BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Suddath Relocation Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Suddath Relocation Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Suddath Relocation Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 28, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1919 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/1919 Business incorporated: 08/17/1984 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Roberts, Corporate Marketing & Business Development
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Relocation Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Transportation Consultants Transportation Services Warehousing Services Movers - International Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Logistics

Alternate Business Names
Suddath Van Lines, Inc. Suddath Workplace Solutions
Industry Tips
MOVING AND STORAGE

Additional Locations

  • 815 South Main St

    Jacksonville, FL 32207 (800) 395-7100 (904) 390-7100 (888) 799-5033 (904) 352-2577 (904) 396-4646

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 395-7100(Phone)
  • (888) 799-5033(Phone)
  • (904) 352-2577(Phone)
  • (904) 396-4646(Phone)
  • (904) 701-1665 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Suddath Government Services moved my household belongings from Maryland to Kentucky under *** * ************ The agreed upon completion date was June 19, 2013, however, my belongings were not delivered until July 5, 2013. As a result, I filed an inconvenience claim through Suddath for reimbursement of expenses incurred when they failed to deliver my belongings. I provided receipts, itemized description of the purchases and specified which boxes contained the items I was forced to replace. Suddath paid me $148.86. I submitted a rebuttal and they paid an additional $180.29 for a total of $329.15. Despite the fact the purchases I made were reasonable and necessary; Suddath wants to pay as little as possible and is wrongfully withholding $415.03 from me.

Desired Settlement: Full payment of $744.18. I'll return the two checks totaling $329.15.

Business Response:

March 19, 2014

****** ***

*** ** ********* ******* **** ***** ***** ***** *** ************ ** ***** *** ********* *** *******

Dear *** ****

In response to the consumer complaint filed by Jerie ********, Suddath Van Lines Inc. (“Suddath”) tenders the following.

Military Rules and Regulations allow members to file an “inconvenience claim” for out of pocket expenses due to delay in delivery of their shipment. The regulations from Defense Transportation Regulations (DTR) were followed in the adjudication of Mr. ********’s inconvenience claim. However, some of the items Mr. ******** claimed did not meet the requirements for an “inconvenience claim” under Defense Transportation Regulations. 

Both Suddath and Mr. ******** are bound by the Military Rules and Regulations. Thus, if Mr. ******** wants to pursue the matter further, he must do so through avenues available to him with the Military Claims Office.

Very Truly Yours,

****** ****

Legal Assistant

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in the military and my last move was with Suddath from ************. The 2 days the packers were here were great. They were friendly and packed everything well. The day the Suddath movers came to load he truck was terrible. It took them all day, way longer than needed and they didnt finish until 6pm. The people were unprofessional, the driver hardly got out of his truck, they took lots of breaks, reeked like cigarette smoke and didnt show any care towards our items. They miscalculated the space needed, even though we told them there was not going to be enough room in the afternoon. Later in the afternoon they had to call in a second truck for overflow and more people to help load. Numerous items were pulled out of the house and put on our driveway without numbers and they were putting numbers on the items there. Later when our household goods arrived we were appalled to see that over 20 of these items in fact didnt have numbers, were not on the inventory and instead had blue tape that said no #. We have proof of this as well. We may have items missing that didnt have numbers and we cant recall. The next set of problems started when we got our items. They broke a dresser, bookcases, a safe, toy car, 2 bikes, an ellipitical, 2 nightstands, amoire, and an antique mirror and headboard (you can see the evenly spaced lines on the headboard that correspond to the truck walls) along with broken items inside boxed. My daughters toy car was shoved in to the truck and caused it to crush, with damage to the windshield and door. Both childrens mattresses were never put in a box and instead sat exposed to the environment, bugs and another persons household goods. Our mattress that had been boxed in ** arrived half boxed with a new stain on it. We had numerous missing boxes as well as missing and broken items. The people we have tried to work with in the claims department only communicate through email and take weeks to respond to an email they hardly even read. Our first estimated damage claim was over $8,000 and they offered us $3,000. Many months later and we are still fighting this with them. They are claiming no responsibility for the 3 boxes they lost of ours, do not care that the repairman got the damage repair estimate wrong for the antique bed frame they shoved in to the moving van and broke, and are offering $1,000 for the $3,000 mattress they somehow unboxed during the drive, along with other items they say we have to deal with. They claim that every single item in a box has to be listed on the outside of the box for them to be responsible for the items. If that is true their packers need to be informed and do a better job of this. We also received about 15 items that were not ours and were someone elses household goods. The **** ********* for the storage company that stored our items for 3 months personally called to apologize for how our items were treated. He said that he had never seen a household goods shipment treated so poorly when it arrived at the storage unit. He said Suddath was charging him for the lost boxes (they were missing upon arrival to storage) and yet Suddath is not going to compensate us for them. We have never gotten a call back from Suddath and have tried contacting them other ways to no avail. In my 10+ years of military service I have never had our household goods treated so poorly.

Desired Settlement: All we want is to be treated fairly and receive the proper monetary compensation that we deserve which is not half the amount of our claim.

Business Response:

December 26, 2013

****** ***

BBB of Northeast Florida

**** ***** ***** ***** ***

************ ** *****

Re:       ID *******

Dear Mr. ***,

In response to the consumer complaint filed by Mr. ****** (“Member”), Suddath Van Lines Inc. (“Suddath”) tenders the following.

Suddath has been diligent in its attempt to process the Member’s claim in a timely manner and it apologizes for any inconvenience.   Outlined below is Suddath’s response to the Member’s claims.

1: Dresser: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

2: Bookcase: Suddath updated offer to full amount Member initially claimed.

3: Safe: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

4: Toy Car - customer accepted an offer of $277.49 per their email dated 10/27/13.

5: 2 Bikes: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

6: Elliptical: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

7: Nightstands: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

8: Armoire: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

9: Antique Mirror: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

10: Headboard: Scheduled for repair.

11: Other Boxes: Suddath cannot verify that this item was tendered for shipment.  The Member has the option of transferring this item to the Military Claims office.

12:  Mattress: Suddath offered a comparable mattress based upon a replacement located at a mattress warehouse site that offers mattresses for a lesser cost due to the volume that they handle.

13: Crib Mattress: Suddath updated offer to $99.00.

Suddath has been in compliance with all rules and regulations that Suddath must follow when settling a claim. Suddath regrets that Member was not satisfied but if the Member disagrees with Suddath’s findings, he always has the option of transferring claim to the MCS (Military Claims Office) for their review and adjudication.

Very Truly Yours,

****** ****

***** *********

Business Response:

December 26, 2013

****** ***

BBB of Northeast Florida

**** ***** ***** ***** ***

************ ** *****

Re:       ID *******

Dear Mr. ***,

In response to the consumer complaint filed by Mr. ****** (“Member”), Suddath Van Lines Inc. (“Suddath”) tenders the following.

Suddath has been diligent in its attempt to process the Member’s claim in a timely manner and it apologizes for any inconvenience.   Outlined below is Suddath’s response to the Member’s claims.

1: Dresser: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

2: Bookcase: Suddath updated offer to full amount Member initially claimed.

3: Safe: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

4: Toy Car - customer accepted an offer of $277.49 per their email dated 10/27/13.

5: 2 Bikes: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

6: Elliptical: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

7: Nightstands: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

8: Armoire: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

9: Antique Mirror: Member accepted settlement and Suddath has paid.

10: Headboard: Scheduled for repair.

11: Other Boxes: Suddath cannot verify that this item was tendered for shipment.  The Member has the option of transferring this item to the Military Claims office.

12:  Mattress: Suddath offered a comparable mattress based upon a replacement located at a mattress warehouse site that offers mattresses for a lesser cost due to the volume that they handle.

13: Crib Mattress: Suddath updated offer to $99.00.

Suddath has been in compliance with all rules and regulations that Suddath must follow when settling a claim. Suddath regrets that Member was not satisfied but if the Member disagrees with Suddath’s findings, he always has the option of transferring claim to the MCS (Military Claims Office) for their review and adjudication.

Very Truly Yours,

****** ****

***** *********

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They have not been diligent and have never once said they are sorry for poor service they provided. Numerous times they have not responded within a months time and we have had to contact numerous supervisors to get anywhere. The storage company said they have never seen household goods treated to terribly. Suddath is still refusing to pay for the boxes that they were responsible for and lost. They are a moving company and should be held responsible for boxes that THEY lost. Instead they are pushing it off on the government to pay for their poor service and complete disregard for household belongings. They are charging the storage company for the boxes the moving company lost and yet are not going to reimburse us. Sounds like a scam to me. They are telling us to transfer the claim over to the government so that we might be able to get a fraction of the money back that we are owed. I think a moving company is responsible for boxes that they lost. We have proof of the items, proof of the missing boxes and a brief description on the paperwork of what was in those boxes. How are they not responsible for paying us for the lost items. I do not feel that it is legal for them to brush off responsibility for boxes they lost. They could have lost all our boxes and we would not have been reimbursed for any of our items?

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They have not been diligent and have never once said they are sorry for poor service they provided. Numerous times they have not responded within a months time and we have had to contact numerous supervisors to get anywhere. The storage company said they have never seen household goods treated to terribly. Suddath is still refusing to pay for the boxes that they were responsible for and lost. They are a moving company and should be held responsible for boxes that THEY lost. Instead they are pushing it off on the government to pay for their poor service and complete disregard for household belongings. They are charging the storage company for the boxes the moving company lost and yet are not going to reimburse us. Sounds like a scam to me. They are telling us to transfer the claim over to the government so that we might be able to get a fraction of the money back that we are owed. I think a moving company is responsible for boxes that they lost. We have proof of the items, proof of the missing boxes and a brief description on the paperwork of what was in those boxes. How are they not responsible for paying us for the lost items. I do not feel that it is legal for them to brush off responsibility for boxes they lost. They could have lost all our boxes and we would not have been reimbursed for any of our items?

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Suddath International is attempting to collect full charges for a relocation estimate for which they did not adequately render services in breach of the terms of the service agreement, and have willingly ignored demands for an itemized justification of final charges.

Desired Settlement: I have provided Suddath with information that is necessary for the calculation of final charges, which they have discounted as being "incorrect," based solely hearsay, and without any proof.I would like a corrected bill utilizing the information that I have provided for them, namely evidence showing the final weight and volume for the household items I had shipped, based on a signed receipt from one of their business partners. This is the ONLY justifiable evidence to calculate final costs.

Business Response:

December 6, 2013

VIA Email

****** ***

BBB Northeast Florida & Southeast Atlantic

**** ***** ********** ***** ***

************* ** *****

Re:       Complaint ID *******

Mr. ***,

I am in receipt of your letter dated November 25, 2103 regarding the above referenced case. Unfortunately, I have just received your letter and will need additional time to compile the information needed to respond to the complaint. Thus, I will forward the information to you on or before December 13, 2013.

If I do not hear from you to the contrary, I will assume that the extension is acceptable. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Very truly yours,

****** ****      

***** *********

*****************

Business Response:

December 12, 2013

****** ***

BBB of Northeast Florida & Southeast Atlantic

**** ***** ********** **** ***

************* ** *****

ID: *******

Dear Mr. ***,

In response to the consumer complaint submitted by ****** ******* (“Claimant”), ****** ********* ********, Inc. d/b/a Suddath International (“Suddath”) tenders the following.

The Claimant contacted Suddath to provide international moving services from Germany to Wales in October 2013. Suddath provided a written estimate (enclosed) based on 5,050lbs/not to exceed 777 cubic feet.  The estimate was based on a survey of Claimant’s household goods completed by ****** ****** (“******”), Suddath’s agent in Germany. Upon receipt of the estimate, Claimant hired Suddath to perform the move services. In turn, Suddath contracted with ****** to provide the move services from Germany to Whales.

 At time of delivery, ****** informed Suddath the final weight and cubic feet of the shipment were the same as originally surveyed (5,050 lbs/777 cubic ft.). In addition, ****** advised Suddath that the same number of items packed at Claimant’s residence in Germany was the same number of items delivered to  Claimant’s new residence in Wales (see enclosed survey/packing list). Thus, Suddath charged Claimant the price quoted in the written estimate.

On the final day of the move, *******s delivery crew provided Claimant a receipt on which the final weight listed was 1,300 kilos (3,300 lbs) and 22 cm (which is equivalent to 777 cubic feet). The Claimant is disputing the charges invoiced by Suddath, based on the receipt received from ****** at delivery. Suddath contacted ****** to question the discrepancy in weight and was advised that the driver used the wrong density to calculate the weight; however, the volume (22cm) was the same as originally surveyed and reported by ****** at delivery.

In Europe, rates are typically based on volume and not weight as they are in the United States Thus, in the US, it is standard for the moving company to convert rates from volume to weight.  The standard factors used for the conversion are as follows: (7) density factor and (35.1) conversion factor.  The Claimant’s rates are calculated below using the standard factors and show Suddath charged Claimant correctly for the move.

Calculation used to convert cubic meters to cubic feet:

  • 22 cubic meters x 35.31 (conversion factor) = 776.6 cubic feet
  • Suddath Estimate: 777 Cubic Feet or 22 Cubic Meters

Calculation to convert cubic feet to pounds:

·         776.6 cubic feet x 7 (density factor) = 5,436 lbs

·         Suddath Estimate: 5,050 lbs NET/not to Exceed 777 Cubic Feet

Suddath apologizes for any misunderstanding of the rates calculated. However, Suddath’s estimated rates for the Claimant’s shipment are the same as surveyed at time of shipment pickup and the same at the time of delivery of shipment to the Claimant’s new residence. As such, Suddath considers this matter closed.

Very truly yours,

********** ** *********** ****

********* *******

***********************

Enclosure

Consumer Response:

[

 Complaint: *******I

Summary:

To this response I have attached a written statement from Suddath stating that should the final weight and volume of my move be that under the quoted amount, my costs would decrease.

The service agreement states that final charges would be calculated on actual weight and cubic feet packed.  Neither Suddath nor active moving performed a weight or volume calculation, but instead arbitrarily refute the only actual measurement available in this scenario, which was the  one calculated by ****.  The service was not rendered= breach of contract, clear and simple.

Fancy higher reasoning of mathematics is not warranted here, as the 77 cubic meters clearly reflects just  the size the oversized truck that ****** ****** ordered to move the household goods.  It has nothing to do with the volume of my items packed, which I've already stated was NOT measured by Suddath or ****** Moving. 

The only individuals present at the time of the move to witness how full the truck was packed (volume) and to perform a weight calculation, were the **** movers and myself.  No one from Suddath or ****** ****** was involved between packing and arrival of my goods at destination.   

Further, There is no existing privity of contract between myself and ****** Moving.  The binding agreement in this transaction is the one between Suddath and myself, and therefore, that ****** ****** uses a “density” methodology to determine final costs to bill Suddath is irrelevant to me.  Additionally, I highly doubt that my household goods move was the first of its kind that Suddath facilitated out of Germany, and that ****** Moving's cost analysis methodology was surprisingly sprung on them.  But, even assuming that it was, ****** Moving's, Germany's, or Europe's business practices have no bearing on the contractual obligations in this matter, namely that SUDDATH provide a final cost based on the actual weight and actual volume packed, as is mentioned in the service agreement.  In a contract, it is not customary or legal to arbitrarily substitute stipulations based on what serves the interests of one of the parties better, as Suddath is so conveniently doing here.

 

Nowhere in the estimate is there any mention of utilizing “density” to determine final costs.  (By the way, “density” as defined, is the measure of mass (or weight) over volume, not just volume.  I’m not sure how one could otherwise arrive at a density calculation without using these two variables.)   

Further, I would like to direct your attention to the invoice from ****** ****** (number **********) from my first move with Suddath in July 2011, which details:

 

            “Bruttogewicht: 1397 kg” = “Gross Weight: 1397 kg”

            “Bruttovolumen: 11,000 cbm” = “Gross Volume: 11,000 cbm”

 

It seems to me, that even in European countries (Germany), weight and volume are the same two variables utilized for determining costs, or at least that weight is an inclusive factor.  I cannot imagine that the cost of shipping a 22 cubic meter truck packed with lead would cost the same as one packed with feathers.  If one mails a letter in any country, the first calculation done at the post office pertains to weight to determine costs.  If the post office does this, why would a SHIPPING COMPANY not do the same? 

 

Even doubling this above ratio that ****** ****** says it utilizes to 22,000 cubic meters and 2800 kg does not correspond to the final figures they have invented, namely

5,500 lbs/22 cubic meters. 

 

Since we are both using the estimate provided by Suddath to justify charges, I would like to point your attention to page three, which says:

 

            “Final charges will be based on the actual weight and cubic feet packed.” 

 

By ****** Moving's own admission, there was no weight calculated per the terms of service agreement, beyond that which I witnessed the **** movers perform at the time of loading and for which they provided an invoice, something that Suddath has not been able to do and is now illogically claiming is “incorrect.”  They expect me to not only pay, but OVER-pay the total estimate, based solely on this “highly scientific,” arbitrary, and by their own admission incorrect, method of eye-balling it?  (And again, the estimate provided for 5,050 lbs, not to exceed 777 cubic feet.  NOT, 5,500 lbs).

 

I am not satisfied that they are demanding full payment for a service that was not rendered, and therefore in breach of the terms of the moving estimate. They agree to a miscalculation insofar as it being in their favor, which I have proved is also wrong.  Is it customary for Suddath to pass along the cost of its mistakes to its customers?  Having been a business manager, I know that prudent business practices dictate erring in favor of the consumer.

 

I would appreciate a credit from Suddath to reflect charges for a 1500 kg (3300 lb)/ 22 cubic meter (777 cuft) move, as I don’t believe I should or am liable to pay the entire cost of the service estimate, which they have not been able to justify beyond hearsay and creative accounting.

 

 


Regards,

****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was contracted to handle a portion of my PCS move from **** ****** *****, FL to **** *******, **. The packing went fine but when the items were delivered several things were damaged that happened in transit because I watched everything as it was loaded and unloaded. I went through the claim process and had some claim adjuster come out and review the items which he said would be easy repairs. The problem here is they do no repairs to speak of they only give low ball offers for what they deem a repair to cost. They lost 4 metal mounts necessary to fix a glass tabletop to the base which has no information on it to contact a manufacturer. They stated themselves that they could not find a replacement for them so the table is completely useless and to compensate they offer $30 for a table that would cost at the very least $150 to replace, stellar service to say the least. I also had a coffee table that used the same mounts which had the wood all around the mount base busted and splintered as if someone slammed it into a wall. They originally emailed me an offer listing which stated $180 but the offer listing in the system was only $100 and when questioned I had no response, what a garbage way of doing business. Finally I had a china hutch that had a massive gouge of splintered wood taken out of it. It could never be repaired to look like it did before. It was well over $1000 when I bought it but that was all I claimed. The right thing to do is to replace the item damaged that they are responsible for but no they simply throw out an offer of $250. Needless to say I will never recommend this company and I will refuse to let them ship my items in the future and tell everyone else to steer clear if this company is contracted for their moves.

Desired Settlement: Most of the items the company cannot repair. I did not damage the items so I will not accept sub par offers they give based on low ball inspection companies. I feel my claim requests are fair and I should receive the compensation requested.

Business Response:

November 14, 2013

 

****** ****** ** ********* *********** ***** ***** ***** *************** ** *****

 

Re:         ***** *********** Complaint 
******* 

Dear Mr. ***,

 

In response to the consumer complaint filed by Mr. *********** (“Member”), Suddath Van Lines Inc. (“Suddath”) tenders the following.

Suddath provided moving services for the Member in August 2013. During the course of the move, some of Member’s goods were reported to have been damaged. The Member submitted a claim for several items on August 23, 2013.

An inspection of the damaged property was completed and the report was submitted to Suddath on September 9, 2013. Based on the inspection report, Suddath submitted a settlement offer on October 7, 2013 to the member, as set forth below.

Under the Full Replacement Value Guidelines (FVR), Suddath’s maximum liability for an item is either the cost of the repairs or replacement cost, whichever is less. Our offer below is in accordance with those rules and regulations and in conjunction with the repair estimate.

·         Coffee Table:  Inspection revealed transit related damage. Estimated cost of repair $180.00

·         China Hutch: Inspection revealed fresh transit related damage as well as preexisting damage. Estimated cost to repair the new damage is $250.00. Suddath has no liability for pre existing damage.

·         End Table: Inspection revealed fresh transit related damage as well as preexisting damage. Original recommendation was cash settlement for the purchase of four steel glass mounts (similar to the missing ones) estimated at $30.00. However, identical steel mounts could not be found. Thus, cash settlement of $150.00, originally claimed by the Member was offered as settlement.

 

The Member accepted Suddath’s offer and payment was processed. Further, Suddath is in compliance with all rules and regulations that Suddath must follow when settling a claim.

 

Very Truly Yours,

 

 

 

****** ****
**** *********

 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The china hutch item mentions previous damage which would be small scratches that were located nowhere near the claimed damage.  There is no point to include that they are not responsible for previous damage other than to imply part of the claimed damage was done prior.  I do not believe the item can be repaired to the condition before it was damaged in the move.  If the company believes so then by all means have someone repair it.  In my mind they are simply trying to settle cheaply.  If they are not willing to repair the item then they need to give me the full amount of my claim so I can replace it myself. ?

 

 

Regards,

***** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently active duty military who just moved from San Diego, California to Ottawa, Ontario Canada. The government contracted out Suddath to transport my household goods. Around mid August I was told my shipment of everything I own would arrive late August. August 15th I was contacted by ****** ******* at Suddath and given a number to call for a company Suddath had contracted to delivery my items in Canada. I called the number and spoke with a man named *** who said he didn't know where my shipment was at the moment. *** took my contact info and told me someone would be contacting me with the information. I waited a week and didn't receive any calls or emails. Again I called time and asked him when my shipment would be arriving and if I could schedule a delivery date. *** Said he didn't know where my shipment was and made sure he had my contact info and said someone would get back to me.I then waited another week without being contacted. Now it was late August the time when I was told my shipment would arrive. I tried calling *** this time and talked to a secretary who told me *** was busy and he took my contact info and said he would call me back.Immediately I called ****** ******* and left a voice mail telling her how time was blowing me off. She called me a day later and said the truck my shipment was on had broken down in Oregon and said he didn't want to tell me. At this point I was told they couldn't give me a date for the arrival of my shipment.I was then told that the shipment should have arrived here on the 2nd September and emailed a inconvenience form that to claim costs for a hotel, food, and paper plates ect. This does me no good seeing as I already have a house I pay for as well as went out and bought items on my own that they will not cover.I was then told I would have delivery around the 16th -18th September. The 19th September comes and I still don't have my delivery or a date. I called Suddath and ask whats going on. They keep making excuses for why its not delivered.

Desired Settlement: I was originally told by Suddath I would have had delivery around late August, which changed to September 2nd and then the 16th to the 18th September then again to "maybe" the 23rd. They have had everything my wife and I own held hostage and have lied about it to us. I am seeking a payment of around $3,000.00 from Suddath for rental of our items which have not been delivered, and also compensation for other costs not covered in their inconvenience claim form.

Business Response:

October 4, 2013

****** ***

3

*** ** ********* ******* **** ***** ***** ***** *** ************ ** ***** *** ********* *** ******

Dear *** ***,

In response to the consumer complaint filed by *** ******* ****t, Suddath Van Lines Inc. (“Suddath”) tenders the following.

On August 1, 2013, Suddath received a request from the Government and orders to move *** ******* household goods from California to Canada with a requested delivery date of September 2, 2013. *** ******* goods were scheduled to be released to Suddath on August 12, 2013 out of a Non-Temporary Storage Warehouse.  Suddath packed and loaded *** ******* goods on August 12, 2013.  During the transport of the shipment, the original truck broke down which caused a delay and this information was immediately relayed to *** *****.  When the shipment was crossing the border into Canada, there was a customs hold put on the shipment along with other shipments on the trailer.  Suddath tried to get another truck to load *** *****’s shipment but, because of the customs hold, the border agents would not release his shipment until all shipments on the trailer were cleared.  Due to these circumstances, which were out of Suddath’s control, the shipment was delayed further and not delivered until September 23, 2013.

Military Rules and Regulations allow members to file an “inconvenience claim” for out of pocket expenses (lodging and food) due to delay in delivery of their shipment. However, because *** ***** was already living in his home, he did not meet the requirements for an “inconvenience claim” under Military Rules and Regulations.  To date, *** ***** has elected not to file a claim.  If *** ***** submitted an inconvenience claim, Suddath could only honor out of pocket expenses based on documentation (receipts) for purchases after the requested delivery date of September 2, 2013. 

Both Suddath and *** ***** are bound by the Military Rules and Regulations. Thus, if *** ***** wants to pursue the matter further, he must do so through avenues available to him with the Military Claims Office.

Very Truly Yours,

********** **********

Corporate Counsel

Consumer Response:

*******

In response to Suddath Van Lines Inc. response.

Suddath stated "During the transport of the shipment, the original truck broke down which caused a delay and this information was immediately relayed to *** *****." This is an outright lie, as I had stated in my complaint ****** ******* from Suddath had contacted me on August 15th asking that I call and set up a delivery date. I called the number ****** ******* provided and was directed to ***. *** told me he did not know where my shipment was, took my contact info and said he would get back to me. I was never contacted by *** or anyone else about my shipment. Days had passed so I called *** again. Once again I talked to *** and asked them if they had located my shipment. *** said he didn't know the location of my shipment, he made sure he had my contact info and once again said he would get back to me. More days had now passed and I still was not contacted by anyone from *** or anyone from the Company. I called again and spoke to a secretary for *** who took my contact info and said he would get back to me. Again, I was not contacted by *** or anyone else.

At this point, I called ****** *******, she stated "The truck had been broken down at the border, and *** probably didn't want to tell you". This phone call was made at the end of August days before my shipment was supposed to arrive on September 2nd. If my shipment was packed and sent out on August 12th and I didn't receive word about the delay until the end of August, it is clear that the truck was broken down at the border for some time.  This statement obviously tells us that their statement that I was told immediately about the delay in my shipment is a lie. I have talked about this with several of the Senior people at my military command, I even had a Chief (boss) who intervened and called Suddath on my behalf. 

Finally once I was told about the delay, is when they sent a form for an inconvenience claim.  Also after my Chief had called and talked to Suddath, is when they were willing to offer information as to when my shipment would arrive. This time I was told between the 16th and 18th of September. The 18th of September passed, and I was not contacted by anyone at the company. I called and left voice mails to ********* the vice president of operations who was on vacation. When I didn't receive an answer I called again the next day asking to speak to someone about this. I ended up talking to *******, who told me she did not know what was going on with my shipment but would get back to me. ******* called me back later in the day and said the truck broke down at the border which caused a delay. She also stated that the company was illegally transporting a weapon in their truck which caused another delay with customs. ******* also stated that they had to find another driver to finish the deliver because the once they had was not properly qualified to drive the truck. ******* kept making excuses for why the shipment would be late and then told me the 23rd was the new tentative delivery date.

I think that all of these factors were within control of the Company. Once their truck broke down they should have had it immediately fixed, and informed me of the situation.  If they had taken a proper inventory of the shipment they were delivering they wouldn't have been stopped by customs. If they had hired a driver with the appropriate qualifications, they would not have had a delay in finding another driver. All of these factors are controlled by the company, for them to say the situation was out of their control is outrageous.

The inconvenience claim is basically useless. They offered 190.00 dollars a day for 22 days for a hotel, however I had already signed a lease for a house. They offered to cover the cost of pots and pans if I could provide a receipt within the dates they were late in delivery. None of the things they offered in their claim or of any use.

 

The below information happened after the date of the original complaint.


I finally did receive my shipment 22 days late. To show a little more about the character of the Suddath company, many items in my shipment were damaged. I called my military Representative and asked him what I needed to do to file a damage claim. He told me I need to file with Suddath due to the shipment being a special solicitation rate. I called Suddath spoke to Yolanda and asked if I could file a claim with them. ******* rudely told me that I can't file a claim with them and said I need to file it with the Military. I called the military representative back and he said that because it was a special solicitation rate I need to file with Suddath. I called Suddath back and spoke to ******, who told me I can't file with them due to it being a military shipment. I once again called my military representative and asked him what to do, he said to have the person I spoke with call him. I then called Suddath back and spoke with ****** again, I gave him the military represeitives contact info, I informed ****** of what the situation was. I also gave ****** all of my info and asked him to call. I waited a day and called the military Representative back and he said no one ever called him. I hope all of this goes to show the character of Suddath van line. I now have damaged goods and the company is refusing to take a claim for it.

 

A business shouldn't be allowed to get away with these actions.

 

**** *****

 

 

 

The inconvenience claim is basically useless. They offered 190.00 dollars a day for 22 days for a hotel, however I had already signed a lease for a house. They offered to cover the cost of pots and pans if I could provide a receipt within the dates they were late in delivery. None of the things they offered in their claim or of any use.


 Complaint: 9731633

I am rejecting this response because:

 

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was contracted to deliver our household goods on 21 June to Colorado Springs. We have been told three different delivery dates July 6, then July 8, and then July 12. I called to confirm the 12 July date on July 11 and was told everything was on schedule, then after close of business 2 hours after the phone call I receive an email saying it will now be 25 July. I have lost confidence in this company and would really just like my things delivered. Since I am at the point of filing a complaint I just want to note that their employee stole an iPod touch from our home when we were being packed. I have notified the company of that incident and also filed a police report.

Desired Settlement: I would like my things delivered. I would like to be paid for my iPod touch. I would like a smooth claims process where I am given a direct contact with a direct phone number that is knowledgable about claims and can walk me step by step through the seemingly complicated process. That includes help filing inconveince claims and claims for damaged or missing goods when we finally do receive our shipment. It would also be nice to receive some money now instead having to wait so long.

Business Response:

July 23, 2013

****** ***

BBB of Northeast Florida

4417 Beach Blvd., Suite 202

Jacksonville, FL 32207

Re:         ********* ******

Complaint Filed July 12, 2013

ID: *******

Dear Mr. ***,

This letter shall serve as Suddath Van Lines, Inc. (“Suddath”) response to the consumer complaint referenced above by Mrs. ****** (“Member”).

We apologize for any inconvenience to the Member. However, summer is peak season in the moving and storage industry and sometimes shipments cannot de delivered on time.

Suddath has been diligent in its attempt to correct any errors and complete delivery of the Member’s goods. The main portion of the Member’s shipment was delivered to residence on July 13th, 2013 and the overflow is scheduled for delivery on July 25, 2013.

With regards to the Member’s missing iPod, Suddath takes allegations of theft very seriously and will complete a full investigation on the Member’s iPod. In the meantime, Suddath encourages the Member to file a claim for the missing item. In addition, the member can file an “inconvenience” claim to help remedy the delay in delivery of shipment. Once the claim is received, Suddath will process the claim promptly.

Very truly yours,

********** **********

********* *******

***********************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Only part of my items have been delivered and the second half has not, that delivery date is continually changing.  I think now it is scheduled to be 29 July to a warehouse but with an unknown date for actual delivery to my house.  The company responded 25 July, please investigate into my actual situation, as far as I know I won't be getting my things until August. That is very far out from the contracted delivery of 21 June.  I would like a copy of the split inventory.  So I have an idea if anything is missing I was not provided a split inventory at the first partial delivery, but was told that several items could not be located at the ******* warehouse.  I am concerned that several items are missing. Specifically items 87, 110, 113, 117, 287, 309, 188, 190, 197, and 246.  It would be nice to see if the split inventory that is coming (maybe in August?) contains those items as well as all my other items not yet delivered.  I do not have all my essentials.  My queen bed box spring, bedding, computer, computer hardware, computer/printer cords, my childrens clothes, their helmets, my cookbooks, toys, dressers, and three dish packs.  You might view those things as not essential but I do. 

 

SUDDATH:  1) Please send me the split inventory so I can see what the next shipment contains, 2) please send me the weight tickets for each part of my shipment (to clarify that should be three separate weight tickets) and 3) please send me a firm delivery date for the second part of my shipment.   

 

As suggested I will attempt to file a claim for the stolen iPod whenever I get my whole shipment, let me know what date that is going to be.  I will also file a claim for the damaged and missing items.  I have filed a invconveince claims, not sure how that is going...

 

I have moved many many times and have never had such a stressful experience, I just want my things delivered in total.  I also want the misinformation from Suddath to stop, please actually investigate what is going on with my household goods and help me get my household goods in total.  BBB, Please do not close this complaint until I have resolution.  

Regards,

********* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for my daughter's move and was charged 1057.20, bill of lading # ********.The final bill came to $617.20 and I cannot get them to refund my credit card. I have made 3 contact attempts and 1 resulted in a live person (Lynn) who stated a week ago that the refund would be rushed through.I would like an explanation as well as interest on my refund amount of $440.00

Desired Settlement: see above

Business Response:

July 12, 2013

****** *** *** ** ********* ******* **** ***** ****** ***** *** ************* ** *****

Re:        

**** **** ********* ***** **** *** **** *** *******

Dear Mr. ***,

This response is tendered on behalf of Suddath Relocation Systems of Jacksonville, INC. (“Suddath”) in response to Better Business Bureau complaint #9615827 filed on July 10, 2013.

**** **** arranged to have her daughter’s household goods moved by Suddath on June 27, 2013. Suddath provided an estimate for the cost of the move based on the items in the home as well as the services requested. In accordance with Suddath’s estimate, **** ****’s credit card was charged $1057.20.  However, **** **** is due a refund of $440.00 for the difference in the time it took to complete the move.

Suddath explained to **** **** that a refund could not be completed the day of the move as the move paperwork needed to be processed and properly billed. However, a refund would be issued within two weeks. **** ****’s credit card was refunded $440.00 on July 11, 2013.

Suddath sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Very truly yours,

********** ********** ********* ******* ***********************

 

Business Response:

**** *** **** ****** *** *** ** ********* ******* **** ***** ****** ***** *** ************* ** *****

Re:        

**** **** ********* ***** **** *** **** *** *******

Dear *** ***,

This response is tendered on behalf of Suddath Relocation Systems of Jacksonville, INC. (“Suddath”) in response to ****** ******** ****** ********* ******** filed on **** *** ****.

As stated in Suddath’s previous response, **** ****** credit card was refunded on July 11, 2013. A screen shot of the transaction showing the refund is enclosed. In addition, there are no phone records of a call between Suddath and **** **** on July 27, 2013 as there is no call to account for, however, as stated in Suddath’s previous response, **** *** **** is the day **** ****** daughters’ household goods were moved.

Very truly yours,

********** ********** ********* ******* ***********************

 

 <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"><o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"><v:shape o:spid="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" id="Picture_x0020_1" style="width: 468pt; height: 291.75pt; visibility: visible;"> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"><o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"><v:shape o:spid="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" id="Picture_x0020_1" style="width: 468pt; height: 291.75pt; visibility: visible;">

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  No attachment enclosed, and I do have records that show no call was made.  Again the credit came through on the 13th to my account.  I do not have time to pursue this through you but I will pursue it elsewhere.  Businesses should be aware that word-of-mouth is a powerful factor in decision making, especially when backed up by documentation, which you have not provided as far as I can see but which I have.

Regards,

 

**** ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Delivery Issues
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1