BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Trads Of Jacksonville, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trads Of Jacksonville, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Trads Of Jacksonville, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1971 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services/Pest Control
3125 Conner Blvd., Bldg. 8 (L-29), Tallahassee FL 32399
http://app1.flaes.org/ceu/
Phone Number: (850) 617-7870
Fax Number: (850) 617-7895
aescares@freshfromflorida.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Denise T Wartan, Certified Operator and General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis Trad, Owner
Principal: Mrs. Denise T Wartan, Certified Operator and General Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control Animal & Wildlife Removal Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Garden Centers Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers

Alternate Business Names
Trad's Garden Center & Pest Control
Industry Tips
Pest Control Services

Additional Locations

  • 5131 Bowden Rd

    Jacksonville, FL 32216

  • 8178 San Jose Blvd

    Jacksonville, FL 32217

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2014 I moved my Lawn Care to Trads. At the time of signing the contract which I have currently shows the condition of the yard at the time of signing the contract as well as photos taken by the sales rep with Trads. In the course of 5 months they have destroyed my yard. IN the latest they over applied weed killer which has killed of a large majority of my front year. After many phone calls to get a tech out to see what is happening I was told by their office that they applied winterizer and that this is normal for the yard to be set back. Finally after another week I contacted Trads again to get a manager to come out and see what is going on with the yard. After being an hour and a half late John finally showed up to inform me that he didn't think it looked that bad and was probably due to improper irrigation with my sprinkler system. He was extremely arrogant and rude. I have photos as well as Trads from the day they took over my yard which was in amazing condition to now where I need resoding in many places. Due to the breach of service contract they should be fully responsible for what has happen to my yard. I am not asking for them to pay for this to be fixed as I do not want them back on my property however I am asking for a refund for the last 5 months of service as well as my initial deposit of $90 as they haven't come close to filling their contractual obligations.

Desired Settlement: Asking for 5 months of lawn payments (not house pest which they also handle for me)and the $90 dollar deposit. Total should be $365.

Business Response:

Thank you for making us aware of the dis satisfaction of Corey Corrado. Trad’s takes this very seriously and will do whatever we can to correct any customer issues. We have reviewed this accounts history and would like to note some issues.

 

Two Trad’s managers went to see the lawn and discuss the issues on 10/22/2014 when four adults stood waiting to challenge them. Trad’s managers started to investigate the problem areas and requested to check the irrigation system as herbicide damage can be caused by the lack of watering after the treatment. After problems with the irrigation were observed, the homeowner and family became very agitated. The managers were asked to leave.

 

We admit that there were some superficial burns from the herbicide, however nothing that would not recover with proper care.  The allegations by Mr. Corrado, implying that the majority of the front lawn was killed, are unfounded as you will see from our photos.

 

We have the pictures of the lawn that our sales associate took at sign up and included them for you to view.  As you can see, there were many problems with the lawn contrary to the allegations. We have also included photos taken on 10/28/2014 of the front lawn. The majority of the lawn looks very good given the time of the year when turf growth has diminished due to lower temperatures.

 

Trad’s cannot agree to any refund however, we will not pursue the outstanding balance currently owed on the account which amounts to $205.00.


Thank you for making us aware of the dis satisfaction of Corey Corrado. Trad’s takes this very seriously and will do whatever we can to correct any customer issues. We have reviewed this accounts history and would like to note some issues.

 

Two Trad’s managers went to see the lawn and discuss the issues on 10/22/2014 when four adults stood waiting to challenge them. Trad’s managers started to investigate the problem areas and requested to check the irrigation system as herbicide damage can be caused by the lack of watering after the treatment. After problems with the irrigation were observed, the homeowner and family became very agitated. The managers were asked to leave.

 

We admit that there were some superficial burns from the herbicide, however nothing that would not recover with proper care.  The allegations by Mr. Corrado, implying that the majority of the front lawn was killed, are unfounded as you will see from our photos.

 

We have the pictures of the lawn that our sales associate took at sign up and included them for you to view.  As you can see, there were many problems with the lawn contrary to the allegations. We have also included photos taken on 10/28/2014 of the front lawn. The majority of the lawn looks very good given the time of the year when turf growth has diminished due to lower temperatures.

 

Trad’s cannot agree to any refund however, we will not pursue the outstanding balance currently owed on the account which amounts to $205.00.

Thank you for making us aware of the dis satisfaction of Corey Corrado. Trad’s takes this very seriously and will do whatever we can to correct any customer issues. We have reviewed this accounts history and would like to note some issues.

 

Two Trad’s managers went to see the lawn and discuss the issues on 10/22/2014 when four adults stood waiting to challenge them. Trad’s managers started to investigate the problem areas and requested to check the irrigation system as herbicide damage can be caused by the lack of watering after the treatment. After problems with the irrigation were observed, the homeowner and family became very agitated. The managers were asked to leave.

 

We admit that there were some superficial burns from the herbicide, however nothing that would not recover with proper care.  The allegations by Mr. Corrado, implying that the majority of the front lawn was killed, are unfounded as you will see from our photos.

 

We have the pictures of the lawn that our sales associate took at sign up and included them for you to view.  As you can see, there were many problems with the lawn contrary to the allegations. We have also included photos taken on 10/28/2014 of the front lawn. The majority of the lawn looks very good given the time of the year when turf growth has diminished due to lower temperatures.

 

Trad’s cannot agree to any refund however, we will not pursue the outstanding balance currently owed on the account which amounts to $205.00.

Thank you for making us aware of the dis satisfaction of Corey Corrado. Trad’s takes this very seriously and will do whatever we can to correct any customer issues. We have reviewed this accounts history and would like to note some issues.

 

Two Trad’s managers went to see the lawn and discuss the issues on 10/22/2014 when four adults stood waiting to challenge them. Trad’s managers started to investigate the problem areas and requested to check the irrigation system as herbicide damage can be caused by the lack of watering after the treatment. After problems with the irrigation were observed, the homeowner and family became very agitated. The managers were asked to leave.

 

We admit that there were some superficial burns from the herbicide, however nothing that would not recover with proper care.  The allegations by Mr. Corrado, implying that the majority of the front lawn was killed, are unfounded as you will see from our photos.

 

We have the pictures of the lawn that our sales associate took at sign up and included them for you to view.  As you can see, there were many problems with the lawn contrary to the allegations. We have also included photos taken on 10/28/2014 of the front lawn. The majority of the lawn looks very good given the time of the year when turf growth has diminished due to lower temperatures.

 

Trad’s cannot agree to any refund however, we will not pursue the outstanding balance currently owed on the account which amounts to $205.00.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Feb 2014 I noticed weeds, clover etc and bare spots appearing in my lawn. I called Trad's and requested a manager inspect and review the situation and make necessary corrections. A lady called back and informed me that I would have to be present and made the appointment for me to meet with ***** a Supervisor. The day scheduled he did not show. On the following Monday I called and was told someone would call back. No one called. In April I made another call and expressed my concern and was told a special treatment, as necessary would be made. The problem continued to get worse. I did not send a payment in for june but did wright a letter expressing the reason. I have not got a response back but did receive several account Past due letters. July I called again and expressed my reason for discontinuing the payment. Several Days later I got a call from a supervisor ****. He informed me that He was not the person but would pass it on to the tech. He also informrd me that the treatment for weeds had not been completed after feb, 2014 I did not hear anything else so on August 13, I called again. I spoke to *******, She informed me that they would not treat the lawn because payment is now past due.

Desired Settlement: Correct damaged lawn replace sections of dead areas caused by lack of treatment.continue service with appropriate supervision.

Business Response: Company's response below:

*****,

I am sorry for the delay. We have been working with Mr. ******** and we have agreed to a solution. Mr. ******** said he will contact the BBB once everything is resolved.

 

 

        ****** ***********

        Trad's Pest Control

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to switch from ****** to Trad's because Trad's was significantly cheaper for weed control. Although I did not know this initially, the reason Trad's is cheaper is because they only come out once every other month. So while they only charged me $34 per month it added up to $68 per application which is more expensive than ******* The salesman who initially did the assessment on my yard did not make this clear.They told me that if there were ever any problem areas in the yard that I could call and they would send someone out to reapply weed killer to the affected area. I called once for an issue with dollar weed that as far as I could tell was never retreated. The dollar weed was never eliminated over the course of 9 months with Trad's. Status reports about my yard were intermittent. Sometimes they would leave them at the front door and sometimes they wouldn't. Last month I happened to be home when the "tech" came to treat the yard. He might have sprayed most of the front yard but he didn't even look at the back yard. I called Trad's to cancel my service because, as I described to the receptionist, I could no longer trust them to spray my yard. This resulted in letters every couple days to my house threatening to report me to the credit unions for not paying my last month's bill. I tried calling and explaining that I should only owe half of the bill because only half of the yard was sprayed. I was told that I could make that request with a manager which I did(4 days later when he finally returned my call). This entire time I continued to receive threatening letters from Trad's. The manager told me that he would come look at my yard. That was three days ago. I continue to receive nasty letters from Trad's.

Desired Settlement: They billed me for $134. I think $67 is fair. I actually already paid the full amount because I am a responsible person. However, I think a $67 refund to me would at least be an accountable action on their part.

Business Response:

Thank you for teh message from Mr. **** ******** :

We belive this is resolved with Mr. ********. Our Service Manager spoke to him yesterday and we will be refunding the $67.00 as requested and Mr. ******** will allow Trad's to continue to treat his lawn. We are so pleased to be able to resolve this and keep our customer.

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/21/13 I request the services of Trad's company to take care of my lawn at **** ******* ** * which is at my propertyI signed the contract 03/21/13. the lawn analysis showed that I had some bare spots and some weeds as false dandelion,clover,oxalis cudweed which they are covered with this program. In the agreement I agree to do what he advised couple months later my lawn was normal again. On July I started to complain about weeds that they growing(I have picture) the sprayed couple times and still the problem was there. I requested that when they come to spray ring the bell to see what was going on. A Few times came and they didn't ring the bell the problem was getting worse. I called again and requested to ring the bell and he did it. I saw what he was doing just overspraying again and again the same spot when the weeds were. Finally the Manage ****** came he told me that he found in the problem spot some chinch bugs (some in one spot). He said he sprayed for that plus the regular technician spayed a few times next thing my front yard is destroyed very bad until I stop them to keep spraying it was too late. I complain the manager came and told me that he is going to give a certificate for sod so I can fixed I told him that it is not fair that I had to do the dirty job and he sent a$10.00 certificate so I can pick up the sod at their ****** ****** which is at **** *** **** ****. I called him immediately and I told him that I refused to do the work and that was an insult to offer me $10.00 certificate he said no you have to do it just pick up the sodI told him not and he told me he will come the weekend and he didn,t come. They did the damage I think that it is fear enough to fix it.he was discussing that bc the chinch bug was the damage when he told me that he found some chinch bugs just a very little spot more next door neighbor and he sprayed too. I have letter from ********* ********** asking to fix my yard bc it is a violation According to Article VIII section 1

Desired Settlement: As the ********* **************. requesting to perform the required maintenance of the lawn to a professional alive,healthy and growing condition within five days of the receipt of the letter which dated September 30.2013. And after they restore my yard I would like to request the cancellation of the contract after 7 months it will be due March 2014 Since the Company refused to agree that they cause the problem and fix the problem,please I beg you to help me I am 70 years old and live alone.

Business Response:

This was received today, 10/07/13 and therefore has already exceeded the five day response that Ms. ******* has requested.

We will look into this situation and be able to respond fully within a few days.

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:   I don't  understand this, I can't see the response from the business  can you explain me what is it  I can't find it.  But if it is not the answer to my request I can't accept. It is no fear that I paying a company not to keep my lawn but destroy.  Trad's advertise the best and did the worse to my property.   Please help me to get my property fixed the way it was before.  The Property management gave 5 days to fix the problem, that is what I wanted to Trad's fix what they destroy  and they refused to do it.  I am sending those pictures so you can see the damage.

The picture of the pile of weeds is after they sprayed and the weeds never go away.  hat picture was after they spray and you have wait a week so they can dye but they never do and I have to pull them by hand.   Then he said that I have chinch bugs but very little infestation they spayed so many times maybe and they kill my yard.  Please help me!

 

Regards,

 

******* *******

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: 9752317

I am rejecting this response because:

 I  did answer the only one email from you saying that I didn't understand about the response fro Trad's.  The answer was that I don't have nothing to do now so, I assume that dispute was from you and the company and I was waiting to hear from you since they didn't listen to me.

 

Couple days ago ****** called me and tol me that they will come in between 2 weeks I told her that I have to pay a fine that every day passing the fine will be more and she said or well will be 1-2 weeks but, bc my request was to cancel the contract  too without penalty and fix my property in a professional way not like ****** told me to dig with the fingers and put some Little plugs here and there this is why I asked for your help.  I was waiting for a day to see if they come so I can let you know but nothing.  I want please to terminate bc this is not a good company they do false ad. in TV. why they did that to me why?  I can't afford to have a lawyer but if I have to asked for Legal Aid for help I'll be force to do it.  I still have hope that you understand this big problem to me.  The  board of directors pass by everyday watching whom are in violation.

If you need to get in touch with the ************ ********* ********** is ************.  To see that I never ever before I was in violation against  Article VIII  Section 1

Please help me it will be grated appreciated it.

 

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

Business Response:

I spoke to Mrs. ******* on October 11 and explained Trad's would replace the ten blocks of sod because she was unable to do so.  At that time I told Mrs. ******* the work would be done within a two week period of time.  I again spoke to Mrs. ******* today and let her know we are scheduled to install the ten blocks of sod this week. I suggested she notify her HOA and let them know the work is scheduled in order to avoid any fines. Our ability to do this work will depend on the weather and the availablity of the sod.

According to our records she had chinch bug damage that started in her neighbor's yard and moved into her yard. We cannot draw an artificial "border" in the grass to stop a problem coming over from her neighbor and that is why the manager originally told her we would not be responsible. After speaking to Mrs. ******* on 10/11/13 we decided that although we are not responsible for the damage, we would do the work for her.  Mrs. ******* can cancel her service without penalty and we will still replace the ten blocks of sod for her. 

We feel this should resolve her issues.

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******
Today 10/18/13 They came supposed to fix my yard.   They
came nack the door I told them that I couldn't go outside bc
I am in bed sick of my stomach they said OK. a few minutes later the caregiver
came and I asked to look for me what they did.  He said that they put 4
pieces of sod all bumpy terrible job and left all the damage the same.

When I asked you for help I asked that I wanted the problem fixed
the professional way as it was plus please I requested to cancel he contract
without penalty the do date will be 03/21/2014 please it is enough problem that
they are causing to me.  Every time calling complaining about the weeds so
they kill thee grass not the weeds and what they did was over spraying I guess
and kill the grass not the weeds I sen the picture which shows all the weed
that I had to pull by hands.  The excuse is that I had Chin bug I told
them forget about that bc it is like 1 piece of sod
needed and I understand that won't be their fault but they kill the grass the
whole front.



Please help me I'll be grated appreciated.  Since I am very sick I
couldn't go outside and stop them doing the sloppy work.


Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Company's response below:

Dear BBB:
 
Please know a manager met with Ms. ******* on 10/24/13 and we replaced  the sod in question for Ms. ******* on Monday, 10/28/13. We feel this should resolve this dispute.
 
Sincerely,
 
       ****** ***********        Trad's **** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  It is not satisfactory to me but I have to accept bc I can't deal with them no more It got me sick that I had to see dr.the stress that they caused to me was unbelievable.  They came 4 times and the result was the slope work that can't be accepted.  I send the pictures to you asking if you find this acceptable but I never got any response.  I had to take my losses it cost me $600.00 but this is a professional job like my property was before they ruined and they don't want to take responsibilities it is wrong I got a letter from them offering $25.00 discount if I resign with them they are out of their mind not even for free want them around my property.  They got nerves!

I am sending this pictures after the called fixed and the picture done by professionals which cost to me I am not rich that is lot of money for me.  I want to be sure that they won't charge any more money bc the early termination of the contract.  They are like that I don't doubt that they will pull a trick on me and they will sent  to a collection agency the rest of the months due to cancellation.

Thank you very much,

 

Regards,

 

******* *******

 

 

10/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service