BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic

BBB Accredited Business since

Apartment Movers

Phone: (904) 739-1441 View Additional Phone Numbers 9272 Jay Bird Cir. E., Jacksonville, FL 32257 http://www.apartmentmoversflorida.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apartment Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Apartment Movers include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Apartment Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Apartment Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1997 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1997
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Muge Coskun, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Door To Door Movers
Industry Tips
MOVING AND STORAGE

Additional Locations

  • 9272 Jay Bird Cir. E.

    Jacksonville, FL 32257

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (904) 241-6999(Phone)
  • (904) 737-5565(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a scheduled appointment today and the movers arrived late. I proceeded to give them a tour of our two bedroom apartment, showing them the furniture they had to move. My husband and I had already moved a lot of the smaller items. We only requested that they move the larder items like beds, couches, etc. They began to move the furniture and I went back inside my apartment to watch TV and tend to my daughter. About an hour into the move, we heard a crash and I ran outside to see what had happened. When I got to the front porch, I saw that the dolly had slipped from underneath my dresser and my dresser laying on the stairs. The movers were struggling to get it down the stairs the rest of the way. After a total of two hours, they had only moved both bedrooms and filled have the truck. When I made mention to the *** ********* (who refused to give me is name) , he told me that I wasn't going to tell him how to do is job, that he knew when he first met me that he didn't like me, and he was going to take breaks while completing this job, so he was going to take as long as he needed. I told him that I had used this company three other times in the past and it had never taken this long. He also notified me that they were not moving my floor model tv that I that I informed him we needed to move before I signed their contract. I told him that I would like to speak with their **********. He told me that he had already spoke with him,. I repeated myself and told him that I WOULD LIKE TO speak with is **********. He then called is ********** on his phone and handed it to me. I explained to the ********** that we have never had them take two hours to move half our furniture and how his mover was being rude. I also informed the ********** that his men were now standing around, wasting time and I would like to stop the clock as they were not working and we are being charged by the hour. He told me that they were not stopping the clock and refused to credit us for the time lost and informed us that they would need to make multiple trips and we were responsible for the extra time. At this time, my husband was coming up to the apartment. I put him on the phone with the ********** to see if he could get through to him. Meanwhile, the ***** mover became irate that I allowed my husband to use his phone to continue the conversation with his **********. H told me " I didn't tell you he could use my phone!!." and " what was you suppose to do with my phone!?" and "what did I tell you!!?" At this time I asked him to leave my home. I went outside and informed my husband of how this man was treating and speaking to me and that he wanted his phone. When my husband approached him to return his phone ( while his ********** was still on the line) he started to become very disrespectful to my husband and posturing in a way as if he wanted to fight . My husband informed him that his services were not needed and to move all of our belongings back into the apartment. The mover called his ********** and the ********** said he was coming over to our apartment. Once the ********** arrive, he informed us that they were canceling the contract and moving everything back into our apartment. The police was called to witness this exchange. I informed the ********** that I would like a copy of the contract stating we were clear of all charges. He informed me that he would give me a copy once the movers finished. After everything was moved back, the movers and the ********** quickly left, without allowing us to check the truck for any overlooked item, any damage to our furniture, or a copy of the contract as requested. With in ten minutes after they left, I noticed NUMEROUS areas of damage on our bedroom furniture. I immediately called the office and told****** that her movers had damaged our furniture. She immediately told me that they had not damaged anything and if I call back she would call the police. I invited her to call the police so they can document the damages, she hung up in my face. We have taken multiple pictures of everything and plan to sue them for damages.

Desired Settlement: pay for damages.

Business Response: Before we respond to this complaint, we would like to know who is the complainer. We do not have a customer named **** ****** on file unless she is using two different identification. Thank you.

Consumer Response: My name on their files is **** ***.

Business Response: I believe it is illegal to use two different identification. Customer called and scheduled a move on 08/17/14. The movers came on time at her house, and they signed the contract and everything and the customer agreed what the charges will be. Soon as they started moving her, the customer started giving the movers a hard time to move them between 2 hours, and the movers said that they told the customer that the move would take more than that. The movers said to the customer that he will call the **********, but the customer would not let them call the ********** and the customer tried to take the phone out of the mover's hand. Her husband walked against to the movers, and the movers got scared and locked themselves inside the truck. The movers called the ********** again and explained what is happening. The ********** said to the movers to wait until he comes over there. ********** talked with the customer's husband, and he wasn't so nice to the ********** either. The ********** decided to call the police to not have anymore bad actions. Soon as he went to the place, police also arrived and the ********** explained to the police about what happened, and ********** decided not to do the move. Police and ********** went to inside the customer's house, and the officer explained to the customers, "Apartment Movers will not do the move." and they all agreed. The movers and the ********** unloaded the few stuff back to the house. The customer's and the ********** did not mention any damages. Apartment Movers did not even charge the times that was spend by the customers. We did not even move enough to make any damage. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I understand that there are three sides to every story.  Their side, our side, and the truth.   Let me say this, over the past 5 years we have used Apartment Movers on 3 other occassions.  The reason we came back was because of the fact that each of the three previous moves went very smoothly.  So it is not my intention to give a good company a bad name.  However, I do understand that a company is only as good as the people who work for and represent it.  The previous Apartment Movers employees were courteous, polite, and professional.  This past experience was the exact opposite of what we have experienced in the past.   Although I think that a part of the reason for the drop off is due to two different companies operating under basically the same name splitting.  The other ********* ****** (******) is a much better run organization.  Nevertheless, let me address, point for point in extreme biases noted in the companies completely one sided response.

1. The Movers:  there were two movers who came to move our belongings.  A***** male and and ***** male.  The young man was polite and courteous.  It was also obvious that he was not very experienced, but there is no complaint with him, as he was taking his directions from the ***** gentleman.  

The ***** gentleman was a problem from the beginning.  One of the first comments he made was about how tired he was before he even started working ( That's not a good thing to tell a client who is paying an hourly rate ).  The next issue was that he told us that he would not move the dressers because clothing was still inside.  We explained to him that in the past this was never an issue in the past, so he hesitantly relented (the company website even states that leaving clothing inside is acceptable).   The ***** gentleman also made disrespectful comments to myself as well as my husband which prompted the verbal exchange which resulted in me asking home to exit our home.  I was complaining about the time because of how slowly the guys were moving, but let me be exact... It took them 2 hours to move the following items: 4 mattresses (2 twin and 2 queen), 2 dressers (1 small and 1 large), 1 Chester Drawer, 2 headboards, 2 foot boards, 2 mirrors, 3 boxes, 1 tv stand, 1 bookshelf, 4 chairs, 1 dinner table (seats 4), 1 coffee table,  2 end tables, and 1 night stand.  When the ********** arrived, this was all that was on the truck to show for 2 hours of work and 25 minutes of additional wasted time arguing with the customer.  We were also told after the fact that they were not willing to move a floor model TV after the contract was already signed and they had surveyed our furniture.  Aside from the fact that the same company moved every piece of the same furniture for us with no complaint, if he saw an issue with any piece, he should have communicated that before the contracts were signed and not tell us in the middle of the move what he's not going to do. By the way, this is when WE asked him about talking to his **********.  The last thing I will say about the***** guy is this:  My husband did get into a verbal exchange with him, but the actions of my husband were provoked by the ***** guys disrespectful tone towards me as well as aggressively speaking to my husband in a threatening manner.  

2.  The **********:  I am all for **********s standing up for their employees.  However, while on the phone with the **********, he was trying to justify his workers pace without having any first hand information.  I applaud him calling the police because he did not know what he was walking into.  That being said, I know he could hear the way his employee was addressing us as customers while we were on the phone together.  Also, after getting on the phone with his employee, he had a hard time communicating with his own guy because he was so belligerent.  So the comment about them being so scared that they locked themselves in the truck is a falsehood.  As a matter of fact, the younger guy was sitting calmly on the back of the truck the whole time and never said a threatening word.  He remained calm to the point that I offered him to come out of the heat back into the a/c because we had no issue with him.  Both my husband and I went inside of our apartment after the altercation.  The workers sat in the back of the truck and did not move to the cab until just before the authorities arrived.  I assume that the ******* advised them to do this.  It definitely was not due to any fear.  Especially due to the fact that The ***** Employee was the aggressor.  (Also just to note). We are gathering affidavits from our neighbors who witnessed the exchange in order to substantiate our claims.  We have no reason to lie.

3. ******:  once again, I am all for companies taking a stand for their people.  But there is not much you can say to dispute what is happening in a situation when all that you are getting is second hand information.  When I called back to the office to inform ****** of the damage, less that 10 minutes after the movers left, she was very rude.  Upon telling her that our dresser which had been dropped off of the dolly onto concrete steps was damaged, her reply was that "there was no damage to your stuff and if you call back here again, I'll call the police again". To which I replied, "please do so that they can make a report of the damage". Then she replied, "call them yourself".  I called again to get her name for the purposes of filing this complaint and possibly a suit against the company for the damages to our belongings.  I was told that she would contact her lawyer and that she will make sure that we pay every dollar of the fees we should have had to pay for the move and promptly hung in my face a second time.   

4. Trips:  This is a forgotten issue.  Another reason for the request to speak to a ********** was also due to the fact that the mover told us that all of our furniture would not fit into the truck and that it would take 2 maybe 3 trips to get it all.  I thought that this was an outrageous claim due to multiple facts: 1. All of our stuff including many boxes and misc. smaller items have been moved on each previous in 1 trip and on 1 truck.  2.  All we were requesting to have moved was the large furniture because we were already moving the smaller items ourselves due to the fact that we are moving in an apartment in the same complex, less that 100 yards away. 3. The truck was not even 1/4 full with the above mentioned items.  To me, this was a ploy to prolong the move and take the expense over into excess.

5. Note:  in the time it has taken me to reply to the Apartment Movers Response, just over and hour, ****** ********* ****** is down to the last  couple of items.  Everything, including the floor model TV is on the truck and the truck is not barely half full.  But I don't expect you to take my word for it, so I'm taking pictures and will happily maintain the contract with the start and finish time of these incredibly professional movers!

*************Your company needs to understand that we live in the Information Age and that your good name is everything!  The more negative reviews you accumulate, the more business you will lose.  Listen to the customer!  Give good customer service!  Hire good people, and hold them accountable when they represent you badly.  Then maybe you can salvage what used to be a good name for a good company!**********. 

I expect a sincere apology and to be compensated for the damages to my furniture.  Nothing less will be viewed as an acceptable resolution to this issue.


Regards,

**** ******* ***

Business Response: First of all, Apartment Movers and****** ********* ****** are two different companies with different owners, and all movers in Apartment Movers are all American in the last ten years expect the **********. We all know what really happened at the moving date. We all agreed to cancel the move. You asked to have it done in two hours, but it would have taking longer. Apartment Movers did not even charge any time that was wasted. We do not what to go all over again about what happened. Mrs.***, I'm sorry that it did not go well doing business with you. Thank you for giving Apartment Movers a chance to do business with you. Thank you again.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  I know that ****** ********* ****** and your company are two different companies.  I was clear about that in my last response.  The reason I brought up Luke's was to point the contrast in the quality of customer service provided by your competition.

2. I never mentioned anything about the racial or ethnic composition of your company.  That was never raised as an issue, so I do not understand why you are bringing up now.

3.  I did not ask that the move be done in 2 hours.  My complaint is that that it took your people over 2 hrs to load out approximately half of a 2 bedroom apartment and that the ***** guy was extremely rude, and unprofessional.  Time is an issue when you have an idea of how long it takes to move and you see workers taking their time as if they have nothing better to do.  If I never complained about the pace of your workers, it would have taken the 4-6 hours to load out a 2 bedroom apartment (JUST THE FURNITUE, HARDLY ANY BOXES OR MISC ITEMS, JUST FURNITURE)! Not only that, but your guys said that it would take multiple trips!  Ask your **********, they told him that and he tried to convince me that at least 2 trips would be needed (he sided with them over the phone without any first hand knowledge).  The items we had only filled up about 3/4 of the same size truck the next day.  Why is this so hard for you to understand?   I have to believe that if you were the customer and had used a company before and had an established expectation based on past experience, you would find the service of the day and crew in question highly offensive.

4. Your guys dropped my dresser of of the dolly and caused damage!  They dragged a mirror across the bed of the truck with no padding under it and caused damage.  They ran the side of my Chester drawer into a concrete column and caused damage.  To be slow and careful is one thing.  To be slow and careless is a totally different matter.  Mix in rude and it casts a very unfavorable light on your company.  

5. You are demonstrating yet again that you do not listen to your customers.  You raised issues in your rebuttal that I never mentioned.  And just like before, you are continuing to dispute what happened during our move, even though you were not present.  Your ********** wasn't even present until after the altercation was over.  Instead of taking responsibility for your workers ineptitude, you are basically accusing me, a repeat customer with a previously good opinion of your company of bring a liar.   I'll say it again, without your customers, you have no business.  I was a repeat customer.  Now, I'll never use your service again and I will not recommend you to others.  I will make sure that through the BBB, your website reviews, ******* ****, and ****** *****, that the experience I have had with your company was utterly unacceptable and that customers should beware.  Have you read your reviews?  I took the time to do so after my negative experience.  It's funny how I'm not the first customer to have this exact same issue with your company.  One lady's account was so similar to ours that it was scary.  You are developing a patern of bad business practices and people are sounding off about it.  Read your reviews and listen to your customers.  When there are more negative reviews than positive, there is a problem.

My position will not change.  I expect a sincere apology and to be compensated for the damages to my belongings.  Otherwise, we'll escalate this matter to the next level.  And just to be clear, this is not about money.  It's about principle.  You all had multiple opportunities to make this right.  Your worker had an opportunity, your ********** had an opportunity, and now you have had multiple opportunities.  An act of compassion and sincere regret on your part, this whole thing is avoided.  Think about it.

Regards,

**** *******

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint with Apartment Movers of Jacksonville, Fl. I hired them to move me on 3/1/14 against my better judgments I thought I would give them a chance and I am sorry I did. They were scheduled to move me between 3-6pm the movers called at 5:30 ask for directions and did not show until 6:30. I had several people there to help once the movers got there they didn't have much to do as my people took all the boxes and plants down the only things the movers had to do was take the big items down which was sofa, two chairs, dinning room table, headboard, dresser, and mattress. I asked the movers if they were going to wrap my furniture they said "they don't do that and that I would have to pay more for that". I always use movers and they all wrap and cover my furniture. I advised ****** at the time I schedule my appointment that I had furniture for 1 bedroom apt complete with dining room set. The movers were unprepared as they did not have the proper tools to dissemble the furniture. They didn't know how to take the dining table apart and took screws out that was not supposed to come out. My friend had to try and figure out how the table come apart and had to bring his tools up because the movers didn't have any. After three hours the movers did not have room to take all of my furniture with them and stated they would have to make a second trip. I was totally upset they called ****** and I voice my complaint with her after the drivers told me that she didn't tell them what all I had and that she never does. I told her I will not pay for a second trip she had the drivers hold my furniture hostage until I paid them for the first 3 hours after I paid them it took a total of 5 hours for them to move me, and they damaged my furniture that was brand new because the didn't wrap or cover it up. In the end I had to rent a U-Haul on Sunday to move the rest of my furniture. The service I received was horrible from mgmnt and movers I would never recommend this company to anyone! DO NOT USE!

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed as the drivers drove 5 miles an hour purpose on the way to location once money was received they picked up there speed, and everyone noticed it. I need to be reimbursed for the U-Haul truck and the time that was wasted arguing with ****** and the time spent trying to find tools for the movers and them purposely driving 5 miles and hour plus damages done to furniture.

Business Response: Mrs. *****, I'm very sorry to get an complaint from you even though we were kind enough to make an exception in the middle of the job to not charge an hour of your payment and still finish moving your apartment. You told us that you didn't have enough money (just $400), and you still had truck load (top to the bottom, front to the end) full of stuff, we already did the best that we can to make you happy by still finishing your move. Plus, the movers that you had gets good compliments by the other customers by how good, fast, and hard workers that they are. We are, as Apartment Movers, will do our best to keep all our customers satisfied. Thank you for your business.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: That's bull.  When I told ****** I was going to file a complaint she told me to do whatever she didn't care.  I told her I was not paying for a second trip because they should have had a truck big enough to hold my furniture.  She proceeded to tell me that the truck could hold up to 4 bedrooms that's bull.  I had one bedroom, living room and dining room and that truck could not accommodate my items not to mentioned we carried boxes and other items in our cars.  You didn't give me anything because you wasted my time arguing with you on the phone, your drivers drove 5 miles an hour to waste time not to mentioned my people did most of the work.  You had the nerves to tell me that your drivers were tired and they worked hard, and my response to you was we worked hard and was tired as well.  You should not have over booked your drivers if they couldn't handle it.  My neighbor across from me hired *** ** **** which is the company my mind told me to use, but I choose to give your company a chance BIG MISTAKE.  My neighbor told me that she was going to use your company but after watching the movers handle my furniture and *** around she went with the other company.  My friends were upset and are proof as to how my moved was handle.  I am out $500.00 dollars because of the unprofessional ism your company provided.  I stated that your movers were unprepared and did not have the tools needed to dissembles furniture and they didn't which again took and wasted time because we had to find some; they were polite that was not the problem they were not prepared and I guess to get back at me for complaining they drove 5 miles an hour and then you told them to hold my furniture hostage until  I paid for the first three hours. really?  I am not one to complain but the service I received was Horrible and disappointing.  I have always used movers and never ever had a problem with the other companies.  I will never recommend this company to anyone especially when you have a manager like ****** who was so very rude.   By the way *** ** **** had a bigger truck than what you sent, also I could have gotten a U-Haul bigger than your truck and could have had everything moved in one trip like all the other times I used movers.  

Regards,

********** *****

Business Response: Mrs. *****, We've done the best we can to make you happy by not charging you an extra hour. We have the proof of invoice with your signature on it, the start time and the end time. We finished your move and didn't quit on the job. I'm sorry that we can't do anything else, we already done the best that we could. Thank you for your business again.

Consumer Response:

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have the invoice as well with your mover initials on it.  As I stated before you didn't do me any favors, because you all wasted more than on hour of time with your foolishness not to mentioned the damage that was done to my furniture which you never address.   You think you did me a favor by not quitting the job? Please!!  Your movers threw my furniture in the storage unit, rip off the wrapping my friends and I did to protect my furniture only to have them rip the wrapping off.  My mattress for my bed that was covered was drugged and is now dirty, my couch and chairs they took the wrapping off and threw my pillows off of my sofa and chair in the storage again uncovers as they removed the covering I had on them to protect it from damage, wrapping mind you that I paid for myself and took the time to wrap it while waiting on your late mover.  Your company ***** and I will continue to let the public know as well as friends who I know are moving I have already warned them.  Your company was paid, so for you to say you did me a favor by not quitting is ridiculous.  I should have fired them because my people did most of the work anyway.  

Regards,

********** *****

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service