BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

This Business is not BBB accredited

Larry Teague & Sons Plumbing, Inc.

Phone: (904) 270-2289 Fax: (904) 249-8269 203 Oceanfront, Neptune Beach, FL 32266 http://www.larryteagueplumbing.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Larry Teague & Sons Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • 23 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Larry Teague & Sons Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Larry Teague & Sons Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 15, 2009 Business started: 11/07/2007 in FL Business started locally: 11/07/2007 Business incorporated: 11/07/2007 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St., Tallahassee FL 32399
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr
Phone Number: (800) 342-7940
Call.Center@dbpr.state.fl.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis Stuart Jr., President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Water Heaters - Repairing Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air Conditioning Repair Backflow Prevention Devices & Services Bathroom Remodeling Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Kitchen Remodeling


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    203 Oceanfront

    Neptune Beach, FL 32266

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We own a rental property in Jacksonville and the AC stopped working on July 27th. At 2:00 pm, the mechanic ***** from Larry Teague came by. He checked the air handler and said the safety valve had been shut off. He drained the water in the tray and flipped the switch back on. The AC came on. He then called me and charged me $75 for the service call and another $75 for half hour labor. Even though he was only there for a few minutes, we were happy that the AC was working so we didn't object to the charge.Within 10 minutes after ***** left, our tenant called and said the AC had stopped again. She tried pulling the valve as ***** showed her and that water was gushing out. We also found out from her that ***** didn't even try to flush the pipe during his first visit. We called ***** back. In 5 hours around 7:30 pm, he went back to the house. This time he took some pipes apart from inside the house, run some air down the pipe, flipped the AC back on and it started working again. By the time we called ***** to check on his progress, about 10-15 minutes after he got to the house, his phone was off. I then called the tenant and found out that ***** had left. He did not vac the pipe from outside the house.About half hour later, the tenant called againd. The AC stopped for the third time. We tried calling and texting ***** multiple times; no response. We called the company's answerig services asking for a call back, no response. At 8:47 am on July 28, I called the company and made the complaint. I was told ***** was one of their best guys and all their guys are on jobs. ***** didn't have the sense to flush the pipe correctly after 2 tries, we dread what a "Non-best" guy would be like at Larry Teague. We're now waiting for a call from the owner Louis. I told his office that I'm not willing to pay for the repair because they did not fix the problem. The AC is still down. The owner Louis asked his staff to relay to me that they would put a lien on my house if I refuse to pay. What a company!

Desired Settlement: I would like to have at least the labor charge of $75 removed. They company did not fix the problem and should not be paid. They do not appear to have a capable crew and we have no tust in their work.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

The consumer called and stated that the  resolution is satisfactory to her.    


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a hot water heater on 09/06/2013 and it gave warm water at best. on full blast you could stand under it and take a bath and at 50 gallon it ran out after one bath. they came out and replaced the thermostats and it still ran out of hot water, plus he thought we were stupid and turned up the temp on the water heater above the manufacturer setting. he stated he forgot to turn it down. After five trips out they still have not replaced it as they stated they would the last three trips out. They have us waiting on a call from a warranty man that has not come yet, and I call and spoke to ****** and he had to talk to Eric and find out the background on the situation and call me back, no call, then I spoke to Lou, who was having ****** call me back, hasn't happened, then my husband spoke to ****** and still nothing has happened. We are sitting with a dud of a hot water heater that we paid top dollar for and it's suppose to be top of the line.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to replace this hot water heater with the top of the line hot water heater we purchased from them in working order, without them being slick and turning up the temperature on it, running up my electric bill as they have since this problem begin. I would also like to be able to get at least two showers out of a supposedly fifty gallon hot water heater, with the showers being one and a half to two hours apart.

Business Response: I have sent our Supervisor, ****** Ray  to Mrs. ********** to look at their heater.  He informed me that he checked out everything on the hot water heater and it is working properly at this time.

Consumer Response: Mr. *** did come out and check the water heater and test the temperature of the water, and how long the heat last from a fifty gallon tank. He then adjusted the thermostats to check for performance of the upper and lower thermostats. He checked my faucets in the sinks and bathtub. He also had another technician come out named Justin come out to double check him, he informed me of some things to be on the look out for and to contact him or Mr. *** if any of them happen. So for now I am satisfied with the customer service I received from the two mentioned employee's of Larry Teague Plumbing.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a heating/air complete setup Sept.2012 while my husband was deployed overseas. They did not replace the copper line and in Oct.2013 the copper line burst and all the freon leaked out. I called the company and a technician came out and said they would have to replace the copper line and add freon at a cost of $750.00. I spoke to Larry Teague and asked why the line was not replaced when the new unit was put in and Larry said the technician was no loner with the company and that they didn't always replace it..its an as needed replacement. I informed Larry my husband was deployed at the time the new unit was replaced and I assumed everything was new with the installment. I was told that NOW they do recommend / replace the copper lines with a full setup job and he would do the repair at a discounted cost of $400.00. I made an appointment and the technician came out but he said he needed more cleared out space in the garage to do the job. However, when the entire unit inside and out was replaced...the garage was exactly the same with the amount of room so I'm not really sure what the problem was this time with the amount of space. He said he would be back later that day to give me time to move things around but he didn't show up. I called and made another appointment for 11/30/13 at 8am, The technician didn't come so I called the office and was told there was a mix up in the appointment and the technician was out of town. I made another appointment for 12/16/13 for 8am, the technician didn't show up so I called the office again and was told the technician was finishing up another job and he may or may not be coming to my appointment. I informed them this is not professional and MY appointment is just as important as the big money Company jobs they are completing. I was made to feel as if this is all my fault because the first appointment didn't get completed because of the garage not being cleared out enough... even though it was clear enough last year with the same exact space.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to live up to their word and complete the job correctly at the discounted price I was promised on the appointment day and time I am given. It's winter and it's cold. We need heat.

Business Response: When we initially sold the unit to the customer we offered the lineset and they declined because they thought it was too expensive.  This is not unusual for a customer to not accept installation of a lineset. We have scheduled this installation three times. We sent the HVAC tech there and he was unable to install because of the car in the garage needed moving. The cost of installing a new lineset is $1,200.00. We gave **** ****** a price of $750.00 to install lineset and after finding out her husband is over seas in the military I gave her a price of $400.00. We did have to reschedule the time from 8am to 2pm today. Our plan is to go to **** ******'s at 2pm today and install the lineset.

Business Response:

I always mention the lineset when I speak to customers about new installations. The lineset is installed and we hope the customer is satisfied.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:******* the office staff: made an appointment last year for a technician to come to my home and troubleshoot the problem with my old unit. The technician said I would need a new unit inside and out. ******* was not at my home and did not hear the conversation between the technicians and I. She didn't explain anything about the unit to me, She only made the appointment.  I had even to call her to get my warranty information and my invoice emailed to me . 

My appointment yesterday was originally at 8 a.m. I did not receive a courtesy call explaining no one was going to be there after I had changed my daily plans to allow this appointment. When I called her to find out where the technician was, I was told a technician may or may not show up. After telling her I was contacting the Better Business Bureau she stated she would call me back. She did call back and she did say a technician would be at my home at 2 p.m. The technician was not at my home at 2 p.m. So I called the office back but they were at lunch. the technician didn't show up until almost 3 p.m.. 

The technician was friendly and very knowledgeable, he and his assistant did install the line set and everything is working properly now.

Regards,

********* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product Issues, Repair Issues, Customer Service Issues, and Guarantee or Warranty Issues are all applicable. I purchased a new Larger A/C system and duct work with a 1yr warranty for my rental property at **** ************ ***** ************* ** *****. The installer stepped on the ceiling causing a knee size dent in the sheetrock, the tape around the sheetrock has busted, and the entire sheet is approximately 1-2 cm below the rest of the ceiling. After the install, the plug on the air-handler was never removed causing a flooding in the hall way where the air-handler is located. All the newly laid lament flooring has buckled and swelled. It should be noted that the old A/C system, still working and used every day, never caused a flood. Lastly, the duct work was installed incorrectly and with the wrong size ducts causing the air flow to be weak throughout the house. Several calls over the course of 3-4 weeks to the company and three visits by a tech with "no authority" to fix the problems has resolved none of the issues. I am at my wits end. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I would either like them to fix all the damages; ceiling, lament floor, and duct work, or I would like a full refund plus the damages.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company came out twice within a few day span(attempting to charge full price both times)to fix the same clogged toilet which was still not repaired. The toilet only flushed for a few hours after the first visit before stopping again. I called the company the next day and they said they don't warranty stoppages but would come out without charge being that it was the very next day and the issue was clearly not resolved. They had us wait for them all day the second time and never showed, even after calling to confirm they were still coming multiple times as the day went on. They continued to say later in the day and then never showed and never called to inform us that they were not going to make it out. The next day the plumber showed up and snaked the toilet again (same thing he did the first time that did not work for long) and then attempted to charge us full price again, to which we agreed upon half price. The following day the toilet stopped working again. We had another company out and they extracted the object clogging the toilet with no problems. When I contacted Larry Teague plumbing for a refund they never even called me back. A simple stoppage took 3 days and a lot of money to resolve being that I paid Larry Teague $150 and the other company as well. Horrible customer service and repair knowledge.

Desired Settlement: $150.00 the total amount paid out to the company.

Business Response: We were first contacted by Mrs. ******* on 6/25/13 for a toilet stoppage. She informed the receptionist that someone may have put something down the toilet. We sent one of our plumbing techs to the ******* residence and he was able to push through the object causing the stoppage. On 6/27/13 we received a call from Mrs. ******* stating the toilet was clogged again and wanted us to come back. We put the customer on the schedule for that day however she phoned us back and informed the receptionist it was working fine at that time and we did not need to come. On 7/ 1/13 Mrs. ******* phoned and stated the toilet was clogged again and we had her on the schedule to go there again however, we phoned her to let her know we could no make it and we would be there on Tuesday 7/2/13. At this time is when she asked the receptionist about warranty on stoppage calls. ********* informed her that we do not warranty stoppage calls. I think Mrs. ******* misunderstood ********* when she told her we don't warranty stoppage calls. The first call we charged Mrs. ******* $99.00 which is the special we are currently running in the Mint Magazine. Normally the service call is $125.00. On the second call the customer paid $50.00. This is a total of $149.00. When our technician left the property the toilet was working and flushing properly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to mediate the complaint but the consumer declined.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2012 Delivery Issues
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service