BBB Accredited Business since

Veterans Moving Help, LLC.

Phone: (888) 905-3348 6400 SW 20th Ave Apt 78, Gainesville, FL 32607 http://www.veteransmovinghelp.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Veterans Moving Help, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating. BBB made two or more requests for background information from the business. BBB has not received a response from business and/or has not been able to verify information received from business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Veterans Moving Help, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 03, 2014 Business started: 03/26/2013 in FL Business started locally: 03/26/2013 Business incorporated: 03/26/2013 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Parkway, Terry Lee Rhodes Building, Tallahassee FL 32301
https://csapp.800helpfla.com/CSPublicApp/AZGuide/AZGuideSearch.aspx
Phone Number: (800) 435-7352
The number is IM2276.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory Sledge, Owner
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Moving Brokers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Piano & Organ Moving Relocation Service

Industry Tips
MOVING AND STORAGE

Additional Locations

  • 6400 SW 20th Ave Apt 78

    Gainesville, FL 32607 (888) 905-3348

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Veterans Moving Help to move from ** to **. I requested 2 movers at each location. The movers I got in ** were not veterans, (and the website is very misleading about that as they imply they only hire Vets). They did not come prepared with their own water or moving equipment. One of them was highly unprofessional and kept yelling at the other every time I was in the room. I didn't supervise every thing they did as they were loading the truck as I assumed they were professional movers. When I arrived in *** the 2 movers also were not Vets. One of them also was an older gentlemen that couldn't lift half of my stuff properly. He was trying to move my dresser upstairs using a blanket and sliding it up each step. He then got very frustrated and started to rush which caused him to slip and hit the wall with the dresser leaving a huge mark. As we got to the end of unloading, I immediately saw that my dining room table had 3 legs completely busted off. I had no idea the ** movers didn't take the legs off. I told them to stop so I could take photos. The ** movers stacked my table with part of my hutch and large heavy boxes for a cross country move. Later that day as I was unwrapping furniture, I was noticing damage on well over 50% of my items. My leather couch and chair are damaged, another living room fabric chair, TV stand, one TV was in a box packed properly but the movers in ** didn't have the box secure. Much damage to wood pieces as well. One of the movers in ** dropped a weight set which I later found caused enough damage that it doesn't properly work now (a $299 ******* *********** weights). I had everything wrapped properly and would not have been surprised for some minor scratches here and there on such a long move. However, the way the ** movers packed the trailer was so horrendous that things were packed in such a way that almost every single piece of furniture is either damaged or destroyed in some way. Items that are damaged include: Broken dining room table Legs scratched on dining chairs Legs damaged on leather chairs Rips to leather couch Scuffs on leather chair Rips to leather bench Broken TV Wood damage to TV stand Damage to one bedroom dresser Damage to fabric living room chair due to too much weight packed on it Damage to weight bench/******* weight set due to ** mover dropping it I immediately called the company but was sent to a voicemail and left a message. I then sent 2 emails over about a week and half to 2 week period and never got a response. My mom later called to see if she could get through as we figured I was being ignored. She got though right away and explained the issue. She was told I would be contacted by the *** of the company by the next day. I never got a call and then finally got an email about a week later to send all my photos of the damage. I sent every picture I took of the damaged items and then never got a response. I gave it about a week and then sent another email of the issue with the weights and damage to the weight bench once I saw it. I also let them know that would be my last email attempt and I 'd be forced to take other action if they don't help resolve the issue. I was emailed the next day and was told the movers were not liable because I only used twine and not ratchet straps to tie stuff down. I replied and asked who they spoke with and then also sent a picture of both the twine and ratchet straps that was used to keep things in place. There would be now way to load a 3 BR house in a trailer on a cross country move without using ratchet straps. I have not had a reply to that as of 18 November. The biggest issue with this company is the absolute false advertising of hiring Vets. The website is VERY misleading. The other issue is the poor business practice. When a customer complains and needs something resolved, then the business needs to return calls and emails. But avoiding the issue makes the company look like they're hiding something because they know what their doing is wrong. As a 20 year Army Veteran, I am highly disappointed to see a business like this associated with another Veteran. The ***** should be doing everything in his power to make his "veteran" company an outstanding veteran-owned business. But rather this company, and therefore the "veteran *****," lack the integrity that is needed to make this a trustworthy company. The website also claims 100% satisfaction guaranteed. So what does the company do for their customers when they are not satisfied? I also find it odd that on the website under the testimonial tab, there is nowhere for a customer to leave a remark. But rather there are video "testimonials." After watching them, I wouldn't be surprised if they are scripted. They are so fake looking it's ridiculous. And who actually does video testimonials? And why isn't there a place to leave a testimonial?

Desired Settlement: With the amount of damage to my furniture, items cannot be repaired. The majority of my household goods have to be replaced.

Business Response:

company's response below:

From: <****************************>
Date: Tue, Dec 23, 2014 at 10:02 AM
Subject: ******* ****** ********* ********
To: ***** ***** ********************>


My regards, Happy Holidays!
 
We are very sorry for damage incurred by Ms. ******.
 
We provide loading and unloading services only. We do not take custody of furnishings nor do we transport furnishings. The furnishings were picked up by a third party and transported 3000 miles across country. The Movers assured me they loaded the trailer to the best of their ability and they have performed many moving jobs for us and have numerous references. The type of damage where practically ALL of customers furnishings were damaged would be a roadway catastrophe. There is no other explanation for that. Even the most poorly loaded truck would not sustain that kind of damage.
 
I am ***** of the company and a **** Veteran.
 
We don't have all Veterans working for us much like the military has civilian employees. We do make and are making a concentrated effort to employ as many Veterans as possible. I personally work with homeless Veterans often paying money out my own pocket to help those Veterans whom the ******** ************** fails. I have ******** ************** case workers and service providers whom will attest to my character and the many benevolent deeds I do for Veterans. Please email me for references.
 
Thanks,
 
******* ******
Veterans Moving Help LLC
************

 

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made online reservation;asked to pay $50 at that time.Charged $53 to my account.Driver arrived on time, but told ******** that she was suppose to have rented a truck. He offered to use his personal truck to move her for $96/hr-min. 2 hrs.+fuel. I spoke to driver and agreed. Had someone with him that we were unaware would be there. Other person entered home and asked a roommate for weed. He stole a glass pipe from roommate. ******** had to reimburse roommate $25 for stolen item. Driver took an extra 25 minutes to arrive at destination after ******** arrived (left 1st residence at same time). Unloaded items, damaged coffee table; told ******** that it would be $192 moving fee, $40 fuel charge and $40 gratuity. She paid them and called me. I called Veterans Moving to complain and find out what was going on. Girl who answered phone said I needed to talk to ******* and he would call me back shortly. Never called. Called again next morning. Spoke with same girl. She said he was going to call me that afternoon, but couldn't give me a time. Haven't heard from anyone yet.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed $15 for fuel. Do not think it took him $40 to move her in his truck. Want to be reimbursed the $53 I paid online as it was not deducted from the total amount charged by mover. Want to be reimbursed $40 paid for gratuity. Gratuity was never mentioned and should be at the discretion of the customer. Want to be reimbursed $25 for repayment of stolen item.

Business Response: We clearly state online and in all our advertisements as well as explain to customers that we are a MOVING LABOR company only, we do not provide the truck. We also clearly state what our rates are in our confirmation email sent to the customer. The customer failed to follow the terms of our agreement by not providing the truck and then entered into a verbal agreement outside our contract. We are not liable for any side deals the customer made outside our contract.

Consumer Response:

I have never heard of a company that represents themselves as a moving company and only provides so called Veterans to move things without providing transportation. My ******** is only 22 and this is her first time to move. Since you will not back the person you sent to represent your company and we were under the impression he worked for you then we don't owe  you anything, as you did not provide any service. If you say that he does work for you, then regardless of the transportation provided, he still damaged property while moving her things and acted illegally by asking her roommate for "weed" and stealing his property. It is companies like you who give "Veterans" a bad name.  I can't imagine having someone work for you and failing to act ethically.

 Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them to move furniture on my new floored living room and kitchen. I arranged the move 10 days ahead of time. They did not show at the appointed time. After 3 calls they showed up 1.5 hours late. During the move they did $200 of damage to my new floor. They claim 100% satisfaction guarantee and that they are insured. I am not satisfied. They have not returned any of the three emails I have sent.

Desired Settlement: If they either paid for the damage or refunded their charges

Business Response: The Mover sincerely apologize. We will refund you.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: 10269872

I am rejecting this response because:I have received no communication or refund as of this date. If and when I receive a refund I will accept this response, but since I have had no word or monies I see this as a continuation of this companies false promises and failed business practices.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: We apologize for the delay. Your refund has been processed.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I received only a partial refund of $99.  The cost of the move was $249.  The damage to the floor was $200.  I have the invoices for both to show if you need them.  I will accept either a full refund or full payment for the damages.  Though by their 100% satisfaction guarantee and insurance, I should receive  both.

Regards,

****** *****

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about September 19, I contacted Veterans Moving Help through their website to contract with them a move scheduled for October 4, 2014. I spoke with a gentleman on the phone after filling out the form on their website. I explained that we were moving from the downstairs apartment to the upstairs apartment and we didn't need a truck, just people to move things. He said said the price for the move was $249. A down payment of $99 was required. I then received an invioce in my e-mail for $99. I paid the invoice with my credit card. On moving day no one from Veterans Moving Help showed up. We spent four hours phoning with them before they finally said they couldn't make it until the next day. We couldn't wait until the next day and we were told a refund will be issued on Monday. Since that day, I have spoken with staff 3 times about the refund. I've been told my file has been forwarded to the ******* (****). **** has not called me and I have been told twice that he is not there when I ask to speak with him.

Desired Settlement: Mail a refund of $99.00 to: ******** *** **** ***** ******* ** *** *** ****** ******** *****

Business Response: Refund has been processed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** *** ****

 

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertises on their website that they hire only veterans. Both individuals they sent to help with our move were not veterans. *********************************. As I am a veteran, this was the main reason we went with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded. Total paid to Veterans Moving Help $99.

Business Response: We are a Veteran owned and operated Moving Labor company. I am the ***** of the company and  a US Army Veteran who served in Korea and ********** **** ******* center as a personnel management specialist. (***). We make every effort to hire Veterans, however in some cases it is not possible, simply because Veterans are not available. We actively support Veterans throughout the country with employment and locally in *********** ******* through working with ********** ** ******* to help Veterans in transitional housing and those suffering through homelessness. Our good works are well documented. Just as the ******** and ******** often use civilian contractors, we too find it necessary to hire civilians. Please refer Veterans to us!

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I hired this company to load our possessions into an *** trailer. When the trailer was unloaded at our new home, our 18 month old dining table was broken. The broken table was caused by the leaf being left in and heavy boxes being stacked on top. When we contacted the owner of Veterans Moving, we were given a run around about who was actually at fault. We ended up being told that it was our word against the local guy who was hired to do the job. Our complaint was handled horribly from start to finish. ****, the owner of this company, took no responsibility for anything.

Desired Settlement: We want our table to be repaired.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the damage and the customers dissatisfaction with our handling of the situation. However the customer brings this claim 6 months after our Movers assisted them, the Movers immediately expressed suspicion at the delay in the Customers bringing forth such a claim.  We presented the claim to the Movers, the Movers immediately requested the Customer contact them as they assumed all responsibility for having loaded this container, and denied any wrongdoing. Contrary to this, the customer reported that the Mover denied having done the job at all. We made contact with the Mover, the M

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Our belongings were loaded into an *** trailer on December 28, 2013. At that time the trailer was stored at the ***** ***** *** facility as we did not know where we were moving yet. We bought a house in ****** **** ***** and our trailer was delivered and unloaded on April 28, 2014. That was the reason for the delay, which happened to be 4 months, not 6, as the business owner states. The local person who was hired originally denied loading our trailer. The owner seemed confused as to who actually performed the move; he initially told us that someone completely different did the job. Obviously, his record keeping is not as accurate as it should be. 

I'm ready to be done with this. The owner has made it very clear that he had no intention of making things right. I'm following through with this complaint because I would like others to be warned of the shady business practices of Veterans Moving and our terrible experience using this company. 

Regards,

****** ***********

Business Response: The Movers maintain they did not load the truck in a way that would cause damage.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

That's okay.  I knew it would go down like this.  I have pictures and proof of all of my accusations.  I'm not here to argue; that got me nowhere with this person.  Just want to file a complaint with the BBB.  

Regards,

****** ***********

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this company to help us move. It is licensed and insured( supposedly). The movers sent packed our jewelry box and when it was unpacked there were several diamond items missing. when owner **** ****** was contacted he said it was not his problem it was his loaders and he refuses to contact us about this matter. He boasts a 100% satisfaction guarantee and insurance on items. He has yet to comply with his guarantee.

Desired Settlement: Refund fee for moving and assist in insurance claim to recover sum 3000 dollars in stolen merchandise.

Business Response:

We at Veterans Moving Help are very sorry for your loss. We are also sorry you would say we have not cooperated with you when we have either spoken to you or initiated phone contact on your behalf 10 separate occasions since your call last evening.
 
 At the time of your call last night you stated $100,000 in missing diamonds were handled and loaded onto the truck without  any supervision. To the contrary, the Movers maintain that their every move was closely scrutinized and supervised.
 
These Movers have worked for us on many occasions and always received positive feedback.The Movers steadfastly deny stealing your possessions.  
 

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: the his value is totally incorrect it was never a hundred thousand it was a couple thousand dollars. He sent people to our house he has no idea who they are. he claims that he isn't sure but he refused to give us his insurance information.

Regards,

***** **********

Business Response: There are several major inconsistencies in this customer's complaint that we feel must be brought to light.

1. On 3-24-14 at 8:25 pm Customer called Veterans Moving Help stating that he was missing "$100,000" in diamonds. He further stated that our Movers were responsible. On 3-26-14 he reduces the value of the missing diamonds to "$3000" and on 3-27-14 the amount drops again to a "couple thousand".

2. We loaded truck for customer on 3-16-14, customer unloaded truck same day 3 hours away but waited 8 days (3-24-14) to call about missing diamonds.

3. When asked about whom else had access to truck while unloading in ************? Customer asserted that "I unloaded it". This was 2 large moving trucks containing a 4 bedroom house. Customer was unable to load anything on truck due to health/back issues, hence, he hired us.

4. Customer says we refused to contact him when in fact we had contacted him numerous times by phone and by email. 

PERHAPS EVEN MORE REVEALING: This customer does not just want his "missing diamonds insurance claim" but also wants to be refunded for the Moving FEES. That alone gives us a glimpse into the mindset of this customer.  He wants something for nothing.

We at Veterans Moving Help have hundreds of references on file and are fully licensed and insured.

 It is somewhat disheartening that some people think so little of Veterans, but after experiencing  so much of this type apathy towards Veterans I endeavored to start Veterans Moving Help. Please hire our Veterans, they deserve it.

We will gladly prove all our responses on this matter to interested parties. Please visit us at ********************** to request documentation.   

Consumer Response:

 

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because the fact that the business information is  completely incorrect. I first contacted Veterans moving help in order to assist my family in loading 1 of 2 moving trucks from ********* ** to ************ **. we have a 3 bedroom home to be moved. The Movers (******* *** ****) arrived on 16 MAR 14 at approximately 0900 to assist in moving our household goods. At that time ******* *** **** were shown what needed to be loaded. and began to work. During this time I helped them load from time to time and other time making sure that we had everything ready to go. No one in the house stood over the loaders 100% of the time in fact leaving them to do there jobs alone for several minutes at a time. the jewelry box had the legs removed and shrink wrap wrapped around it long ways by the loaders. It was loaded into the truck by the loaders. After all materials were loaded we paid the loaders and drove to ************. Mind you the loaders only loaded 1 of 2 trucks. My wife and I loaded the other our self. We arrived in ************ and unloaded the trucks (which we have done several times before on previous moves). We hired loaders due to the fact that for us it seems to take longer to load then unload. as the week progressed trying to work and organize our new home I never had time to install the legs on the jewelry box. Finally having a day of from work on 24 MAR 14 I installed the legs and removed the shrink wrap. My wife opened the top and found a piece of strange cardboard in side the top section. She then notice that her diamond earrings, high school and college class rings (diamonds in them) engagement ring, wedding ring, and another diamond ring was missing. I asked her are you sure she said yes, That she had always put them in the same small boxes and put them in the top. I asked here when she saw them last. She told me the earrings she wore to days before as well as other pieces as well. she knew they were there before we moved and now they are gone. I called **** ****** at Veterans moving help and explained that a couple thousand dollars of jewelry was missing. He told me that he would call *******. ******* called me a few minutes later and I explained what we were looking at that the items were missing. He told me **** packed the box. I said what is ***** last name he said he didn't know. He had only been working with him a few times. He said he would contact him and let me know tomorrow. I called **** expressing the concern that I had about how we got folks know one knows in my house moving things, and what can be done about this matter. he said he would ask about it. I told him that all we want is our merchandise back that is all. I also asked him about his insurance that he claims he has on his web site so we could contact them ( feeling our merchandise was gone) he told me that it was all on ******* that he would have to deal with it. We contacted the ***** ****** Sheriffs Dept and the told us to call ************ ******. The next day I contacted ******* due to the fact he didn't call me like he said he would. He told me that ***** family said that he left town for a few days and that seemed odd to him due to **** being from a very poor family. I called **** again explaining that we would have to file some sort of claim for this missing merchandise he themn told me how great these guys are and they adimently said they never took anything and that they are such great guys. I said if they are so good and such great guys what is eriks last name so we can put it in our reports. He said he didn't know. I said how can you know these guys so well if you don't even know there names. He then again said that it was all on ******* to contact him. I tried and his phone was tuned off and not accepting calls and I have not heard from him yet. We filled a police report on this as well as a insurance claim ( NOT FOR $100000 but for again a couple 1000).  Greg never attempted to give us any type of info on how to rectify this situation but that he was not liable. He tried to keep telling us we said 100000. If that was the case why would I hire a few guys to move me for 350 bucks?  Yes I did explain to him that we want our money back for the loading. On his website he claims to have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We are not satisfied in any way how he handled this situation nor are we happy about or items being taken.

As far as his claims on our character we are not looking for things for free 350 bucks isn't worth the hassle it is the principle that we feel we really got poor service in this case.  I am an aircraft inspector and that job demands integrity and my wife is an elementary school teacher. I am in now way shape or form disabled I helped these guys load the truck besides we loaded the first one alone. I contacted the BBB because this company seems very fraudulent and I do not want any one else to have what happened to us happen to them. that is why they were reported.

As far as veterans I don't know if the guys were or not but I can say this. My Father , Grand Fathers and uncle where in the Navy I was in the Army and was a Army Contractor.

We have said several times all we want is the items back no questions asked and we would not press any charges. We were treated like we were the criminals so that's why we filed and have done everything we have done.

This is not how a business should be run.

Regards,

***** **********

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service