BBB Accredited Business since

Turner Pest Control, LLC

Phone: (904) 355-5300 View Additional Phone Numbers 480 S. Edgewood Ave., Jacksonville, FL 32205 http://www.turnerpest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Turner Pest Control, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Turner Pest Control, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Turner Pest Control, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1971 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 01/01/1973 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services/Pest Control
3125 Conner Blvd., Bldg. 8 (L-29), Tallahassee FL 32399
http://app1.flaes.org/ceu/
Phone Number: (850) 617-7870
Fax Number: (850) 617-7895
aescares@freshfromflorida.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark J. Slater, CEO
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Industry Tips
Pest Control Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Turner Pest Control, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 480 S. Edgewood Ave.

    Jacksonville, FL 32205

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Turner Pest Control to treat the Perimeter of house quaterly, I specifically specified the issues i was facing, which was the ants coming into my home at a specific location. My Kitchen which is located on the left side of my house. After a treatment and a few days, the ants were still present. On several Occasions, I called Turner and they did come out and treated the inside of the house in the kitchen, however the ants were still a constant issue. They "provided treatment to the perimeter of my house several occasions but the ant issue still not resolved. I decided to treat the left side of my house myself and the ant problem went away. I then received a notice of service for which they came out and "treated" the perimeter of my house. Prior to them coming out, i stopped my own treatment of the left side of the house because i felt since they were going to treat it there was no need to. Still no ants. However 2 weeks after they "treated" the perimeter, the ants were back. ( 2 weeks prior and 2 weeks after = month total). However on this particular visit, I set an indicator on the fence gate. I placed a piece of paper on the lock. Upon opening of the gate the paper would fall down. When I returned home, i receive the report which stated the perimeter of the house was treated (all 4 sides) and when i checked the gate, the paper was still in place which indicated to me that they did not treat the left side of my house. I called Turner and inquired about why they did not treat the left side of my house and they scheduled a Tech to come out and treat it. The tech ws supposed to come out and treat the side of the house within the week for which he did not until 2 weeks later when i receive the invoice and for services that were not completed.

Desired Settlement: I do not want a full refund. I believe that they did perform the services for only 3 out of the 4 sides, therefore since the cost was $75.00 for 4 sides and they only treated 3 sides i should be refunded for the amount of $18.75, the cost of treatment per side of the house, $75/4. They should refund me for all the times that i have paid.

Business Response: Will will provide a refund of $18.75 to satify the desired out come

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Please clarify the amount, only $18.75 or $18.75 for each visit for a total of $150.00.

Regards,

***** ********

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted contractor for termite treatment and they came out. Home was inspected and i was told that it would be treated and have a repair warranty. Paid with a check and scheduled for work to be done. Several weeks later on 4/13/2015 Turner pest control showed up at my home and started treatment. They cut holes in walls to treat for termites around bathtub areas, but on one area said they could not cut into side of vanity to access the area that needed treatment. So I cut out area for them to access, later was informed by an ********** or **** ********* that they were able to cut out area for treatment. Employee stated too that there was alot of insullation in area was not completly sure but thought he got to dirt area. So I made hole bigger in which later a second employee stuck his finger in hole and said he felt it on insullation and thought it would be ok. After finishing tub areas they left me the covers to put on myself, but put on the ones that were easy to get to. After spraying inside first employee cotinued work by drilling holes in the concrete around parimeter of my home as well as drilling holes in the side of brick on the house. Around 11:00am or there near after first employee informed me he was going to go ahead and take lunch. Within 30 minutes #2 employee showed up who was going to treat detatched shop which also was agreed in contract, but without a warranty, with a different spray. After several minutes went by I noticed him walking around my home and not in area that he said he was there to do. I questioned him at what he was doing and he said Im**** ********* and checking things around your home, after a while he informed me there were somethings that were not included on original inspection and said he was emailing shop with pictures. I asked what was different and he said well, you have mold around windows which was incorrect, youve also got mold on T1-11 on side of your house, which I had already been informed by original ********* and it was on hardy board which was pressure washed and came off with ease as was talked about with first *********. Then was informed of water damage to one side of house which was a small area at bottom over driveway area. I agreed it was there and it was minor. After #2********* had given me details accordong to his findings, he went out and set in his vehicle. Started to rain and about 30minutes later #2 ********* said they were to pull off the job, because someone at office told them to stop and do nothing else. He then said that someone would call me from the company and let me know what they were going to do. Next day havent heard a peep out of anyone all morning, so after lunch i called office and ask to speak with supervisor. That didnt happen, was informed they were going to let #1********* call me back, not what I had asked for. Later on that evening spoke with #1 *********, he said that they would not go through with contract that was originally proposed. I stated, but youve already completed over half the job? He said sorry, but we cant give you a repair warranty now. I then asked for my money back and for them to seal up all holes. He said they would do a retreat for x amount, but no repair warranty. I later finally spoke with ** and he said that they would not give repair warranty but a retreat as offered by #1*********. He then said he personally would come to home and inspect it next day, in which I said that I wouldnt be home until later in the afternoon. He did not call or show which the following day he explained, but still should have called knowing the seriousness of the matter. He later calls me and without anyone else looking at home says now they will treat home with a warranty, but no guarantee it will be covered by the underwriters.At that point I asked, please give me my money back and fix what you started. They said they would go ahead and treat for free and fix holes, but have to write up a new contract? To sum it up Turner Pest Control made a contract with a warranty repair and was paid in full with good faith to perform said work as in contract. Work started, then in middle of job was stopped and they broke their contract. Later was told house would be looked at by **, and without even coming and doing inspection he decides to appease me by giving what was origanally offered, but also stated that underwriter now might not pay if any damages in future. Public needs to be well informed if this be the case, that they are wasting money on repair warranties for termites.

Desired Settlement: To start with I would like them to honor agreement made with me to finish what they started and fix all holes in ground and side of house without any malice and to give me my money back since they could not originally keep contract that was originally offered. 2nd, not my call but i would hope they start putting customers first and they train some for better PR in the future as well as train some of their people in how to tell mold from dirt and how to tell hardyboard from T1/11. Commercial on radio says highly trained and qualified personel, if so why did all of this happen?

Business Response: Hi ******, We have resolved this issue, we refunded all fee's and did the service for free, as well as keeping warranty as originally offered. We have repaired holes that were drilled as well.

Thanks **** *********

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I can confirm they finally completed what was originally a greed on to start with, but it took them over 2 1/2 weeks to finally complete what could have been done the day they started.  Main reason they left holes open exposing my interior studs to water and moisture for over 2 weeks in which time there was a lot of rain. Was told moisture test would be done, but as in the beginning no PR. No one has called. My concerns are what if mold or any other damage occurs to studs, sheet rock or anything else inside my walls due to their Neglect from not sealing the holes and leaving them open for over 2 weeks?? Even the ***** ************ ***** agreed  that I should have some kind of documentation or peace of mind knowing that I won't have future problems with interior walls where Turner LEFT OPEN HOLES EXPOSING INTERIOR WALLS TO POSSIBLE DAMAGE! 

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response: Not sure how I can do more? What is he looking for?

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejeciting because: I mentioned to Turner Pest Control about them leaving 1/2" holes that they drilled on side of house close to ground OPEN FOR OVER  2 WEEKS EXPOSING MY INTERIOR STUDS AND SHEET ROCK TO POSSIBLE MOISTURE AND MOLD DAMAGE??? After being informed by **** that underwriter didn't have to cover previous damages, I am concerned about if not checked and it does become a problem in the future , that I'll be left to fix the damage due to their neglect.  I asked the ***** ************ ***** when he looked at my house about the concern, and he advised that this could be a concern and anything of size could crawl into holes and die inside walls as well as possible moisture in walls from all the rain we had during time holes were left open. It was suggested that a moisture test be done to insure that no damage had occurred and that Turner documents that there's no damage due to their leaving holes open. The young man ******* who preformed the completion of drilling holes was also informed about moisture test. He even had to come back next day because 2 holes were left open after they sprayed ********** termite treatment(which  ***** ***** said was illegal) and he had to seal them up. He said it would be no problem to come back and do test and they could re plug holes. I now think I need a non biased party to do moisture inspection and to make sure there's no damage inside walls at their expense, also need a copy of the work that was done along with information of warranty , since their saying they've done it as a repair warranty along with a report after moisture and questionable damage test has been done. I'm not in any way going to be liable for any damages because of their delayed neglect.

3/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company sent me a letter in February stating that I owed them $44.67 for services they never provided. I called them within a week and after analyzing my account with the person from the company it was determined that not only did i not owe them $44.67, but they in fact over charged my account by $44.67. At that time i request an email confirmation and admission of their mistake and i asked for the refund of the over charge. i did not receive refund and email. after giving them few days i realized nothing is being done. fast forward several phone calls and similar communication where company representative realized their mistake and me asking for email and funds back and we come to March 9th where i had to call again just to be told by again another company representative that i will not be receiving refund and that my money was credited to the erroneous invoice that was cause for the initial letter. after explaining again to the company representative and calling multiple times in the same day, they again agreed that i am owed a refund. the frustration with this company and their service cannot be described in words at this time. the company customer service reps were polite but what good is that if i can't get a simple issue resolved. at this time i am being asked to wait 2 more weeks before i can expect my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology... first for the way they treated my inquiry about the lack of service that i was paying for, second for sending me a collection letter when they should have realized that they owe me money, and third for not following through with the refund and the apology letter and making me call 6 times. i still don't know if their latest promise that check will be issued is going to be honored, because i received similar promises with each of the 5 previous phone calls.

Business Response: We have issued a refund and calling to make an apology.  Thanks ****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

 

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to provide services.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of kitchen cabinets and counter tops

Business Response: We are working with the customer to get resolution soon thanks

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: No one has contacted me. 

Regards,

****** ******

9/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had set up a treatment for bedbugs back in February of 2014 with Turner Pest Control. I decided to go with them because of their good reputation. I scheduled the treatment and paid 1600 dollars for it. From my understanding I was told they were treating baseboards, bedframes and every other crack or crevice that could be a possible harborage area. On the day of the treatment one gentleman came out and was only carrying a single queen size bed encasement and was told all he was treating was one bed when I paid for 4 bedrooms and 2 living rooms. He called in reinforcements and started to spray only the drawers, bedframes, mattresses, and box springs. He told me there would be a follow up in a week. As I was told someone came out a week later. He sprayed only 2 bedroom bedframes and said follow up in a week. Well 2 weeks goes by and I haven't heard anything from turner. I called and they sent someone out and they yet again only treated 2 bedrooms bedframes. They only came out once more after I had to call in and found out that my house had been cleared of bedbugs when everytime they came out they found bed bugs. I am highly disappointed because the bedbug issue is back in the rooms they continually ignored since I hadn't seen any activity. I feel a 90 day warranty is only as good as the treatment. No point in guaranteeing when you cant get rid of them the first time.

Desired Settlement: This treatment was not as described and I feel as though for the amount of money paid that I should be bed bug free. I am not unreasonable. If a proper treatment had been done I would not have a problem with bed bugs still.

Business Response: As discussed over the phone we have satisfied the claim #******** *** *********** ******** by providing services at no charge to correct the situation

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*********** ********

 

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Turner Pest Control provides my lawn program that protects against pests, weeds and fertilizer. On August 19th I reported my yard was under attach from sod worms and other pests. They advised me that they would be out in a few days to take care of the problem. It was not until September 3rd for they first visit. I was advised do to the rain, broken equipment (truck) and lack of staff was the reasons for the slow response. Take in mind that the sod worms and chinch bugs are eating away at my St. Augustine grass. They returned on 9/16 for an addtional followup. On October 7th ***** the **** ******* came out to my house and advised me the problem was caused by my lack of watering. Take in mind that one of their excuses for the delay was all the rain. Second, after each visit, I was only instructed to water my lawn within 24-48 hours after the treatment. If my lawn was damaged by lack of watering, then why wasn't I instructed to increase my watering? Also, city code or law, we are only allow to water our lawn's twice a week. After I reported the problem on August 19th, I did increase my watering on Mondays, if if had no rain on Sunday or Monday. *****'s only solution is to spread bermuda grass seed in the damaged areas.

Desired Settlement: I understand Turner Pest Control does not have a replacement sod policy. If Turner Pest Control responsed to my pest infestation quickly, the damage would be minimum and I could corrected the problem myself.Now do their interal problems with broken trucks and lack of staff, I have three pallets of sod that will need to be replaced. Turner needs to do the right thing and contract with a sod replacement company repair the damage area along the sidewalk (kill, prep and replace).

Business Response: Company's response below:

Linda -

 

I am told we submitted our response via the website about two weeks ago.

Our response was that we are going to replace an area of sod - 3 pallets - per the complaint. Please check your records. I am also told that the customer is aware of this and is in agreement. Please let me know if your records don't agree.

 

Thanks,

 

****

 

**** ** ******

********* * ***

Turner Pest Control, LLC.

*************

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


 

Good Morning,

 

As per the status of complaint # *******, Turner has contacted me that they are going to replace the damaged grass area, but have not confirm a installation date.

 

***** had called me and advise me that they had agreed to repaired the damaged grass, but needed to confirm a date for installation.

 

I had requested ASAP or the week of December 2nd.

 

I do not consider the complaint resolved or completed.

 

Thanks,

 

 

*** ***** **********

__________________________________________________






 

 

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Turner Pest Control, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart