WE STILL DISPATCHED CALL TO ***.
  3. 1-2-14 PER INVOICE *** ARRIVED ON JOB AT 9:12AM UNTIL 9:41 AM APPROXIMATELY 1 HOUR THERE TO EVALUATE AND DIAGNOSE PROBLEM AND AT THAT WROTE ESTIMATE INVOICE #20650, NOT SURE IF YELLOW COPY WAS  LEFT WITH CUSTOMER HOWEVER ****** DID MAIL A COPY 1-6-14
  4. 1-8-14 CUSTOMER (******) CALLED (**** TOOK CALL) CUSTOMER WANTED A VIDEO FROM D-BOX, THEN BASED ON FINDINGS THEY MAY THEN JET.  SHE INDICATED THAT *** HAD BEEN THERE AND DISCUSSED
  5.  1-8-14 *** WENT TO JOB ARRIVED AT 4:30PM UNTIL 5:19 PM (.75 HR)CHECKED SYSTEM, FOUND TO BE MOUND SYSTEM, WOULD NEED TO CONTACT COUNTY FOR FUTHER INFO AS PER PENDING INVOICE #2****
  6. 1-20-14 ******* **** CALLED (****** TOOK CALL) AS HE HAD NOT HEARD ANY RESULTS FROM *** OR COUNTY FINDINGS, HE REQUESTED A CALL FROM ***. *** ARRIVED AT JOB AT 10:15A UNTIL 12:09PM (2.0 HRS) PER INVOICE #2**** JETTED OUTLET TO FIELD, FOUND SYSTEM HAD FAILED. CHARGED CUSTOMER $465, NO UP F***T PRICING SIGNED. ACCEPTANCE SIGNED. COLLECTED PAYMENT.
  7. 1-27-14 CUSTOMER (******) CALLED, SPOKE TO **** OF HER CONCERNS THAT JETTING NOR VIDEO WAS NOT DONE AS WELL AS THE PRICE FOR INCOMPLETE. TOOK HER INFORMATION, TOLD HER THAT A SUPERVISOR WOULD REVIEW THE PAPERWORK
  8. ******L SPOKE WITH HER ON 1-28-14
  9. 1-28-14 RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF A COMPLAINT FILED WITH BBB
  10. 2-12-14 CHECK #6144 FOR A FULL REFUND OF $465 HAS BEEN ISSUED, AFTER CALLING THE NUMBER ON FILE THAT WAS OUT OF SERVICE, MR ****** & MR ******* WENT BY THE ****’S HOME TO ATTEMPT DELIVERY OF CHECK, NO ONE WAS HOME, THEY LEFT A CARD.
  11. WE ARE UNDER THE UNDERSTANDING THAT THE ****’S WILL WITHDRAW THERE COMPLAINT WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU.

 

 

ROOTER EXPRESS RESPONSE:

 

  1. IN REGUARD TO #1 OF DETAILS AS SEEN ON OUR WEBSITE WWW.ROOTEREXPRESS.NET, JET & VIDEO IS CORRECT, HOWEVER VIDEO IS NOT PERFORMED UNLESS LINE IS OPEN AND CLEANED.
  2. BASED ON CUSTOMER RESPONSE ABOUNT NOT WANTING TO REPLACE DRAIN FIELD THE COUNTY REVIEWED AND ROOTER EXPRESS REVIEWED. AFTER OUR INSPECTION OF DRAIN FIELD, EVERY EFFORT WAS MADE TO CORRECT PROBLEM WITH OUT HAVING TO REPLACE.
  3. MR ******* DID JET LINE AND UNFORTUNATELY CUSTOMER DID NOT REALIZE WE HAVE A BUILT IN SELF CONTAINED WATER SYSTEM, NO COMPRESSOR ONLY A GAS ENGINE. HE JETTED 10FT, LINE DID NOT OPEN. MR. ******-SUPERVISOR FOR ROOTER EXPRESS, CALLED AND EXPLAINED THIS TO CUSTOMER, NO CABLE WAS INVOLVED
  4. CUSTOMER WAS INFORMED BY MR. ******* THAT THERE WAS A 50/50 CHANCE TO BE ABLE TO OPEN & VIDEO LINE AND ASKED IF THEY WANTED HIM TO PROCEED, CUSTOMER’S RESPONSE WAS YES.
  5. 5.MR. ******-SUPERVISOR, CALLED AND EXPLAINED ALL OF THE ABOVE TO THE CUSTOMER.
  6. TIME SPENT BETWEEN DISPATCH SYSTEM PERSONEL, MR. *******’S NUMBER OF VISITS TO JOB, ASSOCIATED PAPERWORK, ESTIMATES, BBB FOLLOW UP HAS RESULTED IN 5-6 HOURS OF FIELD/ADMINISTRATIVE TIME.
  7. CONCERNING BAIT & SWITCH, A REVIEW OF BBB REPORT WILL CERTAINLY SHOW NO COMPLAINTS LOGGED ON OUR COMPANY REFLECTING ANY OF THIS IN THE PAST

 

       ROOTER EXPRESS SUMMARY:

 

                       ******L ******-SUPERVISOR AND *** ******* WILL VISIT CUSTOMER TO SHOW IN DETAIL OUR SYSTEM OF JETTING AND TO ANSWER ANY OTHER QUESTIONS THAT CUSTOMER MAY HAVE.

 

THIS REQUIRES 1 ADDITIONAL HOUR OF 2 MASTER PLUMBER’S TO ADDRESS CUSTOMER COMPLAINT. WE HAVE AUTHORIZED ******L ******-SUPERVISOR TO MAKE ANY NECESSARY ADJUSTMENTS HE DEEMS NECESSARY, HOWEVER BASED ON WHAT WE AGREED TO AND DONE OUR PERSONEL FOLLOWED PROCEDURE.

 

THE COUNTY IS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING CONTACTED; OUR REP WILL MEET WITH COUNTY TO ADDRESS THEIR STATEMENT OF OUR PLUMBER BEING INCOMPETENT AT JOB SITE. ALL OF OUR PLUMBERS ARE LICENSED MASTER PLUMBERS AND WE TAKE A PERSONAL OFFENSE TO THOSE STATEMENTS. WE WILL GET THE APPROPIATE ANSWERS AND WILL NOTIFY YOU WHEN COMPLETED.

 

 

MOST SINCERELY,

 

**** *****

OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I was pleased to meet with the company's co-owner, who offered a complete refund.  He apologized for the way the way the service was billed and refused to accept a partial payment to cover any fees associated with the service.  He added a customer's satisfaction was important and he hoped we would consider his compnay in the future.  After our discussions, I would indeed use this business in the future.  

Regards,

******* ****