BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

On Time Moving & Storage

Phone: (904) 794-1200 Fax: (904) 823-0760 View Additional Phone Numbers 3520 Agricultural Center Dr Ste 303, St Augustine, FL 32092 http://www.ontimemovingandstorage.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that On Time Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for On Time Moving & Storage include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for On Time Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on On Time Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 11, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1997 in FL Business started locally: 10/01/1997 Business incorporated: 08/01/2005 in FL
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

St. Johns County Tax Collector
P.O. Box 9001, St. Augustine FL 32085
http://stjohnstaxcollector.governmax.com/collectmax/collect30.asp?sid=C3758B61D2484BC998580A3C52AD38DC
Phone Number: 904-209-2250
Fax Number: 904209-2283
dennish@sjctax.us
The license number is 21345.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Kanekoa, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trad Ravan, Vice President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Travel & Moving Services Movers Movers - Office

Alternate Business Names
Florida Transfer And Relocation, Inc.
Industry Tips
MOVING AND STORAGE

Additional Locations

  • 3520 Agricultural Center Dr Ste 303

    St Augustine, FL 32092 (904) 794-1200 (386) 246-9110

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (386) 246-9110(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Time Moving and Storage was in charge of moving my property from Orlando to Pittsburgh due to a work transfer. Everything seemed alright until they delivered my property to my new residence in Pittsburgh. They were supposed to help unpack and assemble furniture and entertainment system as soon as they unpacked the entertainment system the 55 inch plasma was shattered! I called immediately and they were dismissive about the incident and told me that I would get a email. That left a bad taste in my mouth. The unpacking continued and the mess continued. The next item that turned up destroyed was a West Elm floor lamp that I told them to disassemble in to pieces but they packed it up whole. And guess what it was snapped into three pieces! Called them again and they became more defensive this time around asking if I had done any of the packing of the fragile items. Next thing that came up broken was a picture frame with that had been tossed into a box with random thing and was not even wrapped as a fragile object, thank GOD that the art piece inside of the frame was not damaged. The last item came back "missing" It was a 8 x 15 foot area rug that was not even put on the manifest so it doesn't even appear to have been "packed" or "moved". But the reality is that it was "moved" out of my Orlando apartment with the rest of my belongings. The customer service since then has been non existent and aggressive. They don't respond within a reasonable amount of time if at all and are not taking any of my claims seriously. The damage to my property was about $3130 while the cost of the move was $2018 so the total cost comes to about $5148!

Desired Settlement: Damages55 inch plasma TV $2500West Elm Floor lamp $300Ikea Area Rug $300Picture frame $30 Total damage = $3130Cost of Move = $2018Total Cost of Move = $5148

Business Response: There were damages in the move of Mr. *****. Although we can not process any claims without a claim form being filled out. We have sent him claim forms he refuses to fill them out. We have apologized numerous times and would love to get this taken care of. We will take care of all damages. We will not refund the move price. As for items damaged, the insurance can never be more than replacement. As in you purchase a TV 2 or 3 years ago for $2500 but same make same model today would be noticeably less. The damages that occurred were our fault and we intend to take care of them but there is a process that has to be followed. We don't send checks without a claim form because then he could say that was for something else and submit a claim form later.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The claim form states that the amount covered per item is the weight of the item multiplied by the coverage per pound, which the form clearly states is $1.20, using that calculation I looked up the weights of the items online at retailers in their shipping section and the tv is about 70lbs, the rug is around 46lbs, the lamp is about 45lbs.  Using  simple math and the $1.20 about per pound given it was easy to come up with the $198 amount.  The TV was initially bought for $2500 a year and a half ago, I looked at an online retailer and the same model is now being sold for $1550.  The floor lamp was less than a year old and was bought at West Elm and the price was $299, it is no longer available which sucks.  The area rug that was lost was bought at Ikea and was also about a year old also $299.  So $198 dollar would not cover a single items except for the frame that was broken which is $15.   All together the damage done was $2165.00 at today's replacement cost.   At the time provided the lamp was still available and the cost was $299.  I also attached the files of the broken items and their original state in my old Orlando apartment.  In the case of the rug it was not even put on the inventory so for the claim form I can't put an item number. Here are the links I provided the movers with.

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

http:/**********************************************

http:/*****************************************************************************************

http:***************************************************************************

 

Regards,

********* *****

Business Response: When you were given the estimate for the move you were given 2 options for insurance 1) $1.20 per lb with no deductible 2) Full Value Replacement with a deductible. Those are our options for insurance. That is why there is a place on the claim sheet for current Value and also a spot for weight. Again we apologize for any damage. There will be no claim checks written without a claim form being filled out. A picture of the make and model of the TV would also be required.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with ******, a very smooth talker and he most definitely convinced me that my move would be handled professionally. Nothing could be further from the truth.My wife and I self packed and only had a few pieces of furniture to move. I received a fixed price quote based on his on site inspection of our household.Here is what went wrong:1) I scheduled a pickup time of 9:00AM on Thursday, March 20th, 2014. I received a call at about 9:15 saying they wouldn't be there until 10:30! (our course I had flown in late the night before from ********** to ******* to be there by 9). When I asked why they were late "the truck got in late the night before..." was the answer. So, did anyone pickup the phone then or email me and let me know? No. Strike 12) When I met with ****** I explained that I travel a lot and asked him if they would be somewhat flexible (like a day or 2) with delivery as I am always juggling my schedule. He ASSURED me that they would be. So, when ***** from their office called me and TOLD ME that it was Sat. April 5th or else he would have to put my stuff in storage, that was that. (he was ESTREMELY RUDE AND CONDESCENDING, BY THE WAY!) Strike 23) I signed a manifest that listed 109 pieces that were being shipped. When the truck arrived, they could not locate all of the items that were shipped. So, what I find out is that when our goods were being packed on the truck, "According to *****" ours was the last stuff on (why, he couldn't tell me) and because we had some larger boxes they took it upon themselves to UNPACK OUR STUFF, and put it wherever they like including into my wife's dresser with other clothes, BROKE a dresser drawer, tried to HIDE IT by taping the bottom of the drawer and then telling me NOTHING about it when my stuff arrived (***** admitted to me that the boxes were unpacked and someone obviously knew that the drawer had been broken but no one said a thing). I still don't know what is missing. Strike 3 YOU'RE OUT! All in all, TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL.

Desired Settlement: I would love to see them just plain out of business and not do to anyone else what they did to us. I would love to get all of the damaged things repaired or replaced and I would love to be shown some common courtesy and as such, I called last Thursday morning and asked to speak to ******, was told he was out and left a message for him to call me. 4 business days later, still no call......I guess there is a reason that some moving companies have reputations similar to used car salesmen......

Business Response: Mr. ****** was told we would be there for pickup between 9-10am on March 20th.  We are based out of *** *********, so any local job we do get there right at 9am.  When a job is in the ******* area, such as Mr. ******'s, we always tell the customer to expect the guys between 9-10am.  We were running a little bit behind the morning of the 20th however, and didn't arrive to Mr. ******'s until about 10:15.  Mr. ****** wasn't happy about this because he had just flown in from ********** the night before, and because we had to have everything packed, loaded, and out of the house by 1pm.  We assured Mr. ****** that we would be out of the house by 1pm like he had requested, and we were able to make that happen no problem.

As far as strike 2 is concerned, when we give estimates, we can never guarantee an exact delivery date for delivery, unless the customer pays for exclusive use of the tractor trailer.  In Mr. ******'s case, he was given, and agreed to, a 10 day delivery window once his items had been picked up.  Once we picked his items up, we gave Mr. ****** a call and let him know that he would be delivered between April 5-7, to which he said was absolutely fine.  Once we got confirmation from Mr. ******, we called the 4 other customers on the same truck to confirm dates with them.  We then called Mr. ****** again and let him know delivery would be on the 5th, which again was fine.  The entire out of state run was confirmed and loaded onto the truck in order of the delivery schedule.  The truck was already on the road to the **** coast when Mr. ****** called back to say that he could no longer except delivery on the 5th because of obligations with his children, and that we must delivery his items on Monday, April 7th instead.  What Mr. ****** failed to realize is that he was not the only customer on the truck, he was actually one of five.  All of the customer's dates were confirmed days in advance.  Mr. ****** expected our drivers to sit around in California for 2 whole days until he could accept delivery.  We were not able to accommodate Mr. ******'s request because we had 4 other customers that were expecting deliveries on specific dates.  We were scheduled to be in ***********, ** on the 7th, so sitting in ********** was not an option.  Mr. ******'s items were put on the truck last because he was scheduled as the first delivery on the trip.  If we didn't deliver on the 5th, which was agreed upon, we wouldn't have been able to get to the other customers' items in order to deliver.  Once Mr. ****** called to cancel delivery on the 5th, he was told that was not an option, and that we would have to deliver his items into a storage unit nearby if he could not accept delivery that day.  
As far as us unpacking his boxes, that is true.  Mr. ****** had a few large boxes that we were having a hard time fitting onto the truck.  The boxes had some empty space in them, so we condensed the items into a few smaller boxes so that everything would fit on the truck.  If anything was missing, we would do our best to replace it, but as Mr. ****** stated himself, "I still don't know what is missing."  As far as damages go, we were unaware of the broken drawer, and Mr. ****** did not point it out on the day of delivery.  Mr. ****** chose the $1.20 per pound per article insurance option, and we have no problem with looking into getting the drawer replaced.  Mr. ****** would just need to fill out and submit a claim form, and to my knowledge, Mr. ****** has not asked us for a claim form.  

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Your statements are either: untrue or did not address my concerns. 

Point 1 - You claim that I was told pickup was between 9-10AM. This is a boldfaced lie and I called 2 days before pickup and confirmed that pickup was at 9, not between 9 and 10.  In any case, you completely ignored my comment that what a courteous, professional company would have done is called the night before and let me know (as your driver indicated that he had gotten in later the previous evening but no one bothered to let me know he would be late).

Point 2 - The delivery. I DO realize that you put more than one shipment on a truck. (I am angry, not an idiot!). This being said, when I spoke to ******, I specifically asked him if he would be flexible with the delivery date (by a day or 2 at most) as my schedule is constantly changing.  Instead, what I got was a call TELLING ME that delivery was this day or else.  Not, will this day work or if not, what would work.  I find it interesting that you did not actually address my issue but reiterated the same thing I was told on the phone (which also included that "****** doesn't do the scheduling"). So, did he lie to me?  It sure seems that way, or perhaps just told me what he thought I wanted to here to secure my business.

Point 3 - As to our boxes.  At NO TIME did ANYONE ever say to me that "Hey, we might open your boxes and repack them at our discretion and not even tell you that we did that".  I called a couple of local movers and they ALL told me that if they needed to do that, the FIRST THING they would do is call the customer and let them know.

When your truck showed up, there were boxes with our lot number but outside of the piece count we shipped. I was told by your movers that they were our boxes.  I looked at the lot number and piece numbers (our shipment had piece count 1-109) and the boxes in question were of the same lot number but piece numbers 111-115.  Were these our things that you repacked?  When I brought this to the attention of your staff, they told me "No, they must have used the same lot number for somebody else". (and made a joke at the ineptitude of those who packed the truck!)

If only I had KNOWN that you repacked our boxes, I might have been inclined to look at those other ones and maybe some of our now known to be missing stuff might have been in there.  Inept, inconsiderate and unprofessional. What else can I say???  I will be filing a claim for the stuff missing, so far........

Regards,

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted for a FLAT RATE move with this company with the only additional charges being for additional mileage (I did not know the exact location where I would be moving as I had not yet signed a lease at the time of the contract). The company assured me that they would provide a FULL SERVICE move....this meant putting my furniture together and placing it in the room where I wanted it to go. They also assured me that the items would be kept in an air conditioned warehouse. When delivery time arrived, at the last minute they told me I had to pay more....a LOT more or else I would never see my belongings again. They also told me I would somehow have to get cash. When I told them I was not comfortable carrying cash across town (I am disabled and do not drive) they ridiculed me. In retrospect, a disreputable company tries to avoid accepting credit cards because they know charges can be disputed. When I mentioned that I had a contract for a set amount, the manager told me the contract "meant nothing" and that if I wanted my stuff I better pay what he told me. When the things arrived numerous items were broken. They could NOT provide the full service move I paid for because many of the broken pieces were missing (ie parts of my bed) so furniture could not be assembled as I paid for. Many items were covered in mold. It was so bad that many things had to be discarded. I do not believe the warehouse was adequately air conditioned. I was told by the driver to sign papers saying I received the items and that I had to take up issues with being overcharged, and the damages with the office. However, the office has NEVER returned my phone calls. All I get is someone telling me a "manager will call back" but that never happens. I have photos and witnesses to the damaged items, as well as witnesses to the good condition of the items before the movers picked them up. I highly doubt these movers washed out the moving blankets or truck, so their next unlucky customer likely had their belongings covered in mold.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the overcharges, the damages, and for the portion of the costs related to the FULL SERVICE move that they did not preform but were part of the binding estimate. They promised to put the bed together but could not because they broke and lost the pieces. In the end I was unable to replace the pieces and damages from the mold so I had to throw out the bed and buy a new one.

Business Response: We picked up Ms **** in July for a move into storage and then to Oregon. When doing the estimate she said she had a small storage unit but refused to let us go take a look at it. She said it was small 5X10 or 10X10 max. She also told us she was moving because of a mold problem in her apartment which was causing her to get sick. When the guys showed up to pick her up she had not started packing yet and wanted us to pack her but did not want to pay anymore than $50 extra. I told her the boxes alone would cost us more than $50. So we postponed for 1 week. She said the reason she was not ready was that the mold was so bad she had to wash all of her clothes over and over to clean them. The next week we showed up and she was not even half way finished. So we wanted to postpone again but could not because she had to be out. We asked her to call the landlord to see if she could get a few extra days but he said no. We then received a call from the landlord begging us to get her out immediately. When we arrive at the storage unit it is one of the biggest they have with a lot more than she had said. We brought her back to storage. Which is climate controlled and very nice. Then she had people drop off extra things that were not discussed. Then she changed where she was going instead of Oregon it was Washington. But she did not want to pay more for going further. By the time the truck got there to unload we were so frustrated we let her only pay a fraction of the bill. she didn't even pay for the extra miles of Oregon to Washington because she thought it should be at the max $100. She then disputed the charges on her credit card twice both times they ruled in our favor that is why she is doing this now. And as far as the payment, we wanted certified funds which she had 3 months to get while it was in storage. There were no damages the furniture was in very bad shape I mean very bad. A quick rundown, we packed about 30 boxes which she did not pay for. We had to reschedule last minute and lose a day for a crew which she did not pay for. We stored it for 3 months which she did not completely pay for because she said it was included. It went from Oregon to Washington which she did not pay for because she said it should be $100. And now she wants money back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ***** is part owner of On Time Moving and Storage. He came out to my house in Saint Augustine, FL to provide me a quote for moving cross country. After hearing his sales pitch, I agreed to use them for my move. When I asked about expensive items being lost or broken in shipping, he replied, "Just call me and I will have the item fixed or replaced." He did NOT mention that they have a $500 deposit before they will help with anything. After I arrived at my new location, my office desk was broken in pieces and my Playstation 3 was no where to be found. I called **** and he asked for me to send him photos of the broken desk and said that he would call the next day. Four days later, I called and complained about not having any resolution to my problem. A man named Bobby called me back and was extremely rude and argumentative. He said that they were not going to do anything about the missing PS3 and said that my desk was made of pressed wood and that they were not responsible. He then continued to say that from the photos, he said my desk was only $45 at Walmart. I purchased it for $199 at Office Max. I told him that the men that loaded my items did not say anything about taking apart this desk for safer shipping but simply that I "should have known". He was very sarcastic and rude and when I told him that I was going to pursue legal action, he threatened "Fine. Do it!" I never spoke to **** despite my frequent requests to do so. Also, **** told me that the same men that loaded my truck would unload it but when they arrived at my new location, there were three new faces that could not answer any questions stating, "We're just here to unload." Bobby refused to entertain the idea that perhaps one of these unloaders took my PS3 (it was the day before Christmas). He said that they would "never do that" insinuating that I was lying about the situation. He said that I should have known to pack the PS3 in a larger box. Why didn't the loaders tell me that in the beginning????

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $500 for my lost and broken items.

Business Response: We have spoken with Ms ******* quite a few times. As for the playsyation she was instructed when she first called that it was tight load going on the truck and it was probably put in a larger box by one of the guys not the she should have done so. When asked if she had unpacked the boxes yet she said no. You can not submit a claim for something missing when you have not unpacked. The desk was particle board and not broken just loose some of the cams holding it together had come out. That is why no mover can insure that type of furniture is not made to be moved. The deductible for insurance was gone over during the estimate and is written in on the estimate right next to the price it is hard to miss. We then offered her the other type of insurance after the move which is per lb that does not cover replacement but is something and she said no. As for her not speaking with **** he is not in the office very much but she has his cell phone and he answers the phone or calls back. She has called him on his cell phone numerous times before.

Business Response: I understand you may have paid $199 for the desk. But first was not even broken the locking cams which hold it together fell out in transit the replacement cams are at Home Depot for .59 cents a piece. The desk could probably be fixed for a few dollars. There is the exact same desk as the one in the picture you sent me for $49. As you were told during the estimate it is not what you paid for an item but replacement. Replacement insurance comes with a $500 deductible which was discussed during the estimate and written on the estimate. It is not replacement insurance with 0$ deductible.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I refuse to continue communication with you.  It is clear that you are accustomed to these complaints and are quickly ready with your rebuttals that in NO way side with your customers.  Therefore, as I stated in my last response, I will accept your offer of $75 .  Please send it to me as soon as possible.

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired On Time Moving to transport my belongings from ******, **. to ********, **. Once we got everthing unpacked we noticed my wife's ******* mink coat is missing along with my knit wool jacket, embroidied Med. cruise jacket ** **** ****** ** **** ****, Heavy leather biker jacket,5 wind breaker jackets and two large megladon teeth. I called Mr. ****** ****** and told him about the missing items. He just laughed at me and said," The items are some where in your house". I searched this house from top to bottom and these items are no where to found. I just got back from ******, **. hoping that the items were left behind but no such luck. I tried filing a theft report with the ******* ****** Sheriff's Dept. but the Officer said," There's nothing I can do because you hired the people who took your stuff". In 2010 I was envoled in a house fire so all my items are fully document by ********* *********** *********** **** ********** ****, ***** **********, ** ***** (**** ******** and ***** ****. Everytime I have spoken with Mr. ****** all I get is him laughing in my face and I'm tired of it.

Desired Settlement: I want my "Stuff" back.

Business Response:

We moved Mr. ********* to ** a couple of months ago. It was a straight haul. Which means we drove to his house loaded 1 truck with as much as we could possibly fit. Truck was fully loaded from front to back. The customer was there at load up and was the only shipment on the truck. The truck was then driven straight to ** and unloaded with customer present. The customer checked the truck after the unload to ensure it was empty. The furniture was never unloaded. He then called explaining that the guys had stolen his wife’s fur coat. We told him that it was probably in one of the houses somewhere and for him to unpack all of the boxes first. He stated he didn’t have to that he knew the guys had stolen them. I assure you, the guys did not steal fur coats. They would have had to unload most of the truck to get to them as the house was loaded on the truck at the front then the container loaded next.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


If their guys where not crooks why are all my (men's) jackets and coats gone including my ******* windbreaker,"****** ***** ****".  I guess the sharks teeth just walked themselves out of my dresser. The way I see it their insurance pays me 100 for the loss and I'm out 7,400.  They can pawn mink coat for about 2500. If you look this coat on the Internet is worth $4900. 

 

Regards,

****** **********

Business Response:

The guys are not crooks. How would the guys know if it is a real or fake fur coat. I assure you they have no interest in a fur coat. These guys make a lot of money there is no need to pawn something. As far as something missing from the drawers that is why it was padded and shrunk wrapped inside your house and not unwrapped until the new house. Also you watched them load the entire truck close the doors then drive straight to ** to unload where you watched them unload. As we discussed during the estimate about insurance if you have something abnormally high in value you have to bring it to our attention in advance. If you have a coat worth $5000 that is something we need to know in advance. Then you stated anything high in value you were moving yourself. Normally anything high in value is inventoried separate and accounted for as they are unloading. So why would the guys go thru all the hassle of unloading almost the entire truck somewhere to get to a fur coat that in their mind was not worth any money because it was not listed as valuable. Odds are the things you are missing are either in your old house your container or in your new house somewhere.

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 (1) When you asked three guys who boxed the front coat closet. All three deined touching the front closet. Two of the guys are telling the truth and one is lying. Some how my kids jackets and  most of the wifes jackets that where in the closet are here and yet none of mine made it.

(2) I was counting on your guys not knowing real from fake but I was wrong.

(3) I wasn't with the guys when they put the dresser in the basement. House in ****** 1,100 sqft. Home in Florence 4,100 sqft. it's got two floors with two basements under each end of the house. 

(4) I'm tied of the insipid clodpoll remarks.

Regards,

****** **********

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to move our belongings to another residence after selling our property in **** *****, ** in April 2013. We were moving to ** and they were to deliver in two weeks so storage was not a problem. The move up there didn't happen and we moved back to **** *****. They said they would put stickers on all of our things and fill out a bill of lading. When our things were delivered, we received other items that didn't belong to us with a different sticker number (which I have notified them about), a number of items were not on the list or were they delivered back to us and many items were broken or mistreated. Boxes marked "fragile" were ignored with boxes turned upside down, like a Kitchenaid mixer box with all the oil draining out as well as the lawn mower. We have sent them a letter, which was returned to us as "undeliverable". We emailed them with only one response which was they would "try" to get around to it. It has been over a month and we are still waiting for them to take care of the issues at hand. This is just incompetency and laziness on their part.

Desired Settlement: We have provided them with a detailed description of the missing items by email and want them to track these items down, deliver them back to us and pick up the items that don't belong to us.

Business Response:

We moved this guy about 5 months ago. We were moving him **. Twice we loaded the truck and had to take it off because he cancelled last minute. We would call to confirm drop off dates and tell him the truck is leaving then he would tell us something happened and could not take it. Then we would have to unload the truck back into storage. We did not charge him for it. That means twice I sent a half empty truck out of state because he cancelled last minute and did not call us to tell us just waited till the last minute. Once an out of state move is set with dates we do not cancel unless the customer tells us which he never did. The boxes were almost all packed improperly. The boxes were medium and large boxes and filled with books and tools. Those size boxes are not meant to hold that much weight and crushed due to over packing. Medium and Large boxes are meant to hold large lighter items. Smaller sturdier boxes are meant to hold heavy items. You can’t pack a large box with heavy items such as dishes and write fragile on it that size box is not meant to hold that weight and no matter how it is moved the box will not make it especially when it is moved 4 times. As far as the liquids that leaked out. When the estimate was done he was informed that there should be no liquids on an out of state move  and that any damage that occurs is not our responsibility. He was given a folder that also has this information in it. There were a few items damaged and we were working on getting it resolved. We had a crew stop by house just a few days ago to try to resolve it. I was under the assumption that we had handled the move fairly well and were in the process of taking care of the situation.

Consumer Response:   Complaint: *******???

 

I am rejecting this response because the response we received from BBB, forwarded from On Time Moving, only addressed how we packaged boxes.  We are two senior citizens that packed these boxes and were able to move them physically to our garage for pickup.  Mr. ****** went to great lengths to explain what a medium and large box should contain.  We appreciate the explanation and will adhere to that if there are any future moves.  Our main concern was the "missing articles" that their response didn't address.  The missing items were not small items: one computer chair, two rather large plastic buckets with rope handles and a 4 x 4 blue backing board for a dart game.  I explained that to the guy who presented himself and another worker yesterday 9/18/13 at 9:00 a.m.  They brought someone else's computer chair and a black tote that was not ours either.  Obviously, the "sticker" method doesn't work because neither of those items had a sticker.  We also returned the items that were delivered to us by mistake on 8/13/13.

In regards to us having problems in moving our load, the answer is yes.  The problems they addressed on our behalf, we thought,  were handled in a timely manner.  When there was a problem with delivery, I called them as soon as I could (not the last minute, as they implied) notify them.  The liquids that are in question are: Kitchenaid mixer where the motor oil drained out; who knew that you had to drain a kitchen mixer before packing?  Secondly, walk behind lawn mower in the original box that said "This side up".  Gasoline was drained, it never occurred that the oil in the oil pan had to be drained as well.  I would be willing to bet that no consumer has an idea to drain the oil pan when shipping a lawn mower in its original carton. 

This is not a sour grapes complaint; we applauded On Time Moving for accepting our move at the absolute last moment.  We thought that their crew of four or five people did a great job in loading the truck.  As I said, no sour grapes, we are merely trying to straighten a situation out.  Even though there was some confusion as to the delivery dates, this should not be entered into this complaint.  They said they didn't charge us for loading and unloading, however we agreed to the original price which included loading and unloading the truck. 

We accept their explanation on all of the broken items; however, we would appreciate an explanation on the missing goods that we paid to have delivered back to us.  That is what the original complaint is all about. 

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

We are trying to figure out the problems with the missing items. It has not been a month since we were informed of missing pieces. And if the missing pieces cannot be found we will take care of the lost items. We have been working on it since we found out as per the crew out there a few days ago. We have been extremely patient with the customer canceling and changing dates last minute and never once asked for extra money. I wish we could get the same respect in return to get the problem resolved.

Consumer Response:   Complaint: *******

 

I am rejecting this response because we sent them a letter by mail on 8/26/13 which was returned last week.  The letter was sent to the address on their Bill of Lading and three emails before the letter was returned to us.  On one of those emails was a photo of the kind of plastic tubs we are missing with woodworking items inside and covered with taped cardboard.  They were items that you couldn't miss because they were big and heavy.  Obviously, no stickers were applied to these items or they just fell off during transit. 

We called the movers as soon as we knew that we were not going to be moving to the**** ***** address in ** and it couldn't be helped because those people were not ready (as planned) and requested another 2-3 weeks to close.  The movers made several calls to us after that informing us that they had a delivery up in that area, but we had no property to deliver it to so had to decline each time.  When we finally were about to close on 5/31/13, the lender didn't complete the appraisal in time and we needed an extra week, but the owner declined and sold it to someone else on 6/17/13 and we have no idea why.  We don't do these things deliberately and have tried to be fair.

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

Company's 2nd response below:

We are trying to locate the missing pieces. We just got the description of what was missing on September 13th. The first contact we got was September 7th and we contacted them back asking for a description and we got it September 13th. That means in less than a week of getting the description we had a crew there trying to get it handled. If a letter was returned that has nothing to do with us the address is correct we are here everyday. If we can’t find the pieces we will take care of what was lost. I don’t know what else they are wanting. I don’t know what they want us to do.

 

On Time Moving and Storage

**** *******
***********************

 

 

Consumer Response:   Complaint: *******

 

I am rejecting this response because the time for accusations has come to a close with us.  The name of their company is On Time Moving and Storage, they moved us and stored our belongings as requested and we paid them promptly the full amount.  Their contention of loading and unloading has nothing to do with the situation we originally started with.  That situation is the lost or undelivered items.  The explanation of packing is accepted by us.  The undelivered items are the only thing that we are interested in.  Any other conversation has nothing to do with our original complaint.  Had this complaint been handled timely, we would have never contacted the BBB.  We have the returned letter that was sent 8/26/13 and is marked "undeliverable" and Mr. ****** ***** was kind enough to answer one of the three emails on 9/07/13.

This is the first time we have had to contact the BBB and hopefully the last.  As we said before, the only thing we are interested in are the missing items.  Hopefully, this satisfies everyone.

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

Company's response below:

From: OTM *********************************
Sent: Saturday, September 21, 2013 9:08 AM
Subject: Complaint: 
******* 

I am not sure what the customer wants. We have been in contact with the customer trying to get it resolved before the complaint was entered. What do you want to resolve this issue.

 

On Time Moving and Storage

             **** *****

 

Consumer Response:   Complaint: *******

 

I am rejecting this response because we asked them nicely in several communications since August 26, 2013 to find and return the items listed.  Apparently this is not going to happen because they can't find them.  Therefore, reimbursement should be the next step for (1) black computer chair, (2) two large tubs with woodworking items and a large chip in our oval heavy glass coffee table which cost us $300.00.  All of these items were packed/blue blanketed by the movers and not boxed by us.

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

Company's response below:

From: OTM *********************************
Sent: Tuesday, September 24, 2013 8:03 AM
Subject: Complaint: 
******* 

As I have said in the past if we can’t find them we will take care of what we lost. The first communication we had was September 7th we replied asking for a detailed description we got it on September 13th. We have been trying to locate the pieces ever since if we can’t locate them we will take care of it by the end of this week which would be 2 weeks since we got the description of what we were looking for .

 

On Time Moving and Storage

             **** *****

Business Response:

Company's response below:

I am sorry we did not receive your letter. A phone call could probably have resolved the issue. We occupy 7 suites and almost the entire warehouse site. I wish the post office would have delivered it we could have started this 2 weeks earlier. Normally if we have a damage the customer would call we would send a claim form and the process is usually easy. I could send you a claim form and then you would fill it out.

 

On Time Moving and Storage

             **** *****

 

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******
 

 I am rejecting this response because:  When we only have two options, either accept or reject, it leaves no room for the explanation.  To begin when, the letter that we sent to On Time Moving on August 26, 2013 was returned to us as undeliverable.  The reason was, THAT WE FAILED TO PUT THE SUITE NUMBER ON THE ENVELOPE.  On the bill of lading and Mr. ****** *****'s business card....THERE IS NO SUITE NUMBER LISTED.  You would think that the United Postal Service would be able to deliver it by the proper address.  If this was done properly, the Better Business Bureau would have never been involved.  I appreciate On Time Moving's answer that we are here everyday and get mail everyday, however, if the proper address would have been listed....the dispute would have been resolved.  

This dispute has been going on well over a month since the delivery of our goods.  If On Time Moving can't locate our missing goods in that length of time I would think that they are lost for good.  The items that were damaged,  we explained that On Time Moving wrapped them, then the damage would be legitimate and we would expect On Time Moving to honor their quote, if you wrapped it...sorry; if we wrapped it, we will pay.

I think that the time has come to resolve this and we will accept their offer, if they will put a dollar amount...or if they will accept our dollar amount...as to the damages.  Mr. ***** has said several times that they will  pay if they cannot locate the missing goods by 9/28/13.  We need to know what they will offer!

Hopefully this will resolve the issue.  It never started out to be critical of On Time Moving,  it was merely a complaint about our missing articles.

 

 

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:   Complaint: *******

 

I am rejecting this response because:  As I stated before, when you give us the option to accept or reject...you leave no room for the offer from On Time Moving; Mr. ***** stated he COULD send us a claim form.  My question is why didn't he suggest this to begin with?  We are not familiar with their policy on lost and damaged goods.  We have moved many, many times over the years and have never had to go through a situation like this.  We have never had a mover "lose" or "damage" anything.

Again, we are not accepting or rejecting anything....as no offer has been extended.  If we get the claim form, we will certainly fill it out and return it promptly.  At which time, if an offer is extended, then we will make our decision.  We are very anxious to resolve this issue and get on with our lives.

 

 

Regards,

***** ****** 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

9/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2011 Delivery Issues
1