BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

This Business is not BBB accredited

Athletes Movers, Inc.

Phone: (855) 569-6683 4600 Touchton Rd E, Jacksonville, FL 32246 http://www.athletesmovers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Athletes Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Athletes Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 28, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2006 in FL Business started locally: 05/05/2012 Business incorporated: 08/30/2011 in FL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gabijus Godelis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gabijus Godelis, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service

Industry Tips
MOVING AND STORAGE

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4600 Touchton Rd E

    Jacksonville, FL 32246 (855) 569-6683

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ********* ** ************Athletes Movers features the following guarantee on their website: " "Our high service standard requirement for our employees guarantees that our movers come prepared with all the moving equipment that is necessary to complete your move in a safe and efficient manner." Note the words, "complete your move". Additionally, their contract states that THE CUSTOMER DESIGNATES THE COMPANY AND MOVERS AS THEIR AGENTS TO COMPLETE THE MOVE AT THE DIRECTION OF THE CUSTOMER." Again, note the words "complete the move".In contrast to their expressed guarantee, Athletes Movers did not complete our move of December 6, 2013 as the truck and workers departed after their truck was "full". The house still contained over 50% of our household goods that my wife and I were compelled to move ourselves at cost of a truck and with our own labor. They failed us completely, abandoned us while the new home owners were on their way and refused to respond to our correspondence after the move. The furniture that they did deliver was heavily damaged as the contract movers (not full time employees) did not bring furniture pads for the move. I obtained an estimate from *** *********, a restoration company in ************* ** for the sum of $3,627.50. Payment of this amount will settle this claim and prevent further action with the ******* ****** ******* ********** and other ***** regulatory and consumer protection agencies.The following statutes were violated during this move by Athletes Movers:****** Lack of estimate and contract for service (signed contract was not in place prior to move).****** Misrepresentation of services (they did not complete our move as advertised).******Deceptive and unfair trade practice (We were told that we would have to pay them twice in order to move us).******Registration (the rented truck used was not licensed as required by ******* law).

Desired Settlement: We request only the amount for the restoration of our furniture that was damaged by Athletes Movers in the sum of $3,627.50. This total may be paid directly to *** ********* ** ************ if desired. Given the illegality of Athletes Movers operation, this is letting off the hook with few repercussions.

Business Response:

Mr. ******, 

We are an honest working people and we treat our customers very fair. However we do not believe that you a right in this situation and we will not be able to process any additional refunds for the following reasons: 

Service issue: 

When your wife originally contacted us to schedule the move the description that was given to us over the phone was not nearly close to what the movers encountered during the move. I can have an affidavit from the sales person confirming that. 

Damages: 

We do a number of moves each month and if something ever happens it is a minimal scratch here or there. Your email to us indicates that we came to your home and basically damaged every single item.  I have a hard time buying that. The moving contract was also signed by your party indicating that the move was completed without damages. On the top of that you have indicated numerous times that you moved over 50% of the items yourself.  Just based on that fact alone we can not be responsible for damages. 

Hypothetically speaking even if we would have done some damages during your move our contract clearly indicates the extent of our responsibility which is $0.60/lb or the price of the move, whichever is less. The copy of the contract was even emailed to you days before your move so you would have plenty of time to look over it.  We have charged you $1,132.27 for the services we provided. You have cancelled this payment and your credit card company deducted it from us, therefore  we have already refunded you the price of the move. At this point a 100% of our liability is exhausted. 

Sincerely, 

**** ******* 

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: At no time does the owner, **** *******, refute or reject the fact that his company, Athletes Movers, walked off the job at our home on December 6, 2013 and caused serious damage to the items that were moved.  His only defense is that "it was the customer's fault". Contrary to his allegation that we tried to deceive his company during a phone survey (with no apparent gain in mind), the real reason for his nonperformance was simply that his company operates on a shoestring budget and hires non-licensed contractors out on jobs.  Indeed, when I questioned one of the movers about the damage to our furniture, he professed to know nothing about Athletes Movers and neither he nor the driver had a contact number to call other than a voice mailbox.  They said that they were just called by "****" to go out and do jobs.

My wife and I were deceived and duped, primarily by an "A+" rating given to this company by the BBB.  We hope to now rectify this situation and to expose Athletes Movers deficiencies and their unwillingness to help their customers.  ******* has remained contentious, defensive and unresponsive during this process.

In response to the ******* letter:

1.  I will provide an affidavit signed by my wife indicating that she fully informed Athletes Movers to the extent of the items that were to be moved.  She specifically mention pavers and a dissembled fountain as we were concerned about these being included in the move.

2.  On the day of the move, Athletes Movers employees were walked through each and every room of the house and both employees confirmed that they would be able to move all of our household goods.  If they had any doubts, this would have been the time for them to indicate that the job could not have been completed and to reschedule for a later date with a larger truck.  The movers did not do so and commented that there would be "no problem" with the move.  Two hours after this, I again questioned the movers about the size of the truck and I was assured a second time that they would move all of our furniture.  I realized only later that as contractors working on an hourly basis, they had no real interest as to whether the job could be completed.  They simply wanted to get paid.

3.  The word "contract" was never mentioned on the day of the move or before.  We were sent what was described as a "confirmation link" by ***** ******* on November 25, 2013 at *********************************************************.  In reality, this was a contract proposal that by law should have been signed by both parties before work commenced (see ******* statute ******).  In addition, the same document contains the unmistakable guarantee that. "THE CUSTOMER DESIGNATES THE COMPANY AND MOVERS AS THEIR AGENTS TO COMPLETE THE MOVE AT THE DIRECTION OF THE CUSTOMER."  Athletes Movers admittedly failed to provide services as specified by the contract and did not follow ******* law in accordance with signing the contract and providing direction regarding claims and damage to our furniture.  The contract is thus null and void and any protections that ******* has sought regarding a limitation of claims to 60 cents per pound is specious.  Ironically, despite the wording on the contract and a claim on the company website that "our movers come prepared with all the moving equipment that is necessary to complete your move in a safe and efficient manner", ******* later claimed in an e-mail on December 10, 2013 that we never guaranteed that your entire household would fit in one trip." This clear contradiction is what prompted me to contact the BBB.

4.  As Athletes Movers conducted no inventory on the date of the move nor weighed our furniture, there is no possible way that ******* would be able to make good on his claim to pay "60 cents per pound" even if valid.  I noted the damage to our furniture on the day of the move and was told that Athletes Movers "must have some kind of insurance" to cover damages. At the end of the day of our move, after my wife and I had been shocked, distressed and traumatized by a situation where half of our furniture remained at our old home with new owners moving in, the movers told my wife that she "had to sign this" and thrust a document in front of her.  She was visibly upset and tearful and just signed where the movers pointed, hoping to get them out of the house and our lives.  In reality, the driver had slipped in the contract for signature after the work had commenced in direct violation of ******* statute ******.  At no point did Athletes Movers explain the document or advise us of consumer protections regarding a rejection of the "60 cents" limitation.  Indeed, I had already pointed out damage as items were coming into our new residence.  Subsequently, Athletes Movers rejected all claims for damage.  I later obtained an estimate from *** ********* that covers the extensive damage that was incurred.  If there is any doubt as to the veracity of our claim, please review the movie "******** ****** * ***** ** *** *****" available on *******.  It clearly shows that none of the items claimed to be damaged were moved by my wife and I.

5.  We have indeed been refunded the amount of $1,132.27 by the ********** ********** of ***** **** that oversees **** transactions.  This was done after a full investigation was conducted regarding the business practices of Athletes Movers.  Even though we prevailed in this complaint, the amount recovered was adequate only to reimburse us for the cost of our second move to retrieve all of the furniture left behind by Athletes Movers.  I provided the company with a breakdown of our expenses although they did not respond.  At this time, we are asking only for the repair of our furniture that was severely damaged by what appears to be untrained contractors hired by Athletes Movers.  The total is $3,627.5.  At this point it would appear that ******* seems only concerned with making a profit and does not seem to understand that his company did far more harm that good.  I encourage him to revise his business practices to coincide with ******* law and to hire only licensed and fully trained contractors.  I've attached the letter that we submitted to ***** **** as well as a sampling of the damage to our furniture.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved my move out of ****** Storage for Saturday June 29, 2013.The co sent me a receipt pdf with all my information.I was to have arrival between 1-3 pm and a phone call 30 min before.Nonone ever called and nobody came.The dispatch said the crew was excellent and will get to me.Nobody did.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to call me with a complete explanation.

Business Response: Company's response below:

Response to *** **** :

 

 

We are very sorry to her the movers did not showed up. During that week we were implementing a new scheduling software and unfortunately our office staff made some mistakes while using it and did not dispatched the crew correctly. Again we are very sorry for all the inconvenience. Please note that we have never charged you for any services.   We would like to send you a check for $60.00 in order to assist you with this matter. Thanks. 

 


Sincerely,
**** *******
**********************


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.